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THE REFEREE

Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: "“No. 49-1" means the first decision issued in 1949,

Section 3 of Rule 7 in the current Rules of Golf

Play Completed when Hole Is Won
No. 49-56. R. 3(1), 18(9)

Q: In a match, A sank his last putt,
getting a birdie 4. B’s ball was about
14 inches from cup, lying 4. A, figuring
that he had won the hole, intended to
stroke B’s ball over to him and, in so
doing, accidentally stroked B’s ball into
the cup.

The Referee gave B a 4 for the hole
and ruled the hole as being halved. Was
the Referee’s ruling correct?

Tromas CHING
HonoLurLu, Hawal

A: No. A won the hole as he holed
his ball in fewer strokes than did B, and
as soon as he did so the play of the hole
\&g}%) completed. See Rules 3(1) and
1 .

Replacing Ball Moved by Opponent’s
No. 49-59. R. 12(4, 4a)

Q: A and B are playing a match in
a tournament, the stymie rule applying.
A’s ball is on the green, a few feet from
the pin. B’s approach shot hits A’s ball
in a manner that sends it to the far
edge of the green, B’s ball remaining
near the pin, but not a stymie for A’s
ball where it now lies nor from where it
originally lay. A contends that under
Rule 12(4) she may replace her ball
as near as possible to the spot from
which it was moved without penalty.
B contends that, under the stymie rule,
A may not touch her ball, except under
Rule 18(7). The committee in charge
upheld B’s contention.

Mrs. HowarD BUTTRESS
SAN MariNo, CAL.

A: Under Rule 12(4), A had the
choice of replacing her ball in its orig-
inal position (which must be done im-
mediately) or of playing it from the
position to which it was moved. See also
Rule 12(4a).

Ball Re-Teed: No Choice in Spot
No. 49-60. R. 9(1)
Q: A player plays his tee shot from
the left side of the tee and the ball
goes out of bounds. Can he play his
second from any part of the tee or must
he play from the approximate spot from

which he hit his first ball?
, WARREN CORKRAN
BALTIMORE, MD.

“R. 7 (3)” means

A: He must play as nearly as possible
at the spot from which he originally
played. See Rule 9(1).

Stymie Rule: No Abrogation Permitted
No. 49-62. R. 10(2), 18(7)

Q: In the Texas State Public Links
Tournament, the board of managers and
committee in charge announced that
stymies would not be played.

I am somewhat surprised at such an
announcement, particularly in connec-
tion with a fairly large and important
event such as a state tournament.

I would appreciate a reply stating
whether or not the USGA has an official
connection with the above-mentioned
tournament and whether or not the
USGA permits the abrogation of such
a basic rule as the one under discussion.

JOHN A. MOORE
Texas City, TEXAS

A: The USGA has no direct con-
nection with the tournament. The Rules
of Golf do not permit abrogation of
the stymie. See Rules 10(2) and 18(7).

Play-Off Methods, Stroke Play
No. 49-63. R. 3(2)

Q: We held a member-guest tourna-
ment at 36 holes medal, with 18 holes
played one day and 18 played another
day. Two teams tied for the low gross
prize.

The committee wishes to know what
procedure to follow: whether there
should be 18 holes played at a future
date by both teams, whether there
should be a sudden death play-off or
whether they should match cards, start-
ing on the first hole of the 36-hole
contest on a sudden death basis.

J. JosepH MASON
HasBrouck HEIGHTS, N.J.

A: It is within the province of the
local committee to decide; see Rule 3(2).
We would recommend a play-off at
stroke play at 18 holes, but it would be
equitable to decide it at fewer holes,
except that a one-hole play-off would
not seem appropriate to the type of
competition.

Matching cards is not recommended.
The original test set was at stroke play;
as the two teams finished on even terms,
it would be unfair to revert arbitrarily,
by means of artificial match play, to
any portion of the total test.
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Claim Must Be Made on 18th Green
No. 49-64. R. 1(2a)

Q: In a handicap match for our
club championship, one player had to
8ive the other three strokes. Ours is
a nine-hole course. This called for two
strokes on the first nine and one on
the second. But two strokes were cred-
ited also on the second nine. This al-
lowed the match to be won on the 18th
hole with the wrongly accredited stroke;
that is, without that stroke they would
have been tied. The score card was ap-
proved by both parties and dropped
In a box kept for that purpose but re-
viewed by no one else.

