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THE

REFEREE

Decisions by fhe USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: “No. 48-1" means the first decision issued in 1948.

Rule 7in the 1948 Rules of Golf.
Local Rules Should Be Clear

No. 48-83. LR.
Q: Playing from No. 11 tee, No. 10 fair-
way is on the right; and playing from No. 12
tee, No. 11 fairway is on the left. On both
tees we have a sign marked that from either
tee it is out of bounds. The reason was that
lots of players used to go over on either
fairway, as it made the 11th hole easier from
10 fairway and the 12th hole easier from 11
fairway. If a player in playing No. 11 sliced
his second on to 10, or in playing No. 12
hooked his second on to 11, was he still out
of bounds?
Freppie McLEoD
CHEVY CHASE, Mu.

A: The signs described indicate that the
boundaries applied bnly to tee shots.

However, the local committee should inter-
pret its own local rule and, if necessary,
should clarify the signs.

Tree Branch in the Way

No. 48-86. R. 7(3)
Q: Is it permissible for a caddie to hold
a tree branch out of. the way if it would
hinder the player’s club while making a
stroke ?
DR. FrRank T. Fara
CIcERO, ILL.

A: No. This is prohibited by Rule 7(3).
The Rule contemplates that there may be
some moving, bending or breaking of fixed
or growing objects as an incident in the
course of taking a fair stance at address and
in making the backward or forward swing,
and it excuses such incidental movements.
However! the Rule prohibits purposeful mov-
ing, bending or breaking with the aim of im-
proving the position of the ball. The second
exception in Rule 7(3) condones only such
moving, bending or breaking as may inci-
dentally be done in making the swing, but it
does not allow such action i order to make
the swing.

Opponents Exchanging Balls

No. 48-88. R. 1(2a),13(1)(4a)

Q: A and B were playing C and D in a
four-ball match. A and C both hooked into
the rough; both were playing the same make

“R.7(3)” means Section 3 of

and number ball. C played A’s ball, knock-
ing it out into the fairway. A then played
C's ball, thinking it was his own,, and shot it
into a water hazard. Upon takmg the ball
out of the hazard, A discovered it was C's
ball. He then went back to where C played
his (A’s) ball and proceeded to play.out the
hole from there, making a par and tying D
on the hole (otherwise his side would have
lost the hole, B being out of it as well as C).
They proceeded playing, and A and B won
the match, 1 up.

D claims he protested the hole before play-
ing the next hole. A claims he heard no pro-
test. A claims misinformation because C an-
nounced that “this is my ball” when playing
A’s ball. (A’s ball was in ‘a very good lig;
C's ball, which A later played, was very deep
in the rough.)

If the hole was won by D as claimed, the
match would have finished all even. The
match was played under handicap, so D feels
it should be played over.

RALPH R. ARNOLD
EncLEwoob, Covro,

A: A was under a responsibility to iden-
tify the ball (C's) before playing it. As he
did not do so but inadvertently played C's
ball, the penalty against C was cancelled, and
the hole should have been played out with
the balls exchanged-see Rule 13(4a and la).
C’'s statement cannot be regarded as misin-
formation under Rule 13( Ib) insofar as A's
play of C's ball is concerned.

A proceeded improperly in abandoning C's
ball and in resuming play from the place
where C played A’s ball.

Whether or not D made a claim as de-
scribed in Rule 1(2a) is a question of fact
which cannot be determined by us. If a clam
was so made, D’s side won the hole. If a
clam was not so made, the hole stands as
played even though A completed the hole
incorrectly.

What Constitutes Casual Water

No. 48-91. R. 16, Def. (I), SR. 3

Q. 1: Player A drives a ball into short
rough where the ground is damp. He claims
that he has the right to press his foot into
the ground near the ball to see if his weight
will sgueeze some water up out of the ground,
and if' so, his ball is in “casual water” and
may be lifted and dropped in another part of
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the short rough, without penalty, where no
water will appear when his foot is pressed
down into the ground. Player B claims (a)
that unless local rules have been fixed Player
A must play his ball out of rough, whether
casual water or not, without any right of
dropping without penalty; (b) that even if
the ball were in the fairway and no water
appears on the surface, no player has a right
to push his foot into the ground near the
ball in the hope that he can squeeze a couple
of drops of water out of damp ground and
thereby claim it is casual water. A player
may only do such things in either rough or
fairway to enable him to get a proper stance.

