
Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. "R & A " indicates decision by 
the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. " 5 4 - 1 " means the first decision issued in 1954. 

"R.37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1954 Rules of Golf. 

M o v a b l e Obstruction Defined 

USGA 53-55 
R. 31 

Q : A ball was hit from the seventeenth tee and 
hooked, landing in fairly heavy grass about midway 
between a tree and a ball washer at the eighteenth 
tee, the distance between the tree and the washer 
being about two feet. This washer is on a post 
like a fence post driven about two feet or more 
in the ground and with a piece of iron V shaped 
on the bottom to keep it solid. These washers are 
placed at every tee as a permanent fixture and have 
never been removed even during the winter. The 
player who made the shot insisted he had the right 
to move this washer and with the aid of caddies 
was able to pull it out of the ground, claiming 
that under the Rules it was a movable obstruction 
on the course. He was then able to make a clear 
shot to the green and tie the match, suffering no 
penalty for his bad tee shot. The matter was re­
ferred to the Golf Committee but they couldn't 
agree as to whether the washer was or was not 
a movable object but did agree that it had been 
put there as a permanent fixture. 

Question by: F R A N K H . REYNOLDS 

N E W YORK, N . Y. 

A : The ball washer which you described appears 
to be an immovable obstruction within the meaning 
of Rule 31. The player may have been entitled to 
relief under Rule 31-2, governing immovable ob­
structions, but he was not entitled to relief under 
Rule 31-1 , governing movable obstructions. 

A movable obstruction is one which may be 
moved only with reasonable effort, without unduly 
delaying play in violation of Rule 37-7 and with­

out permanently impairing proper course mainte­
nance. 

The penalty for a violation of Rule 31-1 is loss 
of hole in match play and two strokes in stroke 
play; in four-ball play the penalty would not ex­
tend to the player's partner (see Rules 40-3g and 
41-8) . 

-̂ . 
Claim Need Not Haft Play 

USGA 53-56 
R. 11-1 

Q : A and B are playing a match for which no 
referee was appointed. On one of the holes a dispute 
arises. A makes a claim before the players play from 
the next teeing ground, as required by Rule 11-1. 

X states that this procedure is in accordance 
with the Rules and that the matter may thereafter 
be referred to the tournament committee at an 
appropriate time. Y states that the dispute must 
be resolved on the spot, before the players play 
from the next teeing ground or, in the case of the 
18th green, before they leave that green. Which 
is correct? 

Question by: WILBUR F. W A R N E R 

SAN FRANCISCO, C A L . 

A : X is correct. 

Lifting Another's Ball 
USGA 53-57 
R. 23-1 

Q l : When on the putting green may a fellow-
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competitor in stroke play or an opponent in match 
play mark your ball after asking permission to do so? 

A l : Never; Rule 23-1 provides: 
"A ball to be lifted under the Rules or Local 

Rules shall be lifted by the player or his partner 
or either of their caddies." 

<J>2: If not permissible, which one incurs the 
penalty, if any, the owner of the ball or the per­
son who marks the ball? 

A 2 : The penalty is levied against the player 
responsible for the breach. 

In match play. If the owner consents to have 
his ball lifted by his opponent or his opponent's 
caddie, the owner loses the hole. If the opponent or 
the opponent's caddie lift the ball without permis­
sion of the owner, the opponent loses the hole (Rule 
27-2a is superseded by Rule 23-1 in this case). 

In stroke play: If the owner consents to have 
his ball lifted by a fellow-competitor or a fellow-
competitor's caddie, the owner is penalized two 
strokes. If a fellow-competitor or a fellow-com­
petitor's caddies lift another's ball without permis­
sion, there can be no penalty since they are outside 
agencies (Definition 22) and as such cannot be 
penalized. 

<J>3: Knowing that all rules have good intent, 
what is the purpose of this ruling? 

A 3 : The owner of a ball is generally responsible 
for it. The objects of Rule 23-1 are to preserve 
that responsibility, to prevent an opponent from 
taking advantage of the owner by improperly lift­
ing and marking his ball, and thus to promote fair 
and orderly play. 

Questions by: MRS. B. E. WOHLERS 

S A N DIEGO, CALIFORNIA 

• ^ . - ^ . - ^ . 

