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Decisions by the USG A Rules. of Golf COll1111ittee

Exam pie of symbol.:5: "No. 49-1" means the first decision issued in 1949.•. R. i (3)" means
Section 3 of Rule 7 in the current Rules of Golf.

Claims: Time Limit For Making
No. 48-171. D. 1; R. 1 (2a), 2 (2)

Q: In interclub women's team match-
es, the teams play two-ball twosomes,
which makes the interclub play in four-
somes. A particular match was all even
on the back side on the 17th tee.

This hole measures 175 yards. None
of the foursome hit the green. All four
chipped on the green from shore yard-
age. The lady with the longest putt,
after close scrutiny, announced that it
was not her ball. Further examination
disclosed that her partner was also
about to putt with the wrong ball. The
partners had switched balls, although
none of the four was sure \vhether the
change in balls had been made on the
tee or at the chip shot.

Considerable discussion followed, with
none of the four knowing the rule gover-
ning and none thinking to get an official
decision before proceeding. Anyway,
they all agreed to hole out th2 b311s they
had chipped to the green. The two
offending partners both sank their putts
while the shorter putt of the opposition
was missed, thus giving the offending
side one point. Without further com-
ment or protest, they drove off the 18th
tee. On this hole the offending team won
one point, which put them 2 up on the
back nine. thus squaring the match. as
they had been 2 down on the front side.
These re:mlts were turned in bv both
team captains, with no immediate com-
ment about the 17th hole.

An hour later a protest was filed by
the non-offending team wita th~ Asso-
ciation's Rules Committee.

Under the Rules of Golf covering four-
ball play, what right of protest does
the non-offending team have? I bP.li(~ve,
first, thaI: having condoned the exchange
of balls by the offending team, the non-
offending team becomes equally guilty
and that a<; a result both teams should
have been disqualified under Rule 2 (2);
and second, under Rule 1 (2a), unless
claim of protest had been made before
they teed ofT on the next, or 18th hole.
no later protest could be claimed merelv
because either or both teams did not
know the Rule covering.

F-ARRY WINTERS
INGLEWOOD.CAt.

A: The match described was a four-
ball match (see Definition 1).

The 17th hole should stand as played.
A claim to the contrary was not made
within the time limit provided in Rule
1 (2a).

It was never established that the so-
called "offending team" exchanged balls
during the play of a hole; the exchange
may have been made on the teeing
ground when the balls were not in play.
In view of this doubt as to whether a
Rule was ever violated, it cannot be
held that the players breached Rule 2
(2) pertaining to agreement to waive
Rules or penalties.

Unplayable Ball in Stroke Play
No. 49-1, R. 8(2b)

Q. 1: There is quite a difference
of opinion regarding Rule 8(2b). In
the case of an unplayable ball a num-
ber maintain that if it is impossible to
playa ball behind the place from which
the ball was lifted, they can. under
penalty of two strokes, play the ball
from the fairway no matter what dis-
tance it is from the spot where the
ball was lifted so long as it is not
nearer the hole.

On the other hand, some players
maintain that the ball must be teed as
near as possible to the spot where the
ball was lifted but not nearer to the
hole, even if it still be in the rough.

A. 1: Under Rule 8(2b), if it be
impossible for a player to keep the
point from which the ball was lifted
between himself and the hole, he must
play his next stroke as near as possible
at the place from which the ball was
lifted but not nearer the hole. The
word "impossible" in the Rule refers
to inability to keep the point from
which the ball was lifted between the
player and the hole and to play there-
from; it does not refer to the difficulty
of the stroke to be played. There is
no limitation on how far the player
may go behind the place from which
the ball was lifted; the cardinal prin-
ciple is to keep that place between him-
self and the hole if possible.
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When Lost Ball Meant Lost Hole 
Q. 2: Could you inform me if there 

was ever a Rule that the penalty for 
lost ball in match play was loss of 
hole? If so, when was this Rule 
changed? 

