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THE REFEREE 
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee 

Example of symbols: "No. 4!)-l" means the 
Section 3 of Rule 7 in the current Rules of Golf 

Spectator Picks Up Ball 
No. 49-77. R. 15(3) 

Q. Kindly note the following news­
paper item about the Masters Tourna­
ment at the Augusta National Golf Club: 

"Dutch Harrison lost a ball right 
in the middle of the 15th fairway. 
A spectator crossing the course 
picked it up and disappeared. It 
cost Harrison two strokes." 
From the 15th tee it would be im­

possible to lose a ball driven in the 
direction of the green. I find nothing 
in the Rules that gives relief, except 
by the local committee. In view of the 
large crowds attending tournaments, 
some relief should be given a player 
under the published Rules. 

R. M. HUBERT 
ATHENS, GA. 

A. We are not aware of all the facts 
in the particular case or of the deci­
sion by the local committee. Therefore, 
we can offer only the following general 
comment: 

Where there is no question that a ball 
has been picked up by a spectator, Rule 
15(3) governs, as follows: "If the lie 
of a ball at rest be altered by any out­
side agency except wind, the player shall 
drop, or on the putting green place, 
a ball as near as possible to the place 
where it lay, without penalty." It is 
not necessary to recover the original 
ball, as the Rule provides that a ball 
(not the ball) shall be dropped (or 
placed, as the case may be) . 

Flagstick Can Be Removed 
No. 49-78. R. 7(7); LR 

Q. 1: We know that a player's ball 
hitting the flagstick within 20 yards 
of the hole incurs a penalty of two 
strokes in medal play. Likewise, with 
a caddie attending the flagstick in match 
play, loss of the hole is the penalty 
sustained by the player whose caddie 
is holding the stick. 

In match play, A is playing out of a 
trap beside the putting green and intends 
to play an explosion shot. He tells the 
opponent's caddie to leave the pin in 
and step away from the hole as he 
does not want to endanger hurting 
the caddie in case the shot might be 
picked clean. Opponent B is willing 
to have his caddie not stand at the 
hole and hold the pin, but insists on 

first decision issued in 1949. "H. 7 ( 3 ) " means 

the flagstick being left in the hole, 
claiming that should A hit the pin, A 
would lose the hole. 

Is there any ruling to the effect that 
a player can insist on the flagstick being 
left in the hole when his opponent is 
playing? 

A. 1: No. Rule 7(7) permits either 
side to remove the flagstick at any time 
so that a player might not have the pos­
sible advantage of striking an unat­
tended flagstick. 

Winter Rules Not Recognized 
Q. 2: Regarding winter rules, we 

know that the main purpose is for the 
protection of the fairways. When a 
ball comes to rest in an adjacent fair­
way other than the hole being played, is 
there a USGA ruling as to whether or 
not the player can tee his ball as he 
would in the fairway he is supposed 
to be on? Or is that left entirely up to 
the local committee? 

A. 2: The Rules of Golf do not re­
cognize so-called "winter rules". Deci­
sion 48-28 states the USGA's position. 

Questions by: CASPER A. SHEEN 
TOLEDO, OHIO 

Line of Play Subordinate 
No. 49-79, R. 7 (4,5) 

Q. 1: Frequently we are confronted 
with situations involving application of 
Rule 7 where that Rule does not give 
us the complete answer. So far as we 
have been able to determine, the cur­
rent Rules of Golf say nothing about 
either improving or not improving your 
line of play to the green while lifting 
and dropping under Rule 7, yet it seems 
to be generally accepted that this 
should not be done. The purpose of our 
query is to determine whether officially 
there is some rule which prohibits a 
player by lifting and dropping under 
Rule 7 from improving his line of play 
to the green. In other words, is it 
pimply an unwritten rule or is it a rule 
that a player may insist that his op­
ponent follow? The following are ex-
amoles that we run into on our course: 

The ball comes to rest close to a guy 
wire in such manner that the guy wire 
interferes with the forward swing. In 
this position both the guy wire and ? 
tree are between the ball and the green. 
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If the ball is lifted and dropped two
club-lengths back of the guy wire on
the same line of flight that the ball was
traveling when it came to rest, the line
of flight to the green will also be inter-
fered with by the guy wire and the
tree. However, by dropping two club-
lengths from the nearest spot on the
guy wire (and no nearer the hole) but
(Jut toward the left rather than back
on the line of flight, the player can get
a clear shot to the green. In other
words, although he strictly follows Rule
7 (4c), the player can substantially im-
prove his line of flight to the hole.

