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T H E REFEREE 
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee 

Example of symbols: "No . 5 1 - 1 " means the first decision issued in 1951. "R 7(3) " means 
Section 3 of Rule 7 in the 1951 Rules of Golf. 

Player Judge of Unplayable Ball 
No. 51-21. R. 8(Def.), 19 

Q« A player drives from the tee on a par 
3 hole. His ball goes toward out of bounds, so 
he hits a provisional ball, which lands on the 
green. He finds his first ball is not out of 
bounds, but declares it an unplayable lie and 
elects to play the ball on the green (his pro­
visional ball). Can he play the provisional ball, 
or must he go back to the tee after declaring 
his ball unplayable and shoot another? 

Question by: Miss CAROL MCCUE 
CHICAGO DISTRICT GOLF ASS'N. 
CHICAGO, I I I . 

A.: He may play the provisional ball as the 
hall now in play. Rule 19(a) provides that the 
player is not obliged to state the reason for 
which he plays a provisional ball—it may be 
played for any one of the several possibilities 
provided for in the Rule. 

Under Rule 8-Definitions, the player is the 
sole judge as to when his ball is unplayable. 

Removing Flagstick 
No. 51-22. R. 1(3) , 7(7, 8) 

Q. 1: In match play, A sends his caddie to 
attend the flagstick when B is 75 feet from the 
hole. B states that he has the right to have the 
flagstick unattended, as he is outside of 60 
feet. A states that he may have the flagstick 
attended at any time when B is playing a 
stroke. 

I feel that the interpretation is very clear. 
Rule 7(7) states in part: "The flagstick may 
be removed by either side at any time." Is it 
correct to assume that if it may be removed it 
has to be attended? 

A . 1: Under Rule 7(7>. A is entitled to 
remove the flagstick at any time, regardless of 
how far from the hole B"s ball lies. If B then 
desires to have the position of the hole in­
dicated to him. he may have his own caddie 
attend the flagstick while he plays his stroke. 

The subject is covered fully in Rule 7 (7 ) . 
The 20-yard provision in Rule 7<8) is for 
stroke play and does not apply to match play. 

Use of Equity 
Q. 2: Does one need a supplement, or are 

the Rules of Golf booklets sufficient in making 
a decision? 

A. 2: It is often necessary to decide ques­
tion--, by interpretations of the Rule- of Golf 

when the Rules do not cover explicitly. In such 
cases it is well to have in mind Rule 1 (3 ) : "If 
a point in question be not covered by the Rules 
of Golf or local rules, it shall be decided by 
equity." 

There is no known up-to-date book of inter­
pretations. The best source for supplementary 
information is the decisions published in each 
issue of the USGA JOURNAL under "The Re­
feree." 

Questions by: FRED A. WELCH 
UNIONTOWN, PA. 

Dropping Off Wrong Putting Surface 
No. 51-23. R. 18(10) 

Q.: A's ball comes to rest on alternate 
green to the one being played, with a bunker 
between ball and hole of green being played. 
A brings it to near side of green, which is the 
nearest distance from his ball to any part of 
fairway, but this automatically gives him a 
clear shot to the pin. Had he dropped it on 
the far side he would have another hunker in­
tervening, but the distance was greater than 
to the near side. 

A claims that the bunkers have no bearing 
upon where the ball must be dropped. It's a 
case of taking the ball to the nearest point off 
the green and which is not nearer the hole. 

B contends that A should drop either on the 
far side or behind where his ball lay in order 
to keep the hazard between his ball and green; 
he contends that A cannot better his position. 
On the other hand, if A had followed B's rule 
he would have made it worse. 

Question by: DR. C. M. BARNWELL 
ATLANTA, GA. 

A.: .\V contention is correct. Ride 18(10) 
provides: "A ball lying on anv surface especial­
ly prepared for putting other than the one be­
ing played to must be lifted and dropped off 
tie* prep-wed surface at the nearest available 
point not nearer the hole and not in a hazard, 
without penalty." 

From the facts and the diagram presented, A 
proceeded properly. 

Influencing Position of Ball 
No. 51-27. R. 18(5. 7) 

Q.: In a two-hall foursomes match, team A 
hail team B 1 down at the beginning of the 18th 
hole. Both reached the green in 2. A putted 
first and missed by a few inches. B conced**-' 
the putt. 
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B putted, with the ball stopping on the rim.
B then threw his putter to the ground opposite
the side where the ball was, and the ball rolled
into the cup. Would that mean that B holed
out on his last stroke, or should that hole
have been a tie?

