
Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision b~ the United States Golf Association. "R & A" indicates decision by
the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. "54-1" means the first decision issued in 1954.

"R.37 -7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1954 Rules of Golf.

Ball Played fr~m W rong Tee
USGA 54-5
D. 29; R. 7-2, 13-2,38-3

9: Two women w~re playing an eight-
een-hole medal play. sweepstakes. They had

, the option of teeing off either the first tee
or the tenth tee, so they chose the tenth
tee. When they got to the eighteenth tee,
one of the ladies accidentally teed off the
ninth tee. Her partner suddenly realized the
mistake. Therefore, they decided to playoff
the eighteenth tee. The lady playing off the
ninth tee by accident decided to mark the
misplayed tee shot so she could play it when
she came around to play the second mne,
which she did.

Question by: AL MAUS
Los ALTOS, CAL.

A: The lady who played from the ninth.
tee instead of the eighteenth actually
played a ball from outside the teeing ground
in violation of Rule 13-2. Since the compe-
tition. was at stroke play, she was required
to count the stroke and then play from
wi thin the teeing ground. 'If she did not so
coun t the first stroke in her score for the
hoJe, at the time she reported her score, she
incurred a penalty of disqualification under
Rule 38-3, unless the committee modified
the penalty under Rule 36-5.
22

If she did count that stroke, she incurred
no other penalty there, but the definition of
a stipulated round (Definition 29) requires
that the eighteen holes be played in their
correc~ sequence and the use of the ball
played inadvertently from the ninth tee
when she came to that hole later would vio-
late Rule 7-2, and the player would have
no acceptable score.

The fact that the player marked and
lifted the ball played inadvertently from
the ninth tee is irrelevant in the circum-
stances.

Claim on Bye Holes
USGA 54-6
R. 3, 11-1

Q: Would you be kind enough to give
me a ruling on the following:

A has 16 clubs in his bag and wins a
match against B, 6 and 5. They played the
remaining five holes. On the sixteenth hole
B looked at A's bag and counted 16 clubs.
He claimed the match from A.

Question by: PAUL SCOTT
Los ANGELES, CAL.

A: Inasmuch as B did not enter a claim
before leaving the thirteenth green, as re-
quired by Rule 11-1, the match stands as
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played. A was the winner by a score of 
6 and 5. 

If a claim had been entered within the 
time limit, however, A would have been 
subject to disqualification for his violation 
of Rule 3. 

Caddie Picks Up Ball 

USGA 54-7 
R. 16, 36-7. 

Qt In the semi-final of the mixed four­
some tournament played with selected 
drives at the Dubsdread Country Club, 
Orlando, Florida, Clarence Doser and Mrs. 
Beverly Hanson Silvernail were playing 
George Bolesta and Mrs. Grace DeMoss 
Smith. The match was even on the 18th 
tee. 

Doser hit his tee shot into the trees on 
the left of the fairway. Mrs. Silvernail hit 
her ball to the right but apparently in a 
good spot. The two partners went to check 
Doser's ball before deciding which ball to 
play. After they decided to play Mrs. Sil-
vernail's ball, she picked up Doser's ball 
and they started back. Upon instructions 
from someone in the gallery the caddie 
picked up her ball, which he quickly 
dropped again in approximately its original 
position. 

The questions raised by this action were: 
1. Since the instructions to the caddie 

came from the gallery, could it be con­
sidered that the ball had been accidentally 
moved? Could it be played as it lay under 
penalty of one stroke under Rule 27-lc? 

2. Could the advice of the gallery be 
considered an outside agency and could the 
ball be dropped again and put in play under 
Rule 27-la? 

3. A local rule permitted lifting the ball 
anywhere on the course. Could it be con­
sidered that the ball was lifted under this 
local rule? 

The local committee's first decision was 
that, since the local rule permitted lifting a 
ball at any time, no penalty had been 
incurred. 

After a second conference and a 15-
minute delay the first decision was re­
affirmed. 

Then, as Doser was about to play his 
shot, an official announced that after an­
other conference the committee had de­
cided that the appropriate penalty was one 
stroke. 

At this point the hole was played, and 
both teams made birdies. The committee 
contacted a USGA official by telephone and 
the USGA official advised that under the 
Rules of Golf a penalty of loss of hole had 
been incurred by Doser and Mrs. Silver­
nail. They had therefore lost the match 
1 down. 

Would you please explain the basis for 
the decision by the USGA official? 

Also, in view of the several decisions 
rendered, when is a committee's decision 
final? 

Question by: CLARENCE J. DOSER 

BETHESDA, MD. 

A: The decision was made on the basis 
of Rule 16 of the Rules of Golf which 
provides in part: 

"A ball shall not be touched purposely 
and must be played as it lies except as 
otherwise provided for in the Rules or 
Local Rules . . . " 

Any local rule which permits a player 
to lift a ball anywhere on the course is in 
conflict with the Rules of Golf, and spe­
cifically with Rule 36-7, and cannot be 
interpreted by this Association. Rules 27-la 
and c do not apply. 

