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THE REFEREE

Decisions by the USGA and the R. and A. Rules of Golf Committees

Example of symbols: “USGA” indicates decision by the United States Golf Association.
“R & A” indicates decision by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland.

“53-1" means the first decision issued in 1953.

“R. 37-7" refers to Section 7 of Rule 37

in the 1953 Rules of Golf.

Medalist Defaults First Maich
USGA 52-68
R. 36-1.

: A woman played in the qualifying
round. She had no intention ef continuing
to play her matches in the tournament. She
tied for medalist honors and won the medal
on the basis of low handicap. She was not
seeded and did not play in the tournament
other than in the qualifying round. Is she
entitled to the medal?

Question by: Mgs. LAureNce' Harris
Burraro, N. Y.

A: The question is one for the committee
to decide; see Rule 36-1. A player who
does not continue in the match play rounds
of a tournament may be obliged, at the
discretion of the committee, to forfeit any
prize won in the qualifying round.

Provisional Ball Knocks
Original Ball Out of Bounds
USGA 52-70
R. 27-1c, 29-1, 30-1d

Q: A player’s drive from No. 10 tee of
the East Lake Country Club, Atlanta, Ga.,
was thought by the player to be out of
bounds. He then played another ball pro-
visionally from the tee. It was determined
by the players in front of the match that
the player’s original ball came to rest in
bounds and that the provisional ball struck
and knocked the original ball out of bounds.
The provisional ball came to rest in bounds.

What would be your ruling in this case
in the event the player’s provisional ball
struck the original ball and knocked the
original ball in the hole being played?

Question by: Kerth Conway
ATLANTA, GA.

A: (a) A provisional ball played under
Rule 30 is an agency of the player or side
and the player is responsible for it; it is
never an outside agency; see Rule 30-1d.
Therefore, assuming there was completely
clear evidence in the case you cite, the orig-
inal ball is considered to have been moved
accidentally by the player and Rule 27-lc
governs, The player incurred a penalty of

one stroke against his original ball, and the
original ball was out of bounds, lying 2 at
that point.

As the original ball actually lay in bounds
when the player played the provisional ball,
the provisional ball could not be continued
in play on the basis that it was provisional
for a ball out of bounds. The original-ball
thus was in play (see Definition 5) until it
was accidentally moved out of bounds. The
player therefore was required to drop an-
other ball as nearly as possible at the spot
where the original ball lay before it was
moved out of bounds, under an additional
penalty of one stroke; see Rule 29-la. His
next stroke with that ball would be his
fourth. The ball hit provisionally had to
be retired from play.

(b) 1f the player’s provisional ball
knocked his original ball into the hole, the
same basic principles would apply. The
player would incur a penalty of one stroke
against his original ball (Rule 27-1c), the
ball would be considered holed and his
score for the hole would be 2.

Ownership of Ball in Dispute

USGA 52-71
R. 114, 21

Q: In match play, tee shots are hit over
a hill and cannot be seen from the tee. A
pushed his tee shot to what he deemed to
be the right side of the fairway. B hit a
similar shot but elected to play a pro-
visional ball in case the first shot was out
of bounds. Arriving at the place where it
was assumed would be three balls. only one
could be found and it was in the fairway.

A maintained that the found ball was the
one he had hit from the tee. B maintained
that it was the first ball he had hit from the:
tee. Neither player had his ball marked
for identification and neither had declared
to his opponent the kind or number of the
ball in play.

There being no referee, gallery or cad-
dies, it was decided to have the plavers.
return to the tee and replay the hole. I
should like to know if the decision was:
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correct and what the ruling would be if
a like situation were to arise in a medal-
play round.
Question by: HaroLp A. Dawson
Los AnceLks, CAL.

A: As there was no way to determine
which player owned the ball which was
found, the decision was appropriate in the
light of the rule of equity (Rule 11-4) for
either match or stroke play.

Attention is invited, however, to the
note which precedes Rule 21 and which
states in part: “Each player should put an
identification mark on his ball.”

Handicaps in Extended Competitions
USGA 52.72
R. 36-1

Q: In a ladies’ handicap tournament in
which 32 have qualified on the basis of
their current handicaps at the begiuning of
the qualifying round and whose pairingg for
match play over a period of four or five
weeks have been drawn in accordance with
their stroke play round, should the entire
tournament be played with each competitor
using the same handicap that had been
used in qualifying or, as this competition
is over a four or five weeks period, should
the surviving player use her then current
handicap (assuming her handicap may have
changed since playing the qualifying round)
in effect at the time of each round of match
play?

Question by: Mrs. Anira Mogris
RockviLLe Centre, N. Y.