Quest:on by: DR. ANNE S. NEWSOME, PRES.
SEBRINGWOMEN'S GOLF ASS'N.
SEBRING, FLA.

A.: B's action apparently was designed to
influence or actually did influence the position
or the movement of the ball. B therefore violated
Rule 18(5). and the penalty is loss of hole-
see Rule 2(J).

It should be noted that A's putt could not
have been conceded unless it were within six
inch~s of the hole--see Rule 18 (7) .

Damp Areas in Rough
Q.: On certain holes, there arc wet or damp

areas resulting from inadequate drainage or to
proximity to a hrook The question has come up
as to whether damp areas of this sort should he
regarded as casual water and played accord-
ingly. In your USG..-\ Rules, is there such a
thing as casual water in the rough?

(f it is a rule that a damp area of this sort
in the rough is to be regarded as casual water,
a player playing his ball in tl\f' rough and land.
ing in such a damp area may face less of a
pt'nalty than the player who also drives into
tlw rough but lands in a dry spot with a bad
lie. r would appreciate your advice.
Question by: WILLfUl A. KI:\lDEL

CHAIIl\IA'\, GOLF CO:\DIITTEE
THE DI':\ES GOLF & BEACH CL\:n
Mnnu: BEACH. So. CAROLINA

A.: Rull' 16-Definition provides: "'Casual
water' is any temporary accumulation of water
which is not a hazard of itst'lf or which is not
in a water hazard." Anv other water is a
bazard: St't' Rule 17-Dpfl~itions. ,\ n art'a which

WHY NOT THE "SMALL" BALL?
(Continued from PaR'e Ill)

a golf hall can produce surprising results.
Some recent tests made for us on an

r'utdoor driving machine, with no ap-
preciahle wind and the temperature 77
degrees, produced the following com-
parisons:

Carry Carry
Only and run

U.s. "large" hall (}) first third
U.S. "large" hall (3) third fourth
Briti;;h "small" hall (4) second first
Britj,.h "small" ball (2) fourth second

In total overall performance of carry
and run. the two "small" halls each had
(! run about 50 percent greater than the
two other halls. This was despite the

i:; merely damp or muddy is not casual water
unless it fits the above Definition in Rule 16.

Casual water in the rough is covered by Rule
~6 (1). "The !.tu~es d?, not distinguish between

rough and faIrway -both are covered hy the
term "through the green"; see Definition 3.

If the areas in question usually contain water,
they could hardly be classified as casual water,
which is a temporary accumulation of water,
Hather, they probably should be classified as
water hazards, in which case their margins
should be defined clearly and completely.

If they do not usually contain water, they
probably should be regarded as through the
~reen, in which case no special treatment would
be necessary and casual water would he dealt
with as it occurred.

No Measuring Through Obstruction
No, 51-30. R. 7(4), 8(2h)

Q. 1: Please clarify the following portion of
Rule 7 (4) dealing with relief from an artificial
cbstruction:- "but in no case shall relief be
ohtained by measuring through the ohstruction."

A. 1: This means that the measurement shall
he taken in a direction away from the obstruc-
tion, beginning at the point of the ohstruction
nearest where the hall originally lay. The player
is not permitted to measure through the obstruc-
tion to another side. Thus, a player who is en.
titled to relief hecause his hall stops close to a
protective screen cannot measure through the
~Treen to play from the other side. If his ball
should lie directly under this screen he may
measure in either direction.

Q. 2: Rule 8 (2b) provides in part: "keeping
the point from which the ball was lifted between
him and the hole." Is there any limit to how
far hack a player can go to accomplish this?

A. 2: No.
Questions by: THo:\L\s G. McMAIIO:\

Los ANGELES 2.5, Cu.

fact that, in another test, "small" ball
t 2) was well within the USGA velocity
~pecification. Against the wind, the
"small" ball is admittedly superior m
distance qualities.

The above tests are considered to be
quite preliminary and by no means con-
clusive. But they help to explain why the
~JSGA is continuing its investigations and
IS not ready to depart from its present
specifications.

However, the USGA Executive Commit-
lee has approved a proposal that. in in-
ternational team play here, either size
ball may he used. British rules have
always permitted either sIze ball to be
lIsed at any time.

e-


