Example of symbols:
decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf

THE
REFEREE

Decisions by the
Rules of Golf Commitiees

“USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. “R & A" indicates
Club of St.

Andrews, Scotland. ““57-1" means the first decision

issved in 1957, "'D" means definition. “'R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1957 Rules of Golf.

Application of Rules
To Course Under Construction
USGA 56-42
R. 32-1a, 32-1b, 36-7
Q.: Our course is undergoing major re-
vision, such as elimination of some traps,
deepening and enlarging others, re-aligning
water hazards, etc. The Committee has de-
clared all this work as “under repair”.
(Defnition 13).
1.—Sand traps from which sand has
been removed and the trap dug up
is marked "under repair”.
Does a player now use Rule 32-1a
or 32-1b? In other words, does the
“under repair” rule now eliminate
the hazard and follow the “through
the green” Rule, or must the hazard
part of the Rule still be in effect?
The entire former hazard is under
repair. There is no place in the
former trap to place a ball that is
not under repair. If a penalty is
assessed as in Rule 32-1b, a player
loses his right to a free lift to which
he is entitled in the under repair
Rule.

2.—Water hazards are being re-aligned;
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Le, some curves straightened out,
Does not the “free lift” apply until
we again designate it fit for play?
3.—Cannot our Committee declare an
entire area unfic for play, regardless
of whether a hazard or not, and use
the "under repair” Rule 32-1a to
cover lifting of ball?
Questions by: C. T. ROTHWEILER
San Anselmo, Cal.

A.1: The local Commictee has the right
to determine the matter—see Rule 36-7. If
the condition of the bunkers is so extreme
that ic would be unfair and would inter-
fcre with proper playing of the game to
continue to class them as hazards, the Com-
mittee would be justified in authorizing re-
lief under Rule 32-1a. If the Committee
does not do this, Rule 32-1b applies.

The Committee should bear in mind that
Rule 32 applies not only to ground under
repair but also to casual water.

Mere removal of sand does not neces-
sarily change the classification of a bunker
from being a hazard to being through the
green; by Definition 14, a bunker is an
area of bare ground, often a depression,
which is usually covered with sand.
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2: It is normal for a ball in a water
hazard to be unplayable but unusual for
a ball in a bunker to be unplayable. The
Committee should therefore not permit
application of Rule 32-1a to a ball in
ground under repair in a water hazard un-
less conditions are extremely unfair.

3: Yes, under the principles outlined
above. See Rule 36-7.

When Flagstick
Is Attended
USGA 56-43
R. 34-1, 342

Q.: The R & A decision 56-79 page 23
of the USGA Journal of September 1956
and USGA decision 56-17 raises an im-
portant question as to when the flagstick
is attended.

These decisions permit a player to in-
struct his caddie or partner or partner’s
caddie to be in a relatively close position
to the flagstick with instructions not to at-
tend the flagstick, but (a) Pull the flag-
stick if it appears the ball will drop in
the cup, or that the flagstick will prevent
ic from dropping, or (b) Leave the flag-
stick alone to gain the obvious advantage
of hitting the flagstick.

What is the definition of attending the
flagstick?

Question by:
CarrAaIN T. R. KURTZ, JR,, USN
Washington, D. C.

A.: The second paragraph of Rule 34-1
provides as follows:

“If a player or a caddie attend or re-
move the flagstick when a stroke is
being played or stand near the hole
for that purpose, he shall be deemed
to attend the flagstick until the ball
comes to rest.”

If a player’s ball strikes the flagstick
when his caddie, his partner or his part-
ner’s caddie is standing near the hole for
the purpose of attending the flagstick, the
player would incur a penalty under Rule
34-2. The penalty would apply even though
no attempt is made to remove the flag-
stick.

Triple Penalty

USGA 56-45
R. 21-3, 23-3, 29-1, 30-1 and 2
Q.: During the Sectional Qualifying
Round for the USGA Amateur Champion-
ship, at Cincinnati, the following ruling
was made:

A competitor, playing to an elevated and
tightly trapped par-3 hole, pulled his tee
shot on a hillside to the left of the green
in high, matted rough. Realizing that he
might lose the ball, he declared his inten-

tion to play a provisional ball, which he
hit to the green.

In searching for the original ball, one
was found suspended halfway in heavy
rough, with enough ball showing to indi-
cste the brand, but the number did not
show. Without identifying further, he
played an excellent shot to the green.

Upon reaching the green, he inquired
of his caddie which was the ball he had
just played. Upon being informed, he re-
quested the caddie to pick up his pro-
visional ball. Subsequently he discovered
that the ball he had played from the rough
was not his own. Concluding that his or-
iginal ball was lost, he replaced his pro-
visional ball as near to the spot as possible
from which it was picked up (easily done
because of ball mark on the green) and
then holed in two putts.

