
Example of ~ymbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indicates
decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews. Scotland. "56-1" means the first decision
issued in 1956. "D" means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1956 Rules of Golf.

Definition of 'Hazard'
R. & A. 56-49
Def. 14

Q.: We notice that in the 1956 edition
of the Rules of Golf, there has been an
alteration in Definition 14, Hazards, para.
(a) compared with the 1954 edition. Para.
(a) now reads: "A 'bunker' is an area.
of bare ground, often a depression, which
is usually covered with sand". In the 1954
edition Para. (a) reads: "A bunker is that
part of a depression in the ground where
the soil is exposed, and is usually covered
with sand".

On this course there are a number of
sand mounds with the sand fully exposed.
These were originally regarded as hazards,
in which it was not permitted to ground
the club. When, however, a bunker came
to be described as a "depression in the
ground", the Committee decided that these
sand mounds could no longer be regarded
as hazards and ruled accordingly. Now,
however, that the definition of a bunker
has-been modified to "often a depression",
it appears that these sand mounds could
again be regarded as hazards.

We should be grateful for a ruling on
this point.
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A.: It would appear from your descrip-
tion that the mounds could properly be
classified as bunkers (Def. 14a) . It is,
however, a matter for your Committee,
who know the conditions, to decide whether
or not they should be treated as hazards.

Entering Clubhouse
During Competition

R. & A. 56-51
Def. 11; R. 37

Q.: At an Open Golf Alliance Champ-
ionship meeting held recently, the Com-
mittee were faced with the following prob-
lem in the competition for the Amateur
Handicap Cup. The Cup was for the best
net return over 36 holes medal singles.
Competitors played alternately off the first
tee in the morning and the tenth tee in
the afternoon. Both tees are adjacent and
within ten yards of the clubhouse.

Two members tied with 149 strokes and
one of them reported that he had seen
the other enter the clubhouse during his
round. The marker and player with this
second member admitted he had gone into
the clubhouse for a drink, but added that
at his home club it was customary even
during competitions to do so. They were,
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however, not the only ones to come into 
the clubhouse. 

The Rules of their Alliance state that: 
In the event of any point arising not 

covered by these rules (Rule of the Alli­
ance), the decision of the Committee 
shall be final and binding. 
A meeting of the Committee was called 

and three amateurs and three professionals 
were present—the other two members, 
both amateurs, were not at the club. It 
has long been accepted that a player en­
tering the clubhouse during a competition 
in stroke play, except it be for shelter from 
a thunderstorm or illness, is disqualified. 
The Rules were examined but no mention 
of the clubhouse could be found, nor was 
there any local rule to say the clubhouse 
was out of bounds. Is it an unwritten rule 
that the interior of any clubhouse is "not 
within the course"? 

It was confirmed by a member of the 
Committee, a professional who played be­
hind this couple, that when they got to 
the tenth tee, two other couples were 
already waiting to drive off. The question 
of discontinuance of play for any other 
reason would appear to cause disqualifica­
tion. The Committee were then unable to 
define what was actually meant by dis­
continuance of play. If this couple had 
caused any delay, they were unanimous 
in their minds that disqualification would 
have been in order. They had caused no 
hold up in play, which was confirmed by 
a member of the Committee. The weather 
was fine and they gained no advantage 
from sheltering, etc. There was also the 
question of how many others might or 
might not have entered the clubhouse, 
which could have been embarrassing to 
the Committee. The presentation of the 
cups was considerably delayed pending 
the Committee's decision, which was an­
nounced by the President of the Alliance 
before the presentation in the following 
terms: 

"The Committee of this Alliance have 
decided that no member playing at this 
meeting today has caused any undue 
delay." 
Were the Committee justified in ar­

riving at this conclusion or, if not, under 
which Rule should they have been dis­
qualified? 

N.B. The member who was seen to come 
into the clubhouse was declared the winner 
as he had the best return on the last 
round and also on the last 9 holes. 

A . : As your Committee were satisfied 
that play was not delayed by the com­
petitor entering the clubhouse, they were 
perfectly correct in not disqualifying him. 

The "accepted principle" by members of 
your Alliance that a player entering the 
clubhouse during a stroke play competi­
tion should be disqualified can only affect 
the issue if it has been laid down by the 
Committee as one of the conditions of the 
competition. 

The clubhouse is not part of the course 
—Def. 11. 

The competitor concerned was rightly 
declared the winner, assuming that the 
better second round was the deciding fac­
tor in a tie according to the conditions of 
the competitions. 

Burning Paper 
USGA 56-21 
R. 17-1, 3; 33-le 

Q.l : I have seen a photograph, taken 
during the Azalea Open in Wilmington, 
N. C , showing a competitor burning a 
piece of wadded paper on which his ball 
was resting. The legend states that the 
competitor then chipped on the green and 
sank a three-foot putt for a par 3. 

I wondered if the maneuver was legal. 
If so, under what Rule? 

