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Example of symbols:

“USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. R & A" indicates

THE
REFEREE

Decisions by the
Rules of Golf Committees

decisi by the R | and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "'57-1 means the first decision
ii::l:{l:loriln l‘;ﬂ.e”[}'?yr:lea:s definition. “'R. 37-7"' refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1957 Rules of Golf.

Water May Be Scooped
From Hole Without Penalty

USGA 57-16
R. 35-1b

Q: A heavy rainstorm started while a
match was on the 14th green. The teams
finished the 14th hole and then went into
the shack for approximately one hour. It
was then decided between the two teams
to continue the match. At that time the
16th green was flooded and the approach
to the 17th green was also flooded. The
teams reached the 17th green. One of the
players was putting a two-foot putt toward
the cup and he noticed that the cup was
filled almost to the brim with water. He
had the caddie take a cigarette package and
scoop three packagefuls of water from the
cup. It cannot be said that any portion of
the rim of the cup was touched.

The two foot putt was hit into the cup,
after which the win of the hole was pro-
tested by the opposing team and a ruling
requested.

Question by: ARNOLD H. BACHNER
Harrison, N. Y.

A: There is nothing in the Rules of
Golf to prevent a player from removing
water or any other foreign matter from a
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hole before purtting, provided the line of
putt is not touched in violation of Rule
35-1b and no other Rule is infringed.

Ball Inside Orange Must Be
Played or Deemed Unplayable

USGA s57-17
D. 17; R. 16, 29

Q: A player pulled his drive into the
rough and hit an orange tree. The force
of the ball was responsible for the latter
cntering an orange, which dropped to the
ground and rolled along with the ball in-
side. What is the ruling?

A: The player would have to play the
ball as it lay or deem it unplayable. The
orange was not a loose impediment under
Definition 17, because it adhered to the
ball (or vice versa), and so the player
could not invoke Rule 18, The ruling
would be the same if the orange had been

lying loose in the fairway when the ball
struck it

Ball Rolled On Green
Incurs Penalty
USGA 57-18

R. 35-1d
Q: In stroke play, after heavy rain some
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of the greens had pools of water. On the
14th green there was a pool of water be-
tween a player’s ball and the cup, and a
pool of water behind the ball. The player
did not move his ball around the water
in front of his ball, as I understand he is
allowed to do providing he is no nearer
the hole, but took a ball out of his pocket
and, by hand, rolled it through the water
which was behind his ball. Ball was rolled
diagonally to path of ball he was playing.
Other players claimed this an infraction of
the rule and a two-stroke penalty should be
invoked. The player claims he learned
nothing by his action and proceeded to
three-putt the green.
W ill you kindly give me the ruling?
Question by: T. W. HAMILTON
So. Norwalk, Conn.
A: The player incurred a two-stroke
penalty for violating Rule 35-1d, as fol-
lows: “During the play of a hole, a player
shall not test the surface of the putting
green; he shall not roll a ball or roughen
or scrape the surface.”

Bases for Fencing Posts
Are Not Obstructions

USGA 57-19

R. 31-2; D. 20
Q: Fence posts were set in approximate-
ly 14-inch concrete bases for a fence which
bounded the course. Is the part of the
concrete base which is within the boundary
of the course considered an obstruction?
A ball was lying against such concrete base.
Question by: M. SANDERS
Valley Stream, N. Y.

A: A fence defining out of bounds is
not an obstruction (Definition 20); posts
and other means of supporting such a fence
ordinarily should not be regarded as ob-
structions. We recommend that the local
committee publish a local rule stating that
the concrete bases of the fence posts are
not obstructions.

If it were ruled otherwise, inequities and
confusion could arise from the fact that
under Rule 31-2, relief would be available
from the concrete bases but would not be
available from the fence and its posts.

Time Limits for Applying
Stroke Play Penalties

USGA 57-20
R. 11

Q: In stroke competition, is there a time
limit for applying penalties for violations
of Rules? In match play time limits for
claims are set forth in Rule 11-1, but there
does not appear to be any counterpart for
stroke play.

A: In stroke play, no penalty for a Rules
viclation can be applied after the competi-
tion has closed (unless wrong information
had been given by the competitor). The
competition is deemed to have closed:

{a) Stroke play qualifying followed by
match play—When the player has
teed off in his first match.

(b) Stroke play only—When the re-
sults are officially announced.

Flag is Attended

At Putter’s Risk

USGA 57-21
R. 34-2

Q: A and B are playing stroke play with
a double caddie. The caddie is raking a
bunker after A’s shot. It is B’s turn to putt.
To speed play, A offers to attend the pin
for B. B requests her to remove it. She
does so and steps away from the cup. A
sees B’s ball rolling toward cup and thinks
it is going to roll over cup so she rushes
up and puts the pin back in, by her own
admission, “to stop the ball.”

Does A incur a penalty under Rule
35-1h for having taken action to influence
the position or movement of the ball?

Does B incur a penalty under Rule 34-2
for hitting an attended pin?

Do both A and B incur penalties for
above reasons?

Question by: MRs. C. S. BEATTIE
Oak Park, IIL.

A: B in effect requested that the flag-
stick be attended and therefore incurred a
penalty of two strokes if the ball struck
the attended flagstick; see Rule 34-2.

There was no other penalty.
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