
Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf IIAsso,~iation. "R & ~" indi~a!es
decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. 57-1 means the first decIsion.
issued in 1957. "0" means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1957 Rules of Golf.'

nvater llazards lVot
"Through the Green"

USGA 57-5
Def. r4b,c,d; R. 11-3, 22-2,

29-ra, 2; 33-2,3
Q 1: A question arose concerning play

at the 16th hole at Cypress Point Club at
Pebble Beach, CaL

For your information, all the water,
rocks, sand, and banks are "through the
green." There is no hazard or water hazard
rule involved.

Suppose a ball is hit from the tee toward
the hole and falls short into the ocean (as
most of them do). The tide is high and
there is no beach. The normal procedure is
to proceed under Rule 29-1a.

If the player wished to proceed under
29-2b, would it or would it not be per-
missible to drop the ball on the top of the
bank to the left of where the ball was lying
in the water? There is no ground between
the water and the top of the bank where
a ball could be dropped without putting it
in another unplayable lie, and' it would
obviously be impossible to drop a ball and
keep the spot where the first ball came
to rest between the player and the hole.

A 1: The areas in question seem by

nature to be water hazards under Definition
14b, but it is stated that they are played
3S "through the green." It appears that play
was conducted other than in accordance
with the Rules of Golf. In view of Rule
II-3, it would be inappropriate for the
Rules of Golf Committee to give a specific
ruling.

In a similar situation "through the
green," if the ball could not be found, it
is lost and Rule 29- 1a applies.

Under Rule 29-2b, if, from the stand-
point of golfing reason and fair play, it
is impossible to drop a ball so that the
point from which the ball was lifted re-
mains between the player and the hole,
the player must drop a ball as near as pos-
sible to the spot from which it was lifted,
not nearer the hole. "As near as possible"
is explicit. Thus, under facts similar to
those in the question, if the ball were
found, a player proceeding under Rule
29-2b might be entitled to drop a ball on
top of the bank to the left of the place
where the ball lay.

Rule 29-2b refers to "the point from
which the ball was lifted." To term a
natural water hazard as "through the green"
would generally prevent applying Rule 29-
2b unless the ball is found and lifted.
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Unplayable Ball
Must Be Found

Q2: Must a ball be found and identi-
fied in order for it to be declared unplay-
able?

A2: Yes, generally; Rule 29-2b refers
to the point from which the ball "was
lifted" and this presumes finding it. If
this were not so, a player might have no
basis to determine where to put a second
ball into play under Rule 29-2b. How-
ever we can conceive of unusual cases
whe~e the location of a ball is positively
known but the ball itself is not obtainable;
in such rare cases, the committee could, in
equity, waive the requirement of lifting
the ball; but we emphasize that such per-
mission should be granted only rarely.

Player Must Accept
Dropped-Ball Lie

Q3: Is or is not a player who has pro-
ceeded under 29-2b and has taken a two-
stroke penalty entitled to drop his ball in
a playable lie?

A3: He is entitled to drop the ball in
a reasonably playable area, but he must
accept the result of the drop except as
provided for in Rule 22-2.

No Playable Place On Beach
Q4: Suppose in Question 1 above that

the tide was out and there was a sand beach
and the ball had come to rest here. The
player decided that his ball was unplayable.
He could then not find a playable lie any-
where on this beach. Could he then under
2g-2b drop his ball on top of the bank?

A4: See Answer 1 above.
Questions by:

BRIG. GEN. STANLEY E. RIDDERHOF
Newport Beach, Cal.

* * *
Comment: The United States Golf As-

sociation has been concerned over the years
with proper application of the Rules of
Golf to situations such as those described
above, and particularly in conducting
championships at the nearby Pebble Beach
Cottrse in 1940, 1947 and 1948. In 1940
the USGA classified the ocean and its arms,
n U~A

banks and beaches as water hazards,' in
1947 and 1948 the same areas were classi-
fied as Ilthrough the green."

Since then, however) the R1I.les of Golf
bave been amended, and provision is now
1nade for lateral water hazards.

