THE BOUNDARY THAT | .
WASN'T THERE

uPPOSE YOU are the USGA Amateur
Champion.

Suppose, in the defense of your Cham-
pionship, you find yourself matched in the
first round against a tenacious opponent
who has you all square after 36 holes, and
again after 37 holes, and still square after
38 holes.

You go to the 39th. And there you win
the match without hitting a single stroke.

No, your opponent does not expire. He
is just so keen and so eager that he over-
looks some points in the Rules and the
customs of the game.

All this actually happened back in 1920.
It was at the Engineers’” Country Club,
Roslyn, N. Y. The defending Champion
was S. Davidson Herron, of Pittsburgh,
who the year before had defeated Robert T.
Jones, Jr., in the final over Herron’s home
course, the Oakmont Country Club course.

Now, at Engineers, Herron is bracketed
in the first round of match play against
young Peter Harmon, of the Scottish-
American Golf Club, Van Cortlandt Park,
New York City. The first round then was
at 36 holes.

They have come to the third extra hole.
The hole is a dog-leg to the left.

Harmon has the honor. He drives deep
into woods at the angle of the hole.

Thinking the ball is out of bounds, he
immediately stoops down, tees up another
ball and drives it also far into the angle.

Again he tees a ball, the third one, and
again he drives into the woods.

That is enough for Mr. Harmon. He
extends his hand in congratulation to Mr.
Herron, and the match is over.

Mr. Herron has not played a stroke.

The next morning Harmon goes search-
ing for the three balls he struck off the
39th tee.

USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAGEMENT: JUNE, 1954

JOSEPH C. DEY, Jr.
USGA

Executive Director

S. DAVIDSON HERRON
in 1919

He finds all three—and they are all

in bounds.

The Rule today, and the custom then,

provides:

“If a player has to play a second ball
from the tee, he shall do so after the
opponent or fellow-competitor has
played his first stroke.” (Rule 12-3)

Harmon might have (a) stepped aside

after his first tee shot and allowed Herron
to play, or (b) ascertained the location of
his first ball or his second ball before pro-
ceeding further.

Had Harmon done either, they might be

playing yet.

Herron’s many friends in golf will be

pleased to know that he is well along the
road to full recovery from illness last year.



