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THE REFEREE 
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee 

Example of symbols: "No. 49-1" means the first decision issued in 1949. "R. 7 ( 3 ) " means 
Section 3 of Rule 7 in the current Rules of Golf. 

Flaying without a Marker 

No. 48-108. R. 21 (2, 4) ; Tourn. 
Q: During a Ju ly Tournament at 

match play over four weeks, we ran at 
the same time on one week-end an 18-
hole medal play partners ' best ball, and 
permitted scores in the July Tourna­
ment to count in the best-ball partner­
ship one-day tournament. 

Two players matched against each 
other in the July Tournament decided to 
play also and at the same time as a part­
nership team in the best-ball one-day 
tournament. Contrary to rules, these two 
went out and played by themselves. So 
far as their match play in the July Tourn­
ament is concerned, that appeared all 
r ight; but I, as Chairman of the Tourna­
ment Committee, disqualified them from 
the one-day best-ball tournament on the 
grounds that they had no one playing 
with them to certify their scores. 

This partners ' best ball tournament 
was scheduled to be played on either day 
of a week-end, a Saturday or a Sunday. 
They played the round on Saturday re­
sulting in their disqualification. They 
claim they had a right to play it again the 
next day. 

I believe that when you are once dis­
qualified from a tournament, there is no 
way you can play in it a second time; if 
we were to allow that, such players 
would have had two opportunities as 
against only one for all others. They 
argue that that applies only when they 
have been disqualified for an infraction 
of golf Rules. My answer is that the 
golf Rules always require in tournament 
play certification of scores by a player 
outside the match. 

ALBERT DE BEDTS 
N E W YORK, N. Y. 

A: Although we are willing to answer 
inquiries regarding duly constituted 
events, we must decline to rule on com­
plicated combinations which the Rules do 
not recognize, as, for example, combining 
stroke and match play, for which some 
governing Rules differ. The committee 
in charge should clearly determine the 
conditions of such events in advance. It 
should be noted further that the Rules 
of Golf do not cover four-ball stroke play. 

For guidance, we call attention to Rule 
21 (2 and 4) dealing with marking scores 
in stroke play. A competitor in stroke 
play who competes without a marker and 
without the Committee's approval must 
be disqualified from the entire competi­
tion. 

Opponent Removing Flagstick 

No. 49-15. R. 7(7), (8) 
Q: Rule 7(7) states: "The flagstick 

may be removed by either side at any 
time." Playing in a four-ball match, 
my partner was approaching the green 
outside the 20-yard limit. One of our 
opponents asked his caddie to handle 
the flagstick for my partner, whereas 
my partner wanted to decline the use 
of the flagstick inasmuch as he was 
beyond the 20-yard limit. Could we 
decline the use of the flagstick under 
this situation, or would we have to ac­
cept the decision of our opponent? 

GURTH ROBINSON 
KNOXVILLE, TENN. 

A: Under Rule 7(7), your opponent 
was entitled to have the flagstick re­
moved, no matter how far away from 
the hole your partner's ball was. If this 
were not so, your partner might have 
the advantage of striking an unattend­
ed flagstick, and the Rules give an op­
ponent the right to obviate that possi­
bility. 

If the flagstick is not removed, the 
player has the right to send his own 
caddie to attend it while he plays his 
stroke. The player may not compel an 
opponent's caddie to attend the flag-
stick. 

There is no so-called "20-yard limit" 
with respect to striking the flagstick in 
match play. You probably have this 
confused with the reference to stroke 
play in Rule 7(8). 

Practice Stroke as Provisional Ball 
No. 49-16. R. 1(3), 2(1), 13 (5), 19 

Q: Rule 13(5) specifically prohibits 
a practice stroke with a ball from any 
teeing ground or during the play of any 
hole after playing from the first teeing 
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ground. The penalty is disqualifica­
tion in stroke play; no penalty is given 
for match play. 

Rule 19 states that a player may play 
a provisional ball if a ball has been 
played to a part of the course where it 
may be lost, unplayable, or out of 
bounds. Rule 19(c) states that a player 
is under no obligation to state that he 
is playing a provisional ball for one of 
the reasons set forth in this rule. 

