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Decisions by the 

Rules of Golf Committees 

Example of symbols: "USCA" indicates decision by the United States Coif Association. "R & A " indicates 
decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "55 -1 " means the first decision 
issued in 1955. "D ' ( means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1955 Rules of Coif. 

Ball Dropped in Wrong Location 
USGA 54-36 
D. 29, R. 1, 7-2, 21-3, 29-1 

Q : The tee shot on the hole in question 
requires a long carry over an abandoned 
quarry in order to reach the fairway. If 
the ball is hooked too much and carries 
over the quarry, it is apt to wind up in 
woods or heavy rough. 

The player's drive was hooked. The 
player believed the ball had carried over 
the quarry and into the woods and rough. 
The ball could not be found within five 
minutes of searching. 

The player dropped a ball in this rough, 
at approximately the position where he 
thought his original ball was lost. He 
added a penalty stroke to his score and 
played the ball out onto the fairway, 
claiming that his score to this point was 
3. He holed out in three more and claimed 
a 6 for the hole. 

Was the player correct? 

A : No. Rule 29-1 provides in part: "If 
a ball be lost . . ., the player shall play 
his next stroke as nearly as possible at the 
spot from which the original ball was 
played, adding a penalty stroke to his 

score for the hole". 
The player did not put his second ball 

in play according to this Rule. Therefore: 
M4tcb Play: The player lost the hole. 
Stroke Play: The player did not play the 

hole (Rule 1) or the stipulated round 
(Definition 29 and Rule 7-2) , and there­
fore had no score which could be accept-

•ed. He thus disqualified himself. 
He could have made a score by pro­

ceeding under Rule 21-3. In such a case, 
his second ball improperly dropped would 
be deemed a wrong ball, with a penalty 
of two strokes for playing it, making his 
score 3 to that point. He then must have 
returned to the tee and put a ball in play 
according to Rule 29-1, and his score to 
that point would have been J. As he did 
not do so, he was disqualified—see Rule 
21-3, last paragraph. 

Although the penalty statement under 
Rule 29 calls for a penalty of two strokes 
in stroke play for a breach of the Rule, 
it does not apply to cases such as this in 
which a ball is deliberately dropped nearer 
the hole and played, and a ball is not 
played from the tee into the hole by suc­
cessive strokes. If it were otherwise, there 
would be nothing to prevent a player, hav-
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ing a lost ball, from dropping a ball on 
the putting green alongside the hole with 
a two-stroke penalty. The two-stroke 
penalty applies to all violations of the Rule 
except where superseded by other Rules 
as in the present case. As examples in 
which the two-stroke penalty would apply 
in stroke play, we cite the following 

(a) A second shot played from a "fair­
way" becomes lost. The player drops a 
ball ten yards to the side of the spot from 
which the original ball was played, and 
not as nearly as possible at that spot. 

(b) A second shot played from a haz­
ard becomes lost. Instead of dropping an­
other ball in the hazard, as the Rule pro­
vides, the player places a ball in the 
hazard. 

Lateral Water Hazard 
USGA 55-10 
Def. 30, R. 11-1, 14, 33-3b 

Q 1 : In a match, both players drove 
into a lateral water hazard. Player A 
dropped his ball within two club-lengths 
of the margin. Player B dropped his ball 
four club-lengths from the margin. The 
hole was played out and won by B. 

During the play of the next hole one 
of the gallery called the referee's atten­
tion to the violation of the Rule by B t 

which should have cost him the hole. 
(a) Did the referee then have any power 

to correct the result of the hole? Could 
any action be taken by the Tournament 
Committee on learning of the occurrence? 

(b) If the referee had observed B about 
to drop in violation of the Rule, would he 
have had a right to warn B, and thus 
avoid the violation? 

A 1 : (a) Even though player B vio­
lated Rule 3 3-3 b, neither the referee nor 
the Tournament Committee could have 
changed the result of the hole after the 
players played from the next teeing 
ground*—-see Rule 11-1. 