By Definition 14b, IIA Iwater hazard' is
any sea, lake, pond, river) ditch, surface
drainage ditch or other open water course
(regardless of whether or not it contains
water), and anything of a similar nature.
All grottnd or water within the margin of
a water hazard, whether or not it be cover-
ed with any growing substance, is part of
the water hazard."

There/ore, after full consideration by the
USGA Rtdes of Golf and Executive Com-
1nittees, we beg to recommend that areas
stich as those described in the questions
be defined and marked as water hazards and
lateral water hazards, as may be appropri-
ate, and that Rule 33-2 and 33-3 apply. In
certain cases where it is not feasible to
proceed exactly in conformity with Rule
33, special areas should be established on
which a ball may be dropped, u1zder pen-
alty of one stroke,. for instance, it might
be well to establish such a IIball drop" on
the 16th hole at Cypress Point. See re-
commendation 4 for Local Rules in USGA
Appendix to 1957 Rules of Golf booklet,
page 57.

Definition 14d obligates the Committee
in charge of a course to define accurately
the extent of the hazards and the water
hazards where there is any doubt. For the
1940 USGA Women's Amateur Cham-
pionship at Pebble Beach, the following
applied, and we now suggest similar treat-
ment:

IrWhere margins of hazards may be
indefinite, they are defined either:
(a) by lines on ground) lines them-
selves not being in hazards, or (b)
by places where banks of ocean and
its arms break down from (through
the green' (thus, banks and beaches
beyond such places are parts of water
hazards; if ball lie or touch there,
club shall not touch ground, etc.) /'

The questions reveal some of the com-
plexities which can arise under the Rules
tlJhen natural water hazards are not clas-
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A.: Yes.

sifted as such. Further, the present treat-
ment of certain natural lateral water
hazards as being Ilthrough the green" re-
quires a more severe penalty of two strokes
for relief from an unplayable lie under
Rule 29-2b than the one-stroke penalty
for relief from a lateral water hazard under
Rule 33-3.

Outside Agency Moves
Ball After Address

USGA 57-3
R.27-1a,d

Q.: A player has addressed his ball in
play and a stray ball played from else-
where strikes the player's ball, which is
thereby moved.

Is the innocent player penalized a stroke
under Rule 27-ld on the ground that he is
deemed to have caused that ball to move,
even when it is so clear that an outside
agency moved the ball, simply because the
incident has arisen after he had addressed
his ball in play?

Rule 27-la primarily envisages cases
when a ball in play is moved by an out-
side agency. Rule 27-ld primarily envisages
cases when a ball in play moves by itself
or otherwise for any reason whatsoever
after the owner of the ball addressed it.
Neither Rule 27-la nor 27-ld covers a case
when a player has addressed his ball in
play and the ball is moved by an outside
agency prior to his play.

In equity, does Rule 27-la override Rule
27-ld in the case cited as an exception?

Question by: S. TAKAHATA,President
Hirono Golf Club

Kobe, Japan

Location of Ball
Not Advice

USGA 57-4
D. 2,8,17; R. 9-1,9-2,
10-2, 29-1b, 32-1C, 35-1b, 37-7

Q: In match play can a player ask spec-
tators in general the distance his opponent's
ball is from the £1agstick? Is this advice un-
der Definition 2 and Rule 9-1?

A 1: Information concerning the where-
abouts of a ball is not advice under Defi-
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nition 2. A player may seek such informa-
tion, without penalty. The matter of a
ball's location is public knowledge; in fact,
Rule 29-1b provides in part: "A person
outside the match may point out the loca-
tion of a ball for which search is being
made". To seek the information in ques-
tion is no more contrary to the spirit of the
Rules than to have the line of play indi-
cated, as is permitted by Rule 9-2.

"lnform,ation" Defined
Q2: What is considered "information",

as used in Rule 10-2?
A2: As used in Rule 10-2, "information"

refers to the number of strokes the oppo-
nent has played.

Slow Play
Q3: Re Rule 37-7, what is considered

slow play? In our 1955 Championship the
last match to come in was fully 45 minutes
behind the match immediately in front. In
this instance the match did not hold up
any other play. Would either player be
subject to penalty?

