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USGA JOURNALANDTURF MANAGEMENT:AUGUST,1951

REFEREE
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: "No. 51-1" means the first decision issued in 1951. "R 7(3)" means
Section 3 of Rule 7 in the 1951 Rules of Golf.

Balls Close Together in Bunker
No. 51-6. D. 1; R. II (4), 12 (2, 4, 4e)

Q. 1: There were four players, two against
two, playing one match of two low balls and
also a match of low ball.

The ball of player A was in a sand trap
and so was the ball of one of his opponents, D.
A's ball was 4% feet back of D's. A used his
putter in playing the shot; his ball struck D's
ball and knocked it out of the trap.

(a) Does D have to place his ball back in
the trap, or can he choose to play it where it
came to rest?

(b) Could A have had D's ball lifted and
marked before he made his shot?

(c) Please explain the difference between
Rule 12 (4) and 12 (4e).

A. 1: Although we are willing to answer
inquiries regarding duly constituted matches,
we must decline to rule on complicated com-
binations which the Rules do not recognize, as,
for example, playing singles and four-ball
matches simultaneously. The following answers
pertain to a four-ball match (see Definition 1) :

(a) D was obliged to replace his balL See
Rule 12 (4e) .

(b) A could have obliged D to lift or play
his ball-see Rule II (4).

(c) Rule 12 (4) applies to singles, three-
somes and foursomes (as defined in Definition
1). Rule 12 (4e) applies to three-ball, best.ball
and four-ball matches.

Striking Ball Twice
Q. 2: Clarify Rule 12 (2), Striking Ball

Twice. Player in trap in playing 3 hit his ball
twice, once in the sand and once in the air on
his follow through.

When his ball comes to rest, is he lying 4 or
5 counting the penalty?

A. 2: Four.
Questions by: RUDY ADAMS

PORTERVILLE,Cu.

Responsibility, Replacing Ball
No. 51-9 De£. 1; R. 2(1,5),3(2), 10(5a)

Q: During a mixed foursome event, all balls
were on the putting green. The player away was
about to putt, then asked that one of the balls
in his approximate line be marked. The caddie
laid a coin behind the ball and picked it up.
The player then asked that the coin be moved
away, also. This the caddie also did, moving the
coin two spans sideways. Eventually it came

time for the player to putt whose ball had been
marked. Unknowingly this player placed his
ball in front of the coin where it lay and putted
out, requiring two putts to get the ball in the
hole. Then one of his opponents claimed the
player who had just holed out had incurred a
penalty for not replacing the ball in its proper
position before putting. Should the player be
penalized when his ball had been marked by a
caddie at the other player's request? Should
not the claiming player have been responsible
for seeing the ball which he had asked to be
marked be accurately returned to its original
lie? Finally, if the ball was not replaced at its
original lie, was it not out of play until so re-
stored? Even though the player had holed out
through no error of his, could he not then have
restored his ball to its proper lie and putted it
in the hole without penalty?

Question by: HARRYWINTERS
INGLEWOOD,CAL.

A: It apparently was a four-ball match, not
a foursome. For distinction between four-
some and four-ball match, see Definition
1. It is a custom of the game for a ball to be
lifted and marked only by the player or his
side, including the side's caddies. If a caddie
for the player's side marked the ball, even
without the player's knowledge, the player
is not excused; it is up to the player to insure
that his ball is replaced properly. The opponent
has no responsibility in that connection. Rule
10 (Sa) provides: "When a ball is lifted and
dropped or placed under the Rules, unless
otherwise provided, it must be dropped or placed
as near as possible to the place where it lay and
must come to rest not nearer the hole."

Ball Hiiiing Another, Stroke Play
51-ll R. 12(4), 18 (De£.)

Q. I: In four-ball stroke play, A and Bare
partners, and C and D are partners. A's ball is
01, the green near the hole. C chips his ball and
it strikes A's ball, knocking it nearer the hole.
Does A replace his ball in its original position,
or let it stay where it was knocked to, or does
he have a choice of either procedure?

A. 1: Although the Rules of Golf do not
provide for four-ball stroke play, it would be
equitable to apply the usual stroke play Rules.
Ii the balls of C and A were on the putting
green as defined in Rule 18, C incurred a
penalty of two strokes. If C's ball was not on
the putting green, there was no. penalty. In
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either case, A's ball had to be replaced im-
mediately. See Rule 12 (4 c and d).

