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Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indicates
decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "57-1" means the first decision
issued in 1957. "0" means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1957 Rules of Golf.

Ball Lilted By Opponent
USGA 56-30
R. 23-Pre., 27-2a,

40-3b, 40-1C
Q 1: A and B were both on the green, A

being away. No request was made to mark
B's ball, so she turned her back on the play
momentarily and then saw A roll her
(B's) ball away from its location, after
marking the ball. B claimed A should be
penalized one stroke under Rule 27-2a.

A 1: B was within her rights in making
the claim.

The preamble to Rule 23 provides: "A
ball to be lifred under the Rules or Local
Rules should be lifted by the owner or his
p:1rrner or either of their caddies. For ball
lifted by opponent or fellow-competitor,
see Rule 27-2a or 27-3."

A player may authorize some one other
than himself or one of his side to lift his
ball, bur rhe player must take the responsi-
bility.

"Equipment" Does Not Include
Ball

Q2: In a mixed four-ball match, a play-
er's ball played from just off the green
struck the ball of the player's partner on
the green; the ball when played was with-

in tweney yards of the other ball. Does the
ball come under the heading of equipment
under Rule 40-3b, and is any other rule
involved?

A2: Rule 40-IC applies; there is no pen-
alty. In Rule 40-3b the term "other equip-
meoc" does not include a ball.

Questions by: HARRY L. MOFFIlT
Heather Downs Country Club

Toledo, Ohio

Touching Sand in Bunker
USGA 56-31
D. 14a, R.33-1

Q: During rhe Mississippi Open Tour-
nament, a professional requested a ruling.
He stated that in the backward movement
of the club for rhe stroke, the clubhead
touched the sand in a hazard.

The Rules Commirree ruled that he had
incurred a two-stroke penalry in accord-
anc(: with Rule 33-Ib.

The player rook the penalty in stride,
bue requested that I wrire you, telling you
rhe details. His clubhead touched the sand
on the backward movement of the club
about twenty to thirry inches from the ball.
He claims that he did not actually sole the
club. Under Definition I4a which reads in
pare: "A 'bunker' is an area of bare ground,
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often a depression, which is usually cov-
ered with sand," player claims that he did
not touch the ground but the sand cover-
ing same.

Player also wants to know if he would
be penalized if, in making the backward
movement of the club, the wind blows sand
that touches the clubhead.
Q1: Was the Rules Committee in order

by invoking a two-stroke penalty?
Q2: Is the sand in a bunker considered

rart of the hazard?
Q3: Would wind-blown sand touching

the clubhead in a hazard be a penalty?
Questions by: C. H. STEWART

Great Southern Golf Club
Gulfport, Miss.

A 1: Yes, under Rule 33- I.
A2: Yes.
A3: No.

Teeing Ground
Precisely Defined

USGA 56-32
D.32

Q: In interpreting Definition 32, is the
rectangle two club-lengths in depth mea-
sured from the line of the nearest inside
points of two tee marks lengthwise at
ground level?

How about widthwise? Is it the line
from the inside or outside edge points of
the two marks?

Question by: S. TAKAHATA
Hirono Golf Club

Kobe, Japan
A: The outside line, from the front of

each mark, is the front boundary of the
teeing ground. The outside lines, from the
outer points of each mark, are the side
boundaries.

In at least two USGA Championships,
players have been permitted to tee on the
tee marks and have been considered to
have teed within the teeing ground."Ie;g!lted Hcad Cover

Does Not V;olclle Rules
USGA 56-33
Misc.

Q: My driver, instead of having a nor-
mal head cover, was equipped with a

weighted cover which I swung on each [ee
prior to addressing the ball. It was, of
course, removed and was not employed
when I actually took my stance. It is my
opponent's contention that this constitutes
an artificial aid, whereas it is my conten-
tion that inasmuch as it is not used in ac-
tual play, it has no relevance to any equip-
ment rule.

