
Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indicates decision by
the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews. Scotland. "54-1" means the first decision issued in 1954.

"R.37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1954 Rules of Golf.

8all Holed Is Not Lost
USGA 54-13
R. 1

Q: On a par 3 hole, player hits ban
into woods on side of the green. He then
tees provisional ball and hits it onto the
green. Before reaching green he goes into
woods to look for original ball. After five
minutes he has not found the original ball,
and he then proceeds to finish hole with
provisional ball. After holing au t, he finds
original ball in the cup.

Does he score a hole-in-one for the hole?
Or does his score for the provisional ball
stand?

Question by: DR. FRANK LIOTTA
CLEVELAND,OHIO

A: The player's score is 1. The play of
the hole was completed when he holed the
original ball. Rule 1 provides: "The Game
of Golf consists in playing a ball from the
teeing ground into the hole by successive
strokes in accordance with the Rules."

Conditions for Applying
Obstruction Rule

USGA 54-21
D. 20; R. 31-2

9: I drove a ball into the rough, two
feet off the fairway. My ball came to rest

one and one-half club-lengths from an iron
pipe which was protruding 12 inches out
of the ground. The pipe was in a direct
line between my ball and the green to
which I was shooting. The pipe did not
interfere with my stance or swing. How-
ever, being inside of two club-lengths of
this immovable obstruction, I cited Rule
31-2 in the 1954 Rule book. I maintained
to the Committee I was entitled to drop
two club-lengths away from the pipe with-
out penalty even though I could swing
freely and stand properly.

I was told to play the ball as it was.
did. I hit the pipe with the ball, which
considered a stroke.

I would certainly appreciate your opin-
ion. I may be wrong, but I want to know
definitely if the situation occurs again.

Question by: ART WALL, JR.
HONESDALE,PA.

A: Rule 31-2 did not entitle you to free
. relief inasmuch as the obstruction (the
pipe) did not interfere with your stance
or stroke or the backward movement of
your club for the stroke. Interference with
the so-called «line of flight" is not of itself
grounds for applying the Rule.

In order to obtain relief under Rule 31-2
in a situation such as the one described, all
three of the following conditions must
exist:
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with Jim Jackson. Jim was keeping his
card, also. They knew that Clark's play
was not right, so they referred it to me
as Chairman of the Rules Committee.

I disqualified Clark because I thought
he had played the hole out illegally, al-
though he did not present his card to the
score board.

There were two other members of the
Rules Committee not present at the time.
Later on they, and others, thought that I
might have been more lenient under the
terms of the Rules and so we had a Rules
Committee session. I was overruled by the
other two, who thought that Clark should

Lake

18th GREEN

18th HOLE

1. The obstruction (Definition 20) must
interfere with the stance oro.stroke or the
backward movement of the club for the
stroke.

2. The obstruction must be immovable.
3. The obstruction must be within two

club-lengths of the ball.
Rule 31-2 also gives relief if a ball lie on

or touch an immovable obstruction, re-
gardless of any other conditions.

Mopping Green With Towels
USGA 54-16
R.35-1b

9: A and B balls lie in casual water sur-
rounding hole. A tries to chip and, upon
failing, B procures towels and proceeds to
remove casual water with them and sinks
his putt. Did not B incur a penalty under
Rule 32?

Question by: R. J. FOLEY
HUNTINGTON, W. VA.

A: B violated Rule 35 -1 b prohibiting
touching the line of putt. The penalty in
match play is loss of hole; in stroke play,
two strokes.

Seeking a Rules Decision
in Stroke Play

USGA 54-23
D. 29, R. 1, 7-2, 11-4, 21-3,
33-2, 36,5, 38-2

9: During the first round of qualifying
in the recent Trans-Mississippi Golf Tour-
nament, Bob Clark carne to the eighteenth
hole at Cherry Hills. The drive crosses the
lake at one end and then the fairway fol-
lows the lake shore for some distance. I
will accompany this with a diagram to
further show what happened.

A Local Rule, published on the cham-
pionship scorecard, stated: "Play lake as
water hazard on tee shots." For other shots
the lake is a lateral water hazard.

Clark drove his first ball into the lake.
He then teed another and also drove it into
the lake. He then walked forward to a
point about opposite where the ball was
(in the lake), dropped another, played it
to the green and holed out. He was playing
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be allowed to go back and be charged with
two strokes, thus shooting 7 off the tee.
That was done.

\Vhich is right?

Question by: N. C. MORRIS,Sec'y.
TRANS-MISSISSIPPI
GOLF ASSOCIAnON
DENVER, COLO.

A: It depends on whether the player
immediately sought a ruling before return-
ing his card. If he did so, he was proceeding
as provided for in Rule 38-2.

In dropping a ball "about opposite where
. the ball was (in the lake)" the player did
not conform with the Local Rule and Rule
33-2; and in playing that ball he violated
Rule 21-3, which prohibits play with a
wrong ball. He thus sustained a penalty of
two strokes and his score at that point
was 5.

Rule 21-3 provides in part: "If a com-
petitor discovers that he has holed out with
a wrong ball, he may rectify his mistake
by finding and holing out with his own
ball, subject to the above penalty, provided
he has not made a stroke on the next tee-
ing ground, or, in the case of the last hole
of the round, left the putting green."