Q. 2: Under the same conditions, what would
the decision be in match play?

A. 2: In four-ball match play, there would
be no penalty and A's ball would have to be
replaced. See Rule 12 (4e)

Questions by: LEWIS W. HOOD, JR.
BILOXI, MISS.

Putting Out of Turn
52.12 R. 2(2), 18(8}

Q. 1: A and B are playing a match in which
the Nassau system of scoring is being used.
They are playing stymies. A putts out of turn,
B does not recall the putt. What is the penalty
for A and B?

A. 1: It depends upon the circumstances.
Assuming there was no referee:

(a) If both players were unaware of Rule
18 (8) and played from the next tee before any
claim was made, there was no penalty and the
hole stands as played.

(b) If the players agreed to exclude the
operation of Rule 18 (8), both disqualified them-
selves under Rule 2(2). (There is nothing in
the question to indicate that any such agree-
ment existed).

Q. 2: Would the penalty be the same if this
breach of the rules occurred during the last
nine holes of play?

A. 2: Yes.
Questions by: MRS. M. F. ClJNNINGHAM

LA GRANGE,ILL.

Sand Is a Hazard
51-13. R. 17 (def.)

Q.: My ball came to rest in what I considered
light rough and I touched the ground or sand
with my club. My opponent claimed the hole,
insisting that it was a hazard, since it was a
sandy area and such an area must be considered
a hazard because, according to USGA, sand is a
hazard. To further his argument, he insisted
that Tommy Armour had ruled that all sand
that lines the fairways of Florida must be con-
sidered hazards. I claimed that club officials
must define such an area as a hazard before it
must be played as a hazard, that a sweeping
rule that makes all sand a hazard is unfair,
particularly in Florida, where all fairways are
lined with sandy rough or sandy bare wastes.

A.: Sand is a hazard-see Rule 17 (Defini-
tion). The rule exempts only "sand blown on to
the grass or sprinkled on the course for its
preservation. "

It is a duty of the course authorities to de-
fine the hazards. Where sand prevails in great
abundance, the local committee might be jus.
tified in adopting a local rule to provide that
sand is a hazard only when within a bunker or
other well-defined hazard. If that were done,
the player still would be subject to the restric-
tions in Rule 7 (1) .

Question by: VINCENT ELDRED
WEST PALM BEACH,FLORID.<\

Ball on Green Moved by Another
No. 51-ll. R. 12 (4), 18 (De£.)

Q. 1: In four-ball stroke play, A and Bare
partners, and C and D are partners. A's ball is
on the green near the hole. C chips his ball and
it strikes A's ball, knocking it nearer the hole.
Does A replace his ball in its original position,
or let it. stay where it was knocked to, or does
he have a choice of either procedure?

A. 1: Although the Rules of Golf do not
provide for four-ball stroke play, it would be
equitable to apply the usual stroke play Rules.
If the balls of C and A were on the putting
green as defined in Rule 18, C incurred a penal-
ty of two strokes. If C's ball was not on the
putting green, there was no penalty. In either
case, A's ball had to be replaced immediately.
See Rule 12(4 c and d).

Q. 2: Under the same conditions, what
would the decision be in match play?

A. 2: In four-ball match play, there would
be no penalty and A's ball would have to be
replaced. See Rule 12 (4e) .

Questions by: LEWIS W. HOOD, JR.
BILOXI, MISS.

Repairing Ball-Marks on Green
No. 51-17. Et. 6; R. 7(7), 12(1b),

15(3),17(2).18(3,4)
Q. 1: Six years ago the tournament com-

mittee established a local rule which allowed
players to remove their balls from divot holes
(pit marh) on the clipped portion of the putt-
ing green and to place such balls immediately
beside the2e holes before making their putts.
Players were also allowed to reconstruct all
divot holes which were in their line of roll with
a tee.

A few golfers have insisted that we have
definitely violated the Rules of the USGA in
putting this rule into effect.

A. 1: The Rules of Golf do not permit a
player to repair divot marks between his ball
~nd the hole. Rule 18 (3) and (4) prohibit a
player from touching the line of putt, from
placing a mark anywhere on the putting green,
and from testing the putting surface by roughen-
ing or scraping it.

Where the greenkeeping staff is not available
to make frequent repairs as is done at USGA
competitions, players should observe Section 6
of Etiquette, which provides that after the play
of the hole is complete, the player should see
that any ball hole made by him in the putting
green is eradicated.

Ball Striking Flagstick Removed
Q. 2: My interpretation of Rule 7(7) is

that a player loses a hole if he or his caddie has
removed the fIr g and laid it off the green and
his opponent's ball subsequently hits it. An op-
ponent might deliberately shoot for the flag in-
sted of the cup and if the flag is many feet off
Ene it seems unfair to allow him to win a hole
under these conditions.