Question by: FREDERICM. COMINS
Newark, N. ].

A: Your contention is correct.

Referee Handling Ball
A nd Placing Before Dropping

USGA 56-36
D. 26, R. 22-2, 31-2

Q: In the final of the 1956 Spokane city
championship the following occurred:

On the second extra hole one player's
second shot rolled off the back righthand
side of the green and came to rest in a coil
of hose on top of a retaining wall behind
rhe slightly elevated green.

The referee ruled the ball could be lift-
ed out of the hose and within two club-
lengths away from tne retaining wall,
which he ruled was an immovable obstruc-
tion.

The referee picked up the ball and
placed it within the two club-lengths. The
phyer on order from the referee picked up
the ball again and placed it once more at
a spot designated by the referee. The
player then played the ball onto the green.

We would like answers to the following
questions:

1. Did the referee break a Rule by lift-
ing and placing the ball?

2. Can the referee arbitrarily rule that a
ball may be placed before it is first dropped
in the prescribed manner to determine
whether it would roll into a hazard or our
of bounds?

3. Is it permissible, under any circum-
stances, for a ball being played through
the green to be placed before it h1S first
been dropped in a manner prescribed by
the Rliles?

Question by: BOB JOHNSON
Spokane Daily Chronicle

Spokane, Wash.
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A: 1. A referee should not handle a ball
in play. See the last paragraph of Defini-
den 26. However, no penalty can attach
to the player because of the referee's ac-
tion; the referee's decision is final, under
Rule II-2.

2 and 3. Although referees are allowed
some discretion, there was no justification
for ruling that the ball should be placed in
this case. Apparently the referee felt that
Rule 31-2 applied. However, Rule 31-2 re-
quires that the ball be dropped (through
the green). Dropping is necessary to re-
sclve any doubt as to whether it is impos-
sible to prevent it from rolling into a haz-
ard, out of bounds or nearer the hole, be-
fore permitting it to be placed under Rule
22-2.

Since a retaining wall is an obstruction,
if artificial, by Definition 20, the referee
would appear to have been acting in ac-
cordance with Rule 31-2 in granting the
player relief. A hose, however, is normally
a movable obstruction, and relief from that
alone would have been governed by Rule
31-1.

Ball 1'loved 0jJ Tee
By Stroke and Re-Teed

USGA 56-35
R. 16

Q: A group of women were playing in
a match. One of the women teed up her
ball, executed her stroke and in doing so
tipped the ball off the tee onto the ground.
She insisted on reteeing the ball over the
protest of her companions and finished the
play of that particular hole.

In match play, was she disqualified for
that hole?

In stroke play, would she be disquali-
fied?

Also, in stroke play, if she played her
original ball as it lay on the ground and
teed and played a second ball under Rule
11-5, what would be her score for the hole?

Question by: CHARLES B. CLEVELAND
Miami Beach, Fla.

A: Since the woman made a stroke, the
ball was in play (Definition 5). When she
then moved it purposely, she violated Rule
16 and lost the hole in match play.
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If the same circumstances had occurrea
in stroke play, she would have incurred a
penalty of two strokes.

If, in stroke play, she had played her
c:riginal ball as it lay on the ground and
also had teed and played a second ball un-
dtr Rule 11-5, her score with the original
ball would be her score for the hole.

"Outside" As Used
In Obstruction Rule

USGA 56-37
R. 31-2

Q: The rule says that if an obstruction
interferes with your stance or the back-
w<lt"dor forward movement of your swing
in the direction you are going, and you are
within two club-lengths of the obstruction,
you drop the ball within two club-lengths
of that point on the ofttside of the obstruc-
tion nearest which the ball originally lay,
not nearer the hole.

Some argue that the word outside means
to the side of this particular screen or ob-
struction so that you get a free shot at the
green without interference of the screen.

