
Example of symbols: "USCA" indicates decision by the United States Coif Association. "R & A " indicates 
decision by the Royal and Ancient Coif Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. " 5 5 - 1 " means the first decision 
issued m 1955. " D " means definition. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1955 Rules of Coif. 

Removing Spanish Moss 
USGA 5 5-1 
D. 17; R. 17-3; 18; 32-1 

Q. 1 : Can you remove Spanish moss 
from trees that might be in your way? 
Is it considered fixed or growing? 

A . l : We understand that trees are the 
natural habitat of Spanish moss. Rule 17-3 
would prohibit removing it from the line 
of play. 

We would regard such moss fallen to 
the ground as a loose impediment (Defini­
tion 17 and Rule 18). 

Ball in Salamander Mound 
Q . 2 : Is relief given for balls that come 

to rest in salamander mounds? How about 
salamander mounds that have been raked 
out but still leave the residue of sand? 

A . 2 : Rule 32-1 gives relief from a 
mound made by a salamander or from such 
part of a mound as has not been com­
pletely eliminated by raking. 

Questions by: IRVIN E. SCHLOSS 

DUNEDIN, FLA. 

Attending the Flag 
USGA 5 5-2 
R. 34-3 

Q : In stroke play, if a fellow-competitor 

is approaching the green within or beyond 
the twenty-yard distance of the hole, can 
the competitor demand that the flag be 
attended or removed? 

Question by: G. PEXIE D U P U Y 

LAKE CHARLES, LA. 

A : No. 
In stroke play, the competitor playing 

the stroke controls the flagstick at all 
times, and he may have his caddie attend 
it or leave it unattended, subject to the 
risk of penalty imposed by Rule 34-3. 

Error In Handicap 
USGA 55-3 

Q : In a stroke play competition, a 
player's handicap is posted as 17. The 
player wins low net by a margin* of one 
stroke. 

Several days later the Committee dis­
covers that, through its own error, the 
player's handicap should have been 16. The 
player was not at fault. 

May the Committee correct its error 
several days after the event and retract the 
prize awarded to the player? 

Question by: MRS. J. JOSEPH CONNOR 

R E D BANK, N . J. 

A : Yes. 
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If a Committee _has erred in computing
or posting a handicap and a remedy is
feasible, the Committee should correct its

sibly travel. Another object of the Rule
is to prevent making a more or less per-
manent; mark to assist in putting.
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Local Rule Conflicts
With Rules oj GolJ

USGA 55-6
R. 11-3, 20-1, 35-2b, 35-3a, 36-7

Q: A question has arisen concerning the
making of rules by a Green Committee.
The Committee is planning to make a rule
as follows •..

It will be mandatory for a player
to putt out completely. A player
who is farthest away from the
hole on the putting green must
putt first and then no matter
where he finishes must complete
the hole.

It is my contention that the player
away should putt first. The man who made
the first putt may finish slightly closer to
the hole than the opponent and then in
completing the next putt may help and
assist the competitor in showing the line,
roll of the green and the way he may
play. Sometimes it will make the opponent
go all out for the putt because he knowsr 0 ""~.....-- Hole he must make it, or he may play safe, as
is required.

, The Rules of Golf call for the man
~. furthest away to play first. I say play the

--_ ...~.. , Rules and make as few changes as possible
" in your local rules. I know it is -advocated
~ to complete playas fast as possible, but
~ the proposed local rule will cause many
o arguments.

A'II Ball If any arguments are started and the
A: B's claim was valid. When A's cad- USGA is needed for a decision, will they

die touched the flagstick to the ground, ~ make a decision when the rule is against
the line of putt was touched to the side the Rules of Golf?
of the hole, in violation of Rule H-lc. Question by: MAXWELLHEYMANN

The line of putt is not necessarily a BROOKLYN,N. Y.
straight line from ball to hole. The slope A: The proposed local rule conflicts
of the ground and possible error in exe- with Rules 20-1, 35-2b in match play
cuting the stroke must be considered. and 35-3a in stroke play, and cannot be

One object of Rule 35-1c is to prevent authorized under Rule 36-7. The USGA
improving the putting surface, as might will not interpret such a local rule-see
be done by touching any possible line of Rule 11-3. For three-ball, best-ball and
putt; it is for this reason that the Rule four-ball match play, see Rules 40-1 b,
applies to touching any area of the put- 40-1d and 40-3a. For four-ball stroke
ting green over which the ball might pos- play, see Rules 41-2a and 41-5.
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error.
In stroke play there is no time limit for

the Committee to apply a .Rule if the facts
warrant.

