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REFEREE 

Decisions by the 

Rules of Golf Committees 

Example of symbols: "USGA" indicates decision by the United States Golf Association. 
"R & A" indicates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. 
"53-1" means the first decision issued in 1953. "R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37 

in the 1953 Rules of Golf. 

Croquet Stroke Approved 
USGA 52-94 
R. 2-2; 19-1 

Q: Is it permissible, according to the 
Rules of Golf: 

1. To use a putter so constructed that 
the shaft is mounted in a fixed position in 
the center of the head and at a 90 degree 
angle in any direction to the upper surface 
of the head? 

2 . To address the ball on the putting 
green in such a manner that the player faces 
the hole with ball resting between his feet 
and in the process of making the stroke 
swings putter head between legs? 

Question by: REV. HOWARD G. WELCH 
BRIMFIELD, ILLINOIS 

A 1: Yes. Rule 2-2b permits the shaft of 
a putter to be fixed at any point in the head 
and does not restrict the angle at which it 
is fixed. The putter, of course, must be of 
traditional form and make and must con­
form to all requirements of Rule 2-2, such 
as those governing the shape of the head. 

2. Yes, provided the ball is fairly struck 
at with the head of the club in accordance 
with Rule 19-1 and not pushed, scraped or 
spooned. The Rules do not restrict a player's 
stance. 

Ball Dropped Nearer Hole 

USGA 52-95 
Def. 29; R. 1, 7-2, 33-3b 

Q 1: In stroke play, a ball comes to 
rest slightly nearer the hole after being 

dropped outside a lateral water hazard in 
accordance with Rule 33-3b. The player 
plays the ball where it comes to rest. Is the 
player penalized two strokes for violating 
Rule 33 or is he disqualified for failing to 
play the stipulated round? 

A 1: Two strokes for violating Rule 33. 
Q 2: In stroke play, after a ball has 

been lost in a lateral water hazard, the 
player purposely drops another ball 50 
yards nearer the hole than Rule 33-3b per­
mits, and plays it there. Is he penalized 
two strokes for violating Rule 33 or is he 
disqualified to play the stipulated round? 

A 2: The player has not played the ball 
from the teeing ground into the hole by 
successive strokes, as required by Rule 1. 
He therefore has not played the stipulated 
round—see Definition 29 and Rule 7-2— 
and so he has no score which can be ac­
cepted. 

Ball Putted From Wrong Location 

USGA 52-97 
D. 22; R. 22-2, 23-1 27-3 

Q: In a medal tournament player A 
marked the ball of player B with a coin 
on the green. Player B subsequently played 
his ball from the wrong location on the 
green where it had been placed by A. 
After B had holed out in two strokes, an 
other player pointed out that B had put­
ted from the wrong location. B then re­
placed his ball at the proper location and 
played the hole out. 
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Did B incur any penalty for putting from 
the wrong place? If he does incur a pen­
alty, how many strokes should he be pen­
alized? 

Question by: DEAN E. SCHMIDT 
VIRGINIA BEACH, VA. 

A: If B knew that A had moved his ball, 
the score made when the ball was played 
from the wrong location would stand; and 
B was penalized two strokes for failing to 
comply with Rule 27-3, which required him 
to replace the ball when moved by a fellow-
competitor. (See also Rule 22-2.) 

If B did not know that A had moved his 
ball until after the ball had been played, 
B could not be penalized for playing the 
ball from the wrong location. If he were 
correctly informed before striking off from 
the next tee, he would be obliged to re­
place the ball in the correct location, with­
out penalty; however, if he learned of the 
mistake after playing from the next tee the 
score with the ball played from the wrong 
location must stand, and there would be no 
penalty. 

Rule 23-1 requires that a ball must be 
lifted by the player, his partner or either of 
their caddies. A was an outside agency— 
see Definition 22—so he cannot be penalized 
under Rule 23-1 for lifting B's ball. See 
Rule 27-3. 

Ball Found Within Five Mnules 
After Another Ball Had Been Played 

USGA 52-100 
D. 6; R. 21-2, 3, 29-1 

Q: A's tee shot was hit toward a ditch 
crossing the fairway. A and B and both cad­
dies thought the ball went into the ditch. 
After an unfruitful search in the ditch, A 
dropped a ball back of the ditch (Rule 
33-2a) and played it. After crossing the 
water hazard, the first ball was spied in the 
rough. Please tell us how the above situa­
tion should be treated in match play 
and stroke competition with a short search 
for ball in ditch and with a five minute 
search for ball in ditch. 

Question by: MRS. FRANK D. BISBEE 

JACKSONVILLE, FLA. 

A: A played a wrong ball when he drop­
ped and played a ball under the water 
hazard Rule (33-2a); it was not properly 
substituted for the player's original ball 
under the Rules. 

The penalty in match play is loss of 
hole. See Rule 21-2. 

In stroke play: 
(a) ' I f the player's side searched for the 

original ball for less than five minutes, the 
penalty was two strokes, and the player was 
obliged to resume play with his original 
ball—see Rule 21-3. 

(b) If the player's side searched for the 
original ball for five minutes or more, *7 
became a lost ball see Definition 6.) For 
playing the wrong ball (the ball improperly 
dropped), the player sustained a two-stroke 
penalty, and was obliged to proceeed under 
Rule 29-1 with the additional penalty pre­
scribed therein. 

