USGA Nominees for 1954

The USGA Nominating Committee has presented its nominations for the officers and members of the Executive Committee for 1954. If the nominees are elected at the 60th Annual Meeting in the Vanderbilt Hotel, New York, N. Y., at noon on January 23, Isaac B. Grainger, of New York, N. Y., will succeed Totton P. Heffelfinger, of Minneapolis, Minn., as President.

Mr. Grainger is now a Vice-President and Chairman of the Rules of Golf Committee. He has been a member of the Executive Committee since 1945, was Secretary from 1946 through 1949 and has been a Vice-President since 1950.

Mr. Grainger was President of the Metropolitan (New York) Golf Association from 1943 through 1945.

John D. Ames, of Chicago, Ill., who has been Secretary since 1952 was nominated to be a Vice-President, and Richard S. Tufts, of Pinehurst, N. C., was renominated for a third term as a Vice-President. The USGA has two Vice-Presidents and the listing by custom is alphabetical.

The nominee for Secretary is Charles B. Grace, of Philadelphia, Pa., who has been a member of the Executive Committee since 1949 and who is Chairman of the Amateur Status and Conduct Committee and of the Implements and Ball Committee.

Charles L. Peirson, of Boston, Mass., has been renominated for a second term as Treasurer.

Three new members were nominated for the Executive Committee: Thomas H. Choate, of New York, N. Y., Gordon E. Kummer, of Milwaukee, Wis., and F. Warren Munro, of Portland, Ore.

They would replace Mr. Heffelfinger, who is retiring after the customary two terms as President; and Lewis A. Lapham, of New York, N. Y., and Corydon Wagner, of Tacoma, Wash., each of whom has requested to be relieved because of the pressure of business.

Other members of the Executive Com-



Isaac B. Grainger

mittee were renominated.

Fraser M. Horn, of New York, N. Y., was nominated for a fifth term as General Counsel.

The Nominating Committee is a separate entity from the Executive Committee and its Chairman is James D. Standish, Jr., of Detroit, Mich. The other members are: Jerome P. Bowes, Jr., of Chicago, Ill.; W. Hamilton Gardner, of Buffalo, N. Y.; Gerald H. Phipps, of Denver, Colo., and William McWane, of Birmingham, Ala. They also nominated a 1955 Nominating Committee to consist of George W. Blossom, Jr., of Chicago, Ill., Chairman; C. W. Benedict, of White Plains, N. Y.; Robert W. Goldwater, of Phoenix, Ariz.; Richmond Gray, of Richmond, Va., and Hal A. White, of Detroit, Mich.