After coming in from the 18th hole,
one player remarked that the gift of
the stroke on the 18th hole turned the
match. A member who heard that re-
mark later telephoned both players, ap-
prising them of the mistake. Of course
the one who lost the match on account
of the error stated that she was ready
to resume the match. The other said
it could not be resumed because it had
not been discovered Wefore leaving
the 18th hole. The club pro agreed with
this interpretation. I would like to know
the Rules, not for the purpose of chang-
ing the match but for the good of the
Club. Only one score card was kept
and that by one of the players, but
it was reviewed by the other player
before turning it in.

Mrs. Grapys E, CaiN
Yuma, ARIZ.

A: The match must stand as played.
Claim was not entered as provided in
Rule 1(2a)—in this case before leav-
ing the putting green of the last hole
of the round.

Out-of-Bounds Line Must Be Complete
No. 49-65. R. 9(Def.)
Q: No. 1 hole is a dog-leg to the right,
300 yards long. There is an out-of-
bounds line extending from tee out
200 yards only, along right side of fair-
way. This out of bounds line for 200
yards is to force players to play the
dog-leg for safety, to protect incoming
players on No. 9 fairway. The out of
bounds extends only 200 yards and
stops. There is no out of bounds line
on the last 100 yards to the green.
We rule that any ball going out of
bounds and not recrossing an out-of-
bounds line must be considered as out
(it cannot recross a line as there is no
further line to cross), regardless of
where the ball comes to rest. We are
familiar with the fact that a ball can
cross an out-of-bounds line and then
recross that line before coming to rest,
and still be in bounds. But in our
case the ball crosses out and goes beyond
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our end marker and cannot recross the
out-of-bounds line to bring it back in
bounds as there is no line to cross.
Dr. C. Ray SturRM
FairmoNT, W. Va.
A: Your local rule conflicts with
Definition of ball out of bounds in Rule
9 and appears impossible to administer
fairly. Place where ball comes to rest
must be determining factor. Suggest
that you complete boundary to prevent
any possible question.

Handicaps Province of Local Committee
No. 49-66. Hdcp., Tourn.
Q: Handicap match-play tourna-
ment extending over a whole month:
Should 16 low be paired on low gross
or net scores? With one match a week
played, should handicap at time of qual-
ifying be used all month or new handi-
cap as it is lowered each week?

MRs. BROWN TREXLER

Lexingron, Ky.

A: Local committee must decide
whether net or gross scores determine
qualifiers and pairings for handicap
match play. There is no rule or estab-
lished custom. Handicaps should not be
changed during tournament unless com-
mittee deems advisable to so provide
in advance.

Artificial Drains Defined
No. 49-67. R. 7(4-Def.); 17(Def.)

Q: In reviewing the Rules of Golt

for 1949, I note that Rule 7(4) includes
artificial drains, the definition of which
I will appreciate your clarifying due
to the fact that Rule 17 discontinues
classifying roads as hazards.
* As the contour of most of the clubs
in this State is sufficiently severe to
necessitate maintenance of roads through
certain portions of the course, it is
necessary to maintain open ditches
paralleling the road to carry off excess
rainfall, and as these are not artificial,
question has already arisen regarding
conflict between artificial drains under
Rule 7.

As the roads in question are necessary,
many clubs will no doubt continue to
classify them as a hazard under their
local rules, as the presence of the road
naturally reduces the number of sand
traps and other hazards.

RoBErRT J. FOLEY
HuNTINGTON, W. VA,

A: As used in Rule 7(4), the term
“artificial drains” means drains of such
materials as metal, tile, or concrete
which are manufactured, even though
they may not be exposed. If any at-
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tached or surrounding depressions or
runways or bulkheads are to be con-
sidered locally as artificial obstruc-
tions under Rule 7(4), their margins
must be defined exactly.

