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THE REFEREE
Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: “No. 48-l” means the first Decision issued ifz  1948.
“R. 14(3)”  weans Section (3) of Rule 14 ilz the  1948 Rules of Golf.

Ground Under Repair

No. 48-26. R. 7(5)
Q : The 1948 changes in the Rules of Golf,

particularly Rule 7(5), were under discus-
sion.

Granted that in tournaments a committee
is well informed and can define and mark
ground under repair. What happens in local
club play when the greenkeeper makes re-
pairs as the occasion arises? Unless the re-
pair is of major character, the chairman or
her committee is seldom notified.

Suppose a committee does not know that
the greenkeeper yesterday decided to repair
a broken drain crossing one of the fairways,
also insert a square foot or so of new sod in
worn places on one’ or more putting greens.
The usual Ladies’ Day play gets under way.
Meeting these conditions (unmarked) ,  in
stroke play the player can proceed nnder
Rule l(4). In match play, no referee, must
the player make her own decision?

Sub-paragraph  (b )  : Where new bent or
sod has been inserted in the green, there can
be no doubt that it is repair even tllough  not
marked. Must player proceed according to
Rule  l (4 )  in  s t roke  p lay?  In  match  p lay
with no referee? Can yesterday’s cup (that
is, the plugged hole made when cup was
changed) be considered ground under repair
and so treated according to Rule 16(2  and 3)
and the note giving precedence over stymies?

MRS. ROBERT HURK.\
CHICAGO , IL L.

A: In match play, player should discon-
tinue play and request ruling, else proceed at
risk of opponent entering claim under Rule
l(2a). New sod is not necessarily ground
under repair. Its condition is determining
factor. Old cup locations are not ground un-
der  repa i r .  New Rule  7(.5) does not alter
former USGA interpretations but simply in-
corporates them in body of Rules. Ground
under repair basically means what the term
states.

Practicing Before Match

No. 48-27. R. Z(3)
Q: May player practice on or on to the

putting greens before start of play in match
play the day of the competition?

T O N Y  UUTI.EI<
HDRLINGEN,  TT:XAS

A :  Y e s .  R u l e  21(3)  does  not  apply  to
match play.

x
Opponent’s Ball : Knocking Into Hole

N o .  48-30. R. 18(7,  9)
Q : In match John Doe’s ball is on the lip

of  the  C U D. In attemnting to  h i t  the  ba l l
thereby conceding the next-putt, his opponent
hits the ball into the cup, accidentally or
otherwise. At the time John Doe was lying 3.
Please give me John Doe’s score for the hole.

PETER Rrzzor.0
BLoonlIFnxn, N. J.

A: John Doe’s score was 4.
If the opponent had not holed out, it would

have been better for the opponent to reqoire
{;$)Doe to lift his ball  as provided in Rule

Had John Doe’s ball not been witllin  six
inches of the hole and if the opponent had
not holed out, the opponent would have lost
the hole under Rule 12(S).

Obstructions in Hazards

N o .  4 8 - 3 1 .  R. 2(l), 5(4), 7(4)
Q. 1: I find what I consider an important

change in the new Rules not included in those
listed on pages 75 and 76. For instance, if
the play of a ball in a hazard (not’s  wate r
hazard), say a sand trap, is interfered with
by a drain cover, it can be dealt with in ac-
cordance with Rule 7(4b or 4~).  The hazard
was not mentioned in the 1947 Rules. Am I
correct ?

A. 1:  Yes.
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Re-Playing from Tee, Stroke Play tnean  that sand in the fairway not blown on

Q. 2: I am puzzled by what I read on
the grass or sprinkled on the course for its

page 75 under Rule 5 (4). Turning to Rule
preservation is a hazard, or would this come

S(4), I do not find that they are related to
under “bare patches?”

each other. Where am I wrong? A. 2: Ordinar i ly  sand  in  such  circum-

A. 2:  Rule  S(4)  p roh ib i t s  r e -p lay ing  a
stances should not be considered a hazard,

stroke played out of turn from the tee in
but the local committee should settle the mat-

stroke play. Violation of that provision re-
ter in the light of conditions and fair play.

suits in a two-stroke penalty-see Rule 2(l).
If such sand is not considered a hazard, a
player is still subject to the restrictions in

Questions by J A M E S  D. DY E R Rule 7(l) .
PITTSBURGH, P.4. Questions by FRED L. RIGGIN,  SR.

