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1 Decisions by the 

Rules of Golf Committees 

Example of Symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indi­
cates* decision b> the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "59-1" means the first 
decision issued in 1959. "D" means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1959 
Rules of Golf. 

Card Returned 
R&A 58/82/58 

R. 38 
Q: A competitor having completed his 

round gave his score card (unfortunately 
the winning one) to his fellow-competitor 
to put in the competition box we use on 
these occasions. His marker, however, 
overlooked doing so at that time and 
only deposited the card in the box ap­
proximately one and one-half hours later 
and in this time had left the course. To 
further complicate the issue the marker 
was a committee member who, although 
competing, was technically among those 
v/ho were running the competition. On 
checking the card was found to be in or­
der and it is purely on technical grounds 
that doubt has arisen. Should the winner 
be disqualified? 

A: While it is the competitor's duty to 
see that the score card is returned with­
out delay, the committee in charge of a 
competition is not precluded from ac­
cepting a reasonable explanation for his 
failing to do so. While, therefore, the 
matter must rest with your committee, 
it is entitiled to accept an explanation 
involving the handing of the card to one 
of its own number. 

Discontinuance 
Of Play 

R&A 58/91/63 
R. 37-6 

Q: Two players, A and B, when play­
ing in a stroke competition were caught 
in very heavy rain. A, having torn up his 
card, continued play for the purpose of 
marking B's card. A memorized B's score 
for the sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth 
holes in order to avoid marking the card 
in the rain. At the tenth tee before strik­
ing off A entered a nearby shelter to 
take out B's score card from his water­
proof clothing and proceeded to mark the 
card for the preceding holes. When so 
doing he was joined by B who could not 
continue play without his marker. B 
states definitely that he did not enter 
the shelter for the purpose of shelter­
ing. 

Does this constitute "discontinuance of 
play" as referred to in Rule 37-6? 

A: Provided B remained in the shelter 
only long enough to enable his marker A 
to mark his card, this would not con­
stitute discontinuance of play. The inci­
dent was properly reported to your com­
mittee, and it is for it to decide whether 
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in fact play was discontinued, in which
case B should be disqualified under Rule
37-6.

Casual Water
and the Plugged Ball

R&A 58/84/60
D.8

Q: I am writing to seek your guidance
and ruling in connection with Rule 32
and the definition of casual water as
given in Definition 8 of the Rules of
Golf. The point on which your opinion
is sought is:

A player's ball plugged deeply in the
fairway following heavy rain. Although
water ,Splashed up as the ball pitched,
there was no visible accumulation of
water on the surface, but the hole where
the ball had plugged had filled with.
VI-ateI'.

The player claimed that this was casual
water and picked and dropped the ball
without penalty. Was he correct in claim-
ing that his ball was in casual water?

A: The player was justified in regard-
ing this as casual water in accordance
with Definition 8.

Drive Out of Turn
Replayed in Error

USGA 59-11
R. 5, 12-3b

Q: In stroke play, a competitor played
out of turn from the teeing ground,
abandoned the ball and played again in
pro.per order. What penalty, if any, did
he mcur?

Question by: Y. IWASAKI
Tokyo, Japan

A: There is no penalty for playing out
of turn from the teeing ground in stroke
play, and the competitor should not have
abandoned his original ball or put an-
other in play; see Rule 12-3b.

In doing so, he incurred the general
penalty of two strokes provided in Rule
5.

Under a strict application of Rule 23-3,
the player could be disqualified. How-
ever, we feel that in these particular cir-
cumstances, where he did play one ball
from tee to hole, the disqualification
penalty would be unduly har,sh and the
general penalty is therefore applied.

Caddie Employed
by Four-Ball Opponents

USGA 59-12
L. R. R. 26-1a

Q: The caddie-master assigns two cad-
dies among four players who are to play
a four-ball match. The caddie-master
neither knows nor cares which players
are on the same side in the match. He
does not permit bag-switching at the
behest of the players. It therefore often
develops that each caddie is caddying
for members of opposing sides.

One of the caddies moves a ball.
Under Rule 40-3d, when a ball is moved

c1ccidentally by one side's own caddie,
the owner of the ball incurs a penalty
stroke and the ball is played as it lies.

Under Rule 40-3e, when a ball is moved
by a caddie assigned to one opponent,
that opponent incurs a penalty stroke
and the ball is replaced.

When the caddie is employed by both
player and opponent, is the ball played
as it lies or is it replaced? Or should
the caddie be regarded as an outside
agency, as is recommended when one
caddie is employed by two players in a
single match?

Question by: MRS. KENNETH COOLEY
Evanston, Ill.

A: In equity, a caddie employed by op-
ponents in a four-ball match ,should be
considered an outside agency, just like
a caddie employed by opponents in a
single, except when he acts upon specific
directions of a player, in which case he
is considered to be that player's caddie.

Thus, if a caddie employed by op-
ponents in a four-ball match accidentally
moves a ball while acting without
specific directions of either player, the
ball should be considered to have been
moved by an outside agency. Rule 26-1a
would govern. If the caddie was acting
on specific direction, the player who gave
the direction would incur the relative
penalty.

We would suggest that the caddie-mas-
ters in question be instructed by the
proper authorities to assign caddies
caddying double to partners or to per-
mit players to reassign bags in order to
avoid Rule,s questions such as the one
you raise.
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