A . l : The maneuver is not permissible 
under the Rules of Golf. Burning the area 
around a ball would also improve the posi­
tion and lie of the ball in violation of 
Rules 17-1 and 17-3. 

Paper is an obstruction under Definition 
20. Rule 31-1 permits removal of mov­
able obstruction without penalty. 

Fanning Leaves in Hazard 
Q . 2 : Would it be permissible to fan 

the leaves away from the ball in a bunker, 
using one's hat to supply the wind? 

A . 2 : No. Such action would remove 
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Relief from Casual Water
Granted Only on Green

USGA 56-26
R. 35 -lc

Q.: A player's ball lay on the edge of
the putting green. Between the ball and
the hole there was a bunker which cut into
the putting green. The bunker contained
casual water.

Was the player autharized under Rule
32-1 c to lift his ball and place it wi thau t
penalty in the nearest position on the put-
ting green to where it lay which afforded
relief framthe intervening hazard and the
casual water therein?

Questian by: C. H. STEWART
Gulfport, Miss.

A. : No. Rule 32 -1 c grants relief only
from casual water on the putting green
(Defini tion 25) .

absence of a referee, by reference to the
Committee.
If from the evidence available it is im-

possible to identify a ball or balls and a
mistake in identification might result in
unfairness to other players in a match or
to ather competitors in stroke play, the
ball or balls cancerned must be regarded
as lost and the players affected must put
other balls in play under stroke-and-dis-
tance penalties as provided for in Rule
29-l.

Since in the case submitted it would
be unfair far either player to' be permitted
to play the ball in the playable positian,
they should both be required to proceed
under Rule 29-1 in either match play or
stroke play.

Identi fication of Ball
USGA 56-25
R. 11-4, 21-Pre., 21-1, 29-1

(Note: This supersedes Decision 52-71
dated August 1, 1952.)

Q.: Players A and B are playing identi-
cal balls and have not put identification
marks on them, contrary to the admoni-
tion in the preamble to Rule 21.

After A and B have played their second
shots, one ball is found in a playable posi-
tion and the other ball is found nearby
in an un playable position. Neither player First and Provisional
is ahle to make positive identification of Balls Out of Bounds
the ball in the playable positian, although USGA 56-27
both claim it. R . 29-1, 30-1, 30-2

Haw should the matter be settled, in Q .: Competitor hits drive that might
both match play and stroke play? be out of baunds. He announces pro-

Question by: JIMMY THOMSON visional ball, which goes in same general
New York 13, N. Y. area. He then moves forward and finds

A.: The identification of a player's ball both balls aut of bounds. He then says
is a question of fact to be determined in he elects to "play" first ball and goes back
case of doubt, by the referee or, in the to tee, hitting another shot. He claims he
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Player May Require Persons
At Hole to Stand Clear

R. & A. 56-50
R. 34, 35

Q.: With reference to Rule 35-1h, un-
der which any player or caddie engaged
in the Match may stand at the hole. Is
it to be understood that the player about
to play has the right to over-ride this Rule
by requiring anyone standing at the hole
to, stand clear?

A.: Rule 35 -lh deals with "exerting
influence on the ball". The reference to
a player or caddie standing at the hole
is included in order to indicate that such
action alone does not constitute "exerting
influence". It in no way affects the right
of the player about to play to require any-
one standing at the hole to stand clear.

more leaves than is permitted by Rule
33-1e, which states the player may only
"remove as much thereof as will enable
him to see the top of the ball."

Questions by: JOE LOONEY
Boston Herald
Boston, Mass.



now lies 3. B claims he lies 5. Please cite 
rule. 

Question by: LAWRENCE H. HARRIS 

Buffalo, New York 

A . : B is right. When it was determined 
that the first ball was out of bounds, the 
provisional ball automatically became the 
ball in play, under Rule 30-1 and 30-2. 
Since the provisional ball was out of 
bounds, if the player wished to have a 
score for the hole, he was obliged to play 
another ball under Rule 29-1. 

Concurrent Matches Not 
Covered By Rules 
56-2 8 
D. 22, 28; R. 26-la, 27-la, 36-1 

Q . : In our Indianapolis Amateur Tour­
ney, we send our matches out in four­
somes: that is, two single matches. For 
example: A plays B, and C plays D. 

B is on the green, one foot from the 
hole. D is also on the green, and C (his 
opponent), not on the green, plays his ball 
and strikes the ball belonging to B, which 
stops its travel very close to the hole and 
enables C to win the hole. 

Is B's ball considered an outside agency? 
This hole would change the outcome of 

a match. 
Question by: T E D DRAPER 

Coffin Golf Club 
Indianapolis, Ind. 

A . : The Rules of Golf do not contem­
plate two matches being played together 
(Definition 28) . The contest was not 
properly constituted, and the USGA must 
decline to give a ruling. A committee 
which authorizes such procedure should 
lay down specific conditions to covers—see 
Rule 36-1; in drafting such conditions, the 
committee would do well to consider Rule 
40 dealing with four-ball match play and 
the Rules relating to an outside agency. 

