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THE REFEREE

USGA JOURNAL: August, 1948

Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of s)'11lbols: uNo. 48-1" means the first Decision issued in 1948.
HR. 14(3)" means Section (3) of Rule 14 ill the 1948 Rules of Golf.

Flagstick: Attending and Removing

No. 48-47. R. 7(7)
Q: As a Scotsman brought up in the

tradition that golf is a gentleman's game, I
am a little grieved by an idea that seems to
prevail that a ph.yer has the right to "guard"
or "protect" the flagstick when his opp.onent
is making an approach shot, even over IllS op-
ponent's protest that he leave the flagstick in
the hole and move away.

I have even heard it stated that the USGA
has ruled that a player has this right. I find
this difficult to believe, as I can find nothing
in the Rules of Golf to justify it.
If no such ruling has been made, I should

like to suggest this addition to Rule 7 (5)
(Flagstick-1947 rule book):

"A player making a stroke has the right to
determine whether the flagstick shall be at-
tended, regardless of the distance from the
hole." .

JOSEPH FARMER
Los ANGELES, CAL.

A: Rule 7(7) governs. As the Rules
have long provided, the flagstick may be re-
moved by either side at any time; if this
were not so, the player might have the ad-
vantage of striking an unattended. flagstick,
and the Rule gives the opponent the right to
obviate that possibility. The player thfn may
have the position of the hole indicated to him
in the manner stated in the Rule.
If the flagstick is not removed, the player

has the right to send his own caddie to at-
tend it while he plays his stroke. In such
case, the opponent may not "guard" it, as your
question intimates.

Your suggestion is appreciated. It happens,
however, that Rule 7(5) of the 1947 code has
been amended, and present Rule 7(7) is the
result of much consideration.

No. 48-73 Et. (1, 3) ; R. 7(7)
Q: Regarding Rule 7(7), assume that

.a player is shooting from 100 feet from the
flag. His opponent removes the flagstick. May
the person shooting insist that, after remov-
ing the flagstick, he leave the green?

B. M. TEMPLE
HOUSTON, TEXAS

A: Not necessarily. The opponent's
conduct should be governed by the Etiquette
of the Game, especially sections 1 and 3.

Changing Pairings in Stroke Play

No. 48-48. R. 1 (2b), 20(1)
Q. 2: A and B are paired for the qua!-

ifying rounds. Between rounds 1 and 2 It
becomes obvious that separating A and B
would assure final scores of both players that
could be more indicative of each man's ability
instead of too much good-fellowship. On
such cases, I would uphold the committee for
breaking such an unfair combination for the
second round. Such authority has been ques-
tioned.

EDWARD L. SCANLON
PITTSBURGH, PA.

A. 2: Your contention is correct.
Players shall start at the times and in the
order arranged by the committee-see Rule
20(1)-and in stroke playa committee may,
at its discretion, change its own ruling at any
time-see Rule 1(2b). The rule of equity is
paramount.

Ball Moved: Definition

No. 48-61. R. 12(def.)
Q. 1: A player while addressing his

ball on the fairway inadvertently causes it to
move out of its original position but it o~-
cilIated back into its original lie. Does tIns
movement cause the player to count a stroke,
or is a penalty incurred only when the movt;<1
ball does not return to its original lie? TIns
often occurs when a club is soled behind a
ball on a heavy fairway.

HARRY WINTERS
INGLEWOOD, CAL.

A. 1: Under Rule 12, Definition, a ball
is deemed to have moved if it leaves its
position and comes to r, st in any other place.
In the case described, the ball has not moved
within the meaning of the Rule, and there is
no penalty.
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Lifting Ball Witbout Authority;
Cleaning Ball

No. 48-69. R. 10(4), 11(3, 3a, 3c),
14(3), 16; LR

Q. 1: Medal Play-Player away on the
green asks the other players to lift and mark
baIls. Per the rules, this is permissible pro-
viding that balls interfere with player. There
is no definite statement that restricts the in-
terference to the line of putt, so any ball on
the green could be included in a request to
lift and mark. The other players lift and
mark balls and, because the rules do not say
just how a ball is to be held, the players take
advantage of that and manage to remove most
of the dirt adhering to the ball. They do not
clean ball-just manage to get the worst of
the dirt off. This procedure continues for the
round, thus allowing three men of the four
to get rid of most of the dirt. I realize they
are evading the rule of honor, etc., but they
claim they are staying within the rules as
written. Where is the rule at fault or the
interpretation as given above?

A. 1: Rule 11(3) and (3a) specifically
restrict the purposes for which a ball may be
lifted in the circumstances. Further, they
give the ball's owner the option of playing
first rather than lifting. If a ball be lifted
when not authorized by the Rules, the player
violates Rule 11(3c) and is penalized two
strokes.

In lifting a ball, it is a responsibility of the
player to do so in such a manner as will in-
sure that dirt is not removed and the ball not
even partially cleaned. A player who fails to
use every reasonable care is liable to penalty
of two strokes-see Rules 10(4) and 14(3).

Ball Embedded, Local Rule

Q. 2: Casual water rule specifies a tem-
porary accumulation of water but does not say
anything about mud or soft fairways resulting
from heavy rains. No water is visible but
the ball buries. Am I right in saying that the
casual water rule applies in any case where
a ball buries itself partly-where under or-
dinary conditions the ball might be expected
to bounce or roll? Could this rule be made
more specific by a local rule to avoid argu-
ment and unfairness? Can a local rule be
suggested, or does the rule book cover?

