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Some U. S. Golf Association Decisions on the Rules of Golf

QUESTloN.-In a foursome in which I was playing, my ball stopp~d
under a bench at one of the tees and was in such a position that it was
impossible to play it. The members of my foursome said that I cOJIld
lift and drop the ball not nearer the hole, as the bench would come
under the class' of objects which could be considered for upkeep of the
course. On reaching the club house I asked several lllembers and received
a different opinion. In looking up Rule 11 I am frank to confess I am
still in doubt, as it states that a ball can be lifted when touching" box or
similar obstruction."

ANSWER.-The situation you describe should be covered by a loeal
rule, and it is the duty of your local committee to frame local rules to
meet special contingencies on the golf course. III the absence of a local
rule, the baUwould have to be played from where it lay .

. QUESTION.-According to Rule 15, in match pIa)' the player may
take a practice swing within a club's length of the ball, but under Rule
34 it says that where no penalty for a breach of rule is stated the penalty
shall be the loss of a hole. Then in Rule 15, stroke competition, it states,
"The rqles of golf, so far as they are not at variance with these special
rules, shall apply to the. stroke competition." It has always seemed
to me that there is an unwritten law that the penalty for playing a
practice swing within a club's length of a ball in medal competition is
one stroke, and yet I can not find any record of the same. •

ANswER.-The paragraph under Rule 15 is not a Rule of Golf. It is
a ruling made by the United States Golf Association to advise players
that they may take a practice swing or swings more than a club'8 length
from the ball and displace turf without violating the provisions under
Rules 10 and 25. If the provisions under these Rules are not violated,
there is no penalty for taking a practice swing within the area designated
as a dub's length from the ball.

QUEsTION.-In a foursome playing match pla~', a player off the
putting green approximately 50 feet from the hole, chipped his hall
against the flag stick, which was still in the cup, and holed out. There
was no player or caddie near the pin when this stroke was made, 110r
had eithrr the player's side or the opponent's requested this. The player
who chipped the ball into the hole with the flag stick still ill it, did
this on his third stroke, two strokes lower than his opponent ~s. The
ruling requested is to determine whether or not the side haying the low
ball won the hole or lost it due to sinking the ball with the flag stick still
in the cnp. "\Ve have received many conflicting opinions on this pIa)'.

ANswER.-Rule32 covers this point. There is no penalty for a
player hitting the pin from any distance in match play, as the opponent'8
side always has the right to have the flag removed if it so desires.


