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Decisions by the
Rules of Golf Committees

Example of Symbols: “USGA® indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. “R & A" indi-
cates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. “60-1” means the first

decision issued in 1960. “D" means definition.

Rules of Golf.

BALL MOVED:
COMING TO REST OUT OF BOUNDS

USGA 60-13
D. 21, R. 27-1d, 29-1

Q: In stroke play, a competitor’s ball
is lying on a steep slope near the course
boundary. As he addresses the ball, he
accidentally moves it, and due to the
steep slope the ball rolls out of bounds.

What is the correct procedure in such
a case, and what, if any, penalties does
the competitor incur?

A: Rule 27-1d provides that a ball
moved accidentally by the player after he
addresses it “shall be played as it lies”
after a penalty of one stroke. If a ball so
moved rolls out of bounds, it is on
ground on which play is prohibited (De-
finition 21) and the player's only re-
course is to accept a one-stroke penalty
under Rule 27-1d and proceed under Rule
29-1 for a ball out of bounds.

It is not necessary that a ball out of
bounds shall have been sent there by a
stroke in order to proceed under Rule
29-1. The Rule provides: “He shall play
his next stroke as nearly as possible at
the spot from which the original ball was
played or moved by him.”

“R. 37-7” refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1960

LOOSE IMPEDIMENTS:
“SOLIDLY EMBEDDED” DEFINED

USGA 60-12
D. 17, R. 181, 31-2, 377

Q1: Definition 17—What is the exact
meaning of “and includes stones not
solidly embedded?” Some say that a stone
partially embedded may not be moved
regardless of how small it may be or how
easily it might be picked up. How about
stones the size of watermelons which
clearly rest on top of the ground, but can
only be moved with much effort. May
they be moved?

Al: The words “solidly embedded”
should be taken literally. If a stone is
only partially embedded and may be
picked up with ease, it is a loose impedi-
ment. Where there is doubt as to whether
a stone is solidly embedded, to avoid
questions being raised we recommend
that it not be removed unless a ruling is
obtained. The size of a stone is of no con-
sequence. Under Rule 181, the player
may remove stones (not solidly embed-
ded) of any size, provided he has regard
for Rule 37-7 concerning undue delay in
play.
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 OBSTRUCTIONS: ;
NO RELIEF IF STROKE
UNNECESSARILY ABNORMAL

‘Q2: Rule 31-2—May a referee or a com- .

mittee determine whether an artificial
obstruction interferes with a stroke? For
example, a player’s ball was 38 inches
from a water pipe which was exposed
about three inches above the ground. The
player demonstrated with a weird and
highly unorthodox follow-through that
he could hit the pipe. The referee would
not allow the player any relief because
he felt the player wanted relief from a
tree and a large stone which interfered
with the flight of the ball. The player
contended that the referee had no right
to question the manner in which he in-
tended to swing. Who was correct?

AZ: The purpose of Rule 31-2 is to pro-
vide relief if immovable artificial objects
interfere with the stance, backswing, or
stroke in the direction in which the
player desires tc play.

It is a question of fact whether inter-
ference exists. In event of a question,
the Committee (or referee if there is one)
must decide. Their decision is final. See
Rules 11-2 and 11-3.
~ In the case you cite, it would appear
that the player could claim interference
only through employment of an unneces-
sarily abnormal stroke. He was therefore
not entitled to relief.

Relief is not provided for interference
with the flight of the ball.

Questions by: RoserT H. ELLIOTT
Manchester, N. H.

BALL ON LIP OF HOLE:
KNOCKED INTO CUP BY BLOWING
TUMBLEWEED

USGA 60-17

D. 22, R. 27-1a
Q: A player’s ball is at rest an inch or
so from the cup. A tumbleweed blowing
across the course strikes the ball and
knocks it into the cup. Is the player
deemed to have holed out with his last

stroke or should the ball be replaced?

Question by: WM. L. Oriver

Roswell, N. M.

A: Rule 27-1a applies and the ball must

be replaced without penalty. A tumble-

weed is an outside agency—see Defini-
tion 22,

" FLAGSTICK:
MAY BE TAPERED OR OF VARYING
DIAMETERS

USGA 60-15
: D. 12
Q: Does Definition 12 prohibit the use
of tapered flagsticks or the metal “hole in
one” ferrule which has been used at many
courses?

Question by: Morcan Boces
Fort Knox, Ky.

