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Decisions by the USG A Rules of Golf Committee
Example of symbols: .. "No. 50-I" means the first decision issued in 1950. "R. 7(3)" means

Section 3 of Rule 7 in the 1950 R!ules of Golf.

Default during Nassau Match
No. 50-1, Tourn.

Q: Player competing in team match,
scoring under Nassau system, finishes
4 up first nine, then is advised that
member of family ill and has to leave.
Her opponent claims three points, in-
sisting that player, by leaving, de-
faulted match. When I gave my opin-
ion, I ruled that since player had al-
ready won point for first nine, the final
score of match should have been one
point for player who quit and two
points for her opponent, who would get
point for second nine and point for
eighteen-hole victory.

VINCENTELDRED
FT. PIERCE,FLA.

A: We concur in your opinion.
Ground under Repair on Green

No. 50-4. R.1(2a), 2(1), 7(5b), 16(2),
I 18(Def.)

Q 1: A and B are ,playing a par-4 hole.
A hits his second shot over the green,
about 4 or 6 feet into ground under
repair. A picks up the ball, -after first
finding it was 12 steps,-,from the pin,
and ,paces off 121steps. from the pin in
the opposite direction, which put his
ball off the green about one foot. A
then putted up to the pin. When the
play was over, B claimed the hole be-
cause in pacing 6ff the 12 steps in the
opposite direction, A thereby eliminated
the necessity of chipping to the pin.
Thereupon, A, to avoid an argument,
g'ave B the holel
It is A's cont~ntion, backed by the

local pro, that Ai could place that ball
within 12 steps of the pin in any direc-
tion as long as it wasn't any nearer to
the pin. Was A right or wrong?

A 1: Rule 18 defines the putting green
as all ground, ~xcept hazards, within
twenty yards of the hole being played.
Since you state the ball was within
twelve paces of the hole and you do
not refer to a haz'ard, it is assumed
that the ball came to rest in ground
under repair which was technically on
the putting green.

Rule 7(5b) provides that, on the putt-
ing green, ground under repair may
be treated as if it were casual water.

Rule 16(2) provides that, if a ball on
the putting green lie in casual water,

the ball "may be lifted without penalty
and placed in the nearest position to
where it lay which is not nearer to the
hole ... ," etc.

Thus, A was required to place his ball
in the nearest position to where it lay
which was not nearer to the hole. It
seems unlikely that the nearest avail-
able position would be in the opposite
direction from the hole, and if that be
so, A lost the hole for viol:ating Rule
7(5b)-see Rule 2(1).

Q 2: B stood there all the time A wa.s
pacing off and playing the ball and
didn't by any look, action or word say
any,thing was wrong. But after A putted
up, B claimed the hole. Shouldn't B
have protested that A was wrong, if
he were wrong, at the time A was plac-
ing the ball in the new ,-position?

A 2: ,B was not obliged to enter a
claim other than as provided in Rule
1(2a).

Questions by: ROBERTS~ SMITH
PORTLAND,ORE.

.Putting out of Turn: Match Play
No. 50-8. R. 2(2), 5, 6, 18(8)

Q: If it should be a player's turn
to make a stroke but before same can
be executed his opponent makes his
stroke on the putting green (Rule 18
(8) ) , must the player recall his op-
ponent's stroke or does the player have
an optionin this matter? Does this recall
of a stroke by one player against an-
other contain an option of recall in 'all
cases or just in those cases where recall
is mandatory?

SAMUELG. CAMPBELL,JR.
CHARLESTON,W. VA.

A: On the putting green in match
play, it is mandatory to recall a stroke
played out of turn, under Rule 18(8).
An option does not exist because orderly
play on the putting green is imperative,
especially in view of possible stymies.

Rule 2(2) provides: "Players shall not
-agree to exclude the operation of any
Rule or local rule, nor to waive any
penalty incurred. Penalty-Disqualifica-
tion of both sides."

Order of play on the teeing ground is
governed by Rule 5, and through the
green and in hazards by Rule 6. In
such cases, recall is optional in match

. play.
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Local Rules for Tree Basins
No. 50-10. R. 7(4), LR

Q: The Green Committee is prepar-
ing local rules. It is faced with a sit-
uation that may be treated under Rule
7(4) as "hole made by greenkeeper".

