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REFEREE
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: "No. 51-1" means the first decision issued in 1951. "R 7(3)" means
Section 3 of Rule 7 in the 1951 Rules of Golf.

Player Responsible for Own Ball
No. 51-9. De£. I; R. 2 (I, 5), 3(2), 10(5a)

Q.: During a mixed foursome event, all
balls were on the putting green. The player
away was about to putt, then asked that one
of the halls in his approximate line be marked.
The caddie laid a coin behind the ball and
picked it up. The player then asked that the
coin he moved away, also. This the caddie also
did, moving the coin two spans sideways.
Eventually it came time for the player to putt
whose ball had been marked. Unknowingly,
this player placed his ball in front of the
coin where it lay and putted out, requiring
two putts to get the ball in the hole. Then
one of his opponents claimed the player who
had just holed out had incurred a penalty for
not replacing the ball in its proper position
before putting.

Should the player be penalized when his
ball had heen marked by a caddie at the other
player's request? Should not the claiming player
have been responsible for seeing that the ball
\'ihich he had asked to he marked be accura.
tely returned to its original lie? Finally, if
the hall was not replaced at its original lie,
wa's it not out of play until so restored? Even
though the player had holed out through no
error of his, could he not then IJave restored
his ball to its proper lie and putted it in the
hoh. without penalty'!

Question hy: HAIlHY WINTEIlS

INGLEWOOD, CALIFOH:'iIA

A.: It apparently was a four-ball match, ~ot
n foursome. For distinction between foursome
and four-hall match, see Definition 1.

It is a (;ustom of the game for a ball to he
lifted and marked only by the player or his
"ide, including the side's eaddies. If a caddie
for the player's side marked the ball, even
without the player's knowledge, the player is
1I0t excused; it is up to the player to insure
that his ball is replaced properly. The opponent
has no responsibility in that connection.

Rule 1O(5a) provides: "When a ball is lifted
and dropped or placed under the Rules, unless
otherwise provided, it lIlust he dropped or placed
as near as possihle to the place where it lay and
must come to re"t not nearer the hole."

Duty to Report Violations
No. 51-15, R. 2(2), ll(1), 13(3a), 17(1),

21 (4)
Q. I: I would like a ruling on the following:
( a) A and B were playing ahead of C and

D in a 54-hole medal tournament announced
as being run under USGA rules. C saw A lift
his ball twice from a buried lie in the sand
trap and then sweep the sand away from behind
it with his club before hitting the ball. C con.
tends A had no right to touch the ball even
for identification, and was only entitled to re-
move enough sand so the top of the ball could
be seen. Is this correct?

(h) The chairman claimed that C had no
right to report this violation as C was not play.
ing with A. The chairman said that only B
had the right and as B had not seen it, nothing
could be done about it. Did C have the right
to report this?

(c) The following day C noticed that A had
posted a wrong score on two different holes.
fi, who was playing with A, verified this but
thought he would be disqualified for attesting a
wrong score. Would B be disqualified for this?

(d) The chairman claimed C could not re-
port this or make a protest as C was not play-
ing with A and that a score posted and attested
had to stand. Did C have a right to protest and
shoul,1 A have been disqualified?

A. I: (a) A had the right to identify his
hall. Rule II (1) provides: "On notice to the
opponcnt in match play and to the fellow com-
petitor in stroke play, a ball in play may be
IHted for identification, but it must be replaced
on the spot from which it was lifted." Tbis
means that the player, as a matter of honor,
must replace his ball in the same lie and posi.
tion in which it was originally buried. How.
ever, it is rarely necessary to lift a ball out of
sand to identify it. In order that a player may
find his hall, Rule 7 (3a) provides in part: "The
player is always entitled to find his ball and
to identify it. He may move fixed or growing
objects (including sand) to the extent neces-
sary to enahle him tQ find or to identify the
hall. provided that before addressing the
hall l\f~ reston's tlw objects (including sand)
to their original position; he is not of necessity
entitled to see the hall when playing thc stroke."
Exercise of this right often will make it un-
necessary to lift the ball for identification.

In stroke play only, a further incentive to
avoid lifting a hall for identification in a hazard
is contained in Rule 13 (3a), which excuses,
without penalty, the play of a wrong ball in a
hazard. However, A's action of sweeping sand
from behind his ball before making a stroke
was a violation of Rule 170).



USGA JOURNAL AND TURF MANAGEMENT: JULY, 1951 23 

(b) C not only had a right to report a viola­
tion of the Rules which he witnessed but was 
obliged to do so. Competitors who witness a 
clear violation of the Rules and fail to protest 
or report it thereby agree to waive a Rule. They 
have a responsibility to all other competitors as 
well as to themselves, and should be disqualified 
under Rule 2(2) if they fail to report violations 
which they witness. 

