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REFEREE
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: "No. 51-1" means the first decision issued Hl 1951. "R 7(3)" means
Section 3 of Rule 7 in the 1951 Rules of Golf.

Ordering Opponent's Caddie from Flag
No. 49-30. R. H2a), 2(1), 7(7).

Q.: In match play, A sends his caddie to
attend the Aagstick while B plays. Before
playing, B orders A's caddie away from the
hole, leaving the flagstick unattended. B's ball
strikes the flags tick. A claims the hole on the
ground that B refused to allow A's caddie to
attend the flagstick. Should A's claim be up-
held?

Question by: HAYNES WATERS
SAVANNAH, GA.

A.: Under Rule 7 (7), either side was en-
tilled to have the flagstick removed at any
time, but in the present case the right was
not exercised. B then had a secondary right
tC' have his own caddie attend the flagstick,
b~t he did not exercise that right. A then
was entitled to have his caddie attend the
fh:gstick. But B refused to allow this. If A
condoned B's action, through either inertia or
ignorance of his rights, he forfeited the right
to make a subsequent claim. On the other
hand, if A made a real objection before B
played and entered claim under Rule 1 (2a),
n lost the hole. See also Rule 2 (1) .

Editor's note: The above decision, issued in
1949, is reprinted because of the number of
parallel questions received in recent months.

Lost Ball: An Unfair Local Rule
No. 51-34. R. 8(1), LR

Our c1uh is contemplating changing the rul-
ing on lo~t hall, as follows:

"I f ball is deemed lost, player must drop
a hall at the approximate spot where hall was
lo~t and add one penalty stroke, with no
option of returning to original spot where ball
was last played."
This change is \'Cry controversial and was

finally passed by bare majority.
Q. I: If a player should play according to

{!SCA Rules and returns and plays another ball,
would he automatically he disqualified although
there was no infraction of USGA Rules?

A. 1: The question is for the local committee
to settle. The USGA cannot an~wer questions
involving local rules which directly conflict
with the established Rules of Golf.

Q. 2: To what extent should it be possible
or permissible for a club to rewrite rules that
directly contradict USGA and local course
rules?

A. 2: Any local rule should be in harmony

New Rules Book
Ready in December

Copies of the new Rules of Golf Code
which becomes effective January 1, 1952
will be available from the USGA some time
in December.

Prices will be:
1 to 1,000 copies - 25c each
1,001 to 5,000 copies - 20c each
more than 5,000 copies - 15c each

Orders should he sent to:
UNITED STATES GOLF ASSOCIATION

40 EAST 38TH STREET
NEW YORK 16, N. Y.

with the spirit of the Rules of Golf. If it is not,
then the game is not golf, and it is difficult if
not impossible to apply the principle of equity
which underlies all the Rules of Golf.

The local rule described for a lost ball is in
llirect conflict with Rule 8 (l). Similar local
rules ha\.e been tried previously, and have been
found wanting. By and large, there is simply
no way to tcll the approximate spot where a
ball was lost-the ball either is lost, or it is
Hot lost; and if it is lost, who is to say where
it is? The local rule in question is palpably un-
fair and unworkable. It gives the player an un-
due right to exercise his discretion as to whether
his hall is lost and, if so, where.

The Rules of Golf renresent the accumulated
experience of many pe~ple who have devoted
tl.em~elves to the game's intcrests over many
years in many lands. The Rules have been tested
lIy time. The USGA recommends that they be
uniformly ohserved, as hcing productive of the
greatest good for all.

Questions hy: GEOIlGE HAYAMOTI
SPOKANE, VlASllInGTON

Striking Flagstick from Bunker
No. 51-31. R. 7(8), 12(4c)

Q. I: If your hall strikes the f1agstick when
playing from a bunker within 20 yards of the
hole, arc you penalized two strokes in stroke
play?

A. I: Yes. See Rule 7(8).

Striking Fellow.Competitor's Ball
Q. 2: When playing from a bunker within

20 yards of the hole, if your ball strikes the
ball of a fellow-competitor on the putting green,
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are you penalized two strokes in stroke play?
A. 2: No. A penalty is incurred only when

both balls are on the putting green-see Rule
12(4c).
Questions by: MRS. R. C. LUNDAHL, PRES.

ST. LoUIS WOMEN'S DIST. GOLF ASS'N.
CLAYTON 24, Mo.

Scores May Be Cancelled
No. 51-35. R. 20(3a)

Q.: During the qualifying for our tournament,
contestants could play any day of the week. On
Thursday, it rained very hard and we had only
four teams qualifying. Two teams quit, the
other two finished.