P ORT H U R O N, MI C H.
I
I

Ball Striking Opponent

No. 48-32. R. 12(.5)
Q: In a match Tommy Tailer’s opponent

teed off on the first hole and the ball struck a
tree and bounded back across the tee, hitting
the bench and the starter table and almost
hit Tommy. I told Tommy that if the ball
had hit him, he would have lost the hole. He
claims he wouldn’t have because he hadn’t
hit a shot yet and hence he hadn’t actually
started the match.

BOB GOLDWATER

P H O E N I X , ARE.

A: M r .  Tailer would have lost the hole
if the ball had struck him. See Rule 12(5).

Fence Is Not Obstruction

No. 48-34. R. 7(4)
0: Kindlv let us know if the new ruline

in iegard  to-artificial obstructions would ai:
ply in the case of a ball resting against or
near enough to a wire fence to interfere with
the swing. Our entire course is enclosed by
a wire fence.

WILLIAM  MILLEK
RU M F O R D, R. I.

A: Rule 7(4) specifically excludes fences
and fence posts from classification as artifi-
cial obstructions, hence no relief is given.

*

No. 48-35. R. 7(l), 17(Def.)
Q. 1 : Sand is defined as a hazard in Rule

17. Every fairway is bordered by orange

Lifting for Identification in Hazard

No. 48-36. R. 11(l),  17(le),  13(3a)
Q: If a competitor wishes to identify his

ball, may he lift it from a hazard if he re-
places it in a comparable lie before playing
his stroke? I contend that the rules govern-
ing hazards cover this question-Rule 13 (3a).

M R S. P. A. FARKER

L A K E L A N D, FLh.

A: A ball may be lifted for identification
at any place, and replaced as provided in Rule
11(l).  Also see Rule 17 (le).

However, it is not the intent of the Rules
to allow lifting for identification when identi-
fication may be established by other circum-
stances, as, for instance, by a caddie, or where
it is known full well where the ball came to
rest. When a buried ball is lifted and re- ’
placed, the stroke to be played is apt to be
altered ; therefore, sportsmanship indicates
that the ball be played as it lies whenever
possible. Rule 13(3a)  gives ample protec-
tion if a wrong ball should be played from a
hazard in stroke play.

When Obstruction Is Not Obstruction

No. 48-41. R. 7(4)
Q: A and B playing match. R hooks to

left of 18th green 1.5 feet away from sign
reading “No Practicing on 18th Green.” Sign
is in line of shot but is fixed solid in ground.
Referee rules ball must be played as it lies
because ball is more than two club-lengths
from fixed sign. Is that ruling correct?

SAN G ABRIEL C OUNTRY C L U B

SAN G ABRIEL, CA L.

A: Referee’s  ru l ing  cor rec t .  R u l e  7(4)
does not apply.

groves growing in sand. If you are a foot off
the fairway, you’re. in plenty of sand. Is

Ball Striking Flagstick

this sand a hazard? No. 48-42. R. 7(8),  lB(Def.)
A. 1: Yes. Q:  Rule  7(8) provides : “In stroke play

when a competitor’s ball lying within twenty
Q. 2: The rule only exempts “sand blown yards of the hole is played and strikes the

on to the grass or sprinkled on the course for flagstick or the person standing at the hole,
its preservation, bare patches,” etc. Does this the penalty is two strokes.”
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Rule 18 provides : “The ‘putting green’ is
all gro~md, except hazards, witllin  twenty
yards of the hole being played.”

Does a player take a penalty  oE two strokes
under Rule 7 if the stroke is played from a
hazard within twenty yards and strikes the
flagstick?

w .  E. STIT1.
O,\ ICXVXV?; I’.\.

A:  Yes .