Borrowing Club In Four-Ball 
USGA S3-J9 
R. 3, 11-1, 40-3g, 41-7a 

Q: A and B are playing C and D in a four-
ball match. Neither C nor D possessed fourteen 
clubs. A and B noted that on the third green C 
borrowed D's putter to. putt. with. This appeared 
to be accidental and nothing was said. However, 
this occurred again on the fifth, seventh, eighth 
and ninth holes. Prior to teeing off on the tenth 
tee, A and B called it to the attention of C and D 
and requested the Rules Committee to make a 
decision on this violation of the Rules. 

The decision reached was that C is disqualified 
from further play. Also, since the violation was 
brought to the attention of C and D and the Rules 
Committee at the end of the ninth hole, that C 
and D should lose the ninth hole. Therefore, in­
stead of C and D being 3 up at the end of nine 
holes, they are now 2 up. D then went on to play 
A and B starting at the tenth hole. 

Were the two decisions reached by the Rules 
Committee correct, and under what specific Rules 
of Golf do these violations apply? 

Question by: ROBERT L. MORRIS 

PHILADELPHIA, P A . 

A: The Committee was' right in ruling that C 
had disqualified himself from further play. Rule 3 
was violated when C borrowed a club "from any 
other person playing on the course," and the penalty 
is disqualification. We would see no reason for the ' 
Committee to waive or to modify the penalty by 
invoking Rule 36-5 in these circumstances. 

The claim made by A and B pertained to the 
play o£ the ninth hole. C's score for the ninth hole 
could not be used by his side; however, D's score 
could be used (see Rules 11-1 and 40-3g). C's 
scores for holes prior to the ninth were not affected 
because A and B did not "enter a claim for any other 
hole within the time limit specified in Rule 11-1. 

With C disqualified after the ninth hole, it was 
proper for D to continue to play the" match alone 
against A and B. 

The foregoing is based on the understanding . 
that C's action in borrowing D's putter and D's 
action in lending the putter were taken in ignorance 
of Rule 3, that there was no agreement between 
C and D to waive Rule 3, and that there was no 
agreement between A-B and C-D to waive Rule 3. 
If it were otherwise, all parties to any such agree­
ment would be disqualified, under Rule 4. 

Had the competition been four-ball stroke play, 
C would have been disqualified as of the hole where 
he first violated Rule 3 , and D would have been 
obliged to represent the side alone from that point. 
See Rule 41-7a. 

-^. f?$. -^. 

Provisional Ball Strikes Original Ball 

USGA 53-60 
R. 11-4, 27-la, 30- ld 

Q: Provisional ball, which is not an outside • 
agency, is played and strikes own original ball: s. 

(a) In match play, does Rule 26-2a apply and 
player's side lose the hole? 

(b) In stroke play, does that competitor whose 
provisional ball strikes his own original ball 
incur two strokes penalty under Rule 26-3 a? 

Questions by: S. TAKAHATA, President 

H I R O N O GOLF CLUB, 

KOBE, J A P A N 

A: In equity, the original ball must be lifted 
and dropped, or on the putting green placed, as 
near as possible to the spot from which it was 
moved, without penalty. The principle of Rule • 
27-la governs. 
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Although Rule 30-Id provides that "A provi­
sional ball is never an outside agency," it was not 
meant to- force the imposition of artificial and 
unfair penalties in freak cases such as those above. 
The principle of equity should underlie all deci­
sions—see Rule 11-4. 

A provisional ball has a special status. A provi­
sional ball is customarily played only when the 
original ball may be in difficulty, the degree of 
which difficulty cannot usually be assessed at the 
time the provisional ball is played. I t is not per­
missible to lift the original ball while the provisional 
ball is being played, nor would it be feasible to do 
so. Thus, whenever a provisional ball is played, the 
player runs some risk of having that ball strike 
the original ball. T o force him into a penalty in 
such circumstances would be unfair. 

The term "other equipment" in Rule 26-2a and 
2 6-3 a was not meant to cover a ball. This is indi­
cated in Rule 26-3b, where the term "ball or other 
equipment" is .used. Compare also Rule 27-2a with 
27-2b. 

This supersedes USGA 52-70 and 52-82 (Q 
and A 2 ) . 