A. 2: Rule 16 gives relief only from
casual water as defined in that Rule. It does
not give relief in the case of an embedded
ball when there is no casual water. If relief
is desired, local rules are necessary, and the
following are suggested for particular days
when conditions justify:

"On a surface especially prepared for putt-
ing. a ball which by force of impact remains
embedded in its own pitmark may be lifted
without penalty, cleaned, and placed as near
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as possible to the place from which it was
lifted but not nearer the hole.

" 'Through the green,' a ball which by force
of impact remains embedded in its own pit-
mark may be lifted without penalty, cleaned,
and dropped as near as possible to the place
where it lay and must come to rest not nearer
to the hole. See Rule 10(5). A ball may flot
be cleaned 'through the green' unless so em-
bedded."

Questions by W. F. BEBOUT
EAST AKRON, OHIO

Yardage Markers

No. 48-70. Misc.
Q: Many courses have yardage markers

in the form of small evergreens, marking 150
or 200 yards down the fairways, or marking a
certain yardage to the green. Other courses
have signs indicating yardage. What is your
opinion of this, as far as influencing a player
in determining his play?

MRS. LAWRENCE J. O'TOOLE
CHICAGO, ILL.

A: The Rules of Golf do not prohibit
such markers.

Ties in Handicap Tournaments

No. 48-49. R. 3 (2)
Q: Is there a USGA rule covering cases

of low net ties in 54-hole medal handicap
tournaments?

We have been advised that it is not cus-
tomary to playoff ties of. this type, but that
both (or more) names should be placed on the
trophy. In the case of another medal handi-
cap trophy (which may be owned if won
three times)-a one-day affair, 18 holes, low
net-we require another 18-hole replay. In
the 54-hole events there seems no necessity
to establish a winner. The consensus is against
a three-day replay. Many players feel that
any play-off of less than 54 holes would
be unfair.

MRS. A. J. WHITMIRE
YPSILANTI, MICH.

A: Rule 3 (2) provides that, in stroke
competition, a tie or ties shall be decided as
and when the committee may determine. It
is customary and proper to playoff ties. The
play-off need not be at 54 holes; it could be
at 18. How ties are to be decided should, of
course, be determined before the tournament.
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Order of Play

No. 48-50. R.6(1)
Q: While playing a par 3 hole, the

question arose as to who should play the next
shot. The tee shot of player A landed in a
sand trap, just short of the green. Player
B was on the green about 25 feet from the
hole. Player A failed to get out of the sand
trap on his second shot, the ball remaining in
the sand trap; however, since the ball was
then closer to the hole, Player A contended
that inasmuch as Player B was farther away,
he was required to take his second stroke.

]OHN ]. O'NEILL
FOREST HILLS, N. Y.

A: The ball farther from the hole shall
be played first. See Rule 6(1).

Eligibility for Consolation After Default

No. 48-51. T ourn.
Q: A lady was 5 down after the first

five holes when a rain came up. She de-
faulted the match, which was in the first
round. Would she be eligible to play in the
consolation flight or would she be disquali-
fied from playing any further? If she had
never played and defaulted, would she be
eligible to play in the consolation flight?

LEONARD OTT
CORAL GABLES, FLA.

A: As the Rules of Golf do not apply,
the matter rests with the local committee.

In the first case, it is recommended that
the player be allowed to compete in the con-
solation flight.

In the second case, we consider that the
player eliminated herself from further com-
petition.

Unusual Caddies

No. 48-52. Tourn.
Q: Can a lady golfer competing in a

tournament have a professional who teaches
golf caddie for her.

Can a lady golfer have her husband caddie
for her in a tournament?

PAUL SCOTT
Los ANGELES, CAL.

A: Yes, in each case, unless there is
a tournament rule to the contrary. In
USGA Championships only caddies attached
to the entertaining clubs are allowed to serve.

No Time Limit for Dis(IUaIification
in Stroke Play

No. 48-53. R. 1(2, 2b), 21(3)
Q: In playing a four-day medal tourna-

ment two of the players (on the first day)
after holing out on No. 1 green stopped and
practiced putting on the 17th green in viola-
tion of Rule 20(5).
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The violation was not brought to the at-
tention of the offending players (although
it was known by the chairman and several of
the players), but their signed cards were ac-
cepted and entered on the books and day
prizes awarded. It ,vas not until five o'clock
of that day, after everything had been com-
pleted and the players had returned home,
that they were told they stood in violation of
Rule 20 (5) and they faced disqualification.

It was submitted to the Rules Committee
and it was voted 2 to 1 that the players be
disqualified.

I contend that, inasmuch as the cards had
been accepted and day prizes awarded, it ,vas
too late for disqualification. I urged the Club
in the name of sportsmanship and fair play
at least to aIlow them to continue in the
tournament and the outcome to be decided
upon after we secured a ruling from the
USGA. This also was voted down. Who is
right?

MRS. IDA D. BLAKE
ALHAMBRA, CAL.

A: The players violated Rule 21 (3) of
the 1948 Rules of Golf. The committee was
right in disqualifying them. The commit-
tee's decision is final-see Rule 1 (2). In
stroke playa committee may, at its discretion,
change its own ruling at any time-see Rule
1(2b); there is .no time limit for withdraw-
ing a prize previously awarded.

1
Champion's Place in Draw

No. 48-55. Tourn.
Q. 1: In a championship tournament

where the defending champion is not required
to qualify, does she automaticaIly merit the
first place in the numerical draw; or does the
first place go to the medalist of the day, with
the second place going to the defending
champion?

MRS. HOWARD BUTTRESS
SAN MARINO, CAL.

A. 1: There is no pertinent Rule. The
matter is up to the committee in charge,
which should announce its decision in ad-
vance. In a USGA match play Championship
with a qualifying competition as part of the
Championship proper, the last previous win-
ner is not exempt from qualifying, as the
event is a test of current ability.


