
Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indicateiO
decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "58-1" means the first decision
Issued in 1958. "0" means definition. "R. 37.7" re'ers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1958 Rules of Golf.

Concession Refused
Balls Remain in Play

USGA 57-29
Misc.

Q: A and B are on the green in the same
number of shots and both putt to within
three feet of hole.

As a half will win the match for B, who
is closest to the hole, A extends his hand
and says "Congratulations", intending to
concede the putt and the match.

However, B says: "No, wait, I haven't
hole out yet".

A says: "O.K., go on and putt".
B putts and misses.
A putts and sinks. Who wins the hole?

Question by: BOYD PERRY,JR.
. Garden City, N. Y.

A: In the circumstances cited, there was
no concession of the putt because the offer
of a concession was clearly declined. There-
fore, both balls remained in play and A
won the hole.

Lifting and Dropping Constitute
Extension of Previous Stroke

USGA 57-30
R. 29-2a, 30-r, 30-4, 32-ra

Q: A ball is struck toward a part of the
course where it may be unplayable. The

player plays a provisional ball, as provided
for in Rule 30- I.

The first ball is found to be in ground
under repair. The player lifts it without
penalty and drops it in accordance with
Rule 32-ra. The ball comes to rest in an
unplayable lie.

The player abandons the first ball and
contends that he may now play the pro-
visional ball. Is he right?

Question by: THOMAS G. McMAHON
oLs Angeles, Cal.

A: Yes. In equity, lifting and dropping
the first ball under Rule 32-ra constituted
an extension of the stroke played with
that ball. When it became unplayable, the
player in order to proceed under Rule
29-2'a would have had to return to the
spot from which the original ball was
played (not the spot from which it was
lifted). As he had already played the pro-
visional ball from that spot, the provi-
sional ball must be continued in play. See
also Rule 30-4.

Replacing Ball
Wrongly Played

USGA 58-4
',R. 33-2, 40-3f

Q: A and B sliced their second shots
into some trees from which both balls
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NEW MEMBERS OF THE USGA
Regular

Aero-Pin&'S Golf Course,
Auglaize Country Club,
Bookcliff Country Club,
Brown's Run Country Club,
Buena Vista Country Club,
California Country Club,
Cannon Air Force Base Golf

Association,
Century Country Club,
Cherok£.e Town & Country Club,
Eldorado Country Club,
Finkbine Golf Course,
Gaines County Golf Club,
Hesperia Golf & Country Club,
Hillview Golf Club,
Hole-in-the Wall Golf Club,
Indian Wells Country Club,
lake Hills Golf & Country Club,
little River Inn Country Club,
lufkin Country Club,
McCloud Golf Club,
Muroc lake Golf Club,
Navy Golf Course
Oakwood Country Club,
Paradise Valley Country Club,
Point 0' Woods Golf &

Country Club,
Riverbend Country Club,
Rolling Hills Country Club,
Rolling Hills Country Club,
Singing Hills Golf & Country

Club,
Sunset Hills Country Club,
Titusville Country Club,
Torrey Pines Men's Golf Club,
York Golf & Tennis Club,

Associate
Boscobel Country Club,
Bradford Golf Course,
Diplomat Country Club,
Elks Golf & Country Club,
Green Hills Golf Course,
Indiana University Golf Club,
Lincoln Greens Golf Course,
Otsego Ski Club,
Provo Timpanogos Municipal

Golf Course,
Waterville Park Golf Course,
Winter Quarters Country Club,

Kindly advise the proper procedure for
both match and stroke play, and also when
ball was searched for less than five minutes
and more than five minutes.

Question by: CHARLESH. STEWART
Great Southern Golf Club

Gulfport, Miss.
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bounced down a hill into a creek. A came
upon a ball in the creek, thought it was
his and correctly dropped it, keeping the
point of entry between his drop and the
hole. He then played a shot up to the
edge of the green.

At this time B found a ball about 25
feet farther up the creek. After examining
the ball he informed A that A had found
B's ball and had played the wrong ball to
the green. The ball B found proved to be
the ball A had hit into the creek.

A then redropped his ball and played
a shot to within a few feet of the first shot.
He holed out in a six which would have
won the hole. However, this being a four-
ball match, the others protested that he
had violated the Rules and should be
penalized.

Could you please inform me what the
violation was, if there was a violation, and
what the penalty would be and also in-
form me what the correct procedure should
have been once the initial mistake was
discovered.