A. 2: Yes. This Rule was changed 
in 1920. 
Questions by: CAPT. A. R. FRANCIS 

BERMUDA 

Four-Ball Stroke Play 
W O M E N ' S HANDICAP STROKES IN MIXED 

COMPETITION 
No. 49-2. Hdcp. 

Q. 2: Four-Ball Stroke Play, on bet­
ter-ball basis—In a mixed partner tour­
nament, should the women take their 
allotment of handicap strokes as they 
come on the men's card (in other words, 
on the long course) or on their own 
course and par on which their handi­
caps are based? We use this tournament 
monthly at Baltusrol, and the men and 
women take strokes as they come on 
the men's card. Players are not given 
full handicaps, as 85 per cent seems 
fairer when club handicaps have a wide 
range, to 40. I am anxious to try this 
type mixed tournament for the Asso­
ciation, and handicaps are limited to 25 
for the women, but wish your sugges­
tion on how to take the allotment of 
strokes. 

A. 2: The USGA has had no e x ­
perience with such a form of competi­
tion, but we would think that women 
competitors should take their handicap 
strokes as they come on the women's 
score card, as that card represents the 
course on which their handicaps are 
based. 

Attention is called to the fact that 
the Rules of Golf do not cover four-ball 
stroke play. The USGA has therefore 
never endorsed a method of handicap­
ping for such form, but has suggested 
the following system (for men) to those 
interested: 

"When on a better-ball basis, the 
strokes are taken by each player as 
they come on the card, using full han­
dicaps. On each hole the lower net 
score of the partners becomes the score 
for that hole." 

No L I M I T ON HANDICAPS 

Q. 3: Four-Ball Stroke Play, on 
better-ball basis — What difference in 
handicap limit should be placed on part­
ners in a mixed tournament? What dif­
ference in handicap limit for women in a 
women's four-ball better-ball? 

A limit handicap of 15—no more than 
15 difference between handicaps — has 
been used for the mixed. For the 
women's, a rule that partners ' handi­
caps must total six has been used. 

A. 3 : The USGA has no recom­
mendations. If handicaps have been 
computed on a sound basis and if 
strokes are taken as indicated in Answer 
2 above, it would seem unnecessary to 
place limits on handicaps except per­
haps to restrict the size of the field. 

BALL STRIKING ANOTHER BALL 

No. 49-21. R. 7(8), 12(4c), 21(6) 
Q. In four-ball stroke play (better 

ball basis) and foursome stroke play 
(not four-ball but alternate shot), is 
it correct to assume that stroke play 
rules apply, and therefore Rule 12 (4c) 
applies and not Rule 12(4e)? Also 
Rule 7(8)? 

If the above assumption is correct 
and stroke Rules apply, would you say 
it is proper for a committee to post a 
notice retracting the above penalties in 
order to speed up play in a tournament? 
I realize I am asking about a form of 
play which the USGA does not en­
dorse. 

A: (a) Rule 21(6) provides that 
foursome stroke play shall be govern­
ed by the Rules for Stroke Competi­
tions. 

(b) Although the Rules of Golf do 
not provide for four-ball stroke play, 
the Rules of Golf Committee believes 
that stroke play Rules should govern. 
Thus, Rules 7(8) and 12 (4c) should 
apply. As a mat ter of fact, Rule 11 (3a 
and b) and Rule 12(4c) should apply 
to a partner 's ball as well as to a fel­
low competitor's ball. 

We would think it improper for a lo­
cal committee to remit the penalties 
provided for in Rules 12(4c) and 7(8). 
Rather than speed play, such remission 
might cause inconveniences, confusion 
and delay. 

Questions by 
MRS. HOMER LICHTENWALTER 
SHORT HILLS, N. J. 

