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Example of symbols: “USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. “R & A" indicates
and Ancient Golf Club of 5t

decision by the Royal

THE
REFEREE

Decisions by the
Rules of Golf Commitiees

Andrews, Scotland. "57-1"" means the first decision

issued in 1957. D' means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1957 Rules of Golf.

Partner’s Divot
Interferes in Bunker
USGA 57-7
R. 11-4
Q: A and B were partners in a four-
ball match. A was away, his ball being
about 15 yards from the green with a
bunker intervening. B was in the bunker.
A pitched to the green, and his divot
landed just back of B’s ball in the bunker.
A picked up the divot and replaced it
before B played.
1. Was A correct in replacing the divot
before B played?
2, Did B incur a penalty?
Question by: DAVID BURNETT
Paterson, N. J.
A: As his partner’s ball lay in a hazard,
A had no right to remove a loose impedi-
ment from the hazard. In so doing he vio-
lated Rule 33-1. As his infringement was
made so as to assist his partner’s play, B
also incurred the relative penalty, under
Rule 40-3h. Thus A and B lost the hole.
It is an established principle that an in-
jured player is not entitled to relief from
the accidental acts of his own side - see,
for example, Rule 40-3d.
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However, had A been an opponent or
a fellow-competitor of B in individual com-
petition, we would rule differently, Such
a case should be decided by equity - see
Rule 11-4 - and B would have the right
to remove the divot from the bunker. The
principle that a player is normally entitled
to the lie which his stroke gave him and
to relief from the result of actions by an
cutside agency, an opponent or a fellow-
competitor is well-established in Rules
1a, 27-2a and 27-3a.”
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Purpose of Obstruction Rule
USGA s57-8
R. 31-2
Q: If a ball came to rest so that the
player is entitled to relief under Rule 31-2,
and the obstruction is a water standpipe or
similar obstruction which is narrow but
which definitely blocks his direct line to
the green, may he drop the ball to either
side of the obstruction within two
club-lengths, not nearer the hole but in a
position which gives a direct shor roward
the green?
In other words, is there any intent in
the rule that the ball should be dropped
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in such a position as to retain the same
line? .
Question by: CARL E. HAYMOND
Beverly Hills, Calif.
A: The purpose of Rule 31-2 is to give
freedom to strike the ball, without regard
to the effect on the line to the hole. If a
player observes the provisions of the Rule,
ir is immaterial whether he drops the ball
directly behind the obstruction or to either
side of it. The Rule cannot regard any
advantage or disadvantage which may in-
cidentally result for the player in an indi-
vidual case.

Ball Holed
with Flagstick Attended

USGA 57-9
D. 4; R. 34-2
Q: In a match play, A is putting. He

asks for the pin to be attended. A strokes
the ball toward the hole and the caddie
at the pin tries to remove it. The pin is
stuck in the hole and is only partially re-
moved and tilted away from the ball that
is rolling toward the hole. Both A and B
agree that the ball was holed under Defini-
tion 4 before the ball struck the pin,

If these facts are true, did A incur a
penalty under Rule 34-2?

Question by: HERBERT HEIN

New York, N. Y.

A: Under the conditions as stated, no.
If the ball was in fact holed (Definition
4) before it struck the flagstick, A did not
violate Rule 34-2.

However, if there is any doubt as to
whether the ball struck the flagstick before
entering the hole, the doubt would have
to be resolved against the player of the
stroke.

Gate in Boundary Fence
May be Closed

USGA s57-10

D. 20; R. 31-1
Q: On our fifth hole we have a gate
which swings in from the county highway.
Sometimes that gate is closed; sometimes
it’s open. If the gate is open, having swung

into playable territory, may a player close

the gate if the ball happens to lie against
it?

Question by: WILBUR F. WARNER

San Francisco, Cal.

A: A gate in a boundary fence which
has been swung open onto the course con-
stitutes a movable obstruction (Def. 20)
as long as it s in that position. The player
is entitled to close it under Rule 31-1.

The reverse is not true. When the gate
in a boundary fence is closed it forms a
part of the boundary and is not an ob-
struction (Definition 20). Also, a gate in
a boundary fence which is swung open off
the course is not an obstruction.

Ball Dropped, Then Lifted

USGA s57-11
R. 22-1, 22-2, 30-11, 30-3, 33-2a

Q1: A player under the belief that his
ball was in a water hazard dropped a ball
under Rule 33-2a. He was then informed
that his ball was located outside the hazard.
Under these circumstances, he cannot play
the dropped ball, even under any other pro-
visions of the rules; but Rule 22-2 states
that, “A ball is in play when dropped,” to
which evidently must be inferred, “and
when such ball must be played under the
rules.” Undoubtedly, if the original ball was
in the hazard, even if playable, the player
is confined to play the ball which he has
dropped; but if it is located outside the
hazard, he is compelled to play it, or treat
it as unplayable, and proceed under Rule
29.

A 1: If the player dropped a ball, did not
play a stroke with ir, and then removed it
from play, he violated Rule 22-2 and su-
stained a penalty of loss of hole in match
play or two strokes in stroke play. In stroke
play he could then resume play wich his
previous ball. An object of Rule 22-1 and
22-2 is to prevent re-dropping a ball after
it has first been dropped in a manner not
conforming with Rule 22-1. The clause in
Rule 22-2 "A ball is in play when dropped”
must be read in conjunction with the clause
which immediately follows: “and shall not
be re-dropped, etc.”
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