A. 1: The purpose of Rule 7 (4,b
and c) is to give the player opportunity
to strike the ball fairly without inter-
ference by an artificial obstruction. The
Rule is not concerned with the desired
line of flight of the ball. It is recognized
that in some cases the line of play may
ce improved even though the procedure
stated in the Rule is followed exactly.
In other cases, however, the player in
obtaining relief to swing the dub freely
may have his line of play impaired.
Either way, it is a break of the game
of the sort which, experience has shown,
cannot be made a matter of rule, and
which has to be accepted in the spirit
of the game. The paramount object of
the Rule is to give freedom for striking
the ball without artificial interference.

Thus in the case described, the player
is within his rights as lon~ as he drops
the ball within two club-lengths of that
point of the guy wire nearest where
the ball originally lay, and the ball
must come to rest not nearer the hole
than its original lie. If in so doing the
player happens to improve his desired
line of play. he is within his rights.

Artificial Drain Defined
Q. 2: A player slices through a line

of trees and the ball rolls into a round-
bottom concrete drain ditch that runs
down the far edge of the trees. Under
local rules, the player can lift without
penalty and drop no nearer the hole.
H he drops within a club-length on the
line the ball was traveling when it went
into the ditch. he will be in the trees.
However. if he can drop on the other
side of the ditch no nearer the hole),
he will have a clear shot to the green.
May he do this?

A. 2: The local rule should be inter-
preted by the local committee \vhich
made it. Not having seen the condition,
we ('an h~rdly appraise it fairly. It is
possible that a lift without penalty
should not be given Clnd that the local
rule should be abolished.

As used in Rule 7 (4), the term
"artificial drains" does not apply to
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ditches. A ditch is a hazard, under Rule
17 (Definition), and the fact that it may
be a drainage ditch does not necessar-
ily remove it from the hazard classifi-
cation; in fact, all ditches doubtless
have drainage value. It should be
further noted that a dry ditch, although
a hazard, is not necessarily a water
hazard unless it is so classified specif-
ically. The course on which the 1948
Amateur Championship was played had
a number of ditches lined with con-
crete, and they were classed as water
hazards.

Of course, a local rule may be adopted
to classify ditches as obstructions under
Rule 7 (4), but we would advise that
such a matter first be considered with
great care.

For information, the term "artificial
drains" as used in Rule 7 (4) means
drains (not ditches) of such materials
as metal, tile or concrete or which are
manufactured even though they may
not be exposed. If any attached or sur-
roun9ing depressions or runways or
bulkheads are to be considered locally
as artificial obstructions under Rule 7
(4), their margins must be defined ex-
actly.

Dropping BaIl from Ditch
Q. 3: Assuming the same facts as in

Question 2 and that the ball rolls 25
yards toward the hole down the con-
crete ditch, do you drop out where the
ball comes to rest or do you go back
the 25 yards where the ball went into
the ditch? This also might make a sub-
stantial difference in the next shot.

A. 3: See Answer 2. If the ditch is
classed as a water hazard, the last
point at which the ball crossed the
margin of the hazard determines the
line on which a ball may be dropped
under Rule 17 (2). However, if a local
rule classifies the ditch as an obstruc-
tion under Rule 7 . (4), the place at
which the ball ultimately comes to rest
controls dropping.

Drop l\Yay Improve Line of Play
Q. 4: A ball comes to rest in ground

under repair. Between the ball and the
green is a tree. This is also true of the
spot where the ball went into the
ground under repair, but two club-
lengths out from the nearest edge of
the ground and no nearer the hole
puts the ball with a clear shot to the
pin. Under Rule 7 (5a), may the player
improve his line of flight in this man-
ner?

