Decisions by the

Rules of Golf Committees

Example of Symbols: “USGA” indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. “R & A" indi-
cates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. “60-1" means the first
decision issued in 1960. D" means definition. “R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1960

Rules of Golf.

REINTRODUCING UNFIT BALL

USGA 59-33

R. 23, 28
Q: A player declares a ball unfit for
play on the third hole. On the sixteenth,
with a tight out of bounds on the right,
he plays this ball from the tee again.

What is the ruling?

Question by: ArRTHUR TUCKEE
Pittsburgh, Pa.
A: If the ball conformed with Rule 2-3,
the player was within his rights and
there was no penalty. However, he could
not again declare the ball (in the same
condition) unfit for play under Rule 28.

SIZE OF HOLE

USGA 59-31
D. 15
Handicap Decision 59-8
Q: When golf is played on a course
using oversized holes, such as the 4%
inch holes used this year on a few courses
in the Pacific Northwest, may the scores
be used as a basis for handicaps?
A: No. Definition 15 of the Rules of
Golf provides:
“The ‘hole’ shall be 4% inches in dia-
meter and at least 4 inches deep. If a
lining be used, it shall be sunk at least

1 inch below the putting green surface
unless the nature of the soil makes it im-
practical to do so; its outer diameter
shall not exceed 4% inches.”

Scores made on a course with holes
which do not conform with Definition
15 are not acceptable scores and may not
be used for handicapping under the
USGA system. Handicaps based on such
scores may not be used to determine eli-
gibility for USGA Championships.

TEE MARKER: WHEN OBSTRUCTION

USGA 59-32

D. 20; R. 31-1
Q: A player plays from the tee and the
ball contacts a tee marker. There is no
Rule to prevent the player from remev-
ing the tee marker in playing so long as
it comes within the meaning of immova-
ble obstruction under Rule 31-2. Is this

correct?

Question by: SencHr TAKAHATA
Higashiku, Osaka, Japan

A: Tee markers must always remain in
place while all members of a group are
completing their play from a teeing
ground.

However, after all play from a teeing
ground has been completed, tee markers
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may be treated as movable obstructions
in accordance with Definition 20 and Rule
31-1. Tee markers of a hole other than
that being played may also be treated as
movable obstructions. Any tee markers
moved under this interpretation should
be immediately replaced after the stroke
has been completed.

NOTE: This supersedes Decision 58-37.

DISPUTE AS TO BREACH

USGA 59-36
R. 10-1, 11-4, 33-1

Q: Match Play: A in sand trap. B claims
A touched sand when addressing his ball.
A states he did not. No referee and no
witnesses. Outcome of match depends on
this hole.

The Committee has asked me for a deci-
sion and will abide by it. I have not been
able to find any rule to cover this and
believe the Equity Rule would have to be
applied; if so, would throw the hole out
and let them play it over.

Question by: RAy LAWRENSON
Adelphi, Md.

A: The Committee must consider all
available evidence as to whether or not
A infringed Rule 33-1, and must make a
decision based on the weight of evidence.

It is our observation that the player of
the stroke is usually in the better posi-
tion to determine whether a breach of
Rule occurred in a case such as this,
and generally he should be given the
benefit of any doubt.

The Rules assume that golfers are
honest, and Rule 10-1 requires a player
to take the initiative in reporting a pen-
alty against himself.

Rule 114, dealing with equity, is not
recommended in this instance. To require
replay of the hole could be inequitable.

BALL LOST OR STOLEN

USGA 5941

D. 6, D. 22; R. 11-2,27-1a,29-1
Q: During the Classification of the
Amateur Championship in a threesome
consisting of Ledesma, Bertolini and a
third party, when the first two players
were playing the T7th hole, par 3, 157
yards, Ledesma’s ball after striking the
green went right on, Bertolini’'s seemed
to stop at the far end of the green or
barely passing it, while the third player’s
ball landed on the green. In going to
hunt for the first two balls, they had dis-

appeared and there was no doubt they
had been stolen: Firstly, because al-
though one had rolled down a slope there
was no long grass and the distance to the
out of bounds is more than 60 meters,
with trees in between; secondly, because
of the coincidence that both balls should
disappear. As the time of the game was
12:30 and as it was a classification, not
more than 8 people were accompanying
the players and there was nobody on the
green.

Although Ledesma before returning to
the tee to play another ball played a
second one from the place where it should
have been, the referee for that day con-
sidered that as there had been no evi-
dence that the balls had been stolen, they
should be considered as lost. I understand
that when a ball cannot be found and
then there is no logical reason for con-
sidering it could have been lost, one can
play again without being penalized.

Could you very kindly give us your
cpinion on this matter?

