


construction into a bench (obstruction) ;
or a piece of coal (loose impediment) is
considered an obstruction after it has
been manufactured into a charcoal
briquet. However, a loose impediment
does not become an obstruction merely
because it may have been slightly altered
by man. If it were otherwise, a player
might declare that a twig broken by a
man’s footstep is an obstruction.

HAZARDS:
(1) TOUCHING GROUND OUTSIDE

LIMITS PERMISSIBLE
(2) SUGGESTED METHOD FOR

DEFINING MARGINS

USGA 60-11
D. 14, R. 33-1

Q: In one of our major tournaments,
we marked water hazard boundaries with
white chalk lines. A local rule provided
that a ball touching such a white line was
considered to be in the hazard.

In a match between A and B, A’s ball
touched the outside edge of one of these
white lines in such a way that if he
grounded his club behind the ball he
would not be touching the ground within
the hazard. A contended that under the
circumstances, he could so ground his
club before making the shot. B claimed
that if he did so, he would violate Rule
33-l. Which player is correct?

Question by: W. D. MCLOUGHLIN
Secretary, Ras Tunura Golf Association

Ras Tanura,,,  Saudi Arabia
A: Player A is correct. When a ball lies

in or touches a hazard, the player may
sole his club outside the hazard without
penalty. Rule 33-1 provides in part: “. . .
the player shall not touch the ground in
the hazard . . . with a club . . .”

We recommend that your local rule be
amended to conform with Definition 14d,
which states in part: “Stakes and lines
defining the margins of hazards are not
in the hazards.”

In the diagram submitted, the hazard
margin in question appears to be located
some distance from the natural limit of
the hazard, which is the spot where the
ground breaks down to form the depres-
sion containing water. It is suggested
that lines defining the margins of hazards
be placed along the natural limits as
nearly as possible.

PROVISIONAL BALL:
WHEN TO ABANDON

USGA 60-2
R. 29-3, 30-la, 30-2, 33-2

Q: A and B are playing a match. B
strikes his ball toward the edge of woods
bordering the right side of the area
cleared for play. The ball clearly carries
an intervening hilltop and disappears be-
yond. B then plays a provisional ball to
an apparently safe location.

B’s original ball is found lying in a
drainage ditch. He elects to pick it out
of the water hazard and drop behind un-
der Rule 33-2a.

A claims the hole: he maintains that
B was in breach of Rule 29-3 because his
original ball was found in the water
hazard, and the Rule directs a penalty of
loss of hole in match play for playing a
provisional ball for a ball which might
be in such a hazard. Is the claim valid?

Question by: WILLIAM G. HARDING
Dedham, Mass.

A: A’s claim is not valid.
Rule 29-3 permits a provisional ball

only if the original ball may be lost or
out of bounds. Since B’s ball might have
been lost, B was within his rights in
playing a provisional ball provided he an-
nounced his intention beforehand (Rule
30-la). As the original ball was subse-
quently found in a water hazard, B was
obliged to abandon the provisional ball,
as provided in Rule 30-2, and to proceed
under Rule 33-2. His provisional ball was
not provisional with respect to a ball in
a water hazard.

COMMITTEE: WINNER’S SCORE NOT
POSTED

USGA 60-7
R.ll-lb

Q: A 54.hole stroke play handicap
tournament was held for a field of ap-
proximately 50 women. On the final day,
scores were turned in and the Golf Chair-
man announced Player B as the winner.
Player A, the leader in the tournament
for the first 36 holes, called the Golf
Chairman the day after the tournament
to find out the totals, as the publicity the
day after the tournament did not list
them. The Golf Chairman said she did
not have the totals. A, ill with the flu for
a week, waited until the following week
to check with the Handicap Chairman,
who had the totals. A check revealed
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USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAG



2
1

B
Ids
‘ea
!es
)e-
to

a
ut
n-

It
is
‘r
If
a
t

:

that A’s score had been properly attested
and turned in but not posted. She was
rightfully the winner, but the trophy had
already been awarded to B. Are we in
order in asking B to relinquish the tro-
phy to A even though neither contestant
was responsible for the error?
Question by: MRS. FRANK C. EBAUGH, JR.

Winter Park, Fla.
A: Yes. The trophy should be retrieved

from B and given to A, the rightful
winner.

If a Committee has erred in failing to
post a score which has been correctly re-
turned and a remedv is feasible, the Com-
mittee should correct its error.