Question by: CLARE EMERY
Washington Golf & Country Club

Arlington, Va.
A: When A played B's ball from outside

the hazard, he disqualified himself for the
hole under Rule 40-3f. The penalty did
not apply to his partner.

B was entitled to drop his ball either in
the hazard as near as possible to the place
from which it was lifted without penalty
or behind the hazard under the penalty
provided in Rule 33-2.

Ball Should Not Be "Presumed"
Lost in Water Hazard

USGA 58-6
D.6, R.II-5, 22-2, 33-3

Q: Player drives ball in what everyone
thought a lateral water hazard. They search-
ed for the ball for less than five minutes.
The player deemed the ball lost in the
lateral water hazard and proceeded accord-
ing to Rule 33-3b. He dropped a ball out-
side the hazard and was addressing the ball
for his next shot when a spectator found
his original ball outside the hazard. Player
played both balls, scoring a four with the
ori~inal ball and a five with the penalty
ball.



A: In stroke play, the player played four
strokes with his original ball and incurred
a penalty of two strokes for violation of
Rule 22-2 with the second balL His score
for the hole was 6. In match play he lost
the hole.

Rule 22-2 provides that "A ball is in
p~ay when dropped." When the player
dropped a second ball thinking he was
observing Rule 33-3b, he had a second
ball in play even though improperly.

If he had picked up the second ball as
soon as the original ball was found, he
would have incurred a penalty of two
strokes in stroke play or lost the hole in
match play under Rule 22-2. The fact that
he played out both balls under Rule I 1-5
does not relieve him of the penalty in
stroke play. He is not, however, subject to
penalty for playing a wrong balL

If the search had lasted five minutes, the
original ball would have been lost-Defi-
nition 6. Since the ball was not lost in a
water hazard, the player would have been
required to put a ball in play in accord-
ance with Rule 29- I; his failure to do so
probably would have been a serious breach

WORLD TEAM EVENT
(Continued from Page 9)

determine, by majority vote, the country in
which the Championship will be held.
8. RESPONSIBILITY FOR CONDUCT

The national amateur golf authority in
the entertaining country will be responsible
for the conduct of the Championship.

Such authority shall pay all expenses inci-
dent to the Championship (except expenses
of visiting players); it may charge admission
to spectators and otherwise raise income as
it may desire, and shall be entitled to retain
all proceeds.
9. EXPENSES OF PLAYERS

Each national golf authority may defray
the expenses of its Team's four members and
of a non-playing captain not to exceed the
following limits:

(a) First class round-trip travel between
the player's home and the scene of the
Championship.

(b) Living expenses durin~ travel, for
not more than (?) days at the scene of the
Championship, and caddie fees for those days.
10. PRIZES

(a ) Team-There will be a team trophy
inscribed as follows:

entailing loss of hole in match play or
disqualification in stroke play-see Note
I to Rule 29.

Greenkeeper's Hole Defined
USGA 58-5
D. 13

Q: We would very much appreciate
knowing what is meant by "a hole made
by a greenkeeper" in Definition I3. Per-
haps you could supply us with some ex-
amples of such holes which are considered
"ground under repair" and other examples
of holes which would not be considered
"ground under repail'. We have already
noticed that a rut caused by the tractor is
not a "hole" which can be considered as
ground under repair.

Question by: WARREN V. BUSH
Las Cruces, N. M.

A: A "hole made by a greenkeeper", as
used in Definition I3, is usually ground
temporarily opened for upkeep of the
course, such as a hole made in moving sod
or a tree stump, laying pipe lines, and
similar conditions.
WORLD AMATEUR GOLF TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP

TROPHY
To further friendship among the peoples

of the world
presented to

THE UNITED STATES GOLF ASSOCIATION
and

THE ROYAL AND ANCIENT GOLF CLUB OF
ST. ANDREWS, SCOTlAND

by
(name of donor)

(date)
(Note-the United States Golf Asso-
ciation has received offers of a trophy
and will accept one. The United States
Golf Association will serve as trustee
of the trophy for purposes of insurance
and for safekeeping during any sus-
pension of the Championship)
The Trophy will be held by the national

authority represented by the winning team
for the ensuing two years.

(b) Individuals-Prizes will be presented
to members of the winning team and the
runner-up team. Such prizes will be uniform
from year to year.

(c) Cost of individual prizes and of in-
surance of the Team Trophy will be defrayed
pro rata by the participating countries.

24 USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAGEMENT: APRIL, 1959