Rule 40-1 b Has Precedence 
Over Rule 40-ld 

USGA 53-63 
R. 40-lb, d 

9 : 1 would like a ruling as to which section 
of Rule 40-1 has precedence, b or d. 

An example: three people are on the green and 
the person whose ball is farthest from the hole 
putts , leaving himself a four foot pu t t . H e then 
wants to complete his putting even though the 
other two balls are now farther from the hole. He 
says he can put t , citing Rule 40- lb . The opponents 
say "no , " citing Rule 40-Id . 

Question by: J O H N H . F R E N C H , J R . 

N E W Y O R K , N . Y. 

A : Rule 4 0 - l b , when properly invoked, takes 
precedence over Rule 40 - ld . 

In the case you cite, the player whose ball was 
nearest the hole would have to show that it might 
be of assistance to another player or side in order 
to exercise the privilege of playing out of turn 
without breaching Rule 40- ld . 

Provisional Ball on Every Hole 

USGA 53-65 
R. 8, 29-2 (note) , 30-1 , 2 , 3, 4 , 37-7 

Q l : The Rules are specific in stating, "The play­
er is not obliged to state the reason for which he 
plays a provisional ball" and also, " T h e player is 

the sole judge as to when his ball is unplayable, 
e tc ." This is a note under Rule 29-2. 

(a) Wha t is there to prevent a player from play­
ing a provisional ball on every par 3 hole? 

(b) If he is in a trap and happens to hole out 
his provisional ball for a . 3 , I s'ee nothing in 
the rule that prevents him from declaring 
the first ball unplayable. Or if he is close up 
to the hole on his provisional ball for a sure 
4 , and if his first ball is by a tree where he 
must play the ball sideways before hit t ing 
it on the green, he may again find it best 
to declare his first ball unplayable. I don' t 
think this is fair but I don't see why he 
could not legally do so. 

A l : (a) The Rules of Golf are framed on the 
assumption that golfers play honestly. Per­
mission to play a provisional ball is granted 
by Rule 30-1 only on the following condi­
tions: first, when a ball may be lost, out 
of bounds, unplayable, or in a water hazard 
or lateral water hazard, and, secondly, for 
the sole purpose of saving time. 

If there is no reasonable possibility that the 
ball may be in any one of the above condi­
tions, the player has no right to play a 
provisional ball, and if he does so he violates 
Rule 30-1, penalty for which is loss of hole 
in match play or two trokes in stroke play. 
See also Rule 8, which prohibits a practice 
stroke during the play of a hole, and Rule 
37-7, dealing with delay in play. 

(b) In the two situations described, if the 
player had the right to play a provisional 
ball, he was entitled to elect whether to 
play out the hole with the original ball or 
the provisional ball, as provided for in Rule 
30-2. 

Provisional Boll Covers All Contingencies 
<J>2: Can a player hit a provisional off a tee and 

declare that he is playing it only to cover a lost, 
out of bounds, or unplayable ball but wants to 
reserve the right to drop the ball as under Rule 33? 
The only reason he is hit t ing a provisional is to 
save time, and the water hazard or ditch is not 
visible from the tee. He does not want to have 
to walk up there and back to the tee again but 
does not want to give up the right to drop out 
of the water hazard and play 3. On the provisional 
ball he would have played 3 off the tee, so would 
be playing 4 in about a comparable position. 

A 2 : No . When a player plays a provisional ball 
under 30 -1 , it must be provisional for all. of the 
possibilities stated in the Rule. The Rule does not 
provide for a player to select certain possibilities 
and exclude others. Attention is called to sections 
3 and 4 of Rule 30. 

Questions by: B E N J A M I N F. JAQOES 

BOSTON, MASS. 
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"Normal Coarse of Play" Defined 
USGA 54-1 
R. 3, 11-3 

<?: At the Los Angeles Open two questions arose, 
and although they were answered by members of the 
tournament committee, I have been asked to secure 
your interpretation and advice for future eventu­
alities. . 

During the first eighteen holes one professional 
broke the shaft of his putter while going uphill 
from one green to the next tee, using the putter 
carelessly and informally as a cane. The contestant, 
seeing a spectator carrying a similar putter, asked 
if he could use it. They traded putters and the 
player carried on. 