A. 4: Yes, provided he observes
Rule 7 (5). The principle involved is
the same as in Answer 1.

Questions by: EUGENEKELLY
Los ANGELES,CAL.
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Line Of Putt May Not Be Touched 

No. 49-90. R. 1(3), 2(1,2), 18(3). 
Q: During the Public Links Cham­

pionship qualifying here, Player A holes 
a putt while Player B awaits his turn. 
After taking the ball from the cup, Play­
er A pats down the edge of the cup in 
the line of Player B's putt. 

Is there any sort of penalty? I have 
searched the Rule Book but can't find 
an answer. 

DUDLEY GREEN 
NASHVILLE, TENN. 

A: The Rules of Golf relating to the 
putting green forbid that the line of 
the putt be touched; see Rule 18(3). This 
is meant to apply to the player's own 
putt, but in stroke play a competitor 
who has holed out should not touch the 
line of putt of a fellow competitor as 
such action might well be of assistance 
to the fellow competitor, who is play­
ing against the field. 

There is nothing in the Rules of Golf 
which would permit one to touch the 
line of a fellow competitor's putt. Rule 
1(3) provides that, "If a point in ques­
tion be not covered by the Rules of 
Golf or local rules, it shall be decided 
by equity." Therefore, it is ruled that 
the competitor who touched the line of 
putt is penalized two strokes under Rule 
2(1). If it should appear that the line 
of putt was touched with the knowledge 
and consent of the fellow competitor, 
both players should be disqualified for 
their dishonorable attempt to evade the 
spirit of the game; see Rule 2 (2). 

If a player consider that a hole has 
been damaged or otherwise does not 
conform with Rule 18(Del) , he should 
immediately report the matter to the 
committee in charge, which should have 
the hole repaired promptly. In stroke 
play it is preferable for a competitor 
not to attempt to repair a damaged 
hole, and in the interest of fair play 
any such practice should be avoided. 

Practice Putts Permitted 
No. 49-92. D.4: R. 10(1) 13(5) 

Q. 1: After a player has holed out, 
may he drop a ball or two and hit prac­
tice shots before moving to the next 
tee? 

A. 1: Yes, but he may be subject to 
penalty under Rule 2(3) prohibiting de­
lay in play. 

Rule 13(5) provides: "After playing 
from the first teeing ground a player 
shall not play a practice stroke with a 
ball from any teeing ground or during 
the play of any hole." 

Croquet Stroke Permitted 
Q. 2: May a player use a putter by 

swinging it between his legs in much 
the manner as some people play cro­
quet? This putter is especially made to 
be used in this manner, the shaft being 
bent before entering the head of the 
club so that it does not violate the rule 
which provides that the shaft must en­
ter the putter between the heel and a 
line terminating at the center of the 
sole. Neither could the head of the put­
ter be termed a "mallet." 

A. 2: The Rules of Golf provide no 
restriction on the type of stroke played 
provided the stroke is in fact a stroke 
and does not conflict with Definition 
4 and Rule 10(1). 

Questions by: ROBERT W. GOLDWATER 
PHOENIX, ARIZ. 

Unplayable Lie: How To Proceed After 
Failure To Hit Ball 

No. 49-101. R. 8. 
Q: In a tournament a ball came to 

rest between two immovable stones. The 
player attempted to play the ball, but 
his club struck one of the stones during 
the swing and he fanned the ball. After 
this stroke, he decided to declare the 
ball unplayable and asked me where he 
should drop the ball. My reply was he 
would have to play the ball as it lay, 
between the two stones. Was I correct? 

JOHN GUSTAFSON 
DULUTH, MINN. 

A: Match Play—Under Rule 8(1), the 
only procedure open to the player was 
to drop a ball, under penalty of one 
stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot 
from which the unplayable ball was 
last played. But, as the last stroke (which 
missed the ball) was played from be­
tween the stones, the player was oblig­
ed to drop a ball at that same spot. If 
the ball then happened to roll into a 
playable position, he could have pro­
ceeded (unless it came to rest nearer 
the hole, in which case he would have 
been obliged to re-drop; see Rule 10 
(5)) ; if the ball happened to roll into 
another unplayable lie, he would have 
been obliged to give up the hole. 