(b) Yes. A referee is under no obliga­
tion voluntarily to inform players of their 
rights or warn them when they seem 
about to breach the Rules (see Definition 
26). 
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Anything a referee may do in this order 
is gratuitous. If he volunters information 
about the Rules, he should do so uni­
formly to both players. There is no pro­
hibition in the Rules against this, since 
"information on the Rules or Local Rules 
is not 'advice'." 

When referees are assigned in USGA 
Championships, they attempt to inform 
the players uniformly of pertinent Rules 
in order to prevent inadvertent infractions 
and to educate the players. 

Ball Rolls Off Tee 
Q 2 : A player having addressed his 

ball on the tee raises his club and begins 
its forward movement with the intention 
of hitting the ball. As he does so he sees 
the ball starting to fall from its tee. He 
stops his swing before it has progressed 
half way. Am I right in thinking that he 
has made a stroke? 

May he then re-tee his ball under Rule 
14, although under Definition S his ball 
is in play, or must he play the ball as it 
lies? 

A 2 : The player's intention to move 
the ball died before he was able to move 
it, and there was no stroke; see Definition 
30. 

Rule 14 applies. 

"Green" Committee 
Q 3 : Am I correct in thinking that 

"Green Committee", and "Green fee" are 
correct, and that to add an " s " is an 
error? 

A 3 : "Green Committee and "Green 
fee" are correct. 

Questions by: N O R M A N B. BEECHER 
CLEARWATER, FLA. 

Unplayable Lie In Hazard 
USGA 55-11 
Def. 13, 17, 20; R. 18-1, 29-2, 31 

Q 1 : Is there such a thing as an un­
playable lie in a bunker? If there is, 
where does the player drop the ball? 

A 1 : Note to Rule 29-2 states: "The 
player is the sole judge as to when his 
ball is unplayable. I t may be declared un­
playable at any place on the course." 
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tion into which it has fallen does not
affect its classification.

Rule 32 gives relief without penalty
from a hole, cast or runway made by a
burrowing animal, anywhere on the
course, including hazards.

Questions by: MITCHELL N. HOTRA
Los ANGELES, CAL.

Honor After Claim
USGA 55-12
R. 11-1, 11-4, 37-7

Q: A and B are playing a match for
which no referee was appointed. On one
of the holes a dispute arises. A makes a
claim before the players play from the
next teeing ground, as required by Rule
11-1. It is understood that this was done
so that the matter might thereafter be
referred to the Committee, and that it
did not have to be resolved on the spot.

1. If this is correct, the match then
should continue play-in which case, who
has the honor?

2. Consider also that B refuses to con-
tinue play until a refree has been sent for
to settle the claim. A wishes to continue
immediately. Can A claim the next hole
by virtue of Undue Delay, Rule 37-7?
If so, how much time must elapse to con-
stitute Undue Delay? What would then
be the procedure? Is the match ended
when B refuses to continue play? Or
does A continue to play by himself if
necessary, until enough holes have passed
to win the match?

A 1: The honor should, in equity, be
decided by lot-see Rule 11-4-except
that if B had the honor on the disputed
hole and A's claim was to gain a half B
would retain the honor.

A 2: Rule 37-7 does not apply. If
there is any doubt as to the legality of A's
claim, B would not be obliged to continue
play until the claim had been settled. It
is generally preferable that the status of a
hole be determined before play begins on
the next hole. In match play each player
is entitled to know how the match stands
at all times.

Question by: MISS B. 1. ROBERTS
PORTLAND,OREGON

Rule 29-2 gives two options as to how
a player may proceed if he deems his ball
unplayable.

Obstructions and Impediments
Q 2: From which of the following ob-

jects is the player entitled to relief if they
interfere with his stance or swing in a
bunker or other hazard: Bottles, newspa-
pers, heavy branches, rakes, mound of
dirt made by a gopher.

A strong wind knocked a huge branch
from a tree into a bunker. Before the
grounds-keeper could remove such obsta-
cles, a member hit a ball into a bunker
and because of the branch he had an un-
playable lie. The members insisted that
being in a bunker was a penalty of itself
and that he could not have an unplayable
lie in a hazard.