The Tournament Committee of the Cin-
cinnati Golfers’ League, conducting the
play, ruled that the player had scored a
9 on the basis of a stroke-and-distance pen-
alty for a lost ball, two strokes for playing
a wrong ball, two strokes for picking up
the provisidnal ball and three strokes played
with the provisional ball.

Was the decision correct?
Question by: JOHN W. FISCHER

Cincinnati, Ohio

A.: Yes. See Rules 30-1 and -2, 21-3,
29-1 and 23-3.
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Wrong Ball

In Chapman Play

USGA s57-2
R. 11-3; IR

Q.: A situation arose during a mixed
foursome tournament played on the so-
called “Pinehurst” or “Chapman” basis.

Mrs. A. and Mr. B. were partners, and
both hit tee shots. In accordance with the
system, Mrs. A. hit the second shot with
Mr. Bs ball to the green. Mr. B. then hit
the second shot with a ball he thought to
be Mrs. A’s drive but which later proved
to be a ball from another foursome. Re-
gardless, since Mr. B’s second shot was
poor, he picked up the ball and he and
Mrs. A. proceeded to play out the hole
with the other ball; in other words, Mr.
B’s original tee shot. After the hole had
been completed Mr. B. reached in his
pocket for his partner’s ball and discovered
1t to be the wrong one.

Do Mirs. A. and Mr. B. incur any penalty
because Mr. B. played the wrong ball,
keeping in mind that the hole was com-
pleted with the other ball which was still
in play?

Question by: Howard R. Chase, Jr.
Providence, R. L

A.: The Rules of Golf do not cover this
form of play, and we regret that we can-
not give a decision (see Rule 11-3). The
committee in charge should establish local
1ules to cover.

It would seem to us that a penalty in
this style of play should be incurred only
if related to the ball ultimately holed out
by the side. Thus, as the ball played by
Mrs. A from the tee was ultimately holed
out, we would think the side should not
have incurred a penalty against that ball
because Mr. B played a stroke with a wrong
ball before the choice of balls was made.

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY THE ACT OF AUGUST
24, 1912, AS AMENDED BY THE ACTS OF MARCH
3, 1933, AND JULY 2, 1946 (TITLE 39, UNITED
STATES CODE, SECTION 233) SHOWING THE
OWNERSHIP, MANAGEMENT, AND CIRCULATION
OF USGA Journal and Turf Management, pub-
lished seven times o year at New York, N. Y., for
October 1, 1956,

1. The names and addresses of the publisher,
editor, managing editor, and business managers
are: Publisher, United States Golf Association, 40
East 38th Street, New York 16, N. Y. Editors,
Joseph C. Dey, JIr., and John P. English, 40 East
38th Street, New York 16, N. Y. Managing Editor,
Harry L. Staley, 40 East 38th Street, New York
16, N. Y. Business Manager, none.

2. The owner is: (If owned by a corporation,
its name and address must be stated and also
immediately thereunder the names and addresses
of stockholders owning or holding 1 percent or
more of total amount of stock. If not owned by a
corporation, the names and addresses of the indi-
vidual owners must be given. If owned by a part-
nership or other unincorporated firm, its name
and address, as well as that of each individual
member, must be given.) United States Golf As-
sociation, 40 East 38th Street, New York 16,
N. Y. President, Richard S. Tufts, 40 East 38th
Street, New York 16, N. Y. Vice-President, John
D. Ames, 40 East 38th Street, New York 16, N. Y.
Vice-President, John G. Clock, 40 East 38th
Street, New York 16, N. Y, Secretary, Charles L.
Peirson, 40 East 38th Street, New York 16, N. Y.

Treasurer, J. Frederic Byers, Jr., 40 East 38th
Street, New York 16, N. Y.

3. The known bondholders, mortgagees, and
other security holders owning or holding 1 per-
cent or more of total amount of bonds, mort-
gages, or other securities are: (If there are none,
so state) None,

4. Paragraphs 2 and 3 include, in cases where
the stockholder or security holder appears upon
the books of the company as trustees or in any
other fiduciary relation, the name of the person
or corporation for whom such trustee is acting;
also the statements in the two paragraphs show
the affiant’s full knowledge and belief as to the
circumstances and conditions under which stock-
holders and security holders who do not appear
upon the books of the company as trustees, hold
stock and securities in a capacity other than that
of a bona fide owner.

5. The average number of copies of each issue
of this publication sold or distributed, through
the mails or otherwise, to poid subscribers dur-
ing the 12 months preceding the date shown
chove was: (This information is required from
daily, weekly, semiweekly, and triweekly news-
papers only.)

John P. English, Editor
Sworn to and subscribed before me this 4th day
of September, 1956.
(signed) Martha Detien, Notary Public,
State of New York.
(My commission expires March 31,
1957).
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