Dew: Not Casual Water or
J>ooose  Jmpediment

N o .  48-43. R. 2(S),  B(3)
Q : During a four-ball match, a heavy fog

and a line mist had tfeposited  moisture on the
putting greens. It was like a heavy (few.
There were no puddles of water, merely a
heavy deposit on the grass blades, which
slowed down putts, ant1  so the balls picked
up moisture and “kicked” up drops behind
as they rolled along. One of the players in-
sisted he had a right to use his putter to
scrape aside the molsturc  Crom tile  line be-
tween his ball  antf  tile  hole,  on t11e t h e o r y
that he had a right to remove any roreign
material wflich  was an impediment  to his putt,
so long as the club was not laid with more
than its own weight on the grotmd.  The
other players insisted that he could not tfo
so. Their argument was that the tfeposit  of
water was hardly “casual” water as delinetf
by the rules, ant1  even if it were “casual
water” the player’s only privilege would be
to move his ball to another spot, and that
would be useless because the motsture cov-
ered the entire green. They also contended
that the moisture on the grass dicf not come
within the tfetinition of loose impediments
whicfl  may be removed or scraped away.

My opinion was asked antf given, to the
effect that the player hatf  no right to scrape
the moisture away, but this view was not ac-
cepted. Will you please advise whether, un-
der the contfitions stated, the player had a
right to clear away the moisture so as to give
himself a drier path from ball to hole?

f WILLTAM  n. ?b’f  LTCHELL
NEW Yoa~z,  N. Y.

A: The player had no sucll  right.  The
conditions described were not loose impecfi-
ments or casual water. The player therefore
violatecf Rule 18(3)  and was disqualified for
the hole, but the disqualification ditl  not apply
to his partner (see Rule 2(S)).

The course should be playrtl  in the condi-
tion in which it is found.

Face Markings on Irons

No. 48-44. R. 2(4),  7(4)
Q. 1: A and B are playing in a match

play tournament. After A drives off the first

tee, 13 states that, in his opinion, one. of A’s
clubs, an iron, has face markings that do not
conform to  the  USGA specilications. A n
immediate check of tllis  rlub  rcvcaled it had
an illegal face marking. What is tile  penal@
A is silbject  to under  inatcli  play conditions?

w:k ~!i&rlalificd-see  1Zlllc 2(4):
If  the club wcrc iisctl tlie p l a y e r

Hole Made by Greenkeeper

Q. 2: In a list of artificial obstructions in
Rule 7(4)  one example reads “a llole  made
by the greenkeeper.” Does this mean  that a
ball coming to rest in a hole made by the
greenkeeper when he removctf a tree from
the course can be lifted without penalty? (the
stump hole being left open and not filleil  in).

A. 2: Yes. It is the tfuty of the local
committee to define  a hole made  by the green-
keeper, just as ground under repair should
be defined. Ordinarily, a stump hole should
be so classified.

Questions by JIM FIXI~IICI~
CrrrcArq  Tr.1..

Casual Water

No. 48-39. R. l(4), 8(l), 16(l);  LR
Q. 1: Kindly settle a point about casual

water, Rule 16(l).  A ball landed  in water
and mud in the fairway and was completely
buried. We hunted about three  or four
minutes and the party gave up the ball for
lost. After he hit  the second ball ,  the
original ball was four&...  Does  the second
ball void the first ball and is there a two-
stroke penalty? Both balls were played
out.

A. 1: As the player abandoned the first
ball, the second ball must be continued in
play. See Rule S(1).

If the first ball lay or were lost in casual
water, the player could have proceeded
under Rule l!(l).

If the contest were at match play, the
player had no right to hole out both balls.
For stroke play, where there is doubt as to
rights, see Rule l(4).

Q. 2: Is heavy or loose mud surrounded
by water in the fairway considcrcd  casual
water? We arc playing winter rrllrs.

A. 2: Mud is not casual water.  See Itufe
16 (Definition).

The Rules of Golf do not recognize “win-
ter rules.”

Questions by MR S. F RANK L. OLMSTEAD

S E A T T L E,  WA S H.