The matter is up to the judgment of
the Committee; its objective should be
fair play for the entire field.

Caddie Indicates
Line Jor Putting

- USGA 55-9
Rule 35-1c

Q: In match play, A's caddie was at-
tending the flagstick, and indicated the
direction for putting by placing the flag-
stick on the green about one foot to the
side of the hole. As it was a sloping green,
the spot of its placement was not actually
on the line of putting, but a point to
indicate where to aim. The caddie lifted
the flagstick immediately, and thereafter
A putted. Thereupon B claimed the hole
under Rule 35-lc. Was B's claim valid?

Question by: S. TAKAHATA
KOBE, JAPAN



Clubhouse Is Obstruction
USGA 54-29
D. 20; R. 31-1, 33-1f and g

Q.l : What is the ruling on a ball com-
ing to rest against the foundation of our
clubhouse, which is parallel to the 16th
fairway?

A.l : The player is entitled to relief un-
der Rule 31-1. See also Definition 20.
However, many clubs make their club-
houses out of bounds.

swing the ball starts moving or is moving.
He docs not stop the swing, but continues
his swing, striking the ball and hitting it
on to the green. Is there a penalty?

A.l: There is no penalty under Rule
25-1 as the ball began to move only after
the player had begun his backswing. How-
ever, if he had addressed the ball he sus-
tained a penalty of one stroke under Rule
27-1d. Under Definition 1, uaddress" com-
prises taking the stance and, except in a
hazard, grounding the club also.

Q.2: A line of utility pOles are on our
course with cables anchored in the ground
to brace the poles. Has a player any relief
if these poles or cable lines interfere with
his stroke?

A.2 : Yes. Such poles and cables are ob-
structions (see Defintion 20), and a player
is entitled to relief within the limits set
forth in Rule 31-2.

Questions by: LEONARDOTT
CORAL GABLES, FLA.

Legitimate Hole-in-One?
USGA 55-4
Misc.; D .. l8, 29

Q: A question has arisen concerning a
hole-in-one. One player had this good for-
tune while practicing, with a caddie as
the only witness, and another while play-
ing only nine holes. We wonder in cases
such as this if full credi t can be given.

Question by: MRs. J. B. REINHART,JR.
WEBSTERGROVES,Mo.

A: Each case should be. determined by
the local Committee as it can best ascer-
tain the facts. Would the Committee ac-
cept the score for its own handicap pur-
poses? We offer the following comments:

1. If the first case were a practice round
in which more than one ball was in play
at a time, we would not think the score
acceptable. If it were a normal round
played under the Rules of Golf, we see
no reason not to accept the score provided
the Committee permits caddies to serve
as markers (Definition 8).

2. As a stipulated round of 18 holes
was not played (see Definition 29), we
would not consider the score acceptable.

Device For Measuring Shots
USGA 55-5
R. 37-7

Q: Will you please send me your rul-
ing on meters for measuring the distance
of shots that some players have attached
to their golf carts?

Question by: MRS. GEORGEB. PACE
LA CANADA, CALIF.

A: The Rules of Golf do not preclude Pi v II T I H d
the use of artificial devices to assist a ayer r a s, OUClles azar
player in estimating distance. However, Q.2: What is the ruling when a pbyer
the player would be subject to the appli- slips and falls in a water hazard and his
cation of Rule 37-7 if his use of a meas- hand and club touch the hazard?
uring device were to result in any delay A.2: It is assumed that the ball lay in
of play. the water hazard. There is no penalty if

nothing was done which might have im-
Ball ~foving; Relief proved the lie of the ball or constituted
From Obstruction testing the hazard or assisted the player in

USGA 55-8 his subsequent play of the hole. See the
D. 1, 20, R. 25-1, 27-1d, 31-2 principles of Rule 33-1£ and g.

Q.l: Player takes his stance in prepara- Questions by: ARNOLD BROWNING
tion for making a stroke. During his back- HUNTINGTON,W. VA.
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