Young trees have been transplanted
apd are und.!:!r cultivation. Irrigation
is provided by means of filling the basin
-prepared by the greenkeeper-with
water. The soil from the basin is piled
around the edge, thus creating a rim.

Assume that a ball has come to rest
so near the obstruction that a swing
could not be made without striking
part of -the obstruction, which could
be deemed interference with the swing.

1. Under what condition may the ball
that comes to rest near the obstruction
be dropped?

2. Where should it be dropped or
placed?

3. In the event the ball comes to rest
directly on the line between the green
and the obstruction-either in front of
or behind the obstruction-where should
it be dropped or placed?

ALBIN MARTINSON
SACRAMENTO,CAL.

A: The Rules of Golf do not pro-
vide relief without penalty. Tree basins
are not "holes made by the greenkeeper"
in the sense contemplated by Rule 7(4).

Whether or not relief should be given
by local rule is for the local committee
to determine in the light of such fac-
tors 'as size 'and character of the basins
and whether they are temporary or
permanent. Ordinarily, any such local
rule should be temporary and should
be canceled as soon as conditions per-
mit. In any case, such local rule should
not necess'arily give relief from inter-
ference by trees.

The Rules of Golf Committee has ap-
proved the following various methods of
allowing relief where local committees
deem it necessary:

1. Adoption of a local rule as follows:
"A tree basin may be treated as an
obstruction under Rule 7(4) except:
(1) the player in dropping the ball must
keep the spot where the ball originally
lay between himself and the hole; (2)
this local rule does not apply when
the ball lies in a hazard."

2. Adoption of a local rule similar to
the above but providing a one-stroke
penalty for lifting and dropping.

3. Classifying tree basins as water
hazards.

If any such local rule be adopted, the
margins of the tree basins should be
defined either in fact or in the local rule.
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Recalling Tee Shot: Match Play
No. 50-12. R. 2(2). 5(1,2)

Q 1: In regard to the honor of hit-
ting the ball first from the tee, Rule 5(2)
states an opponent may recall a ball
hit out of turn from the tee. He may
recall, but is it compulsory? Does he
have to recall it?

A 1: In match play, when .a ball is
played out of turn from the teeing
ground, the opponent may recall the ball
but it is not compulsory that he do so.

Honor on Tee Is Mandatory
Q 2: In match play, if I have just

won a hole, I have the honor on the next
tee. If I wanted to drive off the tee last,
could I allow my opponent to play first?
What ,penalty could be used against me
if I wanted to play last from the tee?

A 2: Rule 5(1) provides: "The side
which wins a hole shall take the honor
at the next teeing ground." An agree-
ment to waive the Rule would subject
both players to disqualification under
Rule 2(2).

Questions by: HORACELAMBDEN
Los ANGELES,CAL.

Player Unable to Continue
No. 50-13. R. 1(2), 20

Q: During our Invitation Mixed
Foursomes Tournament, Miss Mary Ann
Downey and Peter P. Prudden were
playing against Mrs. -Talbot Shelton and
Edward C. Alvord. On the 15th tee,
with Miss Downey and Mr. Prudden
2 up and four holes to go, Mr. Prudden
took a practice sw:ing on the tee 'and
accidentally struck Mr. Alvord squarely
on the forehead, knocking him out.

Mr. Alvord was assisted off the course.
The committee at that time ruled that
anyone leaving the course had to default
the match, but the rules were strained
by the committee afterward to permit
the foursome to finish the last four holes
the following morning. However, when
I telephoned to Mr. Prudden to ar-
range the play-off time, I found Mr.
Prudden in the hands of a doctor with
an attack of diabetes. The committee
then ruled the match a tie and permit-
ted the able team of Mrs. Shelton and
Mr. Alvord to continue in play.

In would be appreciated if you would
let us have your official ruling and
opinion on this incident.

JACK Ross
EVERGLADES,FLA.

A: The local committee had author-
ity to decide the matter under Rule 1(2),
and its decision was final.