It seems to me that Rule 19 gives the 
player a means of violating Rule 13(5) 
without suffering a penalty. If he de­
sires to play a practice stroke, he can 
do so, and if questioned about it can 
merely state that he is playing a pro­
visional ball, which he is entitled to do 
at any time. 

I would appreciate very much having 
your views on this apparent loophole in 
the Rules. I realize that it is a situ-
tion that will not arise very often, but 
I dislike seeing a situation where the 
interpretation of a Rule depends on the 
player's stated intent rather than on his 
actions. 

HOMER HAGGARD 
WILMINGTON, DEL. 

A: The penalty for violating Rule 
13(5) in match play is loss of hole. See 
Rule 2(1). 

The Rules of Golf are framed on the 
assumption that golfers play honestly. 
If a player conformed to the spirit of 
the first paragraph of Rule 19, he would 
never play a practice stroke disguised 
as a provisional ball. 

Permission to play a provisional ball 
is granted by Rule 19 only on the fol­
lowing conditions: (a) when a ball has 
been played to a par t of the course where 
there is a possibility of its being lost, 
unplayable or out of bounds; and (b) 
for the sole purpose of saving time. 

Thus, if it should appear that a player 
were taking unfair advantage of the 
permission to play a provisional ball, 
the opponent or the referee (or, in stroke 
play, the committee) might justifiably 
claim that the purpose of Rule 19 had 
not been observed and that a practice 
stroke had been taken in violation of 
Rule 13(5). It also might justifiably 
be claimed tha t the player breached 
Rule 2(3) prohibiting delay in play. 

Attention is called to Rule 1(3), 
which provides: "If a noint in question 
be not covered by the Rules of Golf or 
local rules, it shall be decided by equi­
ty." 
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Measuring Holes 
No. 49-13. Par 

Q: Would you kindly inform us of the 
proper manner in which to determine 
the length between tees and greens? 
It would seem to us that a ball played 
on a hilly course would really have to 
travel farther to attain a certain yardage 
than on a flat course, as on a flat course 
the distance would apDroximate that of 
air line, while on a hilly course the ball 
has to be elevated more to cover a 
given distance, thereby increasing the 
yardage it has to cover. 

M. M. BAMBERGER 
UNION, N. J. 

A: Each hole should be measured 
horizontally or along air line (which­
ever is more appropriate for the part­
icular hole) from the middle of the tee 
to the center of the green, following the 
planned line of play. The planned line 
of play applies to the line contemplated 
by the architect in laying out the hole 
and does not necessarily mean a direct 
line from tee to green. Thus, in a 
hole with a bend, the line at the elbow 
point should be centered in the fairway 
in accordance with the architect's in­
tentions. 

The foregoing general principles apply 
to all types of holes. However, in com­
puting par for a hole, configuration of 
the ground and anv other difncu1* or 
unusual conditions should be taken into 
consideration. See "Directions for 
Computing Par" in the Rules of Golf 
booklet. 

Committee May Postpone Match 
No. 49-19.R. 20 (1) ; Tourn. 

Q: A finalist in the women's club 
championship had to undergo an emer­
gency operation for appendicitis. I 
have failed to find a rule coverir r t this, 
whether the championship should be 
won by default or if an extension of t ime 
can be granted and how much time. 
Would you advise if there is a rule 
covering this or, if there is not. would 
you render a decision for us? The local 
tournament committee extended the time 
six weeks. Was this OK? 

MIKE M. SWISDAK 
OCALA, FLA. 

A: Authority to settle the matter 
rests with the local committee, as it 
best knows all the circumstances. 

It is the committee's responsibility to 
arrange starting times and to deal with 
any failure to observe them. Rule 20 (1) 
provides in part: "Players shall start 
at the times and in the order arranged 
by the committee," under penalty of 
disqualification. The committee was 
within its powers in postponing the final 
match six weeks. 
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Bending Growing Objects
No. 49-22.R. 7(3), Hdcp.

