
Example of SJ"mbols; "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & "\" indicates
decision by the Ro~'al and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "62-1" means the tint decision issued
in 1962. "D" means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1962 Rules of Golf.

HOLE: SHOULD BE CUT ON
THE VERTICAL, REGARDLESS

OF SLOPE
USGA 62-16

D. 15, R. 34-3
Q: There has been considerable dis-

cussion rega,rding the proper method
of sinking putting cups on greens.
Should they be sunk (a) plumb with
the 'contour ;olftlhe green, or (b) verti-
cal, allowing the fla.gstick to be in
absolute vertical position, leaving the
distance on one side of the cup a
little lower or higher than the oppo-
site side?

Question by: J. BRUCEMORFORD
Daytona Beach, Fla.

A: There is no requirement in the
Rules of Golf. A firm requirement
would not be pracUcal because it
would not leave room for variations
which inevitably arise in such a hand
operation as hole-cutting.

The USGA recommends that holes
be cut as nearly on the vertical as
possible. This permits the fla.gstick
to be placed "in its normal position
in the center lolfthe hole and as near-

ly upright as possible" - see Rule
'34-3. It is not required that all points
on the rim ofa cup-liner be equidis-
tant from the putting green surface,
but they should be at least one inch
below the surface - see Definition 15.

The question is not likely to arise or
be of importance if the ho,le is cut so
as to avoid sharp slopes, in ac,cord-
ance with USGA practice and recom-
mendation.

LOCAL RULE: SHRUBBERY
AROUND PRACTICE

PUTTING GREEN
USGA 62-17

R. 31-2, 35-1k; L.R.
Q: We have ,a practice putting green

directly behind the ninth green.
Shrubbery is planted around the prac-
tice green, about 20 yards from the
back edge of the ninth green.

A local Rule permits a free drop
in a nearby drop circle if a ball over-
played on the ninth ho,le comes to
rest beyond the center line of the
shrubbery.
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The center line is sometimes hard to
determine; further, if a hall is just
short of the ,center line, the player
has no shot whatsoever.

Question by: GEORGEF. SKINNER
Portsmouth, Va.

A:: Rule 36-7 provides that the
committee shall make and publish
local Rules for abnormal conditions,
having regard to the policy of the
USGA as set forth in the Appendix to
the Rules.

The USGA Appendix does not in-
clude relief from shrubbery among
the matters for which Local Rules
may be advisable, because of the fun-
damental of playing the ball as it
lies insofar as natural objects are
concerned. In general, we oppose
Local Rules providing for relief from
shrubbery.

On the other hand, Rule 36-7 con-
templates that the local committee
shall determine whether particular
conditions are sufficiently abnormal
to justify Local Rules. The enumera-
tion in the Appendix of matters con-
sidered appropriate for Local Rules
implies that other matters 'are not re-
garded as appropriate. Nevertheless,
the committee is not limited to the
enumerated subjects, as it is in the
best position to determine the particu-
lar needs of its course.

The fioHowing possible treatments
of your situation occur to us:

1. Allow no relief without penalty
fora ball interfered with by the
shrubbery. This means that a ball
on the practice green would be
dropped in the shrubbery after Rule
Rule 35-1k werewpplied.

2. Treat the shrubbery and the
practice green as out of bOlunds.

3. Adopt a Local Rule in terms
similar to those of Rule 31-2 dealing
with immovable obstructions.

In any event, we would recommend
that your present scheme not be con-
tinued because of the difficulties in-
herent in the "center-line" aspect.

With regard to your drop area, the
USGA Appendix deems such areas-
advisable only when it is not feasible
to proceed exactly in conformity with
the Rules for immovable obstructions
or water hazards.

FOUR-BALL COMPETITION: BALL
OF MUTUAL PARTNER OF THREE

PLAYERS LIFTED WITHOUT
AUTHORITY BY ONE

PLAYER'S CADDIE
USGA 62-14

R. 11-3, 23-3, 27-1a, 41-1a, 41-8
Q. 1: Amateurs A, Band C were

competing with D, a professional, in
a four-ball stroke play competition.
They comprised three sides - AD,
BD and CD. A's caddie lifted D's ball
on the putting green before it was
holed out. It was ruled that A was
penalized two strokes for brea.ch of
Rule 41-8. It was also ruled that D
incurred a penalty of two, strokes
under 23-3 and 41-9, and that this
penalty applied to all three sides -
AD, BD and CD, and not just AD.
Was this corerct?

A. 1: The Rules of Golf do not con-
template a four-ball stroke play event
being played in this manner, ,and. un-
der Rule 11-3, the Rules of Golf Com-
mittee must decline to give an answer.

We would suggest that when such
competitio'n are pla~ed, the local com-
mittee adopt and announce in advance
local Rules to cover such situations.