A "Hit" and A "Push" 
USGA 52-101 
R. 19-1 

Q: Rule 19-1 provides for the method of 
using the club, without regard to the form 
of the club, as I understand it. 

Am I correct in assuming that if the ball 
is "pushed" the face of the club must be 
in contact with the ball before the ball is 
moved by the club, and so there is no back-
swing or hit? Thus, if there is space be­
tween the face of the club and the ball 
through which the club must move to strike 
the ball, it is not a push but a hit. In an 
extreme case, if a ball lies close to an im­
movable obstacle, but there is room behind 
the ball to insert an iron club or a putter, 
perhaps, leaving a space of half an inch 
between the ball and the face of the club, 
the ball could be hit and not pushed and 
the rule not violated. 

Question by: DEAN 0 . M. LELAND 
MINNEAPOLIS 14, MINN. 

A: Your understanding is right. 

Where Ball May Be Dropped 
When Deemed Unplayable 

USGA 52-102 
D. 34; R. 29-2b 

Q: A ball is played from the tee and 
hooks into an out-jutting rough about 10 
feet from the fairway. The ball is lodged 
under the root of a tree and is declared un­
playable by the player. Assuming the player 
does not elect to return to the tee, where 
is the proper place to drop the ball for the 
next shot: 

(a) On the fairway (about 10 feet away 
to the side) ? 

(b) In the rough (as close as possible to 
the spot from which the ball was lifted) ? 

(c) Back 20 yards, which would again 
put the ball into the fairway? 
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Are there any conditions under which a 
ball, having been declared unplayable 
while in the rough or in a hazard, may be 
dropped in the fairway at any point between 
the point from which it was originally 
played and a point from which it was lifted 
after having been declared unplayable? 

Question by: B. J. WAGNER 
MIAMI, FLA. 

A: Rule 29-2 governs when a ball is 
deemed unplayable, and option b of that 
Rule permits a player to "Drop and play 
a ball under penalty of two strokes, keep­
ing the point from which the ball was lifted 
between himself and the hole; if this be im­
possible, he shall drop and play a ball under 
penalty of two strokes as near as possible 
to the spot from which the ball was lifted 
but not nearer the hole." 

Thus the player must, whenever possible, 
drop and play his ball behind the point 
from which it was lifted, keeping that 
point between himself and the hole. There 
is no limitation on how far back he may 
drop and play his ball; he may go back 
along this line 20 yards or as far as he 
desires. The Rules make no distinction be­
tween "fairway" and "rough"; both are 
'through the green" (Definition 34). There­
fore, whether the player drops and plays 
his ball in fairway or rough is irrelevant, 
as long as he proceeds in accordance with 
the provisions of Rule 29-2b. 

If, from the standpoint of golfing reason 
and fair play, it is impossible to drop and 
play a ball so that the point from which 
the ball was lifted remains between the 
player and the hole, the .player must drop 
and play his ball as near as possible to the 
spot from which it was lifted, not nearer 
the hole. "As near as possible" is an ex­
plicit term. This normally would preclude 
him from dropping and playing his ball 
as much as 10 feet away from the spot 
where it was deemed unplayable, although 
the question of fairway or rough again 
would be irrelevant. 

Ball Strikes Flagstick 

R & A 53-11 
R. 26-3a; 34-2d 

Q: A member playing in a medal com­
petition sent his caddie to the pin when 
taking a long putt. The ball was on the 
line but when the caddie removed the pin, 
the top half came away in his hand, leav­

ing the spike portion still in the hole. The 
ball struck this, and the player incurred a 
penalty of two strokes. 

It has, however, been suggested that there 
should be no penalty, as both player and 
caddie had done all that could be expected 
of them, and the mishap was really due to 
a greenkeeper's fault. 

Question by: LICHTCLIFFE GOLF CLUB 
LlCHTCLlFFE, YORKSHIRE 

A: The player was rightly penalized two 
strokes. The fact that the spike portion re­
mained in the hole when the caddie re­
moved the flagstick does not affect Rules 
26-3a and 34-2d. 

Player May Enter Clubhouse 

R & A 53-13 
R. 3 ; 37-7 

Q: Our course has four greens adjacent 
to the clubhouse. Is a player permitted, on 
arrival at any one of these greens, to enter 
the clubhouse (a) for the purpose of col­
lecting a club, (b) to collect extra clothing. 

Question by: 
WHITCHURCH (CARDIFF) GOLF CLUB 
WHITCHURCH, GLAMORGANSHIRE 

A: A player may collect a club or cloth­
ing from the clubhouse, provided he does 
not delay play; see Rules 3 and 37-7. 

Testing Sand in Bunker 
R & A 53-14 
R. 33-1 

Q: During a medal round, A played his 
ball into a bunker. A entered the bunker to 
play his next stroke, and from a position 
nowhere near his ball displaced the sand 
with the toe of his shoe. He was not tak­
ing a stance. 

B pointed out to A that he did not think 
displacing the sand with his shoe was al­
lowed and A admitted that he had tested 
the sand for playing conditions. 

On completion of the round, B reported 
the incident to the Secretary. 

A decision is requested as to whether A 
incurred a penalty, and if so what is the 
penalty and Rule. 

Question by: LANCLEY PARK GOLF CLUB 
BECKENHAM, KENT 

A: As player A admitted that he in fact 
tested the sand for playing cnoditions, he 
should be penalized two strokes for a breach 
of Rule 33-1. 