It would appear that the committee 
rendered three decisions before Doser 
played a stroke but that the case remained 
open until it was finally resolved by the 
committee after consultation with a rep­
resentative of this Association. Therefore 
we would not consider that any injustice 
was done by changing the decisions or that 
a "final" decisions had been altered. 

Spectator Plays Test Stroke 

USGA 54-8 
D. 2; R. 9-1, 11-1, 37-7 

Q t Loras College, of Dubuque, Iowa, 
was playing Loyola University. In a four-
ball match A had about a 40-yard ap­
proach shot to make and a member of his 
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USGA PUBLICATIONS 
OF GENERAL INTEREST 

THE RULES OF GOLF, as approved by the 
United States Golf Association and the 
Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. 
Andrews, Scotland, effective January I, 
1954. Booklet, 25 cents (special rates for 
quantity orders). Poster, 25 cents. 

ARE YOUR LOCAL RULES NECESSARY? a 
reprint of a USGA Journal article con­
taining recommendations regarding local 
rules. No charge. 

THE RULE ABOUT OBSTRUCTIONS, a re­
print of a USGA Journal article. No 
charge. 

USGA GOLF HANDICAP SYSTEM FOR 
MEN, containing recommendations for 
computing Basic and Current Handicaps 
and for rating courses. Booklet, 25 cents. 

THE CONDUCT OF WOMEN'S GOLF, con­
taining suggestions for guidance in the 
conduct of women's golf in clubs and 
associations, including tournament pro­
cedures, handicapping and course rating. 
25 cents. 

HANDICAPPING THE UNHANDICAPPED.^ a 
reprint of a USGA Journal article explain­
ing the Callaway System of automatic 
handicapping for occasional players in a 
single tournament. No charge. 

TOURNAMENTS FOR YOUR CLUB, a reprint 
of a USGA Journal article detailing vari­
ous types of competitions. No charge. 

PROTECTION OF PERSONS A G A I N S T 
LIGHTNING ON GOLF COURSES, a 
poster. No charge. 

MOTION PICTURES O N GOLF ( l is t ) . No 
charge. 

MOTION PICTURES RELATING TO GOLF 
COURSE MAINTENANCE (l ist) . No 

HOLE-IN-ONE AWARDS. No charge. 
AMATEURISM IS IN THE HEART, a reprint 

of a USGA Journal article by E. G. Grace. 
No charge. 

BETTER LAWNS TO COME, a reprint of a 
USGA Journal article. No charge. 

TURF MANAGEMENT, by H. B. Musser (Mc­
Graw-Hill Book Co., Inc.), the authorita­
tive book on greenkeeping. $7. 

USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAGE­
MENT, a 33-page magazine published 
seven times a year and containing authori­
tative information on the Rules of Golf, 
USGA championships, handicapping, ama­
teur status, greenkeeping methods, clubs 
and ball, new trends and the play of the 
game. $2 a year. 

These publications are available on request to the 
United States Golf Association, 40 East 38th Street, 
New York 16, N. Y. 

team who was not playing but just fol­
lowing the match took one of his clubs 
and a ball and, from within two feet of 
our opponent's ball, hit it to the green to 
test it in order to see if the green would 
hold a shot. It didn't hold the shot and 
consequently A played a pitch and run 
shot onto the green. My partner and I 
protested the hole, but our protest was 
overruled at the club house. 

I would appreciate it very much if I 
could have your ruling on the situation. 

Question by: T O M BRAAK 
LORAS COLLEGE 

DUBUQUE, IOWA 

A: It is assumed that A was aware of 
and took no action to stop the irregular 
procedure of the other person. On that 
basis, A must be considered a willing party 
to a violation of Rule 9-1 (see Definition 
2 ) . If a claim was properly made under 
Rule 11-1, A was disqualified for the hole. 
The penalty would not have applied to A's 
partner in the four-ball match (Rule 40-
3g). 

There is also the further question wheth­
er A delayed play under Rule 37-7. 

Commit fee May Reverse Decision 

USGA 54-9 
D. 4; R. 11-3, 34-3b 

Q l : Can a committee reverse its deci­
sion 24 hours after score is posted? 

A l : In stroke play committee may alter 
its decision if circumstances justify. 

Ball Strikes Flagstick 

Q2: Player in stroke play hits ball into 
hole while flagstick is in hole and attended. 
Ball stayed in hole. Does player take two-
stroke penalty? 

A 2 : Player incurs two-stroke penalty if 
ball strikes attended flagstick in stroke 
play. See Rule 34-3b. When flagstick is in 
hole, virtually impossible for ball to be 
holed without striking flagstick. See Defini­
tion 4. 

Questions by: W A Y N E CLARK 

EVANSVILLE, IND. 
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