Q. 1: You are not allowed to re-
move or press down any irregularities
of the ground which could in any way
affect your stroke, and you must not
move, bend or break anything fixed
or growing except as is necessary in
taking your stance or in swinging.

Does this rule mean that an over-
hanging branch of a tree or bush can
or cannot be bent out of the way before
making the stroke, or does it mean that
it can be touched only in the process
of making the stroke?

A. 1: Rule 7(3) contemplates that
there may be some moving, bending or
breaking of fixed or growing objects as
an incident in the course of taking a
fair stance at address and in making the
backward or forward swing, and it ex-
cuses such incidental movements. How-
ever, the Rule prohibits purposeful
moving, bending or breaking with the
aim of improving the position with the
ball. The second exception in Rule 7 (3)
condones only such moving, bending or
breaking as may incidentally be done
in making the swing, but it does not
allow such action in orde,r to make the
swing.

Tie in Handicap Match
Q. 2: Two men playing a match

with a difference of 5 strokes are
all even at the end of 18 holes. Should
they play another 18 holes, should
they play 9 holes, or should they play
sudden death, with poorer player taking
strokes on holes designated on the score
card?

A. 2: Where a handicap match is
even at the end of 18 holes, the fairest
way is to replay the entire match at 18
holes. If this is not possible for want of
time or for other reasons, we recommend
that the winner be determined by play-
ing a lesser number of holes which will
truly reflect the handicap difference.
For example, if A gives B six strokes,
one of which comes on the first three
holes, the competitors can play those
three holes, or, if A gives B 10 strokes,
it would be equitable to play nine holes
under a handicap allowance of five
strokes. It is, of course, a matter for
the committee in charge to determine,
it knowing all the circumstances and
being best able to determine the practical
solution. The committee in charge
should determine how halved matches
shall be decided before the start of the
tournament. If unforeseen circum-
stances prevent application of the fore-
going recommendations, the committee
should settle the matter equitably.

Questions by: Russ IVERSON
RACINE,WIS.
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Knocking Away Opponent's Ball
No. 49-23.R. 12 (5), 18 (7, 9)

Q: My opponent and I were both on
the green. I had a putt of approximately
20 feet, and his putt was approximately
10 feet. I putted and my ball hung on
the lip of the cup. My opponent, after
a period of approximately 30 seconds
to one minute, knocked my ball away.

While he was walking up to knock
my ball away, I told him, "Do not hit
my ball: I think it is rolling".

My opponent said, "It does not make
any difference-I can knock your ball
away any time I choose to when it is
in my line and it is my putt".

I contended that it was a question of
fact whether the ball had stopped rolling
or not and it made no difference
whether it was his putt or not-I had a
reasonable length of time to wait and
see if the ball was still rolling.

I later contended after reading the
rule book that he was wrong, and that
the only time he could knock my ball
away was when his was already in the
hole and, in knocking my ball away, he
was at the same time claiming the hole
or conceding a half.

In this particular case my putt was
for 3, and when he knocked it away,
I, of course, took a 4, and he made his
putt for 3.

His point of view is that when it is his
putt and my ball is in his line, he can
knock it away any time he wants to with-
out giving me a reasonable length of
time to see if my ball is still rolling.

S. W. CREEKMORE,JR.
FORT SMITH, ARK.

A: The matter hinges on whether
your ball had come to rest. This is a
question of fact. Under Rule 18 (9), a
player is entitled to a momentary delay
to determine whether his ball is at rest.
If your ball had not come to rest, your
opponent lost the hole under Rule 12
(5) for moving your ball.
If your ball had come to rest within

six inches of the hole, your opponent
could have required you to lift it under
Rule 18 (7) and could have conceded
your next stroke. His action in knock-
ing your ball away did not entail a
penalty if it were clearly established that
your ball had come to rest and was
within six inches of the hole. However,
as your opponent had not holed out, it
would have been better for him to
require you to lift your ball as provided
in Rule 18 (7).

Your opponent is wrong in contending
that he can knock your ball away when-
ever it is in his line. Stymies are
regulated by Rule 18 (7).


