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THE REFEREE

Decisions by the USGA Rules of Golf Committee

Example of symbols: “No. 48-1" means the first Decision issued in 1948,

“R. 14(3)"

Practice Swing in Hazard

No. 48-6. R. 7(3)

Q: Kindly wire collect USGA opinion on
player taking practice swing in trap.
Ep MiLes
AtLanta, Ga.

A Practice swing may be taken any place
on course within limitations stated in Rule

7(3)

Handicap Match: Starting Point
for Match and for Playoff

No. 48-9. R. 3(1), 5(1), 20(3)
Q: In a match with full handicap differ-
ence allowed, the starter started my opponent
and myself at No. 10 tee instead of No. 1.
I was entitled to receive four strokes from
my opponent. The first handicap stroke to
fall on No. 4 hole, the second on No. 11, the

third on No. 9, and the fourth on No. 13.
After we had teed off, I informed my op-
ponent that while 1 was not protesting the
action of the starter in starting us from No. 10
tee instead of No. 1, T did wish to point out
it was a distinct (ll‘\.l(l\al'll’ll,t: 1o me. | called
his attention to the fact that in order for me
to receive the advantage of the third handi-
cap stroke which falls on No. 9 hole on our
course, I would have to be “alive” at the end
of 17 holes, whereas, had the mateh been
started from No. 1 hole, 1 would have re-
ceived the full benefit of the four strokes to
which I was entitled by the time we had
finished the 13th hole of play and the benefit
ni three strokes at the end of the 11th hole.

The match was halved at the end of 18 holes
and, in accordance with the rules of the
tournament, an additional nine holes was
played on a succeeding day and at full handi-
cap difference.

When we were ready to resume play on
that succeeding day, my opponent insisted
that play be resumed at hole No. 1. 1 refused
to do so, pointing out that the match had offi-
cially started on hole No. 10, that as it was

means Section (3) of Rule 14 in the 1948 Rules of Golf.

an 18-hole match with play ending at hole
No. 9 the play of the additional nine holes
must be resumed at the point where it left off,
which would mean that the 19th hole to be
played would be hole No. 10 on the course.

The committee in charge suggested flipping
a coin to determine whether the match should
be resumed at hole No. 1 or No. 10. 1 re-
fused to do this for the reason that in my
opinion the rules provide the proper solution
for this dispute.

Under Rule 3(1), a match consists of a
round of 18 holes unless otherwise deter-
mined. As the match was halved at the end
of the 18th hole, by virtue of the rules of the
tournament it was extended to a 27-hole
match, The holes are played successively and,
under USGA rules, if play is postponed then
it is resumed at the point where it left off. In
my opinion, this rule amply covers the situa-
tion.

For future guidance, would you be good
enough to inform me if my position was prop-

erly taken?
A. H. Ramin
Los AncerLes, CaL.

A: Yes. When play is discontinued, it
shall be resumed from the point at which it
was discontinued (see Rule 20(3) of 1948
Rules of Golf). However, when a halved
handicap match is replayed at less than 18
holes, committees sometimes are obliged to
make other arrangements so that the differ-
ence between the handicaps may be truly re-
flected. The fairest way to settle a halved
handicap match is by a replay of 18 holes.
Attention is called to Rules 3(1) and 5(1).

Player’s Ball Slriking Opponent
No. 48-13. Et 3; D. 1; R. 12(5d)

(Q: The foursome comtntcd of Mr. A and
Mr. B as partners, against Mr. C and Mr.
D) as partners. The hole in question is the
5th, measuring 225 vards.

We were all short of the green on our tee
shots, and all had to play two to get on said
green. Mr. B played his second shot and
landed about 15 feet from pin. Mr. C and
Mr. D did likewise. We had no caddies. As
Mr. A was playing his second shot, a chip
shot to green, the foursome in back of us on
the 5th tee started to play for the 5th green
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with us on it. Mr. A was in motion of his
second shot, with my partner, Mr. C, tending
the flag. Mr. A’s partner, Mr. B, hollered
“Look out” for a ball that was approaching
the 5th green from the foursome in back of
us. We all ducked, fearing being hit by the
hall approaching the green.