J 
Water Hazard: Local Rule Unnecessary 

No. 49-4. R. 17(2); LR. 
Q. Please make a recommendation 

regarding the penalty for lifting out 
of a ditch on our 17th hole. 

Below is a sketch of this hole. We 
have always considered the ditch to be 
a parallel hazard and lift out on the 
fairway side (penalty—1 stroke) with 
no limit to the distance the player takes 
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the ball out into the fairway except 
that he shall not move it closer to the 
hole. The player obviously would car­
ry the ball well out so as to avoid the 
trees on his next shot and we feel that 
this should not be allowed but don't 
know what to do about it. 

FLOYD CHAPMAN, JR. 
ST. LOUIS, MO. 

A: A ditch is a hazard under Rule 
17, Definition, but is not necessarily a 
water hazard unless its nature or a local 
rule makes it so. If a ball be unplay­
able in a ditch which is not a water 
hazard, Rule 8 governs. 

It is recommended that the ditch in 
question be classified as a water haz. 
ard. From the sketch submitted, we 
believe that play should be regulated 
by Rule 17(2) — the regular Rule 
for water hazards. Under Rule 17(2a), 
a ball may be dropped, under penalty 
of one stroke, behind the hazard so 
as to keep the spot at which the ball 
last crossed the hazard margin between 
the player and the hole. 

We do not believe a "parallel water 
hazard rule" to be necessary in this 
instance. There might be some justi­
fication for it for the first 150 yards 
of the ditch immediately off the tee, 

1 but thereafter it appears possible to 
observe the pertinent Rule of Golf, 
17(2). 

However, should a "parallel water 
hazard rule" be desired, the following 
is suggested: 

"Hole 17. Ball in parts of water haz­
ard marked by red stakes (or marked 
'Parallel Water Hazard') — a ball may 
be dropped within two club-lengths of 
either side of hazard opposite point 
where ball last crossed hazard margin, 
not nearer hole, under Penalty of one 
stroke." 

Lifting in 3-Ball and 4-Ball Matches 
No. 49-9. R.1K4), 12(4), (4e), 18(7) 

Q. 1: In three-ball or four-ball 
match play, with all balls on the green 
within 60 feet and more than six inch­
es from the hole, not playing stymies, 
the player away plays first; we know 
he can ask a player in line to lift or 
putt his ball, but: 

(a) Can he ask players nearer the 
hole to let their balls lie, and not lift 
them? 

(b) If in putting he hits another com­
petitor's ball, does he (the player) lose 
the hole (1) if he asked the player not 
to lift or (2) if he did not ask to have 
the ball lifted? 

(c) Does a competitor have a right to 
walk up to his ball to lift it just as a 
player away is putting? 

(d) Does anyone except the owner of 
the ball near the hole have any right 
to lift another's ball and/or concede a 
putt, and especially as the player away 
is about to putt? 

A. 1: (a) No, not if someone else 
in the match desires otherwise. See 
Rule 11(4). 

(b) There is no penalty. The moved 
ball must be replaced. See Rule 12(4e). 

(c) No. Under Rule 11(4), the 
ball must be lifted or played before the 
player has played his stroke. 

(d) The right to lift a ball may be 
granted only by the owner of the ball 
and on his responsibility, under circum­
stances when the Rules permit lifting. 
A putt may be conceded by an op­
ponent, but it should be done so as not 
to interfere with the player about to 
play. 

Note—Stymies are played only in 
single matches. In the cases cited, the 
distance of the balls from the hole is 
immaterial. 

Lifting in Single Match 
Q. 2: What are the answers to the 

foregoing questions in single match 
play? 
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A. 2: The Rules of Golf do not recog-
nize single matches in which stymies
are not played. Rule 18(7) governs
lifting balls on the putting green.

With regard to question l(b), Rule
12(4) provides for singles that " ... if
the player's ball move the opponent's
ball, the opponent, if he choose, may
drop, or in a hazard or on the putting
green may place, the ball as near as
possible to the spot from which the
original ball was moved, without pen-
alty, but this must be done before an-
other stroke is played by either side".

