THE
REFEREE

Decisions by the
Rules of Golf Committees

Example of Symbols: “USGA™ indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. “R & A” indi-
cates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. ““62-1” means the first
decision issued in 1962. “D” means definition. “R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1962

Rules of Golf.

CUT TURF (DIVOT):
WHEN DEEMED PLACED IN
POSITION
USGA 624
D. 17, R. 17-1 (Note), 18

Q: The term “placed in position” when

referring to a divot bothers me (Note

to Rule 17-1). What constitutes “placed

in position”? Is a divot a loose impedi-

ment until it is exactly replaced? What

status has a divot which has been tossed

into its hole backward or sideways? Is an

illfitting divot “placed in position”? Is

a divot placed if only a part of it touches

its hole? I realize these questions are

very much the same. What it amounts to

is this—at precisely what moment does a

divot cease being a loose impediment

and become “fairway” or “irregularity
of surface”?

Question by: LEon KAPLAN

Waltham, Mass.

A: This inquiry presents essentially a
question of fact which cannot be answered
categorically. In most instances, a Com-
mittee would be justified in ruling that,
for purposes of Rule 17-1, cut turf is
deemed to be placed in position when
substantially all of it lies in an area in-
tended for it (as when a divot is re-
placed or a bare area is sodded). Such

turf need not be placed perfectly or in
the same area from which it was origi-
nally removed.

MARKING LIFTED BALL:
OWNER DETERMINES MANNER
AND PLACE

Q: A player in match play requests op-
ponent to mark his ball on the green
which is in the player’s line. In marking
his ball with a coin, the opponent
realizes after marking that he has left a
perfect line for player. Opponent wanted
to move coin two putterhead-lengths over
to one side but the player insisted that
he wanted the coin left in original posi-
tion.

Was the opponent permitted to move
the coin so as not to give the player this
advantage?

Question by: WARrReN OrLicK, Professional
Tam O’Shanter Country Club
Orchard Lake, Mich.

A: Yes. The owner of a ball requested
to be marked under Rule 35 2a is respon-
sible for lifting and accurately marking
and replacing his ball. The player re-
questing the marking has no voice in
how the ball is marked, except that he
may request that the coin or marking
object be moved to one side if it inter-
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feres with his play. See Note to Rule
35-1 for recommendation on how to mark
a ball when lifted from the putting green.

HOLING OUT:
LOCAL RULE CANNOT ABROGATE
REQUIREMENT TO HOLE OUT ON
TEMPORARY GREEN

USGA 62-5
R. 1, 36-7a; L. R.

Q: May we have your decision on the
correct order of play on a temporary
putting green?

Our golf course has been going through
a great period of renovation for several
months now, necessitating the use of
temporary greens from time to time. I
have been unable to find any ruling re-
garding same in the Rules of Golf
booklet, but over the years have heard
of many rulings.

Some pros advise putting out; others
say a player may take two putts and then
pick up. The latest ruling, source un-
known, is that a player may pick up the
ball once it is on the green, taking two
putts, or if the player decides to putt,
then must keep on putting until the ball
is holed out.

As we are holding a two day tourna-
ment early next month with women from
all over the state of California playing,
I think it advisable to get a ruling from
you on this so there will be no confusion
or question about it whatsoever.

Question by: Mrs. C. R. DANIELSON
San Luis Obispo, Calif.

A: Rule 1 provides: “The Game of Golf
consists in playing a ball from the teeing
ground into the hole by successive
strokes in accordance with the Rules.”
Any Local Rule under which a player
would not be required to play the ball
into the hole abrogates this basic Rule
and is not in accord with USGA policy.
See Rule 36-7a.

DISCONTINUING PLAY:
STATUS OF PLAYER WHO (1) LIFTS
BALL BUT DOES NOT MARK ITS
POSITION AND (2) DOES NOT LIFT

BALL AT ALL
USGA 62-3
R. 1, 22-2a, 36 5, 37-2, 37-6a, b; 40-3h, j
Q: In a four-ball match, with A and B
partners against C and D, a violent rain
storm struck just after the players drove

from the fifteenth tee. The players and
caddies took shelter but before doing so
the caddies of B and C picked up the
balls of the players for whom they were
caddying. The balls of A and D remained
on the fairway.

Should B and C be penalized? If so,
under what Rule would the penalty be
invoked? If there is no penalty, would
B and C be allowed to place their balls
as near as possible to the original lies
inasmuch as we have a local rule per-
mitting preferred lies in the fairway?

Question by: JAMEs D. FOGERTEY,
Professional

Sunset Country Club

Sappington, Mo.

A: It is assumed that the prohibition
of Rule 37-6a against discontinuance of
play was not infringed because there was
either danger from lightning or a pro-
per agreement among the players to dis-
continue.