Rule ll-lb does not apply as no penalty
is involved. There is no time limit for
correction of errors of this sort by a
Committee.

BALL: IS NOT EQUIPMENT
USGA 60-8

D. 7, R. 40-lb, 40-lc,  40-3b
Q: The 9th hole at Ponte Vedra is a

par 3 with an island green. A and B were
partners against C and D in a four-ball
match. A hit his ball directly across the
water into the bank of the island and
then watched it trickle down into the
water. B drove onto the island about five
feet short of the green but within 20
yards of the hole. C drove onto the green,
about 10 feet from the hole. D drove into
a trap-his ball does not enter into this
discussion. . .

Where A’s ball went into the water is
not a lateral water hazard, and he should
have played another ball from the tee
side of the water. However, he made a
remark to the effect that his ball did not
make any difference any more, walked
across the bridge, dronned  his ball on the
greer  side of the water  and chipped up
to within three feet of the hole. A’s ball
was then between B’s ball and the pin,
and slightly to the right of the line of
play which B would normally take.

B chipped on the green. His ball hit
A’s ball solidly, ricocheted to the left
and stopped about two feet from the pin.

The question is whether or not B could
then play his ball where it lay with or
without a penalty. B sank the putt for a
par 3 which was immediately questioned,

as he halved the hole with C, who also
got a par 3.

Question by: HARRY B. SCHNABEL
President, Ponte Vedra Men’s Golf Assn.

Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
A: The hole was halved. There is no

penalty if a player’s ball strikes another
ball from any distance in a four-ball
match. Rule 40-1~ provides that the moved
ball (A’s ball) shall be replaced. B was
cbliged to play his ball as it lay, as he
did. Rule 463b is not applicable. A’s ball
was not “equipment” as used in the Rule
and as defined in Definition 7. It was still
in the match despite his statement that
his ball “did not make any difference any
more” and his failure to drop correctly
from the water hazard.

C or D could have avoided the incident
by requesting that A’s ball be lifted or
played before B played under Rule 40-lb.

HAZARD:
TOUCHING WITH CLUB 6)

USGA 60-10
R. 33-1, 33-lf

Q: Please explain Rule 33-lf. What is
meant by term “place his clubs in hazard
prior to making a stroke.”

I allowed my club to rest on the sand
in hazard while I adjusted my glove. I
was some 10 feet from the ball and in no
way was testing, etc. I contended such
was legal in accordance with the above
mentioned Rule 33-lf. Was I correct?

Question by: GEORGE SKINNER
Portsmouth, Va.

A: No. If it were permissible to take
such action, the way would readily be
open to testing the soil in the hazard,
contrary to the Rule.

Clause f in Rule 33-l is for the prac-
tical purpose of permitting one’s club to
lie in a hazard without penalty while the
player is making his stroke. It is a mat-
ter of convenience and time-saving,
especially when the player is carrying his
own clubs and the hazard is large or
awkward to enter and leave.

Clause f in no way abrogates the fun-
damental principle of Rule 33-l that the
lie of a ball in a hazard may not be im-
proved and that the player may not
touch the hazard with anything which
could conceivably affect his lie or could
be used to test the hazard’s condition.
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HANDICAP DECISION
SELECTED HOLE EVENTS:

NO EQUITABLE WAY TO HANDICAP
USGA Handicap Decision 60-5

Miscellaneous
Q: We propose to conduct a golf tour-

nament based on the low net of selected
holes with the following variations: (a)
Low net on odd holes; (b) Low net on
even holes; (c) Low net on selected six
holes; (d) Low net on selected nine
holes; (e) Blind draw of various num-
bers of holes.

1. Should net scores on the selected
holes be determined by the allocation of
handicap strokes as they fall on the
card?

or
2. Should net scores on the selected

holes be determined from a percentage
of the player’s handicap, such as one-half
handicap for nine holes or one-third
handicap for six holes?

Question by: MR S. J. A. H ENDRICKSON

Minneapolis, Minn.
A: It is likely that inequities will arise

under either method and the USGA does
not have any recommendations for such
events. The USGA Handicap System is
based on the player’s ability  to score on
an entire 18 hole round and his handi-
cap is valued accordingly. Handicap
strokes are alloted  on the score card on
the basis of the relative difficulty of each
respective hole as compared to the en-
tire 18 holes.