A: The matter is one for the committee
in charge to determine and publish prior
to the competition. Rule 36-1 provides in
part: “The Committee shall lay down the
conditions under which a competition is
to be played.”

Generally, a handicap should not be
changed during the progress of a competi-
tion unless the competition extends over a
considerable period and the rules provide
for an adjustment of handicaps during the
period.

Original Ball Found Outside Hazard
After Second Ball Played
USGA 52-79
D. 5; R. 21-3, 33-2a, 33-4 Note 1
Q1: A player’s ball in stroke competition
is believed to have come to rest in a water
hazard. The player drops another ball
behind the hazard in a manner which he
believes to accord with Rule 33-2a, and he
plays the ball toward the green.
He then finds his original ball outsile
the water hazard.

It was ruled that he had to abandon his
second ball and resume play with the first
ball, as the first ball was the ball in play
under Definition 5; further, he was pena-
lized two strokes under Rule 21-3 for play-
ing a wrong ball (his second ball which he
dropped behind the water hazard). Was
the decision right?

Al: Yes. Rule 21-3 covers the case. See
also Note 1 to Rule 33-4.

Commitiee May Remove Water
during Stroke Play

Q2: A hole was covered by water during
a deluge in a stroke competition. The
committee temporarily suspended play and
mopped and otherwise removed most of
the water, in order to avoid calling the
course unplayable.

Was the committee within its rights in
artificially removing the water from the
putting green? . .

A2: Yes. It is a responsibility of a com-
mittee to try to have a course maintained
in the best possible enndition.

Questions by: HarvEy RaynoR
ProFEss1oNAL GOLFERs’
AssoCIATION
CHicaco. ILL.

Lost Club May Not Be Replaced
USGA 52-83
R. 3-b
Q: A player lost his putter during the
first nine holes of a competition; he had
started with 14 clubs. After playing nine
holes, he inquired whether he might obtain
another putter, on the theory that the
complete disappearance of the club con-
stituted unfitness for play within the mean-
ing of Rule 3-b.
Question by: NormaN B. BEECHER
CLEARWATER, FLA.
A: Loss of a club does not constitute
unfitness for play. Loss does not occur in
the normal course of play. To permit re-

placement would open the door to deliberate
“loss.”

Agreement to Waive Rule?
R & A 52-83
R. 4, 31-1
Q: A’s ball lay in a ditch. There were
loose twigs near the ball. A began to
remove the twigs. B remarked, “That is
not allowed, but I do not mind.” The
question asked was:
(1) Is A disqualified for breach of
Rule 33-1?
(2) Is B disqualified for breach of
Rule 47
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If this incident had taken place in the
final, what would have been the correct
procedure for the Committee to have taken?

A: Under Definition 14b the ditch is a
water hazard. Rule 33-1 states “When a
ball lies in or touches a hazard or a water
hazard, nothing shall be done which may
in any way improve its lie . . .”

If B informed A that it was not allowed,
without suggesting that the penalty be
waived, A would lose the hole. If B in-
formed A that it was not allowed and both
agree to waive the penalty and continue
the play of that hole, both are disqualified
under Rule 4.

If both finalists are disqualified, the
tournament must conclude without there
being an outright winner.

Question by: James H. Dobpp
DjursHOoLMS GOLFKLUBB
SWEDEN

Competitor May Discontinue
Play on Single Hole

R & A 5293
R. 376
Q: A four-ball, better-ball competition,
stroke play: At one hole A picks up after
playing several strokes in the rough. Having
abandoned play for that hole, he takes
shelter under a bush from heavy rain while
his partner plays out the hole.
Is A subject to disqualification for dis-
continuing play, at that hole only?
CROWBOROUGH BEACON
Gorr CLus
CROWBOROUGH, SUSSEX
A: A is not subject to disqualification
under Rule 37-6 in the circumstances as
stated by you.

Player Penalized for Using
Prop to Prevent Ball Moving
R & A 5296
R. 16
Q: A player’s ball is lying in rough
pine needles with twigs over the ball.
These twigs are loose and if moved might
cause the ball to move. The player, there-
fore, gets three or four fir cones and puts
them at the back of the ball to stop it in
case it moves. He then removes the twigs.
He then moves what fir cones he can with-
out the ball moving and plays his shot.
Is this permissible, and if not what is
the penalty, and under what Rule does it
come?
AppineTon Gorr Crus
ADDINGTON, SURREY

A: Dead pine needles and twigs are
loose impediments and may be removed
without penalty provided the ball is not
moved. There is a penalty, under Rule
16, if a ball is touched purposely and not
played as it lies, except as provided for
in the Rules. The player suffered a penalty
of two strokes under Rule 16 for touching
his ball purposely with the fir cones.
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