Questions by: E. B. FREEMAN
NEWTON CENTRE, MASS.

Putter Shaft and Head
No. 49-6. D.4; R. 10(1); F. & M.

Q: A friend of mine uses a putter
with a regular head but on which the
shaft is fixed to the center of the head
vertically from the middle and which
he is able to swing between his legs
similar to a croquet shot. Is this style
of putter according to the Rules or is
it a violation? The head is regular in
every way but the stroke is taken with
a small swing straight between the legs
as in croquet. He sinks 8-footers with
aggravating regularity!

V. P. LETCHER
ASBURYPARK, N. J.

A: The Rules Governing Form and
Make of Golf Clubs provide in part:
"The shaft of a putter may be fixed at
any point in the head between the heel
and a line terminating at the center of
the sole". The Association "regards as
illegal the use of such clubs as those of
the mallet-headed type, or such clubs
as have the neck, or shaft, so bent as to
produce a similar effect".

The Rules of Golf provide no restric-
tion on the type of stroke played pro-
vided the stroke is in fact a stroke and
does not conflict with Definition 4 and
Rule 10(1).

Ball Striking Opponent's Ball
No. 49-8. R. 12(4).

Q: If your ball hits your opponent's
ball at any time, is it outional whether
or not he replaces his ball in its origi-
nal position, and does the distance from
which the ball is hit have any bearing?

CLYDEJmlNsoN
HOT SPRINGS, VA.

A: In match play singles, it is op-
tional with the opponent as to whether
he play the ball where it comes to rest
or returns it to its original position as
provided in Rule 12(4. a and b).

In a three-ball, best-ball or four-ball
match, a ball moved by any other ball
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in the match must be replaced-see Rule
12(4e) ..

In either case, the distance from
which the striking ball is played is im-
material.

Referee Attending Flagstick
No. 49-10. R. 2(2), 7(7)

Q. 1: If, during single match play,
the players request the referee to as-
sume part of the caddie's duty and at-
tend the ftagstick, is this a violation
of Rule 2(2) by collusion to waive any
penalty incurred if so attended?

A. 1: No. 'l'he players' willing-
ness to accept the consequences in such
a case is not the kind of agreement
which Rule 2(2) contemplates. Should
the referee attend the ftagstick, despite
the injunction in the note to Rule 7(7),
he would, as always, be an outside
agency.

Prohibiting Attendance of Flagstick
Q. 2: Does player A have the right

under Rule 7(7) to require either his
caddie or the referee not to attend the
flags tick while player B plays his shot
during a singles match?

A. 2: Yes, in both cases.
Questions by: H. F. RUSSELL

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH

Casual \Vater in Hazard
No. 49-18. R. 7(4), 8, 17(2)

Q. 1: A ball lies in casual water
in a sand trap. The only sand not un-
der casual water is nearer the hole. May
the player drop the ball, without pen-
alty, into the part of the trap not un-
der casual water even though it be
nearer the hole?

A. 1: No. In no case may the play-
er lift the ball without penalty or drop
it nearer the hole. The procedure is
descri bed in Rule 17(2) , which is iden-
tical for a ball in a water hazard and
in casual water in a hazard. The pres-
ence of casual water in a hazard gives
such hazard the same status as a water
hazard, as far as the Rules are con-
cerned.

No Relief from Fence
Q. 2: The ball is knocked against a

fence. The player cannot swing, and
the ball cannot be dropped without roll-
ing back against the fence.

A. 2: Rule 7 (4) soecifically ex-
cludes fences from classification as ar-
tificial obstructions, hence no free re-
lief is given. The ball must be played
as it lies or be treated as unplayable
under Rule 8. Free relief could be giv-
en only by a local rule.

Questions by: ROBERT McCoy
ATLANTA,GA.


