



Herb and Joe Graffis -12th Recipients of USGA Green Section Award

For the first time since it was begun in 1961, the Green Section Award of the United States Golf Association will be presented to dual recipients. The 1972 award will be received by Herb and Joe Graffis during the annual USGA Green Section Conference on Golf Course Management at the Biltmore Hotel in New York City on Friday, January 28, 1972. It will be presented by Philip H. Strubing, USGA President, and Henry H. Russell, Chairman of the USGA Green Section Committee.

The Graffis brothers are the 12th recipients of the award and the first in the publishing business. It is awarded in recognition of "distinguished service to golf through work with turfgrass."

In 1927 Herb and Joe Graffis founded the publication *Golfdom*, which they edited and published. Through their editorial policies they encouraged the trial of turf products in experimental plots throughout the country. They also campaigned for improved status and recognition of golf course superintendents, the use of proven turf chemicals, improved drainage, installation of fairway watering systems and automatic irrigation. They helped set guidelines for the use of pull carts, and later for automotive carts to avoid damage to turf.

While their publications were the most visible part of their work, they were active in other areas. The Graffises founded the National Golf Foundation and helped establish the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America Turfgrass Conference and Show. For many years Herb Graffis has been President of the National Golf Fund, the sponsor of National Golf Day. This promotion has served as a source of revenue for a number of worthy golf projects, among them turf research and scholarship grants.

Throughout their careers both have been strong supporters of the USGA Green Section. They have gathered material from leading golf course superintendents for a series of symposiums on the most successful procedures, and have encouraged superintendents to attend college agronomy courses to increase their knowledge of the field.

Previous recipients of the Green Section Award:

1961-Dr. John Monteith

1962-Prof. Lawrence S. Dickinson

1963-O. J. Noer

1964-Joseph Valentine

1965-Dr. Glenn W. Burton

1966-Prof. H. Burton Musser

1967-Elmer J. Michael

1968-James L. Haines

1969-Dr. Fred V. Grau

1970-E. R. Steiniger

1971-Tom Mascaro