A3: There is no hard-and-fast test
which may be applied to determine
whether play is unduly delayed. Circum-
stances can alter cases - for example, a
match can be prolonged by comparison
with another match due to such factors as
a lost ball, an unusual amount of ball-
lifting and replacing, delay for a ruling, or
various difficulties in play. Conversely,
even though a match may not delay play
following, one player in the match could
be subject to penalty under Rule 37-7 if
he unduly delayed play to the detriment
of his opponent.

Casual Water
.MayNot Be Brushed

Q4: Can player in match or stroke play
brush across the line of putt through casual
water, no loose impediments present? The
player in brushing through the water was
reducing the amount of water to putt
through, not wishing to take advantage of
Rule 32 as the position of the ball would
have been affected by a slope. I ruled that

1957 23



the player would lose the hole in match
play and would be penalized two strokes
in stroke play.

A4: We agree with your ruling. Casual
water (Definition 8) is distinct from loose
impediments (Definition 17). Rule 32-1C
provides for the only relief possible from
casual water on the putting green. If a
player brushes casual water from the line
of putt and is not brushing away loose im-
pediments, he violates Rule 35-1b which
prohibits touching the line of putt.

Questions by: WARREN ORLICK
Tam O'Shanrer Country Club

Orchard Lake, Mich.

Attending Flagstick
R&A 56-40
R. 34,4°

Q.: A and B are partners in a four-ball
match.

A approaches his ball to putt and B, un-
asked, approaches and stands near the hole.
As A strikes his putt, B takes hold of the
stick and is holding it when the ball strikes
the stick.

I take the view that B must be deemed
to be attending the stick and that A loses
the hole. Rule 34-1 and 34-2. My opinion,
however, has been challenged on the
ground that A did not ask B to attend the
stick and did not know that B was hold-
illg or attending the stick until after he
(A) had struck his ball.

It seems, however, that B is not penal-
ized (Rule 40-3b) unless Rule 30-3h can
be made to apply. For my part, I cannot see
how Rule 40-3h can possibly apply in such
3 case. B is certainly assisting his partner's
play but not "so as to assist his partner's
play". Rule 40-3h appears to me to apply
only when there is an intentional infringe.
ment, i.e., when the player's ball is moved
by the partner intentionally and not acci-
dentally (see Rule 40- 3d) .

A.: The flagstick is always under the
control of the player about to play. The
player, before playing, should make it clear
whether he wishes the flagstick to be at-
tended or left alone. If, without making his
wishes known, he plays his stroke when an-
other player or caddie is standing near the
flagstick, he must be assumed to have given

his tacit assent to the flagstick's being at-
tended. If his ball then strikes the flag-
stick, he suffers the penalty laid down in
Rule 34-2. Accordingly, A cannot come
into the reckoning at this hole.

The penalty in this case does not apply
to A's partner, Rule 40-3i. Since B's in-
fringement of Rule 34 did not help his
partner's play, Rule 40-3h does not apply.

Re-Trying Putt
On Nine-Hole COHrse

R & A 56-6-1
R.8

Q: I have been asked to write requesting
clarification of the new Rule 8-2 so far as
it applies to nine-hole courses.

Is it permissible for a player who has
holed out on the first green to playa prac-
tice putt on that green before moving on
to the second tee, in view of the fact that
he will again have to play on that green
as the loth hole.

A: When the number of holes in a
· stipulated round" exceeds the number of
holes on a course the word "round" in
Rule 8-2 should be read as applying to a
round of the course. A player is there-
fore entitled to play a practice stroke on
the green of a hole which he has already
played during that round, even though he
may play the hole again in a second or sub-
sequent round.

Ball Played
From Out of Bounds

R & A. 56-55-26
R 29, Note I

Q: Having completed a medal round, a
player discovers that he played a ball from
an out of bounds position during the
round.

The penalty for a breach of Rule 29 in
stroke play is given as two strokes, but
Definition 2 I gives out of bounds as
ground on which play is prohibited, which
indicates disqualification. What is the pen-
alty under these circumstances?

A: The competitor is disqualified for a
serious breach of Rule 29. He did not play
the stipulated round as provided for in
Rule 1. (see note to Rule 29).
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