One of the golf committee told the teams
who quit they could play again. As long as the
other two could replay, I told those who played
out that they were entitled to replay also, as
the whole play should be cancelled. Since the
teams who quit were told they could replay
long before the others on the course finished, I
said they should have been notified, also. Did
I do the right thing? Also, did the committee-
man have the right to tell anyone they could
replay because of weather conditions?

Question by: WILLIE KLEIN, PROFESSIONAL
WHEATLEY HILLS GOLF CLUB
EAST WILLISTON, N. Y.

A.: Under the provisions of Rule 20(3a), the
committee may at any time declare play null
and void and may cancel all scores for the
round in question if it consider the course un-
playable or that insufficient light renders proper
play impossible or if it would be inequitable
to order resumption of playas provided in Rule
20(3).

In the particular case, it would seem ad-
visahle to apply Rule 20(3a) and to start all
over again.

Tardy Claim in Match Play
No. 51-55. R. 1(2, 2a).

Q.: X and Y played a match in the semi-
final round. At the end of 17 holes, X having
won the 17th. X announced that she was the
"'mner, 2 and 1, and X and Y thereupon shook
lland~, declaring the match at an end.

Th,'y played the 18th hole, X ~coring a 7
and Y scoring a 6. They then adjourned to the
c1uhhouse, posled X as the winner and re-
turned llOnlt'.

Subselfuently, Y telephoned X that they had
mt:de an error, that at the cnd of 16 holes
they had been cven and X not 1 up; that at
[lit: end of 17 holes X had hem I up and not
2 up, that sincc Y had won the 18th, the
match was cvcn. X, an inexperienced player,
cr.nscntcli to re~mme the match from the 19th
hole and Y thereupon won that hole.

I would appreciate your telling lIIe what
lu do under these circumstances.

Qllt'slion hy: l\lns. ("'ilLES SAIlI:\"
20.) Bn:KI:\GII.nl An:.
TllnTo:,;, :N. J.

A.: Under Ihe Hules of CoIf. tilt' match

ended when X and Y agreed that X had won
by 2 and 1. Y's subsequent claim was not
valid-see Rule 1 (2a).

However, if the committee in charge approved
re: ,"mption of the match, its decision must
!Oland - see Rule 1 (2) .

CommiUee Must Correct Mistake
No. 51-57. R. I(2b, 3), 2I(4b).

Q.: In a recent medal play golf match the
!Ocores of all players were signed, attested,
checked and entered on the tournament record
and the winning team was designated. After
returning home, the losing team discovered an
error in the totaling of the score of one
member of the winning team. This error was
brought to the attention of the winning team
and without question the error was corrected,
thus causing the designated winning team to
lose.

Since that time we have been told by our
professional that such a change is not. ac-
cording to USGA Rule, and that the pomts
for this match must remain as originally posted.
Will you please advise if this is the correct
ruling? The scoring committee was made up
of members of both teams.

Question by: MRS. L. C. SHR:VER
623 EDMOl'4DSO:"AVE.
BALTIMORE 28, 1\10.

A.: As provided in Rule 2I( 4b), the com-
wittee in stroke play is responsible for addi-
tion of hole-by-hole scores. The committee is
obliged to correct any mistake in addition
which it may make, regardless of when the
mistake he discoven,d. See also Rule 1 (2b and
3).

Status of Player Who Defaults
No. 51-60. Tourn.

Q.: If a person defaults in the first round,
is she eligible to compele in the beaten eight?

Question by: 1\I-s MAHGAHET VA:":"
40 SIIOHTIIILL RIl.

FOHEST HILLS, N. Y.
A.: As the Rules of Golf do not apply, the

matter re;-.;Is wilh the local committe,'.
If the playt'r started the malch U1HI Ihen

ddaulted, we would rt'commend that sIlt' he
allowl'd to compete in tl\l' Iwal"n ,'ight.

If tIlt' player did nol play and had no good
feason fOf defaultin~, we would consider Ihat
she had eliminat,'d Ilt'rself from furl her COIll-

IH'Iil ion.

Wrong Information from Forecaddie
No. SI-lIl. R. 13(I). 15(DefJ. DeI. 10.

Q.: During malch play A and B hoth (Irive
i!lo a waler hazard. A foreeaddie t'lllployed
!I'; tl\t~ commillt"~ poinls out a hall in the
I:~zard which Ill' tells A is his. :\ plays the
k,ll.