(c) A should be disqualified if he returned 
a score for any hole lower than actually played 
—see Rule 21 (4c). B is exempt from disqualifi­
cation under Rule 21(4) Definition. 

(d) See answer (b) above. 

Q. 2: Is there a ruling that a contestant keep 
his fellow competitor's score and vice versa? 

A. 2: There is no Rule that a fellow com­
petitor keep a player's score unless designated 
by the Committee as a marker. 

Q. 3 : What is the ruling on a ball lying in 
a sand trap outside the sixty feet limit striking 
the pin attended by a double caddie? 

A . 3 : When one caddie is employed by two 
players the USGA recommends the following 
local rule (page 54, Rules of Golf) for match 
play singles: 

The caddie is an agency outside the match 
except when he acts upon specific directions 
of a player, in which case he is considered to 
he that player's caddie. If he attends the flag-
stick without instruction, he is an agency out­
side the match. If he receives conflicting in­
structions from the two opponents, the wishes 
of the player who is about to play the stroke 
shall control. If the player instructed the caddie 
to attend the flagstick the penalty for striking 
the pin or caddie would he loss of hole. 

Questions by: MKS. E. H. FOULK 
MIAMI, FLORIDA 

Casual Water Defined 

No. 51-16. R. 8, 16 
Q: 1 should like to have the casual water 

rule clarified. When the ground is saturated 
with water so a ball may be completely im­
bedded in or lost in soft mud, though there may 
not actually be a puddle of water, is this to be 
treated as a lost or unplayable ball or may 
the player obtain relief under Rule 16 (1)? 

MRS. G. J. BERCHET 
WILMINGTON, DELAWARE 

A. Casual water is defined in Rule 16. The 
presence or absence of a temporary accumula­
tion of water, constituting casual water, is a 
question of fact. Soft, mushy earth does not in 
itself constitute casual water. When a player 
takes his normal stance, if a temporary ac­
cumulation of water appears which interferes 
with his stance or the lie of the ball, the player 
is entitled to relief as provided in Rule 16. In 
the absence of a local rule providing relief for 
an imbedded ball, the player must play the hall 
as it lies or declare it unplayable and proceed as 
provided in Rule 8. 

Unnecessary Provisional Ball 
No. 51-14. R. 1(3) , 2 (1 , 3 ) , 

7 ( 1 , 2 , 3 ) , 13(5), 17(Def.), 19 
Q. 1: In the qualifying round of a major 

tournament, a scratch handicap golfer was hav­
ing trouble with his drives, consistently pulling 
them. After a few holes of this he hit a beauti­
ful drive about 250 yards down the fairway. It 
was also a pull, but still visible, on the left of 
the fairway, from the tee. At this time he an­
nounced that he wanted to hit a provisional 
ball. As the Rules say, he doesn't have to an­
nounce his reasons for it. There was no ques­
tion in anybody's mind that the player wanted 
to hit a practice shot, but calling it that would, 
of course, disqualify him. The matter was 
brought before the rules committee of this 
tournament, and the provisional hall was 
allowed. 

I maintain that if this decision is allowed to 
stand, a player may hit a practice shot at any­
time, of any distance, and merely by calling it 
a provisional ball dodge the penalty which 
should he imposed. I am sure that was not the 
intent of the Rules. If so, any provision re­
garding the practice shot can be taken out of 
the Rules. 

A . 1: The Rules of Golf are framed on the 
assumption that golfers play honestly. If a 
player conformed with the spirit of the first 
paragraph of Rule 19, he would never play a 
practice stroke disguised as a provisional ball. 

Permission to play a provisional ball is 
granted by Rule 19 only on the following con­
ditions: (a) when a ball may be lost, un­
playable, out of bounds, or in a water hazard, 
and (b) for the sole purpose of saving time. 
From the statement of facts, it is obvious that 
no reasonable possibility existed that the ball 
were lost, unplayable, out of hounds, or in a 
water hazard. 

Thus, it appeared that the player took unfair 
advantage1 of the permission to play a provisional 
ball. The committee in stroke play (or the op­
ponent or the referee in match play) would 
have been justified in holding that the purpose 
of Rule 19 had not been observed and that a 
practice stroke had been taken in violation of 
Rule 13(5). It also might justifiably he claimed 
that the player breached Rule 2(3) prohibiting 
delay in play. 

Attention is called to Rule 1<3>. which pro­
vides: "If a point in question be not covered 
by the Rules of Golf or local rules, it shall be 
decided by equity." 

