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THE REFEREE 
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee 

\ Example of symbols: "No. 52-1" means the first decision issued in 1951. "R. 37-7" means 
Section 7 of Rule 37 in the 1952 Rules o. GoL. 

Practice after Holing Out 
No. 52-1. R.8, 37-7 

Q: Please wire if player may practice putts 
after holing out, also if permissible practice 
chips around tee and away from any hole. 
Question by: HORTON SMITH, PRESIDENT 

PROFESSIONAL GOLFERS' ASS'N. 
OF AMERICA 
SANTA MONICA, CAL. 

A: Between play of two holes practice putts 
and chip shots around tee are not prohibited 
by Rule 8, which deals with practice during 
play of hole. However, such practice might 
constitute delay in play under Rule 37-7. 

Boundary Marker: No Relief 
No. 52-2. D.20 

Q: Am I to understand that, following Defini­
tion 20 regarding obstructions, should a ball 
come to rest on the playing grounds near a 
boundary stake, one is not allowed to remove 
the stake to make his shot? 

Question by: JAMES FRASER 
WILMINGTON, DEL. 

A: Your understanding is right. 

Placing Clubs in Hazard 
No. 52-3. R.33-1, If. 

Q: This refers to the Rules of Golf, 1952. 
Rule 33-1. Page 37: "Before making a stroke, 

the player shall not touch the ground or the 
water with a club or otherwise," etc. 

Rule 33-lf. Page 38: "The player may, without 
penalty, place his clubs in the hazard prior to 
making a stroke, provided nothing is done which 
may improve the lie," etc. 

Will you please explain? 
Question by: JAMES D. DYER 

PITTSRURCH, P A . 
A: Clause f -in Rule 33-1 is for the practical 

purpose of permitting one's clubs to lie in a 
hazard without penalty while the player is 
making his stroke. It is a matter of convenience 
and time-saving, especially when the player is 
carrying his own clubs and the hazard is large 
or awkward to enter and leave. 

Clause f in no way abrogates the fundamental 
principle of Rule 33-1 that the lie of a ball in 
a hazard may not be improved, and that the 
player may not touch the hazard with anything 
which could conceivably affect his lie or could 
be used to test the hazard's condition. 

Lateral Water Hazard: Where to Drop 
No. 52-5. R.33-3b 

Q: Your attention is directed to Rule 33-3b: 
"Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the 

margin of either side of the lateral water hazard, 
opposite the point where the ball last crossed 

the hazard margin." 
Has the player the option of dropping the 

ball on either side he prefers, of the hazard? . 
Question by: GIHSON B. WITHERSPOON 

MERIDIAN, MISS. 
A: Yes, the choice is up to the player. 

Need for Uniform Penalty 
( N O T E : The following case is based on the 1951 
Rules of Golf, and all references are to the 1951 
Rules. In the 1952 Rules, there is a uniform 
penalty of stroke and distance for a ball lost, 
unplayable or out of bounds. The case illustrates 
the need for such uniformity in penalty.) 

No. 51-68. 
Q: Competitor's original (tee shot) ball on 

par-3 hole is thought to have ricocheted off 
slope at side of green out of bounds. Provisional 
ball was played from tee and eventually holed 
out by player for a 5, including the one-stroke 
out-of-bounds penalty. 

Player took caddie's word that original ball 
was out of bounds and did not search for it. 
Upon leaving green for next tee, original ball 
was found at spot on mezzanine slope at side 

•of green, within bounds, and beyond the hole. 
Player had not reached this point in playing 
hole with provisional ball, as he did not go 
beyond the pin with this ball. 

Player played original ball and holed it for 
a deuce. 

Which ball counts? Is there a difference in 
your ruling for stroke play and match play? 

Question by: W. P . DUTTON 
HONOLULU, HAWAII 

A: Rule 9(1) provides in part: 
"When a ball has been struck toward out of 

bounds, it is a question of fact whether the ball 
is out of bounds or lost in bounds. For the 
player to treat the ball as being out of bounds, 
there must be reasonable evidence to that effect; 
in the absence of such reasonable evidence, after 
a search of five minutes, the ball must be con­
sidered lost." 

The player, in effect, made an election to 
proceed with the provisional ball, under Rule 
19(2). He must be considered to have aban­
doned the original ball as being lost; it could 
not be considered out of bounds, and subsequent 
facts showed it was not out of bounds. There­
fore, the player's score for the hole was 6 — see 
Rule 8(1) for penalty for lost ball. 

MATCH PLAY — If the player did not give 
his opponent proper information relating to 
his penalty, he lost the hole for violating Rule 
4 (3) . 

STROKE PLAY — The player's score for thf 
hole was 6. 