The term *“artificial drains” does not
apply to ditches. A ditch is a hazard,
under Rule 17 (Definition), and the fact
that it may be a drainage ditch does
not necessarily remove it from the
hazard classification; in fact, all ditches
doubtless have drainage value. It should
be further noted that a dry ditch, al-
though a hazard, is not necessarily a
water hazard unless it so classified spe-
cifically.

It is within the spirit of the Rules for
a club, by local rule, to classify roads as
hazards.

Rocks Embedded: Definition

No. 49-68. R. 2(1), 7(2, 3)

Q: How deep does a boulder have to
be in the ground to be embedded?
Discussion here varies and I can
find no definition on this part of
Rule 7. If embedded rock is moved
by player believing it not embedded,

what is penalty?
W. F. Fox, Jr.

INDIANAPOLIS, IND.
A: Fact of being embedded at all,
and not depth embedded, determines
whether a rock is a thing fixed as men-
tioned in Rule 7, Sections 2 and 3. Even
loose, pulverized dirt lying through the
green comes within this category if
it is not piled for removal or is not
a burrowing animal cast. Penalty for
violating Rule 7, Section 3, is loss of
hole in match play, or two strokes in
stroke play—see Rule 2, Section 1.

Flagstick Removed by Either Side
No. 49-69. R. 7(7)

Q: Rule 7(7) provides in part that,
“the flagstick may be removed by either
side at any time.” In match play A,
who is shooting, is five yards off the
green and he wishes to leave the flag-
stick in the hole; B contends that he
may remove it so that A will not have
the advantage of the flagstick being
in the position to stop the ball. B’s
contention is that the rule book says
that either side may remove the flag-
stick at any time. My contention is that
when A is shooting, B may not touch
the flagstick unless A asks him to.

A. F. DECREMER
Peor1a, ILL.

A: B’s understanding of Rule 7(7)
is correct.

The flagstick may be removed by
either side at any time. If this were
not so, the player might have the ad-
vantage of striking an unattended flag-
stick, and the Rule gives the opponent
the right to obviate that possibility.
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The Rule further provides, however,
that a player may always have the
position of the hole indicated to him.

Protective Screens: Relief Limited
No. 49-70. R. 7(4c)

Q: We have erected some protective

screens on our course, and there have
been a number of questions as to what
relief from them is afforded by the
Rules. My answer has been that the
player may drop his ball, not nearer
the hole, two club-lengths from the
screen.
. The question that arises in my mind
is whether the two club-lengths is
measured from where the ball lies or
whether it can be two club-lengths from
any part of the screen. If it is from any
part of the screen, the player could
follow the Rule and drop not nearer the
hole but still obtain a clear shot toward
the green by going to the end of the
screen and measuring from there.

In the event that the player must
measure the two club-lengths from
where his ball lies, rather than from the
screen, am I right in my belief that
the player does not necessarily need
to keep the screen between him and the
hole but can measure off the dis-
tance on the other side of the screen
as long as he does not get nearer to
the hole? This is assuming that the
ball is lying right at the base of the
screen.

CHARLES R. WiILsoN
RiversIDE, ILL.

A: Protective screens are obstruc-
tions under Rule 7(4). If such an im-
movable obstruction within two club-
lengths of the ball interefere with the
player’s backward or forward swing
or his stance for a stroke in the desired
direction, relief is given by Rule 7(4c)—
that is, assuming the ball is not in a
hazard, it “may be lifted without pen-
alty and dropped, or on the putting
green placed, within two club-lengths
of the point of the obstruction nearest
where the ball originally lay, and must
come to rest not nearer the hole.”

The Rule does not necessarily give
relief insofar as the desired line of
flight of the ball is concerned, but it
does not limit the direction in which the
ball is dropped. The object of the
Rule is to enable the player to have a
free swing without interference by the
obstruction; the Rule is not concerned
with the desired line of the ball’s flight.