As he passed the- ninth hole he contacted a mem­
ber of the tournament Rules committee, who on 
hearing of the accidental breaking approved of the 
player's borrowing the other putter and authorized 
the player to continue play. 

Two hours late the player posted his eighteen-
hole score. Shortly thereafter a ruling was made by 
a PGA traveling official to the effect that the player 
had disqualified himself by using fifteen clubs in 
the round; he claimed the replacement was illegal 
due to the fact that the original putter had not 
been broken in the course of play. 

Was the player in violation of the Rules of Golf 
in replacing a broken club under the conditions 
listed above? y 

Was the PGA representative in error in over­
ruling the decision made by a badged official mem­
ber of the tournament Rules Committee? 

Question by: HARRY WINTERS, 

INGLEWOOD, CAL. 

A : Assuming that the competitor started with 
fourteen clubs, he breached Rule 3 in replacing his 
putter if it had not become unfit for play in the 
normal course of play. 

The question of what constitutes "normal course 
of play" is a matter for the committee in charge 
of the competition to determine. There are' other 
uses to which a club may be normally put during 
the course of a round aside from striking the golf 
ball. If the circumstances attending the breaking 
of the club clearly indicate that the act was acci­
dental and inadvertent, the committee would be 
justified in permitting the club to be replaced. 
However, if there be any suggestion that the act 
was willful or intentional, it could not be con­
strued that the breaking occurred during the nor­
mal course oi play without opening the door to 
evasion of the Rule. In other words, it is not 
"normal" for a player to break a club in a fit of 
temper, in order to dispose of it'or by subjecting it 
to a strain which obviously may result in breaking 
it. 

Rule 11-3 provides that a Committee's decision 
is final in such matters. We are not familiar with 
the administrative organization responsible for the 
conduct of this tournament and therefore cannot 
say whether the individual who made the decision 

at the ninth hole or the PGA representative prop­
erly represented the "Committee." 

-??. - ^ . "^ . 

Ball Unfit for Play 
USGA 54-2 
R. 28 

Q: How does one determine that a ball be so 
damaged as to be unfit for play? 

Question by: RUSSELL N . SHERBA 

CANONSBURG, PA. . 

A : A ball may be properly held unfit for play 
under Rule 28 if, for • example, it becomes cut, 
loses its shape, or generally becomes .cracked, split, 
pierced, or -marred to such a degree as to interfere 
with its true flight or true roll or its normal be­
havior when struck. 

Rule 28 requires that, in the absence of a ref­
eree, the player shall inform his opponent or fellow-
competitor of his intention to replace it. If the 
opponent or fellow-competitor disagree as to the 
condition of the ball, the procedure is as stipulated 
in Rule II. 

A violation of the Rule—i.e., changing a ball 
fit for play for another ball—entails a penalty of 
loss of the hole in match play and of two strokes 
in -stroke competition. No player may be the sole 
ultimate arbiter of whether or not he has incurred 
a penalty. 

- ^ . - T ^ . - ^ . 

Provisional Ball Retired From Play 
Prematurely 

USGA 54-3 
R. 30-2,4 

<J>: In a four-ball match the player's drive went 
in a direction where it might be lost or unplayable. 
He played a provisional ball. He then found what 
he assumed was his ball in a bunker and played it 
to the green. Another of the four players then 
picked up the provisional ball with, of course, 
the approval of the player. Arriving at the green, : 
he found the ball he had played to the green was 

. not his. He then found his own ball in the bunker 
but in an unplayable lie. What could he do? 

Question by: N O R M A N B. BEECHER, 

CLEARWATER, FLA. 

A: Rules 30-2 and 30-4 govern. When the player 
picked up his provisional ball and retired it from 
play, he was electing to play his original ball under 
Rule 30-2. The fact that he made the election pre­
maturely is irrelevant to the Rules and involved 
a risk which he could have avoided by not touch­
ing the provisional ball until he had identified his 
original beyond doubt. Once he retired the provi­
sional ball from play and subsequently found the 
original unplayable, he was precluded by Rule 
30-4 from obtaining relief under Rule 29-2. If 
the original was in fact unplayable, he could only 
give up the hole in match play or put the provi­
sional ball back into play as provided in Rule 23-4 
in stroke play. 

24 USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAGEMENT! JUNE, 1954 


