
Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indicates
decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "55-I" means the first decision
issued in 1955. "0' means definition. "R. 37 -7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the. 1955 Rules of Golf.

Groupings in Play-oJJs
Q 2: Is there any set method on how

many players be sent from the first tee
in the play-off? Say in the case of 11

tion made necessary by the fact that it has
ended in a tie.

Rule 37-3 prohibits practice on the
course by a competitor before he starts any
round on the day for which the round is
scheduled. Since a play-off is a separate
phase of the competition open only to
those who have qualified to' compete in it
by means of the tie, the prohibition under
Rule 37-3 against practice would apply to
the play-off whether held on the same
day or not. The purpose of this Rule is
to prohibit practice on the competition
course before starting a round, unless the
Committee permits otherwise.

Aside from the provisions of Rule 37-3,
Rule 36-4b obliges the Committee to
designate -the area which may be used for
practice on the course if there is no
other practice ground; further, on any
day of stroke play such practice area shall
not include any putting green on the
course.

No Practice Before Play-off
USGA 55-13

D. 29; R. 36-2c, 36-4b, 37-3, 38-1, 38-2

Q 1: Rule 37-3 states "On any day
for a stroke competition, a competitor be-
fore starting shall not practice on the
course .. "

In our city amateur tourney on our
municipal links, we had eleven players
tied for four places, meaning a play-off
which was held the following day.

The question of a player practicing be-
fore the play-off on the course used in the
play-off was brought up and I wish a ruling
concerning it. Does that same Rule apply
in the case of the play-off as on the days
on which actual stroke play is being
played?

A 1: Yes. Competitors in a stroke
competition have completed any scheduled
round when their cards have been attested
and returned to the Committee as called
for in Rules 38-1 and 38-2. (See also
Definition 29). Any subsequent play-off,
whether on a hole-by-hole basis or at 18
holes, is a separate phase of the competi-
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players, should they be split, 5 in the
first group and six in the last, or send
them out in 4, 4, and 3? Please advise
the procedure used at the national tour-
neys?

A 2: There is no fixed method, and
it is up to the Committtee-see Rule 36-
2a. Rule 36-2c implies a limit of four to
a group.

Questions by: TED DRAPER
INDIANAPOLIS, IND.

Committee Should Correct
Its Handicap Error

USGA 55-15
R. 11-1, 11- 3

Q.: Santa Anita presented a protest
over the results of their match with Fox
Hills. Elona Mathis, playing for Santa
Anita, was informed by the Association
Handicap Chairman that she had been cut
to a 10. She played to this 10 handicap
for the team match. However, upon
recomputing, the Handicap Chairman dis-
covered that through her error she had
incorrectly computed Elona's handicap
and she should have been playing to an
11 handicap. Had she played to her 11,
she and her partner would have halved No.
15, instead of losing it, and their match
would have been halved, giving both Santa
Anita and Fox Hills a point and one-half.

It i,s the Board's understanding that Fox
Hills' players, Greenburg and Hutchison,
played this No. 15 hole thinking that
Mathis received a stroke on the hole, and
completed play of the maltch believing
they had halved the entire match. Santa
Anita called to their attention the fact
tha t Mathis was a 10 and not en ti tied to a
stroke on the 15th hole, so Fox had won
two and one-half points and Santa Anita
one-half.

lit is the decision of the Board that as
long as the error in handicap was made by
the Handicap Chairman, the player should
not be penalized. Therefore, we are cor-
recting the total number of points to
read:

22

Fox Hills
Santa Ani,ta

10 points
2 points

USGA

Prior to this decision Fox Hill had been
credited with 11 point~ and Santa Anita
1 point. We believe that you will agree
thalt this is an equitable decision, as the
girl acted in good faith and it was not her
error.

Question by: MRS. PAUL R. JOHNSON
Long Beach, Cal.

A.: As the Committee erred in com-
puting the handicap, the Committee should
correct its error if a remedy he feasible.
The manter is up to the judgment of the
Committee; its objective should be fair
play, and, under Rule 11-3, the Commit-
tee has au thori ty to make a final decision.

The case presents an unusual problem
because match play was involved and as
it is a basic principle of match play that
both sides are entitled at all times to know
exactly how the ma1tch stands. That is a
reason for the time limit for claims set
forth in Rule 11-1.

However, this does not relieve the Com-
mitte of the responsibility for correcting
its own error in whatever manner it deems
best.

Relief From Lateral Hazard
After Unsuccessful Stroke

USGA 55-18
R. 13-2, 21-3, 33-3b

Q. 1: A contestant drove his tee shot
into a lateral water hazard and elected to

play OUit. Failing to get out and not
crossing any margin of the hazard on this
stroke, he then eleCited to take the relief
afforded on the previous Sltroke and dropped
within two club-lengths of the margin of
the hazard where his tee shot had crossed.
He dropped with the one-stroke penalty
in 3 and was shotting 4. His s'core was
6 on the hole.

On completing the round, he reported
to the Committee how he had played the
hole. The Committee was of the opinion
he had not played the hole in accordance
with the rule, citing the USGA rulings
53-37 and 54-15, but there was no in-
formation available to the Committe as
to how he should have played the hole.
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teeing ground, played a second stroke with
this ball ,through the green, and then
played a wrong ball in a water hazard.

His first two strokes count. He now
plays three from the teeing ground. See
Rules 13-2 and 21-3.

Questions by: Roy ALLEN
Oklahoma City, Okla.