For guidance of the committee in the 
present case, in the absence of special rules, 
it would seem fair to regard B's ball as an 
outside agency (Definition 22). Thus, Rule 
26-la would apply to C's ball, and Rule 
27-la would apply to B's ball. 

The USGA points out that concurrent 
matches can give rise to complications 
which the Rules cannot solve. 

Penalty Is Loss of Hole for 
Violating Club Limit 

USGA 56-29 
R. 3, 11-1, 16 

Q. : Match play. After 18 holes A fin­
ished 1 up. After leaving the green B con­
tested the match, saying A had sixteen 
clubs in his bag. 

"Winter rules" are played on our course 
the year around, improve lie, change ball 
on green, etc., which I know the USGA 
does not recognize. 

Who is the winner of the match? 
Because we do not play USGA Rules 

complete, would you suggest another 18-
hole match? 

Question by: R E N E J. LEBLANC 

Huntington, Indiana 

A . : Violation of Rule 3 for having 
more than fourteen clubs in match play 
entails loss of each hole in which viola­
tion occurred. In discretion of local com­
mittee, penalty can be applied after match 
even though claim was not made within 
time limit stipulated in Rule 11-1. 

Decision should be made without regard 
to local committee's authorization to play 
preferred lies in violation of Rule 16. Ad­
vise not replay match as Rules do not 
permit. 

Flagstick May Be Attended 
While Ball in Motion 

R & A 56-79 
R. 34 

Q . : Is a player putting with the flag 
unattended in the hole allowed to recall 
the caddie to lift the flag after he has 
played his stroke and before the ball has 
come to rest? 

A . : The player may have the flagstick 
removed at any time if he considers that 
it interferes with his play (Rule 34-1). 
The player is entitled to recall the caddie 
to lift the flagstick as indicated in your 
letter. 
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ot sponsmanship, a player will not delib-
erately allow hersdf to be struck.

By moving her feet to avoid being
struck, she would not be breaking any
Rule of Golf and no question of invoking
Rule 4, which deals with agreement to
waive the Rules, arises.

Ball Marks in Line oj Putt
May Not Be Repaired

R & A 56-56
R. 35

Q.: (a) A's ball is on the green of a
short hole and a ball from another ma tch
lands in front of his causing a plug mark.
Would it be permissible for A to level out Wall Is Immovable Obstruction
this mark before putting? R & A 56-58

(b) Is, it permissible for a player to R. 17, 31
run his putter over a plug mark on the Q.: The club in question is situated
green that is between his ball and the about 800 feet up in hills above the town.
hole? The ground at one time was used for hill

A.: Players must play out the hole with farming and there are a number of dry-
the turf on the green in the state in which stone dykes at various parts of the course.
they find it. Plug marks may not be No local rules apply to these.
smoothed out before holing out. Rule 35- . A, pJaying! the twelfth hole, pulled
la, b. wildly into the rough. A drystone dyke

A player after holing out should ensure was between his ball and his proposed line
that any damage caused to the turf by of play. The dyke was not interfering with
his ball is repaired. his swing. A removed a stone from the

Player's Responsibility While top of the dyke before playing his shot.
He estimated the stone was in his directAttending Flagstick

R & A 56-57 line of play. What Rule applies?
R A.: The wall in question is an immov-

. 4, 34 bs d h bable 0 truction aneac stone must e
Q.: We should be very pleased to re- regarded as part of it.

ceive your advice as to whalt is meant The player, by removing a stone from
by "attending the flagstick." the wall, accordingly violated Rule 17-3,

One of our associates has raised this the penalty for which is loss of hole in
point. She claims that if asked to attend match play and two strokes in stroke play.
the flagstick she is prepared to indicate
the position of the hole, lift the flags tick Holes Played Out oj Order
if necessary to allow the ,ball to go into Must .Be Replayed
the hole, but she is not prepared to move R & A 56-75
her feet if the ball looks like striking her. De£. 29

She claims that she has been asked to Q.: Two players in an inter-club match
stand at the hole to indicate the line of played on a neutral course, and omitted
play; and ,that it is not her responsibility to play the 5th hole.
to see that the player incurs no penalty. They were playing on a nine hole course
In fact, Rule 4 would disqualify both her and found out their mistake at the 9th
and the player if she were to mov,e. She hole. They returned to the clubhouse, re-
is anxious to know just what her respon- ported their mistake and the member in
sibility is. charge for that day told them to return

A.: Rule 34-2 has been drawn up to to the 5th hole and replay to the 9th,
legislate for a player deliberately striking cancelling 6th and 9th holes played. Was
the flags tick or person attending it in order this correct?
to benefit thereby. A.: In the circumstances described by

While it is not incumbent upon the you, the member in charge gave a correct
person attending the flags tick to avoid ruling. The stipulated round consists of
being struck by an opponent's ball, it is playing the nine (or eighteen) holes in
reasonable to assume that, in the interests their correct sequence. De£. 29.
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