In another instance, a player's ball came
to rest in a bunker directly behind a large
mound of dirt made by a gopher. Here
again the grounds-keeper would probably
have smoothed the mound in order not
to add a possible penalty to a bunker. In
this instance, the player insisted that the
mound of dirt was ground under repair
under Definition 13 and that he was en-
ti tied to drop his ball in the bunker in a
manner to give relief, but no nearer the
hole.

There have been a number of instances
in which players have removed from
bunkers prior to playing their ball such
items as empty cigarette packs, bottle
caps, cans and other unnatural objects.
We would assume that in accordance with
Defiinitions 17 and 29 players have a
righ t to do so.

A 2: The following are among ob-
structions under Definition 20: bottles,
newspapers and rakes. Obstructions are
artificial things. Relief from obstructions,
without penalty, is provided by Rule 31.

A loose branch of a tree, being a natural
object, is a loose impediment under Defi-
nition 17. A loose impediment may be re-
moved except when both the impediment
and the ball lie in or touch a hazard-see
Rule 18-1.

The size of a loose branch or the posi-
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. Modifying Penalty For
Disqualification

USGA 55-14
R. 36-5, 37-3

Q 1: In your Rules of Golf, it states
that the penalty of disqualification may be
modified or waived. In what way may it
be modified?

AI: In proceeding under Rule 36- 5 ,
the Committee may reduce a disqualifica-
cation' penalty to any lesser penalty which
it considers appropriate to the violation.
Only the Committee as a gro1;1pmay take
such action; it may not be done by a
referee or other individual on his own
responsibili ty.

Q 2: In our state championship, a con-
testant, through negligence, on the day
of and before the qualifying round, chip-
ped onto one of the regular greens. She
reported it to the committee as soon as
she realized her mistake. The committee
ruled on her question after she had com-
peletd her qualifying round, but before
she posted her score.

The committee modified the disqualifi-
cation penalty (Rule 37-3) by giving
her a two-stroke penalty. She qualified
for third flight, with or without the two-
stroke penalty. Is this fair to the No. 1
player in the fourth flight, who would have
have had a spot in the third flight had she
been disqualified?

A 2: The judgment of the local com-
mittee must control, as it is in possession
of all the facts. The committee should be
guided by the principles in Rule 36- 5

Q 3: Do you recommend that a pen-
alty of disqualification be modified when
it is a qualifying round of a state cham-
pionship?

A 3: It is up to the local committee.
Disqualification penalties have been waived
and modified in national championships
and international team play.

Q 4: Are we setting a precedent for
future years whereby it will be hard to
disqualify anyone where this person was
allowed to continue play?

A 4: Obviously, waiver or modifica-
tion should be made only for substantial
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cause, as Rule 36- 5 provides. If a prece-
dent is a fair one, it need not be feared.

Q 5 : Would you recommend that the
state board establish in their records some-
thing tha t would cover future problems
such as this?

A 5: Yes.
Questions by: MRS. KEENE H. MORISON

WILTON, ME.

Marking Ball On Putting Green
R & A 54-68
R. 30-3, 33,-2

Q.l: We shall be glad if you will give
us a decision regarding marking the posi-
tion of a ball on the putting green, i.e.,
ball nearer the hole in match or stroke
play. How can one mark the position of
a ball without testing the surface of the
green, i.e., roughening or marking the sur-
face?

A. 1: No instruction is given in the
Rules of Golf as to how the position of
a ball should be marked on the putting
green. A customary and satisfactory
method, which avoids the difficulties you
mention, is to use a small coin as a marker.
This should be placed behind the ball or,
if so placed it interferes with the stroke
of another player, it should be moved one
or more putterhead lengths to one side.

Original and Provisional Balls in
Waler Hazard

Q.2: Provisional Ball.-In the event of
the original and provisional balls resting
in a water hazard and both being unplay-
able, what is the procedure?

A.2: When a provisional ball is played
for a ball in a water hazard the original
ball must be played as it lies, or retired
from play so that the provisional ball then
becomes ~he ball in play-Rule 30-3. In
the case you quote the player must pro-
ceed with the provisional ball in accord-
ance with Rule 33-2, i.e., it may be
dropped behind the hazard under penal ty
of one stroke; if the original ball was
played from the tee the player will then
be playing his fifth shot.
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