A. 2: Your interpretation of Rule 7(7) is
correct. The USGA feels that no modification
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is necessary. The Rules of Golf are framed on
the assumption that golfers play honestly.

Ball Moving After Address
Q. 3: In regard to Rule 12 (lb), if a player

addresses a ball and then walks away from it
and the ball moves before he returns to re-ad.
dress it, should he be penalized one stroke?

A. 3: Rule 120b) is explicit and provides:
"If a ball in play move after the player has
addressed it, he shall be deemed to have caused
it to move and the penalty shall be one stroke."

Ball Moved by Ball Outside Match
Q. 4: A player has approached on to a

"-reen and his ball has come to rest. If a ball
~truck by another who is outside of the match
hits his ball, does he play the ball from where
it lies or should he replace his ball as near as
is possible to where it originally lay?

A. 4: If the lie of a ball at rest be altered
by any outside agency except wind, the player
shall place a ball as near as possible to the
place where the ball originally lay, without
penalty-see Rule 15 (3). A ball outside of the
match is an outside agency.

Questions by: DR. MILTON FENNER
Sacramento, Calif.

Balls Exac:tly 6 Inches Apart
No. 51-25. R. 18 (7)

Q.: Please wire stymie rule clarification. If

STROKE AND DISTANCE
(Continued from Page 16)

judication because of the prevailing foliage and
turf condition.

Having arrived at the aforementioned pre-
mise, that the penalties should be the same,
we analyzed the application of the less severe
penalty of "distance only." The two-year trial
period by Great Britain produced some interest-
ing discrepancies, but the most convincing
arguments came from experiences with the
unplayable ball. There are many cases in
which no penalty results. As an example, a
player is 15 yards from the Hagstick with a
bunker intervening; he flubs his shot into the
sand and it comes to rest either in a good or
bad lie. If he feels inexpert in playing from
sand, he merely declares the ball unplayable
and drops it back on the turf. That he has
lost distance is of no importance (at most,
only a few yards), because the next shot in
his mind is easier from the turf than from
sand. As another example - a hole of 125
yards - the player's tee shot strays into the
woods, the ball lies well but the player is
blocked out from the green, requiring another
stroke before play to the green is possible.
The opponent is helpless when the player elects
to return to the tee for another try at the
green. The result is again no penalty because

balls are exactly six inches apart do you lift
or putt?

Question by: HORTON SMITH, SECRETARY
PGA OF AMERICA
OAKMONT, PA.

A.: If balls are exactly six inches apart,
there is no relief under Rule 18 (7). Balls must
be within (repeat, within) six inches for Rule
to operate.

Smoothing Footprints in Hazard
No. 51-24. R. 170),2(1)

Q.: Is there a penalty for a player who
smooths out her footprints and does not get out
of the hazard and when making next shot goes
back to original lie?

Question by: MRS. THEODOREJ. MEINDL
CHICAGO,ILL.

A.: The player loses the hole in match play
or is penalized 2 strokes in stroke play-see
Rules 170) and 20). Exception (e) in Rule
17 (1) does not apply here because the player
has been assisted in subsequent play of the hole.

Practice Before Match Play
No. 51-26. R. 21-3

Q.: Is practice putting on green to be
played in match competition legal on day of
play, or does Rule 21 apply only to stroke play?

Question by: LT. NORMAN BUTLER,OFC
DAYTON, OHIO

A: Rule 21 applies only to stroke play.

the distance lost is immaterial. In the same
case, the player may have played a provisional
ball from the tee before going forward to ap-
praise the situation. If the provisional ball is
played well and reaches the green for a pos-
sible one-putt, he would be quick to choose
the latter. If the provisional ball comes to rest
in a bunker, or other difficult lie, the player
has the privilege of playing either the original
or provisional ball depending upon which gives
the greater advantage. These various alter-
natives result in severe inequity to an opponent
or competitor. Under the "distance only"
penalty, very seldom, if ever, would a "shanked"
shot be played from where it comes to rest.

Many more examples could be given to prove
that discretionary privileges should be ac-
companied by severer penalties in order to dis-
courage a player from taking advantage of
others - a privilege never intended under the
Rules. I wish to assure you that every pro-
posal to the respective governing bodies by
the conferees was made only after considera-
tion of all of the experience of the past and
the foreseeable future effects upon play.

ISAACB. GRAINGER
Chairman, Rules of Golf Committee
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