B IlwlI picks a hall out of th,' waft'r sup-
!j(.sir~1! it is his. lit' discovers that the ball
)" :\ s.

TIll' hall played hy .\ IH'longt'd to B.
) ruled thaI :\ had lo;-.;t the hol" under Rul •.



24 USGA JOURNALAND TURF MAl'tAGEl\IENT:NOVEMBER,1951

13 (1) . Some question has been raised as to
the correctness of this ruling because the mis.
take occurred through wrong information given
by a forecaddie, as provided in Rule 13 (lb).
I considered that the forecaddie therein was
governed by "his", and referred only to the
opponent's forecaddie.
Question by: NORMANB. BEECHER,CHAIRMAN

RULES COMMITTEE
BILTMOREFORESTCOUNTRYCLUB
BILTMORE,N. C.

A.: Your decision was right.
The forecaddie mentioned in Rule 13 (lb)

belongs, in effect, to the opponent's side.
The forecaddie in the case described is an

outside agency (see Definition 10 and Rule
15 (Def.) ), and information from him has no
more weight than information from any other
outside agency, such as a spectator. A was
not relieved of the responsibility of identifying
his ball before playing it.

When Obstruction Is Out of Bounds
No. 51-62. R. 7(4).

Q.: A player's ball came to rest in the
Cf.ugh three inches inside line of out-of-bounds
slakes, but only five or six inches from front
of building used as a shelter, which building
is on ground out of bounds.

It was impossible to stroke ball in desired
d,rection or even take a stance.

Under Rule 7(4b), may a player drop ball
ill the rough not nearer the hole without pen-
ally? (Sketch submitted).

Question by: F. B. LUKENS
125 PARKVIEWAVE.
SYRACUSE,N. Y.

A.: Conditions beyond a boundary line do
not entitle a player to relief in playing a ball
lying within bounds. Rule 7 (4) refers only
to artificial obstructions within the limits of
the course.

As is always possible, the local committee
could afford relief by local rule if it were
deemed advisable.

Friend Posing as Caddie
No. 51-64. Def. 10. R. 1(1),2(1), 4(1)

Q.: In the USGA Rule Book, I find that
a caddie is defined as a person who carries
tile golfer's clubs. Also (I am now speaking
ot a singles match), he is the only one from
,",horn the player who hired him can accept
advice.

Players A and B are engaged in a singles
match. Player A has just eliminated player
C. Now player B, facing A, hires himself a
caddie to carry his clubs and brings player C
along for consultation, and I mean consultation!
Both players A and B agree mutually that
player C shall hold the f1agstick on all holes.
Other duties of player C comist of cleaning
player B's ball once in a while in order to
make him the "official" caddie in the eyes of
tile referee. The caddie who actually carried
player B's cluhs kept himself discreetly in the
background.

I am wondering. if player C in this case
would be accepted as the official caddie, per-
mitted to give advice, or should player B have
been penalized according to USGA Rules.

Question by: WILLIAMR. SCHETTLER
518 NOBLE AVE.
LAWRENCEPARK
ERIE, PA.

A.: The fact that B hired a caddie to carry
hjs clubs establishes this person as B's caddie
within the meaning of Definition 10.

U B sought advice or took any aetion which
might have resulted in his receiving advice
except from this caddie, he violated Rule 4(1),
the penalty for which is loss of hole-see
Rule 2(1).

As there was a referee for the match, at.
tention is called to the fact that, under Rule
1(1), a referee's decision is final.

THE STATE OF AMATEUR GOLF
(Continued from Page 8)

Johnstone as President and Norborne
Berkeley as General Chairman, did a
superlative job in preparing facilities for
players and spectators alike. More than
that, they created an atmosphere of warm
friendship which made everybody feel at
home. Competitors in general have never
had a happier time.

The spirit of amateurism prevailed,
even to the Club's production of a hand-
some Championship program without ad-
vertisements. Saucon Valley received
letters of praise for the program from
~s far away as Europe and South Amer.
lca.

Admissions receipts were about $48,-
000, including taxes - second largest
"gate" in Amateur Championship history.

A player's dinner preceded the tourna-
ment. The USGA instituted this feature
last year, and it has served a splendid
purpose of bringing everybody together
in good fellowship and mutual under-
standing.

Guiding spirit in Saucon Valley's plan-
ning was Eugene G. Grace. As a maker
of steel, he holds a foremost place among
world industrialists. As a lover of all
that is best in golf, he holds a foremost
place in the affections of those who spent
that bright September week at Saucon
Valley.
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