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THE 
REFEREE 
Decisions by the 

Rules of Golf Committees 

Example of Symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indi­
cates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "60-1" means the first 
decision issued in 1960. "D" means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1960 
Rules of Golf. 

BALL UNPLAYABLE—PROCEDURE 
WHEN DROPPING BACK IS 

IMPOSSIBLE 

USGA 60 3 
R. 29-2, 30 

Q: A slices a ball off the tee and the 
caddie signals it probably is out of 
bounds. A then hits a provisional ball un­
der Rule 30-1 which comes to rest in the 
fairway. However, it develops that A's 
first ball is in an unplayable lie in a 
shrub which is in bounds, so the provi­
sional ball must be abandoned in accord­
ance with the last paragraph of Rule 30. 

Because of a curvature in the boundary 
line, it would not be possible to drop a 
ball behind where the unplayable ball 
lay, keeping that point between the ball 
and the hole, without being out of 
bounds. Is it permissible to return to the 
tee, where the original ball was played, 
add a penalty stroke, and continue with 
the play of the hole under Rule 29-2b(ii) 
even though a provisional ball, which was 
played on the incorrect assumption that 
the original ball was out of bounds, has 
since been abandoned? 

Question by: LYNN A. SMITH 
Pasadena, Calif. 

A: Yes. The player has no other re­
course. Since he cannot conform with 
Rule 29-2b(i), he must proceed under 
Rule 29-2b(ii). 

As the original ball was not lost or out 
of bounds, the provisional ball had to be 
abandoned as provided in Rule 30-2. 

OUT OF BOUNDS 
1. NO HAZARD 
2. IDENTIFICATION OF 
3. STAKE NOT IN POSITION 

USGA 59-48 
D. 20, 21; R. 11-4, 17-3 Note, 36 6 

Ql: The City has landscaped the areas 
surrounding the golf courses and has set 
the out-of-bounds stakes so close that on 
several holes sections of the bunkers are 
out of bounds. 

Can any part of a hazard be out of 
bounds? 

Al : Under Rule 36-6, the local commit­
tee is responsible for defining out of 
bounds and may designate any boun­
daries desired. The Rules of Golf make no 
provision for what may or may not be "out 
of bounds." Play may be prohibited from 
any area (Definition 21). Once an area 
is declared out of bounds, there is no 
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other classification which can be given it. 
There can be no such thing as a hazard 
within an out-of-bounds area. It may be 
a hazard if within bounds, but when out 
of bounds it is not recognized as such. 

Q2: Must out-of-bounds stakes be so 
marked? 

A2: When out of bounds is fixed by 
stakes they should either be marked to 
show their status or a note such as the 
following should be printed on score 
cards: " Out of bounds—Defined by the 
inside edge, at ground level, of large 
white stakes." 

Q3: B sliced his tee shot and the ball 
came to rest between the second and the 
third out-of-bounds stakes. The second 
stake had been pulled up and set against 
a fence about fifteen feet to the right of 
its original position. 

B agreed that his ball would have been 
out of bounds with the second stake in 
its proper place but contended that in 
this instance he had the right to line up 
his ball between stake No. 3 and stake 
No. 2 in its existing position. 

A claimed that the ball should be lined 
up with stake No. 1 and stake No. 3. 

Is A or B right? 

A3: This case brings two principles in­
to conflict: (1) that out of bounds is 
determined by the markers in place at 
the time of play, and (2) that out-of-
bounds changes made by unauthorized 
persons should generally be disregarded. 
It is the duty of the authorities in charge 
of the course to see that boundaries are 
properly maintained. 

As everyone involved in the cited case 
was aware of the normal location of the 
displaced marker, the local committee 
would have been justified in restoring 
the marker to its proper location and in 
deeming the ball in question to be out of 
bounds, provided no other ball was treat­
ed differently at the same location in the 
same round. 

A committee's main job is to insure 
fair play as far as lies within its power, 
and under other circumstances the com­
mittee might justifiably rule differently 
from the above; in stroke play, it might 
even be necessary to cancel the particular 
round. The rule of equity—Rule 11-4—is 
paramount. 

The case emphasizes that objects de­
fining out of bounds are things fixed and 
should not be removed—see Definition 20 
and Note to Rule 17-3. 

Questions by: BEN SEIDLER 
Miami Beach, Fla. 

BALL UNPLAYABLE: PROCEDURE 
WHEN DROPPING BACK IS 

IMPOSSIBLE 

USGA 60-4 
D. 20, R. 29-2; 31-2; 35-la,lc; L.R. 

Q.l: Rule 29-2b(i): In 1959 and prior 
years, the Rule permitted the ball to be 
dropped as near as possible when the 
ruling could not be complied with for 
some reason, (a) Does this same privi­
lege continue in 1960; and (b) If it does 
not, is the only alternative that the player 
must take the penalty of stroke and dis­
tance? 

A.1: (a) No. 
(b) Yes. If the player cannot drop a 

ball as specified under Rule 29-2bi), his 
only alternative is to proceed under Rule 
29-2b(ii). 