The following is for guidance in the
present c,ase: A should not be pena-
lized under Rule 41-8 or otherwise,
since he did not infringe any rule.
D, in his capacity as A's partner
should be penalized two str:okes, un-
der Rules 23-3 and 41-1a, for the lift-
ing of his ball by the caddie of his
partner. D should not be penalized as
a member of side BD or CD; in each
of such cap.adty D was entitled under
Rule 27-1a to replace the ball without
penalty since the ball was moved by
the caddie of a fellow-competitor.
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FLAG: TUCKING BETWEEN
FLAGSTICK AND FLAGHOLDER

NOT A VIOLATION
USGA 62-15

D. 12; R. 34-3
Q: A and Bare playing a match.

1'he wind is blowing and the flag on
the flagsHck is waving briskly, caus-
ing the flagstick to shake ,and rattle
in the hole. It is A's turn to putt. A
goes forward and tucks the flag be-
tween the fla,gstick and the flagholder.
This stops the waving of the flag and
the wiggling ,of the flagstick in the
hole.

I contend that this is' not in ac-
cordance with the Rules, which state
that the flagstick may be adjusted by
pla,cing it as upright as possible in
its normal position in the center of
the hole.

Question by: A. D. KIRKLAND
Denver, Colo.

A: A's action is not prohibited by
the Rules.

Definition 12 provides in part: "The
'flagstick' is ,a movable straight in-
dicator provided by the Committee,
with or without bunting attached,
centered in the hole to show its posi-
tion." Thus, it is not required that
there be a flag attached to the flag-
stick, and Rule 34-3 relative to ad-
justment of the flagstick does not
apply since the flag ,alone was affected.

Upon completing play 'o.f the hole,
A should restore the flag to its orig-
inal position.

PENALTY: NOT APPLIED IN IN-
DIVIDUAL EVENT WHEN BREACH
APPLICABLE ONLY IN FOUR-BALL
EVENT PLAYED CONCURRENTLY

Q. 2: In this same c'ornpetition,
there were prizes awarded to the pro-
iesionals returning to the lowest score.
Should D be penalized two strokes
for A's actions insofar as this event
is concerned?

A. 2: The Rules of Golf do not con-
template combining individual and
four-ball stroke play events. There-

fore the Rules of Golf Committee must
decline to give an answer.

For guidance, in our opinion the
local committee would be justified in
not applying a penalty to D's score
in the individual' professional com-
petition.

Questions by: WARRENORLICK
Tam O'Shanter Country Club
Orchard Lake, Mich.

PROVISIONAL BALL: MAY BE-
COME " SECOND BALL" WHEN
DOUBT ARISES IN STROKE PLAY.
STROKE PLAY, DOUBT AS TO
PROCEDURE: WHEN POVISIONAL
BALL BECOMES "SECOND BALL"

USGA 62-19
R. 11-5, 30

Q: In stroke play the player is in
doubt as to whether his drive may
be out of bounds. He plays a pro-
visional ball under Rule 30.

After inspecting the lie of the
origina.l ball, he cannot determine
whether it is out of bounds or not.

Under Rule 11-5 he can play out
the hole with his ,o,riginal ball ("the
ball in play") and also complete the
play of the hOlle with a second ball.

Can he now consider the provisional
ball pla~ed under Rule 30 as his
"second ball" under Rule 11-5 and
complete the plaY' of the hole with it?

Question by: JOHN MARSHALL,JR.
Louisville, Ky.

A: Yes. In invoking Rule 11-5 after
playing a provisional ball under Rule
30-1, the player must treat the pro-
visional baH as a "second ball" under
Rule 11-5. The reason fOlr playing the
provisional ball - that is, doubt as
to the position of the original ball
and to speed play - was the same
as it would have been had the player
waited until he saw the position of
the origina.I ball before invoking Rule
11-5. Although Note 2 to Rule 11-5
provides: "A se,cond ball played under
Rule 11-5 is not a provisional ball
under Rule 3D", the reverse is not
true in the present case, nor is it
necessarily true.
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Further, the principle in Rule 30-2
that a provisional ball always be-
comes the ball in play when the orig-
inal ball is out of bounds supersedes
any conflicting provisions of Rules
11-5 and 30.
H it were otherwise, inequities

could arise. For example, suppose A
and B both hit drives which may be
out of bounds. Both invoke Rule 30
and play provisional balls. Both pro-
visional balls are found out of bounds.

A finds his original ball also out of
bounds. His only procedure is to re-
turn to the tee, playing 5. There is
question as to whether B's original
ball is out of bounds, and he elects
to invoke Rule 11-5. If he were per-
mitted to abando,n the provisional ball
in such circumstances, he would be
avoiding the penalty for a second ball
out of bounds (the provisional ball)
if it were subsequently ruled that his
original ball was out of bounds.

ILLUSTRATION FROM NEW USGA BOOI(

BALL IN MOTION

1. Outside agency
No penalty

Rule 26-1 a

2. Match play
Player's own caddie
Player loses hole

Rule 26-2a

4. Stroke play
Player's own caddie
Two-stroke penalty

Rule 26-3a

5. Stroke play
Fellow-competitor's caddie
No penalty, but see Rule for
exceptions

Rule 26-3b

(Drawing from "Golf Rules in Pictures". Book may be purchased from

the USGA, many book stores and golf professionals' shops for $1.95)
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