In the meantime, Mr. A's ball hit my part-
ner, Mr, C, who was tending the flag, and
careened off his leg and stopped about 6 to 8
feet away from pin. Mr. A came over, after
his shot stopped, and picked up his ball and
moved it from the position of from 6 to 8
feet away from pin to about 214 feet from
pin and, in turn, putted in for a 3 and a win.

I would appreciate a ruling as to his right
of action in moving the ball, and what, in your
opinion, is the penalty,

Warrace McKinNoN
BricuToN, Mass,

A: The match was a four-ball,
foursome—see Definition 1.

Under Rule 12(5d), C and D lost the hole
when A's ball struck C.

The group playing from the tee breached
Etiquette 5.

not a

Straddling Ball, Pendulum Siroke
No.48-14. D.4; R.10(1)

Q: s there anything in the interpretation
of present rules which governs the stance in
putting or the type of stroke required in put-
ting the ball, other than that the stroke be a
fair strike and not a push, etc.? Is there any
interpretation which would prevent a player
from “straddling” the ball and using a pen-
dulum stroke, as in croquet, or standing with
hoth feet together, pointed at the hole, and
using the same pendulum siroke? In either
case, a putter meeting USGA regulations
would be used.

Larey E. ImBorr
CHevy CHasg, Mp,

A: The Rules of Golf provide no restric-
tion provided the stroke is in fact a stroke
and does not conflict with Definition 4 and
Rule 10(1) and provided the club conforms
with the Rules Governing Form and Make of
Goli Clubs.

Lost or Unplayable Ball: Penalties

No. 48-15. R.8(1, 2)

Q: With reference to Rule 8(1), “adding
a penalty stroke to the score for the hole,” and
(2), “under penalty of two strokes,” we do
not understand how there can be a one-stroke
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penalty and a two-stroke penalty in the same
rule. If it is the first drive from tee, are you
playing 3 or 4 when the penalty has been
added?
Miss Frances GALLAGHER
Pasapena, CAL.

A: Match Play: In case of a lost or un-
playable ball, the player’s score is 3 after he
has played the next stroke from the tee, the
penalty being loss of stroke and distance.

See Rule 8(1).

Stroke Play:

(a) Lost BaLL—as above for match play.

(b) UnerLavaBLe Bari—the player has

two choices, as follows:

(1) As above for match play; or

(2) As provided in Rule 8(2b).
However, this second option
does not exist if a provisional
ball has been played from the
tee—See Rule 8(2¢).

Playing Off Tied Handicap Matches

No. 48-17. Hdep.
(): Please explain the rule for playing off
a tie in handicap matches. In our recent
tournament (handicap) a lady with a 6 handi-
cap played another lady with a 26 handicap
and spotted her 34 of the handicap difference,
which was 15 strokes, and at the end of the
18th hole they were all even. From there on
they decided to continue to play on an even
basis, which to me seems entirely unfair as
the next hole happens to be the No. 1 handi-
cap hole on our course.
Mgs. J. T. Perarta

Yuma, Ariz.

A: Where a handicap match is even at the
cend of 18 holes the fairest way is to replay
the entire match at 18 holes. If this is not
possible for want of time or for other rea-
sons, we recommend that the winner be deter-
mined by playing a lesser number of holes
which will truly reflect the handicap differ-
ence. For example, if A gives B six strokes,
one of which comes on the first three holes,
the competitors can play those three holes;
or, if A gives B 10 strokes, it would be equit-
able to play nine holes under a handicap allow-
ance of five strokes. It is, of course, a matter
for the committee in charge to determine, it
knowing all the circumstances and being best
able to determine the practical solution. The
committee in charge should determine how
halved matches shall be decided before the
start of the tournament. If unforeseen cir-
cumstances prevent application of the fore-
going recommendations, the committee should
settle the matter equitably.