Question by: CEsAr S. VASQUEZ
Buenos Aires, Argentina

A: It is a question of fact whether a
ball has been lost (Definition 6) or moved
by an outside agency (Definition 22).
In order to treat it as moved by an out-
side agency under Rule 27-1a, there must
be reasonable evidence to that effect; all
available testimony and facts should be
considered. In the absence of such evi-
dence, the ball must be treated as lost,
and Rule 29-1 applies.

In the present case, the referee doubt-
less was intimately aware of the details
and in position to evaluate them. His de-
cision would appear to be correct; in any
case, it was final—see Rule 11-2.

1. PROVISIONAL BALL—ANNOUNCE-
MENT

2. BALL, ABANDONED—PLAYING
ANOTHER BALL

USGA 5947

R. 11-3; 30-1a, 2
Q: Our No. 3 hole is bounded on the
right by a public highway, and for the
most part this highway is from ten to
twenty feet below the fairway level. A
ball coming to rest on or beyond this

highway is out of bounds.

A player had driven to within 109 yards
of the green and his fellow competitors
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had all driven to approximately the same
spot. When playing his second stroke, the
player hit the ball in the shank of his
club which caused the ball to travel
radically to the right of the intended line
of flight and over the hill toward the
highway, which was less than 30 yards
from the spot the player’s stroke was
made. All of the player’s fellow competi-
tors were standing quite near when the
stroke was played and saw the ball travel
toward the highway with sufficient speed
tq go over the hill and down onto the
highway some 20 feet below. All tourna-
m.ent officials present also saw the line of
flight of the ball. Everyone, including
the player, assumed that the ball was
probably out of bounds.

"I"he player immediately played a pro-
visional ball, without announcing his in-
tention to do so, feeling that in this case
such an announcement would be super-
fluous, as his fellow competitors (one of
wh_om was the marker) were standing
duite near and saw what had happened.
The player then walked the short distance
to the point where his ball was seen to
go over the hill toward the highway.
There being an almost vertical drop of
abput 20 feet directly to the highway at
this point, the player made a brief search
of about one minute and then walked to
the green, where his provisional ball had
landed.

_Two tournament officials lingered be-
hind to look for the ball and within one
more minute one of the officials saw a
ball lying in the middle of the fairway
abqu} 50 yards short of the green. This
official called to the player to identify the
ball so found and the player returned to
the. spot and identified the ball as the ball
which had been presumed to be out of
bounds. A large truck had been seen on
the highway in the line of flight of the
ball which was thought to have gone out
of bounds and it now appeared that the
ball has struck this truck and had been
deflected back to the spot where it was
found. No player in the group had
blayed a subsequent stroke before the
ball was found.

The officials allowed the player to play
this original ball without penalty even
though there probably was a purely tech-
nical violation of Rule 30-la. It was felt
that a strict interpretation of Rule 30-la
In this instance would be contrary to the

interests of fair play, as it was so obvious
to all concerned what had happened and
that a provisional ball was being played
and why it was being played. There was
no disagreement with the officials over
this ruling.

However, the point was brought up af-
ter the tournament that this player might
have been deemed to have “abandoned”
his original ball and therefore not have
been entitled to place this ball in play
again.

1. Was the official ruling correct?

2. If the player had not “abandoned”
the original ball, what constitutes an
“abandoned” ball and which rule covers
this situation?

Questions by: WARReN V. BusH
Las Cruces, N. M.

Al: Technically, the competitor vio-
lated Rule 30-la. However, the Commit-
tee has discretion to determine whether
the competitor’s actions constituted an
announcement of a provisional ball in the
particular circumstances. The Commit-
tee’s decision is final—see Rule 11-3.

A2: Under Rule 30-2, when the player
reaches the place where the original ball
is likely to be, he is deemed to have
abandoned a ball when he plays a stroke
with the other ball.

REPAIR OF MARKS BY ANY BALL

USGA 5949
R. 35-1c for 1960

Q: The changes in Rules approved for
1860 allow the repair of ball marks any-
where on the green. Is that intended to
mean that any ball mark may be re-
paired, or only marks left by the balls in
play?

Question by: GERMAN EpwARDs
Santiago, Chile

A: The 1960 Rule permitting repair of
ball marks on the putting green will ap-
ply to all ball marks, without regard to
the balls that make them. Rule 35-1c in
1960 will provide:

“c. Repair of Ball Marks. The player
may repair damage to the putting
green caused by the impact of a ball,
but he may not step on the damaged
area. The ball may be lifted to per-
mit repair and shall be replaced on
the spot from which it was lifted.

“If a ball be moved during such re-
pair, it shall be replaced, without
penalty.”
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