Improving Position in Loose Dirt 

Q. 2: Another question arises where a ball 
lies in dust. sand, or loose earth, not part of a 
hazard. According to the Rules, anything loose, 
not fixed or growing, may be moved. To what 
extent may this loose material he brushed away 
from the hall to give the ball a good lie where 
otherwise it would be a very had one? I can 
find nothing in the Rules that would prevent 
a player from taking extreme measures in thi-
case. 
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A. 2: Sand is a hazard except as noted in 
Rule 17(Definition). Loose, pulverized dirt is 
not a loose impediment under Rule 7(2) but is 
a thing fixed under Rule 7(3) — (unless it is 
piled for removal or is a worm cast or animal 
cast or runway. Improving the ball's position 
by brushing away such loose dirt violates not 
only Rule 7(3) but could also breach Rule 7(1) 
prohibiting removal of irregularities of surface 
under certain conditions; the penalty is two 
strokes in stroke play or loss of bole in match 
play—see Rule 2 ( 1 ) . 

(Questions by: STANLEY E. RIDDERHOF 
LACUNA BKACH, CALIFORNIA 

Changing Balls for Putt 
No. 50-160. R. 2 (1 ) , 10(2) 

Q: A is on the green in 3. He marks the 
place where his ball lies by the toe of his 
putter, puts the original ball in his pocket and 
puts down a new ball to putt with. While he 
is addressing the ball to putt, B claims the 
holt; on Rule 10<3> because A did not bole out 
with his original ball. 

Since A had not as yet putted, he replaced 
his original ball and claimed he still bad the 
opportunity to hole it out, which he did for 
a half on the hole. 

15 claims that once he had picked up his 
original ball and did not do so under any of 
the Rules allowing the substitution of another 
hall, i.e.. lost, unplayable, out of bounds or 
become • unfit for play, he could not replace 
it and proceed playing. 

A does not claim to have picked up his ball 
and replaced it with another ball under any of 
the Rules allowing him to do so, but does claim 
that since his opponent had called him on it 
before he had struck the replaced ball he 

THE LONG HOLE 
(Continued from Page 16) 

we used our putters in order not to drop 
a hall in the drink. 

"Instead of taking the main highway 
to Union, we went by way of Roebuck 
and Pauline to avoid the heavy Spartan-
hurg-hound traffic. 

"When we arrived in Union there was 
quite a celebration. We finished at 6:22 
KM. on the second hole at Woodlawn. 
13 hours. 4 minutes from the time we 
started. It took Oyler two days to make 
his journey across the English country­
side. 

"A newsreel company had cameras 
there and took pictures of us as we made 
our final putts. Reporters were present, 
too. The rotogravure section of the New 
York Times used one picture. Just above 
it was one of Charles Lindbergh, who 
had just flown the Atlantic, and a picture 

should be allowed to put back the original 
and play out. 

A. V. '"BUD" F O I T S 
SAVANNAH, GA. 

A: A lost the hole under Rules 10(2) and 
2(1) . 

Practice on Day of Competition 

No. 51-20. R. 13(5), 21(3) . 
Q.: Will you please give me the Rules con­

cerning practicing to or putting on any of the 
greens, except the practice greens, the day of 
competition of either match or medal play 
tournaments? 

Question by: FRED E. GULICK 
JOPLIN, MISSOURI 

A.: (1) Stroke Play: Rule 21(3) provides: 
'"On a day of competition, a competitor shall 
not practice by playing on or onto any putting 
surface yet to be played in the stipulated 
round." The penalty is disqualification. 

Match Play: The Rules of Golf do not prohi­
bit practice before a round. 

(2) During a round, a practice stroke from 
any teeing ground or during the play of any 
hole is prohibited by Rule 13(5). 

Assist by Automobile 
No. 51-8. 

Q. 1: While playing a golf hole along a road 
one of the players hit his tee shot out of bounds 
and it hit an oncoming car and landed back in 
hounds. Is there any penalty? 

Question hy: ALAN ARTACH 
DENVER, COLO. 

A. 1: No penalty. (Just a good break.) 

of President Herbert Hoover graced the 
other side. We were in fast company.'" 

McWhirter doesn't advise anyone to 
try long-hole golf unless he's in perfect 
physical condition. 

Mayor L. C. Wharton of Union gave a 
welcoming address when the pair ended 
I he long hole. Officials for the event were 
Fred Parr, who kept score, and T. W. 
Wood, owner and manager of Union's 
Woodlawn Country Club, who saw that 
each shot was taken properly. R. C. 
Shores, of Shoreshrook Country Club at 
Spartanburg, was observer. 

"We lost four balls in one field because 
the farmer had just plowed it and would 
not allow us in to get them," McWhirter 
recalled. ''They were in plain sight, too." 

McWhirter still plays a lot of golf at 
Harriman Golf and Country Club, where 
he has made a hole-in-one. 