(Note: 859 of the difference betwween stroke play
handicaps is the allowance now recommended.)
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Boundaries Within ‘Course

No. 48-23. R. 9

Q: Is out of bounds within boundary of
golf course permissible in national or club
tournaments ?

A, P. REvEs
Maxira, PHILIPPINES

A: Boundaries within course generally in-
advisable except for large buildings, parking
spaces and the like. Are never used USGA
Championships. However, under Rule 9 com-
mittee may designate any boundaries desired.

Water Hazard: No Provisional Ball

No. 48-24. R.7(4),17(1,2),19(e); LR

Q 1: Rule 17(2), Paragraph 4, states “It
is a question of fact whether a ball lost after
having been struck toward a water hazard
is lost in the hazard or outside the hazard,
etc.” The next paragraph then states that
“a provisional ball may not be played for a
ball which may be in a water hazard, etc.”

Now put yourself on the 14th tee at Pine
Valley with a hook that hits a tree on the
15th tee. You do not know whether it has
bounced out into the water or onto the tee
where it can be played or in between two little
trees where it cannot be played. It may be in
the water. Therefore, you are not entitled to
a provisional ball, vet if you go down to the
tee and find it unplayable you can then go
back to the 14th tee under Rule 8 and play
another ball. That is impractical.

I think the wording of the rule should be
changed so that you can hit one or more pro-
visional balls from the 14th tee and another
from the tee by the lake and take your choice,
depending on where you find the ball, not
being compelled to play any of the provisional
balls if you find the first ball playable.

A 1: In the 1948 Rules of Golf the subject
is covered by Rule 17(2), 4th paragraph, and
Rule 19(e). The Rules allow playing a pro-
visional ball for a ball which may be lost or
unplayable outside of a water hazard or cas-
val water in a hazard. However, if a provi-
sional ball has been so played and the first
ball is actually in a water hazard or casual
water in a hazard, further play is regulated
by Rule 19(e).

The suggestion in the question would give
the player a choice of several balls. That
would be opposed to the spirit of the Rules.
Further, in match play, it is fundamental
that the opponent has the right to know how
he stands; obviously, he could not do so if
the suggested procedure were permitted.

One possible deviation is suggested, how-
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ever, by Recommendations for Local Rules,
for Water Hazards, 3. Pursuant thereto, the
following local rule could be adopted:

“Hole 14—A provisional ball may be played
from the tee for any contingency, as nearly
as possible at the spot from which the original
ball was played. If the original ball be in a
water hazard or in casual water in a hazard,
the player may play it; but if it be unplayable
:;cnwnst continue play with the provisional

all.

Casual Water in Hazard

() 2: Suggestion No. 2 concerns casual
water in a trap. To me it is the only illogical
rule in the whole book of golf and must have
been made by some obverse official who had
a grudge against a competitor so caught. If
the weather is to have that much influence
on the penalties, why in the world not let it
apply uniformly? Under this rule, if you get
in a puddle behind a tree where you are com-
pletely stymied or where if the ground was
dry you might have an unplayable lie you are
relieved of the penalty, whereas if it is in a
trap where under normal weather conditions
a good player might have a reasonable ex-
pectation of getting in the cup in two strokes
you have an abrormal and, to me, very unfair
penalty when the ball happens to lie in water
so deep that it makes it difficult to play.

I suggest that the rule be changed to treat
casual water in a trap like any other casual
water except when a trap is completely filled
so that the ball must be dropped outside it,
in which event it should be treated as a water
hazard. It seems to me reasonable and logi-
cal that contestants would be aware of the
fact in wet weather that their shot might be
aimed towards a water hazard rather than a
trap and that they could use proper judgment
accordingly.

A 2: Although the present Rule may occa-
sionally seem unfair, it would be even more
unfair to allow a player to remove a ball from
a hazard without penalty. It is impossible to
eliminate all elements of chance from the
game.

Questions by Gorbon Brown
New Yorxk, N. Y.

A Golfer’s Prayer

Lord, give me grace
To make a score
That even I

Need not lie about
To my fellow men.