A: Definition 12 provides in part: “It
(the flagstick) shall be circular in cross-
section.” This does not prohibit such flag-
sticks which contain sections of varying
diameters. ‘

A purpose of the Definition is to pro-
hibit non-circular features in the lower
part of the flagstick which could stop a
ball.

BALL LOST: WHEN FIVE MINUTE
SEARCH NOT REQUIRED

USGA 60-16

D. 6, R. 4, 29-1b
Q: If a player is searching for his ball,
may his opponent concede the loss of
the ball before a five minute search has
been made, or will this action make both
players liable for disqualification .under

Rule 4? )

Question by: LeoN KarLAN
‘Waltham, Mass.

A: Rule 29-1b provides: “In order for
the player to treat a ball as lost . . . there
must be reasonable evidence to that ef-
fect or a search of five minutes must be
made.” Reasonable evidence is a question
of fact to be determined from the results
of actual search, opinions of individuals
present and other relevant circumstances.

In match play, a player’'s bona fide
claim of a ball lost, when conceded by his
opponent, may itself constitufe such rea-
sonable evidence,

In stroke play, similar weight should
not be accorded an agreement between a
competitor and a fellow-competitor be-
cause of the interests of other competi-
tors which may be involved, and a five-
minute search may be necessary to estab-
lish conclusively the loss of a ball.

In either case, the players should not
be subject to disqualification under Rule
4 by reason of their agreement, unless the
agreement is flagrantly contrary to fact.
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LOCAL RULE: PRACTICING ON
COURSE BEFORE STROKE PLAY

USGA 60-14
R. 8-3, 11-3, 36-4b, L. R.

Q: Three bplayers started playing a
practice round during the week of
qualifying for a match play tournament,
After playing five holes, they noted the
fine condition of the course and decided
to qualify. They returned to the club-
house, declared their intention to qualify,
and teed off on the first tee.

The tournament rules for qualifying
stated: “Qualifying round will be played
in two-, three-, or four-ball (groups) be-
tween February 22 and 28. The course is
open for practice during this time, but a
player must declare his intentions for
qualifying and sign up at the clubhouse
before playing.”

I contend they were in violation of Rule
8-3 for practicing during the day of
qualifying. The Committee stated that,
as the course was open for practice, they
had not violated any rule as the course
was the practice area. What is your
ruling?

Question by: NorMAN J. LEWTER
Balboa, Canal Zone

A: The Committee’s decision was final
—see Rule 11-3. The Committee knew the
intention of its Loecal Rule and must in-
terpret it.

The Local Rule apparently took prece-
dence over Rule 8-3 as it permitted prac-
tice on the course during the time of
qualifying. It would have been better if
the Local Rule had stipulated whether or
not players could practice on the day on
which they chose to qualify.

It is generally inadvisable to permit
practice on the course, especially from
any hazard or on any putting green, on
the day of a stroke competition. See Rule
36-4b.

DROPPED BALL: ABANDONING
BEFORE PLAYING

USGA 60-18

D. 6, R. 21, 224, 29-1, 35-1¢c
© Q.1: Rule 22: It very often happens that
after searching for his ball awhile, player
returns to his original spot, drops another
ball (under Rule 29-1 for a lost ball) and
addresses it, and before the lapse of five

minutes his original ball is found.

Can he abandon his dropped ball under

new Rule 224 before his play, or if he
addresses his ball is it too late fo aban-
don?

Al: As the original ball was not lost
(Definition 6), Rule 29-1 was not appli-
cable, and the player was entitled to
abandon the dropped ball as provided for
in Rule 22-4b.

DAMAGE TO PUTTING GREEN:
FILLING WITH SAND PROHIBITED

Q.2: Rule 35-1c: In Japan, each caddie
generally carries a small sand bag to fill
up any divot “through the green,” pri-
marily for the reason that Japanese ber-
muda grass, after play, falls into pieces
and on most occasions divots cannot be
replaced because they are broken up, so
caddies fill up such divots with sand.

On the putting green, new Rule 35-Ic
permits players to repair any damage
caused through the impact of a ball, from
which I deduce that the damage must be
limited strietly to the impact of the ball.
As the method of repairing is not men-
tioned except to bar stepping thereon,
am I to understand that such a pitch
mark on the green can be filled with
sand before play?

A.2: No. Repair of damage under Rule
35-1c means restoration of the damaged
turf to something approximating its ori-
ginal condition, without introduction of
additional materials. From a course
maintenance point of view, it is advisable
to loosen ball impressions on the green to
avoid soil compaction.

