
E,xam,ple of Symbols: "USGA" indicates decisJon by the United States Golf Association. "R & A"
indicates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "62.1" means the
first decision issued in 1962. "D" means definition. "R. 37.7" referll to Section 7 of Rule 37 in
the 1962 Rules of Golf.

FAIRLY STRIKING AT BALL
USGA 61-41

R. 19-1
Q: A player found his tee shot to a

par 3 hole on the side of an elevated
green. The grass was quite thick and
had prevented the ball from running
down a steep bank. When placing his
9-iron behind the ball the grass was
released and, although the ball did
not move, the player realized that if
the club were moved backward the
ball would roll down the bank. He
knew he could not shove the ball onto
the green, whereupon he held the club
with his left hand and struck the club
a blow with his right hand, thereupon
propelling the ball to the green, which
enabled him to make a par. Was this
in accordance with the Rules of Golf?

Question by: ALLAN BROWN
Manchester, Vt.

A: The fact that the club could not
be moved backward without permitt-
ing the ball to move tends to indicate
that the ball in effect rested against
the club face. If so, the ball was not
fairly struck at with the head of the
club and this c01nstituted a violation

of Rule 19-1. If there had been space
between the club face and the ball
through which the club could have
moved to strike the ball, there would
not have been a violation.

COMMITTEE MAY NOT REDUCE
ROUNDS DURING COMPETITION

USGA 61-26
D. 29; R. 7-2, 36-1, 36-4c, 37-6b

Q: The tournament was a 72-hole
medal play open scheduled to be play-
ed in four consecutive days, 18 holes
each day.

In the afternoon of the third day,
due to heavy rain, the course became
unplayable and the Committee order-
ed a temporary suspension of play. By
thUJt time a good number of competit-
ors had finished their 18 holes while
many others were still playing the
second 9. However, all of them had
completed the first 9 holes. Bad weath-
er continued through the rest of the
afternoon, making it impossible to
resume play. In view of this, the Com-
mittee decided to cancel the second 9
holes of that day and tlO reduce the
tournament from 72 to 63 holes, thus
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remaining only 18 holes to be played
the last day.

The Committee based its decision on
Definition 29 (Stipulated Round).
However, many players were of the
opinion that the applicable provision
should have been Rule 36-4c and that
the scores for the complete 18 holes
in question should have been cancelled
and the round repeated the following
day, playing 36 holes the last day or
extending the tournament one more
day; otherwise, for those who had not
finished, to resume play the following
day from where they had discontinued
it and then play the last 18 holes. But
und:;r no circumstance they felt that
the Committee had the power to re-
duce the 72 holes stipulated for the
tournament.

,,ye would like to know whether the
decisi,on of the Committee was cor ..
reet and, if incorrect, which should be
the right procedure for such occur-
ence.

Question by: DARIOGALLOZULUAGA,
Secretary

Asociacion Colombiana de Golf
Bogota, D.E., Colombia

A: The Committee's reduction of
the competition from 72 to 63 holes
was not in accordance with the Rules
of Golf. Rule 36-1 provides that the
Committee shall lay down the condi-
tions under which a competition is to
be played. Neither this no,r the last
clause of Definition 29 permits a Com-
mittee to change the stipulated num-
ber of rounds while a competition is
in progress. See also Rule 7-2.

When the Committee considers that
the course is not in a playable condi-
tion, the Committee has power in
stroke play, under Rule 36-4c, to:
(1) Suspend play temporarily, or
(2) Declare play null and void, and
cancel all scores for the round.

In this case when it was found that
play could not be resumed the same
day, the Committee had two alterna-
tives:
(1) It could have ordered resumption
of play on a subsequent day from the

various places on the course where the
players had discontinued, and then
scheduled the last 18 holes that day
or later (see Rule 37-6b) ; or
(2) The Committee could have can-
celled the round and ordered that it
be replayed on a subsequent day, 36
holes to be played that day or the com-
petition to be extended one more day.

The circumstances of each particu-
lar case should guide the Committee
in deciding whether to order a tem-
porary suspension of play or to can-
cel all scores for the round in ques-
tion. There is no hard-and-fast Rule
or custom, and the Committee should
exercise its best judgement in making
a decision as fair as possible to all
concerned, consistent with the condi-
tions prevailing, including any neces-
sity which may exist to complete the
competition within a prescribed
period.