A. 1. See Definition of casual water un-
der Rule 16.

If, in taking his normal stance, a temporary
accumulation of water appeared which inter-
fered with the play of the ball, the player
would be entitled to relief as provided in
Rule 16(1).

It is not material whether there were an
accumulation of water originally visible. On
the other hand, the presence of a temporary
accumulation of water constituting casual
water is a question of fact. Soft, wet ground
or mud do not, of themselves, constitute
casual water.

The term “rough” is not used in the Rules
of Golf. So-called “rough” is part of “through
the green.” See Definition 3.

Settling Ties in Stroke Play

Q. 2. A Scotch foursome ties at 75 for
the gross prize in medal play. In “matching
cards” to determine the winner of the prize
(which was arranged after the match), is it
a practice or rule to use the “sudden death”
method so that the team or player winning
the first hole in match play wins, or is it a
rule or practice to figure match play over the
entire 18 holes? In this case, team A would
have won by 1 up in match play figuring the
entire 18 holes, but on the “sudden death”
method, team B would have won on the sec-
ond hole with a par 4 to opponents bogey 5.

A. ‘2: Stroke Rule 3 empowers the com-
mittee in charge to determine how a tie shall
be decided, and it presupposes a playoff. The
local committee should determine the extent
of the playoff in the light of local conditions.
This question should be determined before
the tournament starts.

Where the competition iS handicap stroke
play, it is recommended that the playoff be
at 18 holes with handicap. Where that is
not possible for want of time or for other
reasons, the playoff should be of as many
holes as would enable all competitors in the
playoff to use equal proportions of their
handicaps fairly. If, it is not convenient to
{mld a playoff, the tie should be decided by
ot.
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This Committee considers that matching
cards against each other or against the course
par is not a proper way to decide a tie. If
two players return scores of the same total
in stroke play, they have finished the test
originally set. To decide their tie, it would
not seem fair to go back arbitrarily to any
individual part of the original test, for that
test was on a total-score basis. Any such
method is artificial. Stroke play and match
play are two different games. Therefore, a
new test should be provided for settling a
tie.

Questions by :
RoBERT M. NELSON
W ATcH HiLL, R. I

Out of Bounds in Mixed Foursome

No. 48-95. D. 1; R. 5(6),9(1)
Q: In a mixed alternate shot tournament,
man drives from odd number tees, lady from
even number. On third tee man hooks drive
out of bounds. Does lady hit drive from
ladies’ tee-some 40 yards nearer green-or
does she have to tee off from men's tee?
Some members felt lady should hit next tee
shot from men’s tee from which first shot
was driven out of bounds by her partner.

D AN J. CAsEY
Stony BrooOk, N. Y.

A: The next stroke shall be played as
nearly as possible at the spot from which the
ball which is out of bounds was played—
Rule 9(1).

Attention is called to the definition of four-
some in Definition 1 and to Rule 5(6) pre-
scribing the order of play. Only one set of
tee markers should be used in foursome play.

Agreement to Violate Rule

No. 48-102. R. Z(2)

Q: An agreement was made between two
contestants before their match to lift, without
penalty, a ball which came to rest in a sand
trap which had casual water in it (ball had
to be in the water).

Did they break any rule or be subject to
disqualification if the occasion did not occur
whereby this agreement could be carried out?
In other words, neither player’s ball came to
rest in water in a sand trap during the match.

L ouis F. GALAsso
M ANCHESTER, CONN.

A: Rule 2(2) is explicit that “Players
shall not agree to exclude the operation of
any Rule or local rule, nor to waive any
penalty incurred.”

In the case cited it would appear that the
agreement in advance was made to exclude
the operation of this rule. Hence, the penalty
should be applied and the players disquali-
fied. That the intent prevailed after play
started is the predominating factor, and not
that no occasion arose for violating the Rule.