OBSTRUCTION: LOCAL RULE FOR A 
CONCRETE EDGING OF WATER 

HAZARD 

Q.2: Definition 20: Indian Creek Is­
land, on which this course is located, is 
a man-made island, earth from the bottom 
of Biscayne Bay having been pumped in­
to a concrete bulkhead with a coping 
about two feet wide on its top. We have 
several holes of the course bordering Bis­
cayne Bay and a ball frequently stops 
against this coping. Heretofore the Bay 
has been played as a lateral water hazard 
because occasionally at low tide, with the 
wind from a certain direction, considera­
ble sand is exposed and it is permissible 
for a player to play from it. On account 
of this the coping has been considered an 
immovable obstruction. 

Does the language of Definition 20 
mean now that this coping is not an im­
movable obstruction, which would mean 
on frequent occasions that the ball would 
be in an unplayable lie? 

If your answer to the first question, 
concerning Rule 29-2b(i), should be nega­
tive, it often would mean that a ball could 
not be properly dropped. If you can 
recognize the question that this poses, 
your suggestions would be appreciated. 
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A.2: The coping is not an immovable 
obstruction—Definition 20c. 

Since the condition is abnormal with 
respect to balls lying through the green, 
the Club would be justified in adopting a 
local rule classifying the coping as an ob­
struction with relation to balls lying 
through the green. However, we would 
not recommend that this be applicable to 
a ball in the lateral water hazard. See 
USGA Appendix, Local Rules, item 2, on 
page 55 of the 1960 Rules booklet. 

DAMAGE TO PUTTING GREEN. 
(1) WHY REPAIRING BALLMARKS 

WITH FOOT PROHIBITED 
(2) WHY REPAIR OF SCUFF MARKS 

PROHIBITED 

Q.3: Rule 35-lc: It is my understanding 
that this Rule was made in order that the 
putting green would be as nearly as pos­
sible in the same condition throughout 
the day. The logical way to repair a ball 
mark is to repair it and then as a prac­
tical matter to tamp it down with the 
foot. 

Will you please explain to me, unless 
there is some reason you prefer not to 
do so, why this prohibition? Also, does 
the prohibition include pressing down 
with a club or the hand? The point of my 
question is that the Rule, as I read it, 
makes something hard out of something 
easy and tends to defeat its purpose. 

Why do you exclude tamping down 
scuff marks? My guess is you might think 
this was going a bit too far. 

A.3: Repair of ball marks with the foot 
would make possible repair of areas other 
than the ball marks themselves. This 
would be undesirable and would violate 
Rule 35-la. One of the basic principles of 
golf is to play the course as one finds it. 
The Rules permit the repair of ball marks 
only because they can cause abnormally 
inequitable situations. 

Scuff marks can be so widely distri­
buted over a putting green, especially 
around the hole, and would be so diffi­
cult to define for Rules purposes that a 
Rule permitting their repair could open 
the door for repair of any minor imper­
fection in the putting surface. 

Questions by: J. SIMPSON DEAN 
Miami Beach, Fla. 

PROVISIONAL BALL: MUST BE 
ABANDONED IF ORIGINAL BALL 

UNPLAYABLE 
USGA 60-6 

R. 1Mb, 11-5, 29-2b, 30-2, 38-2 
Q.l: At stroke play, a competitor 

played a ball from the teeing ground. 
The ball landed in a very wooded area, 
and he then played a provisional ball 
from the tee (assuming the original ball 
might be lost). 

The original ball was located in a cre­
vice, and entirely unplayable. After a 
search, the provisional ball was also 
found unplayable. A discussion took 
place between the competitor and his fel­
low-competitors. Their decision was that 
the original ball could be dropped back 
under penalty of one stroke. 

My contention is that the provisional 
ball was in fact a second ball, after the 
original was found unplayable. Is it cor­
rect that the competitor could have drop­
ped the second ball, under penalty of 
one stroke, and be playing 5; or played a 
third ball from the tee and then be play­
ing 6? This was my decision in the case. 

A.l: Your decision was wrong. Rule 
30-2 requires that the provisional ball be 
abandoned if the original ball is not lost 
or out-of-bounds. 

The competitor was right in deciding 
that he could proceed under Rule 29-2b 
(i) with respect to the original ball. Al­
ternatively, he could have returned to 
the teeing ground and put another ball 
into play under Rule 29-2b(ii). 

Although the competitor was correct 
in his procedure it appears that he was 
doubtful. In such a case, he has the 
right, under Rule 11-5, to play both balls 
and obtain a ruling before returning his 
card—see Rule 38-2. 

PENALTIES: TIME LIMIT FOR 
APPLICATION, STROKE PLAY 

Q.2: This occurred in 1960, but not in 
tournament play. If this had occurred in 
a tournament, would the player have 
been disqualified after the competition 
was closed? Since there was a discussion 
of the Rules, it seems that the competitor 
could have protected himself by playing 
both balls. 

A.2: If the competitor had been wrong 
in his procedure, he could not have been 
disqualified after the competition was 
closed as defined in Rule 11-lb (unless 
he had given wrong information). 
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