Unplayable Ball
No. 49-71. R. 7(4), 8(1) (2b).
Q: 1: Rule 8(2) states that, in stroke
play, a ball may be lifted from any
place on the course except a water
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hazard or casual water in a hazard. If
the player so lifts a ball, he may, under
Rule 8 (2a), go back to the spot from
which he played his previous stroke
and drop a ball (or tee it, if from teeing
ground) and proceed as under Rule 8(1);
or he may, under Rule 8 (2b), tee a
ball under penalty of two strokes and
proceed as described under Rule 8(2b).

(a) Assume player has not played
a provisional ball, and he finds or de-
clares his ball unplayable. Does the
player have the option of teeing a ball
at the unplayable spot with a two-stroke
penalty as under Rule 8(2b), or of going
back to the spot from which he played
the previous stroke and proceeding
.under Rule 8(1)?

(b) It appears that Rule 8(2b) ap-
plies only to an unplayable ball since
he obviously cannot lift a lost ball
or an out-of-bounds ball. Is this true?

(c) Rule 8(1) states that the player
shall play his next stroke as nearly
as possible at the spot from which the
ball which is lost or unplayable was
played. Does the word shall mean that
he must do this, or should shall be
be changed to may?

A: 1: (a) Yes, provided the com-
petition is stroke play.

(b) Yes.

. (c) The word “shall” is correctly used
in expressing a mandate. In match play,
Rule 8(1) prescribes the only pro-
cedure which may be followed when
a ball is lost or unplayable. In stroke
play, when a player elects the option
provided in Rule 8(2a), he must pro-
ceed in exactly the manner described
in Rule 8(1).

Q: 2: Under Rule 7(4) for artificial
obstructions, no mention is specifically
made of permanent flagpoles. On the
18th hole of our course there is a
75-foot permanent flagpole, which on
occasion can be directly in line between
a ball and the hole since the flagpole
is located about 30 feet to the side of
the green.

If the flagpole is in line with the in-
tended shot, and the ball happens to
be more than two club-lengths away
from the pole, is it permissible to move
the ball sideways, no nearer the hole,
to avoid being stymied by the flagpole?

A: 2: A flagpole is an artificial ob-
struction of the sort contemplated by
Rule 7(4). In the situation described,
it is not permissible to move the ball
without penalty. Rule 7(4c) gives re-
lief when an artificial obstruction in-
terferes with the swing or the stance,
but not necessarily with the desired
line of play; further, the obstruction
must be immovable and within two
club-lengths of the ball before relief
may be had. The main object of the Rule
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is to give opportunity to swing the
club without interference by the ob-
struction.
Questions by: C.L. EIGELBACH
ScHENECTADY, N.Y

Play-Off Methods: Match Play
No. 49-72. Hdcp.
Q: Match play: my handicap, 31;
opponent’s handicap, 34. Match was
halved. We agreed to ‘“sudden death”
on the 19th hole.

It is the opinion of many at the
club that “sudden death” is a violation
even if it is agreed upon. What is your
opinion?

ARTHUR MAHARAM
New York, N.Y.

A: Where a handicap match is even
at the end of the designated round, the
fairest way to determine the winner
is to replay the entire match. When this
is not possible for lack of time or for
other reasons, it is recommended that
the winner be determined by lot or
by playing a lesser number of holes
which will truly reflect the handicap
difference. For example, if A gives B
six strokes, one of which comes on
the first three holes, the competitors can
determine the winner by playing those
three holes; or if A gives B ten strokes,
it would be equitable to play nine holes
under a handicap of five strokes.

In the present case, the match should
stand as played unless the players
agreement on a “sudden death” play-off
violated a rule of the tournament.

The local committee should provide
for such cases in advance.

Bridge in Hazard: Lift Permitted
No. 49-75. R. 7(4b)

Q: May a ball lying on a bridge
crossing a hazard, at the option of the
player concerned, be lifted off the
bridge and played from the hazard if
the player so elects?

G. T. WHITMORE, JR.
CLEVELAND, OHIO

A: Yes, as provided in Rule 7(4b).
The ball must be placed in the hazard,
not nearer the hole, as near as possible
to the place where it lay on the ob-
struction and without interference
therefrom.