The committee had satisfactory rea-
son to approve discontinuance of the
match and to provide for its resump-
tion the following morning-see Rule 20.
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I
MRS,.THEO. J. MEINDL
CHICAGO,ILL

A: It is understood that the pro-
visional ball (as well as the original
ball) is in a water hazard. The player
may proceed with a third ball under
anyone of the three options provided
in Rule 17 (2), treating the second (pro-
visional) ball now as having been the
last ball in play; the score after proceed-
ing with a third ball would be 5.

The status of the provisional ball
played under Rule 19 is uncertain until
the status of the original ball is deter-

mined. The player ultimately decides
to abandon the original ball in the water
haz.ard. The provisional ball then be-
comes the ball in play, and the player's
score up to that point is 3.

But the player decides to abandon
the second ball also. Her only recourse
is to play a third ball under Rule 17(2).
If she proceeds under Rule 17(2a), the
spot at which the second ball last crossed
the margin of the hazard determines
the line on which the third ball must
be dropped. If she proceeds under Rule
17(2b) , the place at which the second
ball entered the water determines the
line of dropping the third ball.

Ball Stuck on Club-Face
No. 50-18. R. 1(3), 15(2)

Q: When the player finished his fol-
low-through, the ball and some mud
were stuck to the face of his club. He
shook his club in the air, but the mud
and the ball still stayed on the face of
the club. What is the ruling?

W. H. ROETTGER
FORTKNOX, Ky.

A: The Rules of Golf do not spe-
cifically cover the case of a ball stick-
ing or adhering to a club after a stroke,
and so the Rules of Golf Committee
has ruled that in equity (see Rule 1(3»
Rule 15 (2) applies. Thus, the ball
should be dropped as near as possible
to the spot where it originally lay,
without Qenalty. Of course, the stroke on
which the ball stuck to the club is
counted.

Hole-in-One Defined
No. 50-21 R. 12(4b,d,e)

Q: If a drive lands near the cup 'and
another player's drive hits the first ball
and knocks it into the cup, is it a hole
in one? What constitutes a hole in one?

CAROLMCCUE
CHICAGO,ILL.

A: Match play (except as noted be-
low)-Rule 12(4b) provides: "If the play-
er's ball knock the opponent's ball into
the hole. the opponent shall be deemed
to have holed out at his last stroke."

Stroke play-Rule 12(4d) provides: "If
a competitor's ball which is at rest be
moved by another competitor or his cad-
die or fore caddie or his clubs or his ball,
the ball shall be replaced."

Three-ball, best-ball and four-ball
match~Rule 12(4e) provides: "If a
player's ball move any other ball in the
match, the moved ball must be replaced
las near as possible to the spot where it
lay, without penalty."
If a player~.s first stroke is holed out

in -accordance with the Rules of Golf, the
player is deemed to have made a hole-
in-one.

When one player was unable to re-
sume play at the scheduled tim~, it was
within th~ committee's power to declare
the match defaulted, for the orderly
progress of the tournament, .and the
effect of the committee's decision was
to register such a default.

The committee's actions appear equit-
able ..

Claims of Undue Delay
No. 50-14. R. 1(2a), 2(3)

Q: Having been requested to define
"undue delay" under Rule 2(3), I ad-
vised that an opponent, in the absence
of a referee, would be the sole judge,
but will appreciate your advising if the
Rules Committee has placed any limita-
tion as to time.

While I realize that no two players
exercise the same speed, it appears im-
possible to conscientiously invoke .a pen-
alty in the absence of a more specific
ruling as to what constitutes undue
delay.

R. J. FOLEY
HUNTINGTON,W. VA.

A: The Rules of Golf Committee has
specified no time limit which can be
used in applying Rule 2(3).

Application of the rule depends on
judgment and a sense of fair play. A
referee or a committee should be able
to discern readily whether an individual
is proceeding promptly, as the custom of
the game and go'od manners dictate. In
the absence of .a' referee, a player who
believes that another is unfairly delay-
ing play may appeal to the committee
in stroke play or should enter claim
under Rule 1(2a) in match play. He is
not the sole judge, however.

Provisional Ball also in Water
No. 50-15. R. 17(2), 19

Q: Regarding Rule 19 (2), if A plays
a ball from the tee into a water hazard
in a doubtful lie and then plays a pro-
visional ball and ifinds when she reaches
the hazard that I,!?oth the original and
the provisional ball are unplayable,
what is the procedure and how is it
scored?


