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Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: "No. 48-1" means the first decision issued in 1948. "R. 7(3)" means Section 3 of
Rule 7 in the 1948 Rules of Golf.

Repair of Ball :Marks on Greens

No. 48-178. R. 18(3,4)
Q: There appears to be a change in play

which I cannot find justified by the Rules and
which was not allowed or done before the
war. In those days any hole made in the
green by a ball pitched to that green was left
alone until all players of that group had
putted out. I remember distinctly seeing many
players use a chipper instead of a putter be-
cause of a hole in the line of their putt. After
the players left the green a greenkeeper stand-
ing by would repair all holes made by that
group.

Starting with the 1948 Los Angeles Open
and continuing through the National Open
at Riviera, the greenkeeper repaired these
holes as soon as made, and before the players
who had made them had reached the green.
I am personally very much in favor of this
but just what rule authorizes it?

My confusion was added to as I was lis-
tening to the radio broadcast of the Glendale
Open at Oakmont. It was Carv 1fiddlecoff's
turn to putt, and in examinin:~ his line he
found a hole made in the green by some player
of a previous group which the local green-
keeper had apparently failed to repair. The
broa(lcaster in describing this said that ac-
cording to the Rules a player was allowed to
repair this hole, \\'hich ~fiddlecoff proceeded
to do by leveling the spot with a wooden tee
and then stepping on it.

Shades of St. Andrews! :\rc the common
pcople like ourselves allowed to do tk\t dur-
ing our Sunday play?

Cor.. STAXLEY E. IhIlDERl/OF, US~fC
Er. TORO (SAXTA ANA), CAT..

A: As part of general course maintenance
for promoting fair play, the US(;:\ for its
competitions directs the greenkecping statT
to repair ball marks on putting greens as
promptly as possihle, e\"Cn if between hall and
Ilole. The marks arc usually repaired before
the players making them have arrived at the
green. If repair were gene raIl v withheld until
the players holed out: there ,\'ould he delav
and interference to succeeding players. ff
ball marks were not repaired hv the fYreen-
keeping staff, players after holing out ~night
not do so, and putting conditions for plavers
ncar the end of the field would usuall~' be
rougher than for their predecessors. -

A player, however, may never repair baIl
marks on the line of putt, and he may not
request a greenkeeper to do so. Rule 18(3 and
4) prohibits a player fro111 touching the line
of putt, from placing a mark anywhere on the
putting green, and from testing the putting
surface by roughening or scraping it.

If a baIl mark were so far removed from
the line of play that it could not possibly affect
subsequent play of the hole, no penalty would
result from its repair by the player. \Ve
recommend, however, that players avoid the
possibility of any question being raised by
deferring repair until play of the hole is
finished ..

V\There the greenkeeping staff is not avail-
able to make frequent repairs as is done at
USGA competitions, players should observe
Section 6 of Etiquette, which provides that
after the play of the hole is completed the
player should see that an" ball hole made bv
him in the putting green- is eradicated ..

Ball Striking Flagstick in Holing Out

No. 48-128. R. 4(Def.), 7(7), 7(8)
Q. 1: One of the members of our four-

some chipped into the Clip from a distance
less than 60 feet. The pin \\'as unattendell
and was in the hole at the time. \Ve were
playing medal play, and it is my contention
that the player making the shot is subject to
the two-stroke penalty covered hy Rule 7(8).
The player who executed the shot claims that
he is not suhject to a penalty because the ball
was holed out.

A. I: \Vhen the flagstick is in the hole a
hall cannot come to r~st in the cup with~ut
hitting the flagstick and. consequentl\', the
flagstick is stntck hy the IJaIl hefore the .stroke
is ,ended. It woulll he impossible for players
or a referee to state whether or not the .hall
had touched the flagstick before entering the
cup, and any interpretation of Rule 7(8) re-
C]uiring such refinement is impracti,al. The
player is penalized two strokes.

Flagstick Held Up During Stroke

Q. 2: In playing from a deep sand trap
adjacent to a green, I instructe(1 mv caddie
to go to the pin and hold up the flag-stick and
keep it held up while T executed' mv shot.
~ry opponent insisted that after I had the
hole indicated to me, the flagstick should he
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returned to the hole before I shot. Please
advise if my instructions to my caddie were
correct.

A. 2: Rule 7 (7) provides that the flag-
stick may be held up at any time, including
during the play of a stroke, to indicate the
position of the hole. It may not be held up
in the line of play-that is, between the
player and the hole-while a stroke is being
played-see Rule 4(Definition).