B and C were each subject to penalty
since their caddies did not mark the posi-
tions of the balls as required by Rule 37-
6b. The player is made responsible for
the acts of his caddie by Rule 37-2. A and
D were subject to penalty for failing to
lift and mark their balls, as required by
Rule 37-6b.

As to the penalty, all four players
should be disqualified for the hole in
question and the hole was halved. While
Rules 37-6 and 40-3h by their terms
would require disqualification from the
competition, under Rule 36-5 the Com-
mittee would be authorized to, and
should, reduce the penalty as indicated.

As for the local rule permitting pre-
ferred lies, the USGA does not endorse
it and will not interpret it.

BUNKER:

SMOOTHING IRREGULARITIES NOT
PERMITTED IF STROKE WHICH
CREATED IRREGULARITIES WENT
OUT OF BOUNDS

USGA 62-2

R. 29-1a, 33-1g
Q: When a ball played from a bunker
goes out of bounds, is the player allowed
without penalty, to smooth his footmarks
or the soil displaced by his stroke prior
to his play of a ball to be dropped in the

bunker under Rule 29-1a?

Question by: S. TAKAHATA, President
Hirono Golf Club, Japan
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A: No. The player would violate Rule
33-1, and the penalty would be loss of
hole in match play or two strokes in
stroke play. The player’s action in
smoothing the bunker soil would im-
prove his lie for the ball to be dropped
under Rule 29-1a or assist the player in
his subsequent play of the hole; he there-
fore would not be entitled to the penalty
exclusion provided for by Rule 33-1g.

LOOSE IMPEDIMENTS:
PLAYER CONTROLS REMOVAL
USGA 62-1
R. 35-1b, 35-1 Note, 35-2a

Q: A player in match play has a diffi-
cult downhill putt on an exceedingly fast,
slippery green.

Before player gets in position for his
putt, a high wind comes up, blowing
debris all over the green. Player proceeds
to pick up the loose impediments be-
tween his ball and the hole but leaves
debris directly behind the hole. The op-
ponent wants to remove the debris be-
cause he feels that the player’s ball
would be stopped should his downhill
putt run past the hole.

Player insists he has the right to leave
the debris behind the hole. Was the
player correct?

Question by: WARREN ORLICK, Professional
Tam O’Shanter Country Club
Orchard Lake, Mich.

A: Yes. The player alone controls re-
moval of loose impediments which might
affect his play—see Rule 35-1b.

CUT TURF (DIVOT):
REPLACEMENT BEHIND BALL DOES
NOT CONSTITUTE IMPROVING LIE

USGA 62-4

G: If a divot is replaced behind a ball
(as is permitted according to USGA De-
cision 61-12), is not the player improving
his lie?

Question by: Leon KarLAN
Waltham, Mass.

A: The facts of each case determine,
and no hard-and-fast general answer can
be given. Usually, replacement of a divot
behind the ball would not improve its
lie, but would tend to make the lie more
difficult as the player would risk snag-
ging the divot with his backswing.

OUT OF BOUNDS: COMMITTEE HAS
FULL AUTHORITY TO DEFINE

USGA 52-51
D. 21, R. 36-6

Q.1: Our course is entirely enclosed by
an 8-foot fence, against which are planted
various shrubs, flowers, etc. It has been
proposed that, to save time and to save
the flowers, we establish out-of-bounds
stakes completely around the course
slightly inside our boundary fence. In
other words, we would have probably 2
feet of ground between our stakes and
fence which would be out of bounds.

Would this seem satisfactory, or just
what does the USGA recommend?

At present we play anything over the
fence as out of bounds; and up against
the fence as unplayable, but in many
cases an unplayable lie calls for going
back to the tee, which holds play up con-
siderably.

A.l: The committee would be within
its rights in establishing a boundary line
placing the shrubs and flower beds out
of bounds. Under Rule 36-6, it is a duty
of the committee to define boundaries.

As an alternative, the committee could
retain the fence as the boundary, and
could protect the flowers by adopting a
local rule making it mandatory that a
ball in a flower bed be lifted, without
penalty, and dropped as near as possible
to the spot where it lay, but not nearer
the hole, on ground outside the flower
beds. See recommendations for local
rules. Such a local rule would be proper
only for the purpose of prohibiting play
from an area which it is desired to pro-
tect, and not for the purpose of giving
relief from the boundary fence.

Q.2: We also have one hole inside the
course on which we have an out-of-
bounds, purely as a safety measure, to
prevent players from driving into another
fairway. Is there any objection to this?

A.2: “Interior” boundaries are gener-
ally inadvisable except for prohibiting
play in such areas as parking spaces,
clubhouse and dwelling territories, ten-
nis courts, swimming pools and the like.
However, as noted above, it is a duty of
the committee to define boundaries.
Knowing the local situation, the commit-
tee can best determine the matter.

Questions by: ELLsSWORTH VINES
Los Angeles, Calif.
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