I tell them that the screen is not in the
direction of their swing, as they have a shot
to the side on the fairway and the screen
will not interfere with their swing. If
they go back ten club-lengths they still
can't clear the screen and have to shoot to
the side for the fairway. I say they can't
move their ball.

Question by: B. CHESNEY
Carnegie, Pa.

A: The word "outside", as it is used in
Rule 3 I -2, means the vertical plane which
would form the ourer limit of an obstruc-
tion such as a shed. It is not used in a sense
which would permit a player to drop his
boll to one side of an obstruction so that
he 'Will necessarily have a clear line of flight
to the hole.

Rule 31-2 provides that a player shall
have relief from an immovable obstruction
if his ball touch it or if it is within two
dub-lengths of his ball and interferes with
his swing in the direction he wishes to

play.
In the diagram you submitted, the ball

lies four feet behind the center of the pro-
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Recalling Caddie
To Lift Flagstick

R & A 56-79
R.34

Q.: Is a player putting with the flag un-
attended in the hole allowed to recall the
caddie to lift the flag after he has played
his stroke and before the ball has come to
rest.

A.: The player may have the flagstick
removed at any time if he considers that
it interferes with his play. Rule 34-1. The
player is entitled to recall the caddie to
lift the flagstick as indicated in your letter.

a competition, the opponent or fellow-
competitor would be within his rights in
invoking Rule 37-7, which stipulates a
penalty of loss of hole in match play or
two strokes in stroke play for undue de-
lay. In case of repeated offense, the penalty
is disqualification.

Ball Enters JJ7ater
Fronl Bacl~ oj Green

R & A. 56-52-12
R.33

Q: It often happens that a player pitches
Caddie ~1ay Denlonstrate m'er the green. On playing his second shot

the ball rolls over the green and into the
If Play Not Delayed water hazard. From where should he play

USGA 56-46 his next shot?
D. 2, R. 9 A: In the circumstances which you de-

Q.: One player in a match permitted scribe, assuming that the player does not
her caddie to take one of her clubs and elect to play from the water hazard (which
swing it to show her how to make a cer- he may do without penalty), he may
rain shot. I feel, as do others, that "counsel either:
or suggestion" as the words are used in (a) Proceed under Rule 33-2a, drop-
Definition 2 should be limited. It does not ping a ball on the side of the water
seem right that a person may be given a hazard frlrther from the hole, keep-
playing lesson by his caddie during a match. ing the spot at which the baH

Question by: MRS.D. T. ROGERS crossed the margin of the hazard
Summit, N. J. between himself and the hole (so

A.: Neither Definition 2, which defines that in his next stroke he must
advice, nor Rule 9 limit the type of advice play over the hazard); or
which a caddie may give. The Rule would, (b) proceed under Rule 33-2b, drop-
however, prohibit physical assistance in the ping a ball as near as possible to
play of a stroke, as distinguished from the spot from which the original
"counsel or suggestion." ball was played.

If a caddie takes an undue amount of Under either (a) or (b) a penalty of
tIme in giving advice to his player during one stroke is incurred.
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Recall Does Not Affect
Order 01 Play

USGA 56-44
R. 12-2, 13-1

Q.: A and B are partners against C and
IJ in a four-ball match. If player A plays a
ball from outside the teeing ground, what
action may C and D take?

A.: Under Rule 13-1, they may immedi-
ately require A to replay the stroke, with-
out penalty; "immediately" here means that
the opponents, if they wish to recall the
stroke, must so state before anyone else
has teed off. Thereafter Rule 12-2 applies,
and A's second ball is played after the
opponents have played their first strokes.

tective screen, and it is assumed that the
screen would interfere with his swing in
the direction of the hole. Therefore the
owner is entitled to limited relief. He ~ust
drop the ball, however, behind the screen,
within two club-lengths of the point on
the back of the screen nearest which the
ball originally lay.

Therefore, in his particular circumstance,
the Rule would afford him very litdeprac-
tical relief. He would, presumably, still be
unable to play toward the hole.