Method 1 is inequitable because the
fra.ction of handicap received in relation
to the fraction of holes selected could be
more or less than that to which the
player is entitled. Method 2 is inequitable
because a player could receive handicap
strokes on holes where she would not re-
ceive them if her full handicap were used
during a full round; for example, a ten
handicap player could receive a stroke
on the%No. 15 handicap stroke hole.

USGA Handicaps are 18.hole handi-
caps. Any tournament of less than 18
holes in which handicaps are determined
on a proportionate basis can produce cer-
tain inequities. In light of this, when an
event such as this is scheduled, the Com-
mittee should announce in advance the
method which is to be used to determine
handicaps and point out to the competi-
tors that any method used will be in-
equitable to some degree.
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USGA FILM LIBRARY

“Famous Golf Courses: Scotland.” is a la-
minute film in full color. Famous holes were
photographed et Troon,  Prestwick,  Carnous-
tie, St. Andrew, North Berwick and Muir-
field.

“Walker Cup Highlights” is a 16-minute,
film tracing the early history and play for
the first international golf trophy. Bob Jones,
Francis Ouimet and other Walker Cup stars
are shown. The latter half of the film is in
color.

“St. Andrews; Cradle Of Golf,” is a 14-
minute, full color, 16mm travelogue of his-
toric St. Andrew, Scotland, Its Old Course
and the Royal and Ancient Golf Club club-
house.

“First World Amateur Team Champion-
ship for Eisenhower Trophy,” is a 14-minute,
full color, 16mm film of the first World Ama-
teur Team Championship at St. Andrews.
Twenty-nine countries compete for the
Eisenhower Trophy.

“On the Green “ a ll-minute,  full color,I
16mm presentation filmed at the Mld-Ocean
Club, Bermuda, illustrates correct procedures
under the Rules of Golf governing situations
arising on the putting green.

“Golf’s Longest Hour,” a 16mm full color
production of 17% minutes, depicts the clos-
ing stages of the 1956 Open Championshlp.
Filmed at the beautiful Oak Hill Country
Club, Rochester, N.Y., it shows the eventual
winner, Gary Middlecoff. set a target at
which Ben Hogan, Julius Bores  and Ted
Kroll strive in vain to beat.

“Play Them As They Lie,.” a 16mm color
production of 16% minutes m which Johnny
Farrell, Open Champion of 1928. acts as in.
termediary  between Wilbur Mulligan, a be-
ginner of unimpeachable integrity, and
Joshua P. Slve, a past master in the art of
breaking the Rules. The film was made at
the Baltusrol Golf Club, Springfield, N. J.,
where Farrell is professional.

“Great Moments in Golf,” lets the viewer
see the many interestins exhibits in “Golf
House,” USGA headquarters in New York,
and re-live golf triumphs of the past with
many of the game’s immortals. The film is a
16mm black and white production and runs
28 minutes.

“The Rules of Golf-Etiquette” stresses
the importance of etiquette by portrayal of
various violations of the code in the course
of a family four-ball match. Ben Hogan a~-
pears in several scenes, and Robert T.
Jones, Jr., makes the introductory state-
ment. A 16mm color production of 17%
minutes.

The distribution of prints is handled by
National Educational Films, Inc., 165 West
46th Street, New York 36, N. Y., which pro-
duced the films in cooperation with the
USGA. The rental is $20 per film; $35 for
two; $50 for three; $60 for four and $70 for
five, in combination at the same time, In-
;$ny the cost of shipping prints to the
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The Green Section suggested
would be interested in

selected an automatic, multi-rev
ling system; how we engineered
stalled it; and finally, how it op

We have a limited supply of u
with the poor utilization of a
system we were forced to let
100 yards of the fairways and a
rough to brown out. Also, nig
men were so unreliable that so
would be saturated and others
Even the most conscientious
tend to overwater and apply 40
when ordered 20 minutes. Usual
end of the summer season our g
in poor shape and we attributs
the erratic watering. We p
twelve months a year and whatel
tion the greens are in on Nave,
we have to play on them until 1
we felt that an automatic sprin!
tern was mandatory.

Out on the Pacific Coast T
make a major move without c
with our Western Director, Bil
field. So naturally, when we d
install a system, we sent Ken
our green superintendent, dow
Angeles and Bengeyfield’s offic
vice. Bill conducted him and
him to the courses which he c
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