BALL MOVED: ACCIDENTALLY OR
PURPOSELY BY CADDIE

USGA 62-6
R. 27-lb, 27-2a

Q: A ball is driven into rough. The
players walk toward the area where it
landed. In advance of them, the boy
caddying for the opponent of the man
who drove the ball, either deliberately
or inadvertently stepped on the ball.
What, if any, penalty is invoked?
Question by: DEXTERB. FARNSWORTH

Kent, Wash.
A: If an opponent's caddie acci-

dentally moves the player's ball, the
opponent is subject to a penalty of
one stroke and the moved ball shall
be replaced (Rule 27-2a), unless the
caddie moved the ball during search,
in which case there would be no pen-
alty and the ball would be replaced
(Rule 27-1b).

The Rules of Golf assume that golf-
ers and caddies are honest and there-
fore they do not provide for the
deliberate moving of a player's ball
by the opponent or his caddie. In such
circumstances, the Committee would
be justified in disqualifying the op-
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ponent if the facts indicate that the
caddie moved the ball on the oppon-
ent's directions. If the facts indicate
that the caddie did it on his own, the
opponent should be penalized one
stroke under Rule 27-2a.

OBSTRUCTION: MEASURING
ACROSS OR UNDER PROHIBITED

Revised USGA 61-9
R. 31-2

NOTE: Answer 1 below cancels Ans-
wer 1 in original Decision 61-9, dated
February 21, 1961.

Q.I: What is meant by the follow-
ing provision in Rule 31-2: "The play-
er may not measure through the ob-
struction?" Does this mean that a ball
at rest alongside a water pipe, which
runs along about two inches above
the ground, must be dropped only on
the side of the pipe on which it lies?

A.I: Yes. In this case it might be
argued that the player was measuring
across or under and not "measuring
through" the obstruction, but, in all
cases, the player must adhere to the
principle that, in obtaining relief from
such obstructions, the hall must be
dropped on the side of the obstruction
on which it lies.

OBSTRUCTION: PLAYER MUST
MEASURE IN STRAIGHT LINE IN

OBTAINING RELIEF
Q.2: A player's ball comes to rest

against a side of a small enclosed
shelter house three feet long on each
side. He wishes to invoke Rule 31-2.
If he drops two club-lengths away in
a straight line, he will be dropping
in an unplayable area of dense under-
brush, regardless of the diredion in
which he measures.

The area opposite an adjacent side
of the shelter house is void of under-
brush. The player cannot drop around
the corner into this area without
measuring through the obstrucho-n
unless it be permissible for him to
measure one club-length parallel to
the side on which the ball lies and
then measure a second club-length at

a 90-degree angle to the first. Would
it be permissible for him to do this?

A.2 : No. A player must always
measure in a straight line when ob-
taining relief from an obstructioln.

Questions by: J. WALTERMCGARRY
Vero Beach, Fla.

DEFINITION OF "MOMENTARY
DELAY"

USGA 62-7
R. 6-2, 35-1h, 37-7, 40-3c

Q: In a singles match, A's ball
stopped on the lip of the hole. After
45 to 60 seconds, B requested A to
lift his ball. A declined, contending
that the ball was still moving. B
kno-cked A's ball away in concessioln,
stating that the momentary delay
period was at an end.
(a) Was B justified in knocking A's

ball away?
(b) How long is a momentary delay?

-is it five seconds ?-20 seconds?
Questions by: SAM MANIACI

Philadelphia, Pa.
A: The decision would depend en-

tirely on the question whether A'~
ball had in fact come to rest, and as
to this, the opponents were in direct
conflict. In such instances, an au-
thoritative decision would be appro-
priate only if based on information
as to all relevant circumstances.

On the basis of the limited data
presented, the officials concerned
would appear justified in concluding
that A had been afforded the "mo-
mentary delay" permitted under Rule
35-1h and referred to on the back of
the cover page of the Rules book as
meaning a very short period, such as
a few seconds not minutes, that since
the ball had not dro.pped into the cup
within the period it must have come
to rest, and that therefore B was
justified in conceding the next stroke
under Rule 35-2d. This assumes the
absence of overriding evidence not
presented showing conclusively that
th2 ball was still moving as A con-
tended.
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