In such a case, the technical prohibition
against leaving the putting green is super-
seded by the requirement of Rule 38-2
that a competitor in stroke play shall settle
any doubtful points with the Committee
before returning his card. See Rule 11-4
regarding equity.

If the player immediately sought a rul-
ing, it was proper to authorize him to play
out the hole correctly, in which case he
was playing 7 from the tee.

Further, Rule 36-5 authorizes the Com-
mittee, in exceptional individual cases, to
waive or to modify a penalty of disqualifi-
cation if the Committee considers such ac-
tion warranted, provided that a Rule of
Golf is not waived.

~owever, if the player delayed seeking a
rulIng after holing out, he disqualified him-
self in failing to play the hole (Rule 1)
and the stipulated round (Definition 29
and Rule 7-2).

Whereabouts of a Ball
Is Not "Advice"

USGA 54-24
D.2

9: A hit his second shot in the direction
of a ditch. B thereupon shouted to a group
on top of a hill some distance away, inquir-
ing where A's ball had gone. They didn't
hear him, or at least failed to answer,
whereupon A said B nevertheless forfeited
the hole by asking for advice which might
influence B's playing his next shot. A
pointed to Definition 2 and to Rule 9, para-
graph 1. 'the committee could not see it
A's way. B won the hole instead of losing
it as A insisted.

May I have your ruling?
Question by: PHILIP 1. AXT

BLOOMFIELD,N. J.

A: Information concerning the where-
abouts of a ball is not considered advice as
defined in Definition 2. The committee's
decision was correct. B incurred no penalty.

Ball Deemed to Move
USGA 54-25
D.3

9: If a player while addressing the ball
should accidentally move the ball but it
does not make a turn but returns to its
original position, is a penalty incurred? This
question does not pertain to the teeing
ground.

Question by: WALTERJ. LUTZ
HARRISBURG,PA,

A: A ball is only deemed to move under
Definition 3 if it leaves its original position
and comes to rest in any other place. In
the case you describe the ball is not deemed
to have moved, and there is no penalty un-
der Rule 27-1d.

Caddie Lifting Ball
Without Instruction

USGA 54-27
R. 23-1

9: Under Rule 23-1 a player may ask
his caddie to mark his ball under the Rules
on the green in match or stroke play, with-
out penal ty .

USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAGEMENTI NOVEMBER, 1954 23



1. If his caddie marks a ball on the green
without instructions from his player, is
there a penalty?

2. Is his caddie to touch the ball with-
out instructions from his player, or the
player's partner if the event is a four-ball?

Question by: MRS. M. R. DENISON
SOUTH BEND, IND.

A: 1. No, provided the ball was prop-
~rly lifted and replaced under the Rules
or local rules.

2. The player incurs the relative penalty
for any breach of a Rule or local rule by
his caddie (see Rule 37-2) except when
the caddie is employed by both sides in a
match (see recommendation for local rules,
Caddying Double, in the appendix to the
USGA Rul~s of Golf booklet). For this
reason the players on a side should instruct
their caddies.

Rule 23-1 does not prohibit a caddie
from lifting a player's ball without instruc-
tions from the player and, as stated above,
the player incurs no penalty when his cad-
die lifts his player's ball properly under the
Rules or local rules.

It is good practice for a player to advise
his caddie not to touch any ball in the
match except upon instructions from his
player..

Practice Between Rounds
R. &A 54-8
R. 37-3

9: In the case of a 36-hole competition,
is a competitor allowed to practice on the
course during the lunch interval?

A: Rule 37-3 applies to practice be-
tween rounds in a stroke competition of
two rounds played on the same day. The
words "before starting" impliedly refer
to each of the two rounds.

Round Cancelled
R. & A 54-9
R. 36-4c

Q: \'V'ith reference to Rule 36-4c con-
cerning a one-round stroke-play competi-
tion played at any time on the same day,
will you please say if our committee is in
order in declaring play null and void under
the following circumstances:

Reasonable weather early in day, fol-
lowed by snow which settled on greens and
made play impracticable.

The reason for asking is that the Rule
reads as if it applied mainly to a competi.
tion of more than one round. I would add
that eleven players, who went out in the
morning, completed the round and further
player.; were competing in afternoon when
snow started.

A: Rule 36-4c is not meant to apply
mainly to competitions of more than one
round. Your committee were perfectly
within their rights in declaring play null
and void under the circumstances dcscribd
in your letter.

NEW MEMBERS OF THE USGA

Regular

Blairmont Club. Pa,
Dorset Field Club. Inc., Vt.
Gainesville Golf Club, Ga.
Kishwaukee Country Club, III.
los Alamos Golf Association, N. M.
Moila Golf Club, Mo.
Okanaogan Valley Golf Club, Wash.
Orange Brook Golf Club, Fla.
Overlake Golf and Country Club, Wash.
Pickens County Country Club, S. C.
Rio Mimbres Country Club, N. M.
Roseburg Country Club, Ore.
Southwood Country Club, Ky.
Sullivan County Golf and Country Club, N. Y.
Townsend Golf Club, Inc., Wash.
Uniontown Country Club, Pa,
Wildwood Golf Club, Ohio
Winter Park Country Club, Fla.

Associate

Duston Country Club, N. H.
Fort leonard Wood Golf Course, Mo.
Ida Cason Gardens, Ga.
The Northfield Golf Course, Mass.
Pine Hollow Country Club, Inc., N. Y.
Wells College Golf Course, N. Y.
Westbriar Country Club, Va.
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