Stroke Play—Under Rule 8(2), the 
player could have done either of the 
following: 

(a) Proceeded as above for match 
play, or 

(b) Under penalty of two strokes, 
teed a ball so as to keep the point from 
which the ball was lifted between him­
self and the hole; if this were impos­
sible, he could have teed a ball as near 
as possible to the place from which the 
ball was lifted but not nearer the hole. 
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Moving Tree Branch in Address 
No. 49-116. R. 2(1) , 7(3) 

Q. At the right of the fairway as one 
approaches the sixth green at Pine Val­
ley Golf Club, Clementon, N.J., and ap­
proximately 40 yards from the putting 
green, is a sand t rap two or three feet 
lower than the fairway. Growing out 
of this trap is a pine tree eight feet 
high, whose branches intermingle with 
another live pine tree which is fifteen 
feet high and also grows out of the trap. 
(Snapshot No. 1.) 

The lowest branch of the eight-foot 
pine tree is alive, is over four feet long, 
comes out of the tree t runk a few inches 
above the sand in the trap and droops 
in the trap so close to this sand that 
some of its twigs and needles touch the 
sand. During the play of this hole, a 
golf ball intended for the sixth green 
comes to rest on the sand in the t rap 
under the middle of this branch, two 
and a half feet from the trunk of the 
eight-foot tree, at which point the 
branch with its twigs and needles is 
two feet wide and some parts of it touch 
the sand. (Snapshot No. 2.) 

The line of the ball to the green is 
at about a 70° angle to this branch. 

The conformation of the .eight-foot 
t ree permits the player, who is r ight-
handed, to take his stance parallel to 
the line from the ball to the green with­
out moving the branch under which 
the ball lies. To play in the direction of 
the green, however, he must back into 
other branches of the eight-foot t ree 
and stand with his back against its tree 
t runk. He can straddle the branch under 
which the ball lies. (Snapshot No. 3.) 

Under the Rules of Golf, can the play­
er, without penalty, in taking his stance, 
bend the branch under which the ball 
lies approximately horizontally by 
nudging with one of his legs so that 
he will not be astraddle it and so he 
will move the branch under which the 
ball lies to where the ball will no longer 
be under it and will be able to take his 
swing in the general direction of the 
green without this branch being in 
the arc of his swing? Were the branch 
to be so moved, its twigs and needles 
would scrape the sand in the trap while 
the branch was being moved. However, 
the structure of the tree and the branch, 
the latter being supple and relatively 

small, would permit the player to so 
bend the branch without breaking it. 
(Snapshot No. 4.) 

If the answer to the foregoing ques­
tion is in the negative, what is the pen­
alty at match play in the event the 
player does nudge the branch under 
discussion in the manner above set 
forth and illustrated in Snapshot No. 4. 

H. W. BURRITT 
BLOOMINGTON, I I I . 

A. If the player were to move the 
branch in the manner described, he 
would violate Rule 7(3) by improving 
the position of his ball. The penalty 
in match play would be the loss of hole; 
see also Rule 2(1) . 

Rule 7(3) contemplates that there 
may be some moving, bending or break­
ing of fixed or growing objects as an 
incident in the course of taking a fair 
stance at address and in making the 
backward or forward swing, and it 
excuses such incidental movements. 
However, the Rule prohibits purposeful 
moving, bending or breaking with the 
aim of improving the position of the ball. 
The second exception in Rule 7(3) con­
dones only such moving, bending or 
breaking as may incidentally be done in 
making the swing, but it does not allow 
such action in order to make the swing. 

The player has taken his stance cor­
rectly in Snapshot No. 3; he is entitled 
to back into the tree in order to take 
a fair stance. He has violated the Rule 
in Snapshot No. 4 by bending out of 
the way the branch interfering with 
his ball. 