QUESTIONS BY: T. J. CHARLESWORTH
PITTSBURGH, PA.

Knocking Away Opponent's naIl

No. 48-163. R. 11(4)
Q. 1: In a four-ball match, A and Bare

partners against C and D. All four balls are
on the putting green. All lie 2. D, who is
farthest from the hole, putts first and sinks
the putt. He removes his ball from the hole
and moves to the side of the green. A, who
is next away, putts and his ball comes to
rest on the lip of the hole and he stands over
it. waiting, in the hope that it will drop. C,
who is to putt next, asks A to mark his ball.
A ignores the request.

~ray either partner C or D knock the ball
away, or may it be knocked away only by
that partner (D) who has already holed out?

A. 1: Under Rule 11 (4), C had the right
to request A to lift or play his ball ..

There would be no penalty if either C or D
knocked away A's ball as their action would
produce the same eventual result in substance
-that is, they would have conceded A's next
stroke.

The action of so knocking away a player's
hall is not uncommon in four-hall matches
and in no way benefits the side of the op-
nonent who knocks it away; in fact, it usually
is simply an act of courtesy in not requiring
the player to lift or to play the hall himself.
Accordingly, any claim of penalty against C
or D would he without hasis in equity or
sportsmanship, and we would not uphold any
such claim.

Singles and Four-Rail Simultaneously

Q. 2: The same four players ahove are
playing their four-hall match. In addition
each player is playing cvery other player an
individual match. (This is a form of golf
not recognized in the rulc hook and the proper
answer to the question to he posed helow
prohahly is "Don't play that kind of gal f.")

\\There the rules for single match play con-
flict with the rules for four-hall match play
(as, for example, a player's hall striking an
opponent's hall on the putting green), do the
rules for four-hall match play govern the
play?

A. 2: In matches of this kind plavers
should stipulate in ac!\'ance whether the R"ules
for Four-Ball ),[atches or the Rules for single
m~tch play will govern any contlict that might
arise. In the ahsence of any SlIch stipulation,
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it has been our observation that the Rules
for Four-Ball Matches should usually be ap-
plied in such cases.

QUESTIONS BY: CHARLES R. GROSS
ALTADENA, CAL.

naIl on Lip of Hole

No. 48-169. R. 12(5), 18(5, 7,9)
Q. I: In a match, my opponent's ball was

on the lip of the cup. He thought it was going
to drop, but I didn't, so I waited 10 to 15
seconds. I was going to tap it in the hole,
and he said he would call the hole on me if
I did. I told him I was away and wanted t
putt, and I tapped his ball into the hole, con-
ceeding his putt. I showed him the rule
book, but he said he could have waited as long
as he wanted. I told him if it was going to
drop it would have dropped within 15 seconds.

A. I: The matter hinges on whether your
opponent's ball had come to rest. This is a
question of fact.

If your opponent's ball had come to rest
within six inches of the hole, you did not
incur a penalty in knocking the ball into the
cup. As you had not holed out, it would have
been better for you to require your opponent
to lift his ball as provided in Rule 18(7).

If your opponent's ball had not come to
rest, you lost the hole under Rule 12(5).

Under Rule 18(9), a player is entitled to
only a momentary delay to determine whether
his ball is at rest. There is no specified time
limit.

Actions to Influence nail

Q. 2: Is he allowed to move from his
putting stance after he has putted? I told
him he. couldn't, as that would help the ball
if it were moving because he would be moving
the ground near the hole when he walked up
to the hole and would also be shielding the
hall from the wind. '

A. 2: A player is free to move after plav-
ing. However, his movements must not be
such as to influence the ball into the hole.
Rule 18(5) prohibits a player from shielditl<'
his ball from the wind. ,.,

QUESTIOXS BY: MAHIO C.>\EFM;XO

BELLEVILLE, N. J.

Casual 'Vater in "Rough'.

No. 48-80. D. 3, H. 16(1)
Q: \Vhen a hall is hit into the "rou<rh"

in which there is an accumulation of ;~it1
water or, as the rule book states, "ca~ual
~vater," and the hall is found in this water.
IS the player entitled to a lift without penalty?

E. A. KlOPP
NEW BRITAIN, CONN.

A : Yes. So-called "rough" is part of
"through the green" (Definition 3), and Rule
16(1) applies.


