OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP
DECISION REVERSED

AFTER completing his first round in
the 1956 Open Championship, Jack
Burke, of Kiamesha Lake, N. Y., neglected
to check his score for each hole and in-
advertently turned in a scorecard showing
a 4 on the eighteenth hole where he had
taken five strokes, When he discovered the
crror, Burke promptly reported it to the
USGA Committee.

While Rule 38-3 provides a penalty of
disqualification in such a case, a Commit-
tee is authorized by Rule 36-5 to waive ot
modify any penalty of disqualification. In
Burke’s case, the Committee decided to in-
voke this authority and to modify the pen-
alty to two strokes.

Subsequent Cases

Subsequently, Gil Cavanaugh, of Cedar-
hurst, N. Y., and Miss Betsy Rawls, of
Spartanburg, S. C.,, committed similar in-
advertencies in the Open and Women’s
Open Championships, respectively. Each
piayer received similar treatment.

At the time each decision was made, the
USGA announced its intention to review
them.

As a result of a review and reappraisal
of the effect of the foregoing cases on fu-
ture interpretations of the Rules of Golf,
the USGA has approved and issued De-
cision 57-1, teversing the interpretations
made during the 1956 Championships. The
Decision follows:

USGA 57-1
R. 38-2, 3; 365

Q: In stroke play, a marker inadvertent-
ly wrote in a 4 for a competitor on a hole
where his score actually was 5. The com-
petitor failed to check his score for each
hole before signing it at the conclusion of
the round, as required by Rule 38-2. The
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Another Year

“Another year’s rolled by,” said he.
A tear dripped from his saddened eye.

"Another year of 95's, of missed short putts and
crooked drives,

Another year of ‘smiling’ balls and thrice-curs’t
traps where strokes were left behind and only
misery crawled without.”

“’But this year will be changed.”

“Tee shots will soar aright
and lengthened, too.

“Irons will be crisp and sure.

“The little trouble that is found will
simply find a remedy.

““And putts will drop, and golfing foes
will fall, agog.

“With this new year’s prowess.”

Then happy birthday, golfer, friend . . .
and may you find it so.
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Committee thus posted the total as 75 when
the competitor actually scored 76. Sub-
sequently, the competitor saw the score-
board, realized an error had been made and
promptly reported the fact to the Commit-
tee. The Committee would not otherwise
bave known of the error.

Would it be appropriate, in this in-
stance, to invoke Rule 36-5 and modify or
waive the penalty of disqualification stipu-
lated in Rule 38-3?

A:No. The penalty of disqualification
may be waived or modified only under most
extraordinary circumstances. Rule 38-2
makes the competitor solely responsible for
the correctness of the score recorded for
each hole. It is a simple matter to discharge
this responsibility, and the penalty, al-
though severe, can easily be avoided.
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