Smoothing Foot Prints
With Ball Still In Bunker

USGA 55-16
R. 33-lg

Q.: Player's ball is in sand bunker. He
plays the ball and it does not get out of
the bunker. Before he plays his second shot
in Ithe bunker, he smooths OUit his foot
prints in the sand with his club. Is it
deemed by the Rules of Golf that the
player has grounded his club?

Question by: C. H. STEWART
Gulfport, Miss.

A.: 1£ the player's action improved the
lie of his ball or assisted him in his sub-
sequent play of the hole, he would lose
the hole in ma'tch play or incur a penalty
of two strokes in stroke play under Rule
33 -lg. 1£ not, the player would incur no
penalty.

It is a question of fact whether or not
an action assists a player in his subsequent
play of the hole.

Practice Stroke With
Plastic Ball Is Violation

USGA 55-17
R. 8, 37-7

Q.: A player insists, prior to making
his regular shot, in putting down a plastic
ball and hitting it in the direction of the
hole. It doesn't matter whether he is on
the tee, fairway or rough. Besides slowing
down the game, it becomes a little ag-
gravating. The rest of the foursome has
tried to tell him that there must be a rule
prohibiting this practice and all he replies
is, "Show it to me."

Question by: ROBERT W. FERGUSON
Wheeling, W.V.

He was several Sltrokes above the qualify-
ing score necessary to make the tourna-
ment, so rather than make a ruling the
Committee accepted his score.

1£ there has been a ruling made on this,
please quote, or if not, please advise how
this should be played.

A. 1: The place where the ball lay in
the lateral walter hazard after the unsuc-
cessful stroke became the point opposite
which a ball should have been dropped
under Rule 33-3b.

Stroke Outside Teeing Ground
Q. 2: Stroke play: Player plays stroke

from without the teeing ground, into a
water hazard, plays one stroke in hazard
and clears the confines of the hazard,
lying three strokes from tee. Then dis-
covers he has played wrong ball in the
hazard. Rule 13-2 states that he should
play from within teeing ground, shooting
4 from tee. But in this case he was not
allowed to lift his ball for identification,
so would say tha t Rule 21- 3 would tak e
precedence and he would be shooting 2
from the teeing ground

A. 2: Under Rule 13-2, after playing
his first stroke from outside the teeing
ground, ,the competitor was obliged to
count that stroke and any subsequent
stroke so played, and then to play from
within the teeing ground.

However, the competitor played another
(wrong) ball in a water hazard. Under
Rule 21-3, strokes played with a wrong
ball are not counted in stroke play, and
there is no penalty for so playing a wrong
ball in a hazard.

Thus, the competitor was obliged to put
a ball in play from the teeing ground, and
it would be his second stroke.

Q. 3: Same conditions as above except
that player plays a stroke without the
confines of the hazard, then discovers he
has played the wrong ball from the hazard.

A. 3: It is understood that the com-
petitor played a ball from outside the
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A.: The player's practice delays play
and violates Rule 37-7.

In playing a practice stroke during the
play of a hole, the player also violates
Rules 8.

Striking Branch To Move Ball
Is Breach

USGA 55-19
D. 30; R. 16, 19-1

Q.: On our golf course (Cypress
Point) there are numerous cypress trees
in ,the fairways themselves and on the
borders. A high ball will generally lodge
on top, but occasionally if found in some
low branches it can be driven out with a
hard horizontal stroke, which I presume is
entirely legitimate.

A ball was found lying loosely in a nest
of twigs, ten or twelve feet above the
ground, but the branch to which these
twigs were attached was well in reach.
The player delivered a mighty blow with
his niblick at the branch and ,the ball
dropped to the ground. He then played
out the hole and referred us ;to Definition
30: «A 'stroke' is .the forward movement
of the club made with the intention of
moving the ball."

h'ACKER, SPARE
ThlA"'T" T~£E'"

.j/' ,/,

~
But Ithe opponent claimed the hole under

Rule 19-1: «The ball shall be fairly struck
at with the head of the club, etc."

Question by: GEORGE NICKEL

Pebble Beach, Cal.

A.: It is understood that the player did
not strike aJt the ball but struck at the
branch in order to move ,the ball.

The player lost the hole. He did not
strike at the ball fairly, as is required by
Rule 19-1; the definition of a stroke (De-
finition 30) has to be taken in conjunc-
tion with this Rule, and the player did not
make a stroke.

Further, he did not play the ball as it
lay, in violation of Rule 16, which is
fundamental to the entire code of Rules.

Although the ball was not actually
touched, the objeat on which it lay was
touched purposely to move the ball.

Holes Made by Animals
R & A 54-60
R.32

Q: This course is unfortunate in that
it suffers from the activities of rabbits
and, since the deletion of «scrapes" from
the Rules, difficulties have arisen.

In several of our fairways there are
numerous, shall we say, «lapine excava-
tions" which vary in dimensions from be-
tween 2 and 6 inches in diameter and to 6
inches and more in depth.

A ball going into one of these excava-
tions would in 95% of cases be definitely
unplayable as it would actually be below
ground level. Could we please be advised:

(a) Whether these excavations are to be
regarded as uscrapes" and there-
fore as urubs of the green" neces-
sitating a declaration that the ball
is unplayable with the attendant
penalty or

(b) if not, what is regarded as a fair
definition of a hole with particular
reference to the application of Rule
32-1 ?

A: Rule 32 amended on January Ist,
1954, makes no mention of urabbit
scrapes"; a player is therefore entitled to
the relief afforded by this rule if his ball
lies in a hole made by a burrowing animal.
The depth of the hole is not defined and
is immaterial.
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