BALL LOST: TIME PERMITTED -
FOR SEARCH

Q.3: Definition 6, “Ball Lost,” provides
in part: “Time spent in playing a wrong
ball is not counted in the five-minute
period allowed for search.” If the player
found the ball in three minutes after
search began, and it was found to be a
wrong ball after its play, is the player
(after penalty under Rule 21) entitled
to search for his own ball for another
five minutes afresh, not counting three
minutes already spent for search?

A.3: No. Definition 6 does not permit
more than a five-minute search. The five-
minute period excludes time spent in
playing a wrong ball but not in searching.

Questions by: S. TaxaHATA, President
Hirono Golf Club
Kobe, Japan
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WATER HAZARD: STATUS OF BALL
LOST WITHIN ‘

USGA 60-19

D. 32, R. 29-1, 29-2a, 33-2, Note to 33
Q. Our second hole is approximately
165 yards long with a reservoir between
the tee and the green, The reservoir runs
from the base of the tee approximately
140 yards to a bank in front of the green.
There is no fairway at all between the tee
and the reservoir. Therefore, if you hit

into the water there is no place on which -

to drop back. Because of this, it is neces-
sary to hit a second shot from the tee if
the original ball goes into the water.

Faction A contends that a ball in the
hazard is unplayable and is not a lost
ball, and that a second tee shot is the
third stroke. Faction B contends that a
ball in the water is lost, and that under
the new Rule a second tee shot is the
second stroke.

Which faction is correct?

Question by: L1, ReEynorp J. MATTHEWS

Arlington, Virginia

A: Faction A, in a sense, is correct.
However, Rule 33-2 must be applied for
relief for a ball which is lost in a water
hazard. Rule 29 for a ball lost or unplay-
able does not apply—see last note to that
Rule. If a tee shot is lost within the con-
fines of the water hazard (reservoir), the
player may, under Rule 33-2b, tee an-
other ball within the teeing ground (Defi-
nition 32). Alternatively, he may drop
a ball any distance behind the water
hazard provided he keep the spot at
which the ball last crossed the margin of
the water hazard between himself and
the hole—Rule 33-2a. In either case, the
player would then be playing his third
stroke.

HANDICAP DECISION

NO HANDICAPPING
IN CLOSED SEASON

USGA Handicap Decision 60-2
References: Men: Sections 4-1 and 13
Women: Section 14-1 and 22

Q: We seek advice on the matter of
an open or closed golf season for the
Women’s Division of the Virginia State
Golf Association,

We have about 55 clubs which are ac-
tive members of the VSGA. About 10 are
located in the Tidewater area; abouf 10
in the Richmond area; about 10 in the

southwestern area (Roanoke-Lynchburg)
and the other clubs in the northern and
northwestern areas. The clubs in the
Tidewater and the southwestern areas
contend that they can play golf all win-
ter since they apparently have much
milder weather than in the northern
areas. The clubs in the northern (Arling-
ton) and the northwestern areas can play
very little due to the frozen condition of
the ground, etc.

In the past the VSGA has not been ac-
cepting scores from November I1-April 1
for handicap purposes. We have felt that
the scores submitted during this period
did not present a true picture of one’s
game and/or handicap.

At a recent general meeting of the
VSGA a vote favored a closed season.
However, many clubs still want an open
season and have asked me to write to
you.

Question by: Mgs. ErizagerHs HANNA
Arlington, Va.

A: The USGA recognizes that in cer-
tain areas golf is not a twelve-months
pleasure, as our handicap system specifi-
cally mentions “ playing seasons” (when
the game is seasonal) and “calendar
vears” (when golf is yearround).

Section 14-1 of The Conduct of Women’s
Golf indicates that scores to be accept-
able should be made under the spirit of
the Rules of Golf, and Section 22 indi-
cates the conditions when scores made
under “preferred lies” or “winter rules”
are acceptable. Therefore, if, during a
certain season, the spirit of the Rules of
Golf cannot be lived up to, or course
management cannot maintain a course’s
normal scoring difficulty when “winter
rules” are in effect, there should be
“closed” seasons during which scores will
not be accepted for handicap purposes.

The length of an inactive season might
have to rest with the club, rather than
the district association, as in a single
area one club might be playable while
another club nearby might not be. How-
ever, it would be best to have groups of
clubs within narrow areas make the deci-
sion for . themselves, even though this
meant some clubs in, say, Virginia are
“open” and others “closed.” Also, it
might be well for the Women’s Division
to come to an agreement with the Men’s
Division on uniform procedure.
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