THE
REFEREE

Decisions by the
Rules of Golf Committees

Example of Symbols: “USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indi-
cates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. “59-1” means the first
decision isenead in 1959, “D™ means definition. “R. 37-7” refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1959

Rules of Golf.

Bridge In Hazard

USGA 59-19

R. 312
Q: If a ball comes to rest so close to
a bridge over a shallow ditch that it in-
terferes with the player’s swing, is the
player entitled to relief? Suppose the
ball is in the hazard close to the bridge?
Question by: C. R. AuLT
Birmingham, Ala.
A: The player is entitled to relief in
both instances (see Rule 31-2). If the
ball is in the hazard, the player must

drop the ball in the hazard.

Distance Markers

USGA 59-22
Miscellaneous
Q: Is there a USGA Rule prohibiting
markers on the golf course indicating
a distance of 150 yards from the markers
to the green? If there is such a ruling, is
it permissible to plant small trees at dis-
tances of 150 yards from the greens?
Question by: A. W. MITCHELL
Denville, N. J.
A: There is nothing in the Rules of
Golf to prohibit use of markers indicating
the distance to the putting green.

However, distance markers are prohi-
bited in competitions conducted by the
USGA.

Effective Handicap

USGA 59-23
R. 36-1, 36-5, 37-4, 38-3, 41-7
Handicap Decision 59-5

Q: Our association held a one-day,
handicap four-ball tournament on July
10, net prizes only.

A and B entered as a team and sent
in their entry during the latter part of
June, indicating handicaps of 7 and 7.
They won the tournament with a net
score of 139; two teams tied for second
with 140 and six teams tied for fourth
with 141.

On July 11 a protest was lodged against
the winners on the basis their handicaps
were incorrect. I investigated and found
that the handicap committee at their club
had revised the handicaps of all members
on July 1. This action is taken monthly.
The handicaps of A and B were reduced
to 6.

B played in a proam tournament on
July 6 and used his revised handicap of
6. He will be out of town for some time
and is not available for comment. I have
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talked to A, who states he was of the
opinion that he should use the handicaps
originally sent in even though the tour-
nament was held ten days after the handi-
caps were revised.

Any advice you can give me to help
decide the proper action to take will be
deeply appreciated.

Question by: RAY LAWRENSON
Adelphi, Md.

A: All players in the one-day handicap
tournaments should have used handicaps
which were in effect at the time of the
competition, unless there were any rule
or custom to the contrary. (See Rule 37-4
for the players’ responsibility.)

The Committee would be justified i
disqualifying players who played with
handicaps higher than their actual handi-
caps at the time (see Rules 38-3 and 41-7).
For the Committee’s right to waive or to
modify a disqualification penalty in ex-
ceptional individual cases, see Rule 36-5.

If any competitor played with a handi-
cap lower than his actual handicap, his
score should stand as returned (see Rule
38-3).

The Committee should publish in ad-
vance the conditions under which a com-
petition will be played (see Rule 36-1).

No Free Relief

From Boundary

USGA 59-24
D. 20; R. 29-2, 31

Q: Our seventh hole is a par 5 dog-leg
on the drive to the left, with an interior
angle of about 120 degrees. Along the
left side of the first leg, and on our pro-
perty line, is a fence consisting of a
masonry wall about four feet high, top-
ped by wire netting. Often a sliced drive
hits this fence and the ball falls down
against the bottom of the wall or so close
to it that it cannot be played by a right-
handed player, and, even if played, it
must be along the line of the fence in-
stead of towards the hole.

What is the ruling on such a lie? May
the ball ever be dropped (and where)
without penalty?

We have no local rule on this situation
and have said that a ball could only be
lifted under Rule 29, Clause 2. This is,
to an extent, justified by the fact that if

the fence were not there, the ball would
probably have fallen out of bounds.

Question by: S. D. BRowN

Pine Orchard, Conn.

A: Walls, fences, stakes, railings or

similar objects defining out of bounds

are not obstructions—see Definition 20—

and the player is not entitled to free re-

lief under Rule 31. Relief may be obtain-
ed only under Rule 29-2,

Conceded Hole

Won On Infraction

USGA 59-25
D. 28; R. 11-1, 21-2

Q: A and B are engaged in a match.
X and L complete the “fousome” but are
not engaged in match.

On Hole 16 A and B are all even. A
and X drive near the rough on the left
side of the fairway., Y drives down the
middle and B into the right rough.

A hits first and puts his shot on the
green. X and Y then hit their shots. B
hits his second shot last, into the trap in
front of the green. After three unsuc-
cessful attempts in getting out, B picks
up his ball and concedes the hole to A.

Upon reaching green, A discovers and
declares that he had hit X’s ball to the
green. B immediately claims the hole as
his.

Up to the time A had discovered his
mistake and after B had picked up and
conceded the hole to A, no player was
aware that any infraction had been com-
mitted.

Since the last two holes were halved,
this was the deciding hole in the match.

Question by: BERNARD J. BOLES
Buffalo, N. Y.

A: B won the match. B made a proper
claim before either he or A played from
the next teeing ground—see Rule 11-1.

A lost the 16th hole under Rule 21-2,
which provides in part: “If a player play
a stroke with any wrong ball except in
a hazard, he shall lose the hole.” Thus,
the hole was decided when A played the
wrong ball; what happened thereafter
was irrelevant.

X and Y were outside agencies. The
case illustrates the inadvisability of con-
stituting matches and groupings in any
manner other than as provided in Defini-
tion 28.

24 USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAGEMENT: SEPTEMBER, 1959



