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It Never Fails!

By ISAAC B. GRAINGER

SECRETARY OF USGA, CHAIRMAN ofF RuLeEs oF GoLF COMMITTEE

The afternoon before the Open Champ-
ionship at the Medinah Country Club,
a member of the USGA Executive Com-
mittee was overheard saying to another:
“I'll. bet you that before Saturday
a member of the Executive Committee
will have ‘laid an egg’ and that by six
o’clock an unprecedented incident will
have occurred.”

The second wager was won before noon
the next day. For the first time in USGA
history, a contestant was playing 3
when he first put his ball in play from
the first tee. Why? His late arrival
caused unfair delay of other players, and
revised Rule 2 (3) with its two-stroke
penall)’ was invoked b_\' the Committee,
instead of Rule 20 (1). The penalty
under Rule 20 (1) is disqualification.
Under amended Rule 2 (3), disquali-
fication could have resulted from a second
violation any time during the tournament.

Other Rules were given generous tests
during the three days. For instance, the
second hole provided ample evidence for
the necessity of further studying the pro-
visional-ball rule where water hazards
are concerned. This par-3 hole pro-
duced a number of 7s and much unavoid-
able delay because of the length of the
water-carry and the extraordinary dis-
tance the players had to walk from tee to
green. Many balls failed to make the
water-carry.

The Long Walk

Rule 19 (el prohibits a provisional
ball for one which may be in a water
hazard. Hence, rather than put another
ball in play, the players usually elected
to take the long walk to ascertain if the
first ball were playable. In most such
cases it was necessary to return to the
tee.

A well-known professional returned and
put his second attempt in the water. On
his third try, playing 5, he inadvertently
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elected to drop and play from an alter-
nate tee, nearer the water but somewhat to
the right of the original tee. Therefore.
because he failed to keep the spot at
which the ball last crossed the margin
of the hazard between him and the hole,
a two-stroke penalty gave the player a
0, after he reached the green and took
two putls,

The second green created another prob-
lem: With water on two sides and the
green otherwise protected by a steep bank
with deep grass. it was likely that balls
coming to rest behind the green might be
played back into the water. In most such
cases Rule 17 (2) would have required
that the player return to the other side of
the lake to play his next stroke, with a
penalty stroke added. To obviate this
a special ruling provided for application
of the unplayable-ball rule, 8 (1), which
permitted dropping the ball (or placing
if within 60 feet of the hole and not
in a hazard) at the place from which
it was played into the water, with the
usual penalty of stroke and distance.

It is almost impossible to have a
tournament without a ball coming to rest
in clothing. This time, ane landed in the
lap of a voung lady sitting near the eighth
green. In her fright, she arose and the



USGA JournaL: July, 1949

ball nestled in the corner of a pocket
in her coat which had been spread upon
the ground. Obviously, the artificial
obstruction Rule, 7 (4), was invoked;
because the spot was technically on the
putting green, that is, within 60 feet of
the pin and not in a hazard, the player
was allowed to lift the coat and place
the ball.

Bobby Locke was the victim of an
unusual occurrence. After an extremely
long shot from the ninth tee and what
appeared to be a perfectly executed
second with an iron, the ball came to
rest 25 yards short of the green. Noting
a peculiar sound when the clubhead
came in contact with ball, Locke asked
an official to inspect the ball. The official
found that the ball gave way under finger
pressure, and he therefore declared it
unfit for play, allowing substitution with-
out penalty.

Ball Moves—No Penalty

Another prominent competitor found
his ball under a leaf in the rough. As
he leaned over to remove the leaf, but
before touching it, the ball sank in the
grass. Question: Was a penalty incurred?
No. The player had not taken his stance,
nor had he soled his club. Had the leaf,
or any other loose impediment within a
club-length of the ball, been touched
before the ball moved from its position,
either horizontally or otherwise, a pen-
alty of one stroke would have been
incurred.

For the first time in USGA champion-
ship play, gallery stands were erected
around the 18th green. They proved far
from satisfactory. Although placed at
distances which appeared to be out of
the playing area, there were instances in
practice when play was interfered with.
The artificial obstruction rule did not
suffice in giving relief. Hence, special
regulations had to be devised. and during
the tournament they were invoked on
a number of occasions. Tt is doubtful
that stands ever will be permitted again.

A flag at the top of a 75-foot pole
would seem innocuous enough, but not
so in a golf championship where things
never fail to be different. At a particular
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time each day, for about 20 minutes,
the large flag flying above and uncar the
18th green caused a moving shadow over
the 18th cup. In more than one in-
stance the shadow caused a serious case
of jitters to a player trying to line up
a putt.

An innovation at Medinah was the
method of repairing the greens during
play. For some time the USGA Executive
Committee has been struggling with this
problem. The only solution seemed to be
in a procedure which sometimes violated
the spirit and the letter of Rule 18 (3)
prohibiting touching the line of putt.
Appeals have been made to players for
strict adherence to Section 6 of the
Etiquette of Golf concerning eradication
of ball holes after holing out; but be-
cause so many ignored this simple re-
quirement, the USGA, in order to make
play as nearly fair as possible for all,
has usually arranged for local green
attendants to repair any ball holes as
soon as made, and before players reached
the green (see Decision 48-178 published
on page 21 in the Winter, 1949, edition
of the USGA Jourw~aL.)

The procedure followed at the 1949
Open contradicts this Decision in that
attendants were not permitted to make
any repairs until after players had com-
pleted putting, and then only before the
succeeding players had played their shots
to the green. Hitherto, it was thought
that this method would interfere with
play, but, despite confirmation of this
in one or two cases, the experiment
proved worth while. A continuation of
this plan would seem justifiable. If
it can be made permanent, the Rules of
Golf Committee will be happy that the
conflict between championship procedure
and daily application of the Rules will
have been eliminated.

All Those Divots

All those divots we have taken
From a somewhat perfect lie
Must have rendered us a service.
Do we cruelly let them die?
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